Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Hi lads,

I'm on the look out for an estate for a friend of mine if anyway spots something.

Engine size 1.6, preferably less.
    Budget is max 1200.
    Long NCT. Until october/november.
    Nothing to far away. Connaught or bordering counties

Would also consider a commercial estate van such as an astra. Engine size not an issue there.

Thanks.

Hi lads,

I'm on the look out for an estate for a friend of mine if anyway spots something.

Engine size 1.6, preferably less.
    Budget is max 1200.
    Long NCT. Until october/november.
    Nothing to far away. Connaught or bordering counties

Would also consider a commercial estate van such as an astra. Engine size not an issue there.

Thanks.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3910338

shaaane wrote: »

I sent him a message about that, cheers. He's up in sligo too. About the only daecent one I could find.

Seems fairly straight and handy for where you are. Get 100 quid off the asking price and you're sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Duller than a wet Thursday afternoon walk around Ennis but you know it'll last forever and a day.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4512702

View2-17239941.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Saab Ed wrote: »
    A very good bangernomics car these. They might not handle all that well but they are very comfortable and very reliable.

Needs a heavy discount but such a lovely and under rated car.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4462061

View2-16986815.jpeg

Worth a look if you live close by. Could be a bucket needing tons spent on it for a test or it might be a well minded gem (which I bet it is).

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4480968

ViewThumb-17080446.jpeg

Needs a heavy discount but such a lovely and under rated car........

My 2002 one will be on donedeal in a couple of months asking lots lots lots less than €1700 :)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Hate the way imported cars are one owner from new always lol...

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭hometruths

Hilarious ad for the "car that has everything" - except NCT or tax it seems!
    €199 for a Rover 416.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4517024

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

schmittel wrote: »
    Hilarious ad for the "car that has everything" - except NCT or tax it seems!
    €199 for a Rover 416.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4517024
    In fairness it's only 200 beans! Haggle him down to 150 and you'd nearly get more for scrap. If you were handy with cars you could sale it true the nct and have cheap motorin for the year. That said if someone was handy with cars would they drive it?

• Registered Users Posts: 64,674 ✭✭✭✭unkel

You know one of the great things about this thread is, so long as you're not a reg plate snob, for peanuts you can actually swan around in some fantastic cars for next to nothing.
    bmwguy wrote: »
    a welcome relief from my friends who think they are saving money by paying 18,000 for a newish Hyundai i30 because it has a diesel engine, low tax and good mpg. And they actually think they're nice cars, they're not!!

Well said, lads!

And we really are very lucky that Ireland probably has the best value bangernomics cars.............in the wurrrrlllldddd :D
    RoverJames wrote: »
    My 2002 one will be on donedeal in a couple of months asking lots lots lots less than €1700 :)

I'm very curious. What will you replace it with? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

NCT till December, 650

Taxed till April. Body panels might be a bit hard to find on this island...
    Full-17123590.jpeg

unkel wrote: »

I'm very curious. What will you replace it with? :)

Something comparatively awful (exactly what I'm not 100% sure yet) imo :(
    Needs must, work etc etc etc :)

The silver lining is that I was struggling big time with ideas as to what I was going to replace it with so I'm not overly bothered.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,855 ✭✭✭Soarer

dgt wrote: »
    NCT till December, 650

Taxed till April. Body panels might be a bit hard to find on this island...
    Full-17123590.jpeg

I've literally never seen one of them before. The pics make it look proper dodgy!

Soarer wrote: »
    I've literally never seen one of them before. The pics make it look proper dodgy!

There's a green 93 one up here around the local town, wearing sprinter badges. Apart from it, I've never seen another one on Irl plates till that ad!

Pity it's not an auto but a years NCT, mileage not mentioned...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4469306

View2-17023675.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

An Alfa perhaps RJ? :pac:

This on the other hand is complete bangernomics. Clearly just passed the NCT recently so it's relatively ok and it's got some tax. Yours for about €850. Proper stylish bargain that would benefit massively from a very good clean.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4502519

View2-17184339.jpeg

166man wrote: »
    An Alfa perhaps RJ? :pac:.......

Wouldn't mind a nice Alfa tbh :)

'twill be fooooooooking awful I tell ye, awful.

Wouldn't mind a nice Alfa tbh :)

'twill be fooooooooking awful I tell ye, awful.

This perhaps?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3861263

View2-14064520.jpeg

166man wrote: »
    This perhaps?........

Would only consider V6 options in the Alfa family tbh :)

Is that the same seller all the time or is it moving around do you know?

Strictly not bangernomics but cheap tax....

A new car for RJ?

Full-14551582.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 64,674 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Nice car and all that, 166man, but a 4 pot 166 just isn't right :(

BTW my best mate saw the error of his ways and he is selling his nearly 2 year old MiTo diesel. He bought a bangernomics Busso 166 LPG (€0.70/l) for a grand :D

239416.jpg

He already has a GTV and and a Spider. Triple Busso man :D

Would only consider V6 options in the Alfa family tbh :)

Is that the same seller all the time or is it moving around do you know?

Have a feeling it's the same seller, however reckon it's had a dodgy few years since we had it. in 2010 when we got the 159 Tractamotors took the 166 and a few weeks later rang my Dad to let him know it had been sold to an ''older lady'' down in Cork and it was on it's way down there. Then after a few months it came up for sale by some fella selling it very cheap at about €2.2k.

It then popped up on donedeal a few weeks later for €3750 some punter trying to make a few quid and since then the miles have crept up slowly and the price fallen to €2650. It's a bit weird if I'm honest and it'd be getting a very thorough look over if I was looking at it. Anyway just some background info for you there anyhow. :)
    unkel wrote: »
    Nice car and all that, 166man, but a 4 pot 166 just isn't right :(

BTW my best mate saw the error of his ways and he is selling his nearly 2 year old MiTo diesel. He bought a bangernomics Busso 166 LPG (€0.70/l) for a grand :D

239416.jpg

He already has a GTV and and a Spider. Triple Busso man :D

True but the 2.0 is surprisingly not too bad in the 166, trust me many a time that car was full to the brim with a full boot and five on board and it went to and from Dublin to Kerry.

Mmm lpg V6.... Best of both worlds...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I think this looks good. :)

Test till August 13. Might be slightly over priced at 1,600. But It does look spot less.

View2-16810649.jpeg

dgt wrote: »
    ........A new car for RJ?.............

Would love one in Vitesse guise :)