Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Club Championships

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭homeofhurling

offaly are poor at inter county but the were poor before whelehan came in, i'd say whelehan told them a few home truths and they didn't like it, there underage is a shambles this donkeys years, plus under whelehan and Baker offaly players are over weight, i seen them at underage and they are no way fit even that young, its up to players to put the efford in, if they all gave the love and time to hurling like whelehan did they would be doing ok.

the thing with offaly is blame everyone else but don't dare blame the players or what they do off the field, a good few of them have beer arses toxicity and thats not whelehans fault

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

They were in hard luck two years ago. Losing they best forward the week of the All Ireland and them the two Sexton brain farts did help. Still only lost by 2 points.
    Being a duel club last year took a toll on them. Getting to a lenister semi-final in the intermediate football and senior hurling using 13 of the same players on both teams.
    Offaly Champion is a hard one to win. Rynagh, Birr, Clareen and Coolderry(Lenister champion Three years ago) are all good clubs.

inter County Offaly are a shambles. Thanks to the county Boards appointing manager that are just big name and have no managerial experience to team at all level,
    Not appointing manager until 4 week before championship games. Appoint Coaches that are more interested in running lads up hills than putting a game plan in place.

Whelehan name his squad for next year and We're f**ked for another year.
    Only two full Backs in a squad of 40 and no Centre Backs.
    Missing the best Full back, Centre back, Wing back two best Midfielders, Centre forward.
    They won't hurl for Whelehan is year.
    The next group of good hurler coming in the county are also refusing to hurling under Whelehan. The Like of Gardiner, Kellehar, the two Doughan are all missing for Whelehan panel as he fell out with them over the last year.

They is now over 25 hurlers in the county that have made themselves unavailable for county this year with around another 10 that the management won't deal with. We can't effort to be missing more than 5 or 6.

I'm one sad Offaly man :o

As one who witnessed many defeats at the hands of Offaly I'm intrigued. What's the problem with the manager? Is he not a living legend? Is it personality, lack of confidence in his ability or inter-club rivalry? Also, if those 25 are frontliners, I find it unbelievable that the CB wouldn't step in.

I was at the KK vs Offaly the last two years. Two things struck me this year; the poor quality and lack of fitness. That was something you wouldn't have said about Offaly in their heyday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

I would stay clear of Toxic City's comments vis a vis Offaly hurling. He has a rampant anti Brian Whelehan bias and some of his comments about the same man on uibhfhaili.com are nothing short of scandalous. A balanced view would not be forthcoming from him. He could do well that remember that Brian Whelehan represented Offaly teams from 1986 to 2007 something this keyboard warrior conveniently forgets when discussing him. That's 21 years sacrificing his life to play for Offaly. And his reward - constant berating of his attempts at managing Offaly.

Some home truths for you Toxic City - you spout rubbish that this guy and that guy should be hurling for Offaly and they would be only for Brian Whelehan. Rubbish. The guys you mention, particularly some of the Kilcormac guys aren't up to inter-county hurling. The lads who walked off the panel aren't hurling for Brian Whelehan, they're hurling for Offaly. They should try and remember that. I'm not going to maintain Brian Whelehan is a perfect manager, far from it, but he deserves a lot more respect from you and your cronies on uibhfhaili.com give him. Look what he has done for Offaly hurling and compare it to what you have done which is absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

And you are also blatantly printing untruths on this site. You said Dan Kelliher won't hurl with Offaly because he fell out with Whelehan. Dan Kelliher was dropped off the extended panel after last year's Walsh Cup just like other players. How is this "falling out with Brian Whelehan"?? If you're going to print things as fact, you better make sure they actually are facts.

well said he was talkingh rubbish about the best hurler offaly or ireland for that matter ever seen. is that the Kelliher that played under 21, way to slow for inter county hurling.

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭toxicity234

And you are also blatantly printing untruths on this site. You said Dan Kelliher won't hurl with Offaly because he fell out with Whelehan. Dan Kelliher was dropped off the extended panel after last year's Walsh Cup just like other players. How is this "falling out with Brian Whelehan"?? If you're going to print things as fact, you better make sure they actually are facts.

Keliher Played the frist 2 game in the league. since when is the frist two league game of the year the Walsh cup. I was told by a memeber of the back room staff that Kelleher was told he was drop for the Cork league game and himself and Whelehan had words and he walk.
    After the Cork game. Whelehan had words with Kilmartin and Kilmartin walked.
    So if dropped is they stop going to training then they were dropped.

look young man not a offalyman but i have seen a lot of offaly club, and county hurling and underage, this chap your on about kelleher not been smart or unfair to the lad his a bigman put could lose about two stone before he could hurl championship hurling, this kilmartin didn't he play in goals for kilcormac-killoughey not to long ago.

you were told by the backroom staff that he was dropped, iam thinking you
    are Dan Kelleher. best of luck to offaly in 2015 but he sounds bad running the best hurler you ever had all over the internet lad.

I would stay clear of Toxic City's comments vis a vis Offaly hurling. He has a rampant anti Brian Whelehan bias and some of his comments about the same man on uibhfhaili.com are nothing short of scandalous. A balanced view would not be forthcoming from him. He could do well that remember that Brian Whelehan represented Offaly teams from 1986 to 2007 something this keyboard warrior conveniently forgets when discussing him. That's 21 years sacrificing his life to play for Offaly. And his reward - constant berating of his attempts at managing Offaly.

Some home truths for you Toxic City - you spout rubbish that this guy and that guy should be hurling for Offaly and they would be only for Brian Whelehan. Rubbish. The guys you mention, particularly some of the Kilcormac guys aren't up to inter-county hurling. The lads who walked off the panel aren't hurling for Brian Whelehan, they're hurling for Offaly. They should try and remember that. I'm not going to maintain Brian Whelehan is a perfect manager, far from it, but he deserves a lot more respect from you and your cronies on uibhfhaili.com give him. Look what he has done for Offaly hurling and compare it to what you have done which is absolutely nothing.

Killcormac Killoughey guy are not up to inter county standard.
    Well start with the facts that they just won 3 county title in a row.
    They haven't been beating in Offaly in 22 games so they may not be up to inter county standard but they al lot better than every other club players including your own.

I have huge respect for Whelehan as a hurler but he was apponted to do the Minor job last year and after Duigian refused the job at the last min instead of interviewing people the just apponted Whelehan.

We went from been 6 point away from Kilkenny to 26 points away after our goalkeeper was outstanding.
    they 2 reason for that Kilkenny inproved and we went the other way.

Since your a man in the know. Why is Morkan, Conor Mahon and rest not on the panel.

If anyone want to have a Read of the Offaly Support Website.
    Toxicity234 goes to a lot of matches and beleive total in offaly Hurling.

As for Kellehar been too slow. Maybe but he the best we have. The idea that we some have better than him is rubbish.
    The idea that we leave the best young club defender in the county at home cause we can't see further than the fact that he lack pace.
    At least he can defend they no point in putting midfield and forward in the defence with loads of pace and wondering why were letting in 4-30.

we have to make the best of what we have. We not doing that.

What Blatantly untruths have i writing??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

This must be what it feels like when you innocently stroll into a minefield.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

It seems players can take 7 or 8 steps in hurling now

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Cratloe were walking through early on, but Kilmallock have woken up, gotten wise to their movement and are picking off some great scores. Graeme Mulcahy is a real handful for them, and has been more impressive than McGrath so far.

His brother and Bryan O'Sullivan are playing very well too, Kilmallock have the edge in the middle 3rd and O'Sullivan has picked off some monster scores.

Cratloe have a real threat there, but they've already wasted a load of goal chances. Game is well and truly on, and Kilmallock are well fired up.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Now now lads, lets just agree that hardly anyone in Offaly is up to inter-county standard in either code and leave it at that. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,304 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Are Kilmallock back to 15 men now?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,028 ✭✭✭zetecescort

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    It seems players can take 7 or 8 steps in hurling now

been like that for years, just like most hand passes are throws.

What an incredible game of hurling, heart-stopping stuff. To lose Gavin, their most experienced player and still to push on and almost win it... unbelievable heart from Kilmallock. Cratloe probably have more strength in depth and have unbelievable resources up front, but there was some wonderful defending from Kilmallock. Great goal by Cathal Mc and then by McGrath, although Barry Hennessey must be one of the most unfortunate men alive.

The Mulcahy brothers are both on fire, great from Hanley to set up the goal too.

You'd expect Cratloe to push on in extra-time but Kilmallock won't give up.

Are Kilmallock back to 15 men now?

Yes, I think they're the rules. Probably send on Paddy O'Loughlin.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,304 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Yes, I think they're the rules. Probably send on Paddy O'Loughlin.

Yeah I was pretty sure myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭wazzer1

Cratloes 15th sunday out in a row between hurling/football. 2nd week in a row for ex time as well. Some going, although i think it will go against them in the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

That game is Cratloe's 15th Sunday in a row.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Looks like cratloe have ran out of energy but all credit to kilmallock. Great result for them after a super performance.

Absolute amazing effort and achievement from cratloe this year. Absolute credit to themselves, there club and our county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Looks like cratloe have ran out of energy but all credit to kilmallock. Great result for them after a super performance.

Absolute amazing effort and achievement from cratloe this year. Absolute credit to themselves, there club and our county.

Cratloe's luck is running out, beating teams with 14 men. Still, they can be proud of their efforts.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Did Kilmallock go back to the full 15 at the start of extra-time. If so, that rule HAS to be amended. Fair play to Kilmallock, they played a way smarter game and there shooting accuracy was most impressive. How many wides had they in the 80 mins?

You are back to full compliment, but can't bring on the man who was sent off.

Kilmallock were much the better team, goals kept Cratloe in it, no question about that.

Unreal for Kilmallock, fair play to them. Wrote them off myself... I know Cratloe were going for ages but for Kilmallock to play the end of normal time with 14 men and to only use 2 subs over 80 minutes of intense hurling is quite impressive.

Some of the long-range score-taking was phenomenal. I think having ball-winners all over the park was a huge asset for them though, Cratloe possibly lacked players to win clean possession while Egan, O'Loughlin, O'Sullivan, etc were winning primary possession and getting good breaks too.

Fair play to the Sparrow, great manager at club level.

Hard luck to Cratloe
    they should have won it in normal time.
    extra time was cruel on those amateur players

• Registered Users Posts: 5,286 ✭✭✭megadodge

Hard luck to Cratloe
    they should have won it in normal time.
    extra time was cruel on those amateur players

As opposed to a replay thereby making them play a 16th Sunday in a row?

they would have a week to recover

If they couldn't deal with 14 men, they were never going to be able to deal with 15. The last few matches was against 14 - this is what got them over the line. Today, the gap was just too big.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Borders no.2

Well done to Kilmallock. It was an amazing run from Cratloe and I fancied them today but there's a reason very few clubs can sustain both codes successfully no matter how many good players they have. The workload takes its toll especially in a county that's successful or in the hunt for honours, the year ends up dragging out forever.

Kilmallock didn't really impress me the last two games they played but stepped it up a level today and were deserving winners. They would have to be favourites for the semi-final but history has shown that underestimating Ulster opposition at semi-final level especially for teams who aren't regular semi-finalists is dangerous but you'd have to fancy them all the same.

For Limerick hurling its another significant day, each result like this is a stepping stone in helping build belief. Having come through in 2 games that went to extra time is also a significant feather in their cap. An All-Ireland club title would further build that belief. The Leinster final will be interesting. If Kilcormac were to win that it'd throw it wide open but its hard to look past Ballyhale winning the All-Ireland

Its not that long ago that the Limerick champions weren't even a good warm up game for the other clubs in the Munster championship that is certainly not the case any longer.