Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Wexford General Chat / Thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 699 ✭✭✭heathersonline

Great bit of spin put on the new Wexford library in today's Guardian: 'New Library drawing up to 1,000 a day'. Even if I believed that figure, which I don't, are we supposed to believe that there were legions of Wexford people who didn't use the old library and were patiently awaiting the new one to open? How many per day used the old, and more than adequate, facility? Minister Howlin said 'This building is worthy of the people of Wexford, it's a stunning piece of architecture, modern, arresting and functional.' Patronising little ****e.

In fairness we waited till the new place opened and myself the missus and the 2 kids were some of the first few to sign up. I also don't see much wrong with what the minister had to say but I'm looking at it with a non political hat on

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭havetoquit

No objections at all to having a new library providing there were more than adequate funds and of course if we can justify that the old one was no longer viable.

However, I feel strongly that money would be better spent providing better facilities and more staff at Wexford Hopspital. In this day and age, people, (especially the elderly and disabled) should not be required to travel long journeys to see specialists or to have certain scans, nor should they have to wait so long for appointments.

There are small countries such as Holland that have every possible facility in each of their local hospitals, as well as being able to manage to keep MRSA down to 2 %.

Forgive me if I am barking up the wrong tree and that the money spent on the library comes from a totally different funding, which it possibly does, but nevertheless, we need to prioritize.

Was in Wexford today and find it so sad to see so many well established businesses have closed or are in the process of closing.

Seems like only yesterday our lovely town was absolutely booming.

Then there is Mick Wallace???? Would love to meet all those who voted and ask them what they happened to be on at the time!!

Hope I have not offended anyone, as no offence meant, just simple banter.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

No matter how modern the new Library looks, if there's poor parking,(even worse than Redmond Square) then it won't attract people from out of town. Regarding the '' thousand people a day'', that's always the case whenever a new premises opens. Let's look again at the numbers about February, and then see.

Very valid points and so agree.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Great bit of spin put on the new Wexford library in today's Guardian: 'New Library drawing up to 1,000 a day'. Even if I believed that figure, which I don't, are we supposed to believe that there were legions of Wexford people who didn't use the old library and were patiently awaiting the new one to open? How many per day used the old, and more than adequate, facility? Minister Howlin said 'This building is worthy of the people of Wexford, it's a stunning piece of architecture, modern, arresting and functional.' Patronising little ****e.

Howlin is a disgrace and we know that, a Library is far (I know) bigger than him, he's a gombeen, I could continue but I wont....ish
    In fairness we waited till the new place opened and myself the missus and the 2 kids were some of the first few to sign up. I also don't see much wrong with what the minister had to say but I'm looking at it with a non political hat on

Why didn't you sign up to the "old" library, it was also quite fantastic, books and reading for children....brilliant...for free...reading will always make our children free thinkers...for free in the libraray..just sayin...

havetoquit wrote: »
    No objections at all to having a new library providing there were more than adequate funds and of course if we can justify that the old one was no longer viable.

However, I feel strongly that money would be better spent providing better facilities and more staff at Wexford Hopspital. In this day and age, people, (especially the elderly and disabled) should not be required to travel long journeys to see specialists or to have certain scans, nor should they have to wait so long for appointments.

There are small countries such as Holland that have every possible facility in each of their local hospitals, as well as being able to manage to keep MRSA down to 2 %.

Forgive me if I am barking up the wrong tree and that the money spent on the library comes from a totally different funding, which it possibly does, but nevertheless, we need to prioritize.

Was in Wexford today and find it so sad to see so many well established businesses have closed or are in the process of closing.

Seems like only yesterday our lovely town was absolutely booming.

Then there is Mick Wallace???? Would love to meet all those who voted and ask them what they happened to be on at the time!!

Hope I have not offended anyone, as no offence meant, just simple banter.

Yes not the wrong tree, but a different tree is all, without legibility there is no future for our children, oh and maths, very important.
    coolhull wrote: »
    No matter how modern the new Library looks, if there's poor parking,(even worse than Redmond Square) then it won't attract people from out of town. Regarding the '' thousand people a day'', that's always the case whenever a new premises opens. Let's look again at the numbers about February, and then see.

Loads of spots to park and walk.

Loads of hours to go to the New Library by the way, two late nights in the week and open Saturdays.

I say this is an amazing project for Wexford Town, albeit late, yet still amazing.

Go Visit, as I did when I visited Wexford Town recently.

It's Finally something RIGHT, opposed to something WRONG in Ireland at this time.

EDIT - Oh and you can borrow 10 items for 3 weeks - FOR FREE !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭McLoughlin

coolhull wrote: »

Its built right next to a car park and Whites is nearby aswell if you want to park.

Does anyone know what the issue was with the old library?

I was a regular visitor and found it perfectly acceptable, with access to computers, storytelling days and much more.

I can only assume that there was a very good reason for a new library during these challenging economic times.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭McLoughlin

Does anyone know what the issue was with the old library?

I was a regular visitor and found it perfectly acceptable, with access to computers, storytelling days and much more.

I can only assume that there was a very good reason for a new library during these challenging economic times.

Temporary Lease, the corporation were renting the premises (I think) Wexford has never had a proper library it has been moved around differant places for decades (heck nearly a century) waiting for a proper home and now it has it in Back St/Mallin St.

Thanks for that and nice to know. I am sure the new library will prove to be a great asset to the town.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Fiver Friday offers for Co.Wexford,might be of use to somebody here,

Wexford

at Adamstown Tyres, Waterford Road, New Ross you can get your car lights focus-checked for €5

Clean n' Fix Solutions have various €5 deals when you book them to clean your carpet & upholstery (e.g. have a 3-piece suite cleaned and get your sitting room cleaned for €5) www.cleannfixsolutions.ie

air conditioning systems in BMW and Mini's refreshed for €5 (usually €75) at J Donohoe BMW dealers, Quarry Park, Enniscorthy. Must be booked & used before 24 Dec 2012 www.jdonohoebmw.ie

Ned Kavanagh's garage, Island Road, Enniscorthy will do a €5 Winter Check on any make of car (anti-freeze, tyres, fluid levels, lights etc) Tel: 053 923 3601

the first two customers to email South East Gas Services(southeastgasservices@gmail.com) on Friday 30th will get a comprehensive gas or oil-fired boiler service for €5 (normally €75) Customers must be within a 10-mile radius of Wexford town

coffee + cake for €5 at the Seafield Golf & Spa Hotel, Gorey

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/fiverfriday.html

That is all so helpful during these challenging economic times and thanks a bunch.

If more businesses were to put on offers and advertise them well, I do think that it would help them to gain far more custom.

I often noticed in UK when the town was going through tough times economically, that the pubs, shops, cafes etc would go all out with reductions, happy hours, early bird/two for the price of one etc etc. It definitely worked.

In addition to that, the supermarkets marked down all their perishable goods for the last two hours of opening at weekends. You could just go in and pick up incredible bargains.

I was surprised in Wexford the other day to see that many stores have gone ahead and upped their prices for Christmas, which will not gain them many favors and keep those who can ill afford it away.

South East Radio could have an hourly programme where people phone in with ideas for economising and businesses could have free advertising, providing they are offering discounts.

Am I just being far to idealistic and overly optimistic with my simplistic ideas here I wonder?

Ah well, I guess it does no harm to suggest in the hope that better ideas will follow.

But the smaller shops in Wexford are under tremendous pressure as it is. The big shops e.g Tesco, Dunnes etc see no need to lower prices, except for so-called 'specials' to draw in customers....
    For the last few years, I've done all my shopping in Aldi or Lidl. No fuss, everything easy to find, and the staff are very mannerly and courteous.
    Some people will say that I should spend my money in Irish -owned shops. I did that for years, and got ripped-off hugely. From now on, I'm going to where the prices are reasonable. Besides, a lot of the people who say 'keep the money in Wexford' are on their way into or out of Tesco or Boots, big U.K. multi-nationals.
    OK, the smaller shops are convenient, but have you ever met anyone who do their weekly shopping in any of these places?

Yes you are so right on all those points and I mean what is there not to like in Aldi and Lidl? Good for them and their customer friendly prices. I for one have never found any fault on any item I have ever bought in either of those, so why go elsewhere to increase the profits of those whose main aim seems to be, as you say, to rip us off.

Many people were fooled for years assuming that any particular brand named product had to be of superior quality, which we now know to be absolute rubbish.
    Long live Lidl and Aldi and the best of luck to the Germans. Pity we didn't come up with the idea ourselves!

Out of all the supermarkets,Aldi has the highest percentage of Irish sourced goods.Makes a mockery of the brand snobs who won't shop in the "German Stores"

People love a bargain & if enough local shops had specials to attract customers & the service is good then they'd return.As an example,the takeaways in Enniscorthy that do specials & discount days are always busy,people try the specials & if they like the food then they go back.No surprise they are the ones who are busy while other retail outlets are closing down.

And really, it wasn't the fault of the big stores that customers stopped going in to the local shops, except to buy things like bread ,milk, papers and so on. We all agree that independent traders cannot compete with the multinationals, but in latter years, people, thankfully, are voting with their feet and going to where the best value can be found. If we hadn't been ripped off so unmercifully by pubs, restaurants builders, auctioneers etc. during the era of the ''Celtic Tiger'', then this country wouldn't be in the position it is now. For the moment at least, its a 'buyers market' and long may that last.

Yes, they are stupid not to realize that point about Irish sourced goods.

Mind you, I am not at all sure that these so called snobs are still filling their baskets in other places with imported goods... they too have long since not been able to afford it and are glad to fall back on Lidl and Aldi.

Just wait until those two claim the online customers as well. I can see it coming actually.

How great would that be for those who have no transport to get to their stores or are house bound through disability or age.

Then there is the now one car family, which presents another issue, as many are left stranded in rural areas with no means of getting to the shops without depending on family members and friends.

Ok, we think we have it so bad, but here I am talking about transport and so on and yet there was my dear Granny making just a weekly bike ride to her shop to get her groceries and never complaining. She used to buy her fish fresh from a guy who came in a van once a week, grew her own veg and some fruit trees and the rest came via bicycle!

She refused to have electricity in her house and preferred her water from the well!!

She even rode that bike 15 miles to town and back every now and then in summer. No wonder she lived to be 99!! Super fit woman who was rarely in bed apart from to sleep!

How things have changed, some for the better, but not all by any means.

Yet it has to be said that some shops like Pettits and Joyces are still giving value for money, and it is stores like these that attract our remaining few bob. Regarding the kind of businesses that made huge profits in the boom years, and are now complaining about shoppers going elsewhere: Like I always say, if you cant stand the heat, get outta the kitchen.

Dead right.

If this weather keeps up, there wont be much heat in our kitchens!! As long as we don't get floods, I don't mind. So pity those poor people who have to abandon their homes, some of them newly decorated and carpeted.

They keep telling us how we are ruing our planet and yet all those chemicals out there, some of which are totally unnecessary for our daily lives are still on the shelves. Wonder whose thinking of who there?

What successive generations will think of us is anybody's guess.

Ok, we think we have it so bad, but here I am talking about transport and so on and yet there was my dear Granny making just a weekly bike ride to her shop to get her groceries and never complaining. She used to buy her fish fresh from a guy who came in a van once a week, grew her own veg and some fruit trees and the rest came via bicycle!

She refused to have electricity in her house and preferred her water from the well!!

She even rode that bike 15 miles to town and back every now and then in summer. No wonder she lived to be 99!! Super fit woman who was rarely in bed apart from to sleep!

How things have changed, some for the better, but not all by any means.
    How right you are! I was 10 years old when we got electricity in our house, way out in the country, in 1964... One bulb, and one huge heavy socket. (Not that we had anything to plug in anyway!)
    I wouldn't say those times were any better than today, and probably no worse, but just different. Times move on, and we have have to move with them.......

And have you noticed that those people who tell us we're ruining our planet often fly thousands of miles to warn us to cut down down on our carbon emissions? Or use big hotels or conference centres, well-lit and warmly heated, to scold us for using too much energy?
    But if we didn't laugh, we'd be crying at the total absurdity of it all.

Yes, all that strikes a cord with me, who was also deep in the country as a child.

I guess that when we look back and reminisce, it is usually the sunny days and the best times that we recall most vividly.

Human nature, or the way the old grey cells work no doubt.

I love life as it is, but I would willingly go back for a brief time to those days and to savor once again the security we felt as children playing freely, the lack of fear to leave doors open, the time people had for one another and the comradeship that existed in rural areas.

That has been lost and it is not reversible I don't think.

There are parts of Sicily up in the mountains where they still live that way and it is refreshing to observe.

To change the subject here for a minute, has anyone ever watched that money-grabbing program on TV3, Psychic Readings Live? I've heard a few people with Wexford accents ring them up. At 2e.44 a minute, there seems to be people with more money than sense

No, have never subscribed to that gobbledigook, because I know that it prays on the most vulnerable and exploits them beyond what is acceptable. Most people know that they are totally fake fraudsters and they really ought to be banned.

Couldn't agree more. The sad part is that is seems to be mostly the vulnerable and sometimes mentally-ill people who ring in, badly wanting to be re-assured that their lives will get better.
    Despite several rulings by the BAI against them, TV3 insists on broadcasting this load of crap for 2 hours every night. It can't be that the viewing figures are good, because apart from the vulnerable, (the same names and voices crop up regularly) nobody else would watch. TV3 get a share of the premium-rate tariffs, but the calls have slackened off in the past few months, and I can't see how the station feels that the bad publicity is worth it for what they get out of it.

It's like everything else; it will continue unless someone protests and it is looked into.

It is blatant exploitation of the most vulnerable in our society and worse still, most of them can ill afford these calls and who is there to deal with the fall out? Certainly not the crack pot psychics who are making a living out of them.

How low can our broadcaster get to do these programmes? They lack integrity, conscience or a sense of responsibility and I for one have no respect or time for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

A 29-year-old woman and her Jack Russell dog were rescued from a freezing harbour in Co Wexford last night after she climbed in to save her pet.

The woman was in the water off Courtown for 20 minutes last night at about 10.45pm after her terrier Holly went in off the end of the pier.

The woman lowered herself five metres into the water using a lifebuoy and rope but due to the near freezing temperature she was unable to climb out.

She was spotted by a passer-by who called the local Courtown RNLI volunteer lifeboat crew.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1218/breaking40.html

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

A 29-year-old woman and her Jack Russell dog were rescued from a freezing harbour in Co Wexford last night after she climbed in to save her pet.

The woman was in the water off Courtown for 20 minutes last night at about 10.45pm after her terrier Holly went in off the end of the pier.

The woman lowered herself five metres into the water using a lifebuoy and rope but due to the near freezing temperature she was unable to climb out.

She was spotted by a passer-by who called the local Courtown RNLI volunteer lifeboat crew.

And of course, womans best friend (as in this case) is the passer by that raised the alarm ! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭Corvo

In fairness, what would ye be thinking? I would have waved little Rex off into the waves and went home for supper anyway.

Just a word of warning regarding the weather over the next few days,heavy rain is forecast for the S.E tomorrow with a respite on Friday but the weekend is to see even more wet weather for the region.

BTW folks please turn on your lights while driving during the day,took a spin to Wexford this morning & it was nearly impossible to see some of the cars in the wet & gloom.