Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Blogger meets his Troll

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Nice story. Are people just expected to take it as truth though? Your man says he's a writer and a former 'spin-doctor'.. If he was so frightened and upset by the threats against himself and his family then why the hell didn't he report it? If somebody left ashes and death threats at my front door I wouldn't hang around waiting for somebody to offer to track down the culprit.
    He did report it

"I got on to the authorities again but, polite and sympathetic as they were, there didn't seem much that could be done."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭steve_r

It's an interesting read - I'll be honest and admit I assumed it happended in America untill he mentioned Ireland.

Very disturbing behaviour.

On face value, I was impressed by the way he handled things when he found out who he was, he didn't look for revenge, and actually tried to help the guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,057 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

BaZmO* wrote: »
    He did report it

"I got on to the authorities again but, polite and sympathetic as they were, there didn't seem much that could be done."

Yeah, fair enough. I just noticed that part. I still doubt its authenticity though tbh. I honestly don't believe for one minute that the Gardai would say something along the lines of 'there's not much we can do' in such circumstances.

If it's true then fair fecks to him for being so willing to forgive the guy.. I certainly wouldn't be if my family had been threatened in such a way.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

So his next door neighbours kid threatened to cut his wife's throat and take his son and he did nothing about it?

I'm calling bulls*it on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭say_who_now?

Nice story. Are people just expected to take it as truth though? Your man says he's a writer and a former 'spin-doctor'.. If he was so frightened and upset by the threats against himself and his family then why the hell didn't he report it? If somebody left ashes and death threats at my front door I wouldn't hang around waiting for somebody to offer to track down the culprit.

They resolved his IP address.

Then his house.

Strange story if you ask me. Sketchy on some important details there.

I would assume the police would take death threats more seriously.

TBH I think it's all bullshít.

This alone tells me the guy made the whole thing up. My IP resolves to Dublin or Galway depending which provider I'm connected to at any part of the day and I'm rarely ever in either county, so the "IT guru/genius/whatever" would've had to hack the IP's ISP database to pin down the exact address of the account holder, which while in itself is not impossible- it's certainly illegal!

Or did he just do it like we see in the movies:

Five minutes on the computer- "I'm in!" :rolleyes:

Then his house.

This alone tells me the guy made the whole thing up. My IP resolves to Dublin or Galway depending which provider I'm connected to at any part of the day and I'm rarely ever in either county, so the "IT guru/genius/whatever" would've had to hack the IP's ISP database to pin down the exact address of the account holder, which while in itself is not impossible- it's certainly illegal!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Secretarial level typing is the most important hacking skill of all

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

That's mental. I actually have no idea if it's real or not (or who this guy is). I'd have reported the kid to the Guards though, he needs serious intervention. If it's all true, he could have been up to the same tricks with a load of different people.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Yeah. Its a little hack the planet innit.

It reads like a bad indo opinion piece. I think it's a tall tale. The whole tale pivots based on cops ignoring him and some tech genius figuring it all out with his mystical computer magic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Blog should be re-named " Die Hard 4.0".

Bambi wrote: »

Secretarial level typing is the most important hacking skill of all

I'm 30 years using computers for programming, website design, app development, hardware engineering and electronics, I even had one of those fancy Microsoft split keyboards at one stage that got left behind in the 90's, and I still can't touch type for shìt! :pac:

I did have an inkling to learn to type properly at one stage, but Mavis Beacon drove me demented, at one point having me scream-

"My damn fingers won't bend that way!" :D

Strangely enough now it occurs to me- I had no such issues learning to play the piano!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Resolving an IP to a house? A specific house?

Hmmmm..........somebody hacked the pixels.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Sounds like it was dumbed down so that the public could understand. I'd say the tech person created a fake website and got the user to click it. When you click a link, you send a lot of info, IIRC.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Then his house.

I was involved in something not dissimalar about a decade ago and the Gardai were very interested in tracking the guy down.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,453 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shenshen

Were we reading the same story? He DID report it, but was told nothing much could be done.

Shenshen wrote: »
    Were we reading the same story? He DID report it, but was told nothing much could be done.

Except for the 5 minutes it took to track the guy to his house done by a mystical fairy god nerd third party.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,260 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

True story....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I was involved in something not dissimalr about a decade ago and the Gardai were very interested in tracking the guy down.

Unfortunately it seems the law are still frighteningly ill equipped in dealing with cyber bullying/stalking.
    I say if you can show the Gardai the screen shots/emails/posts and they concur that it constitutes bullying, then you should be given free reign to track the sniveling little psychopaths down.

The problem with these little keyboard warriors is that they think they can hide behind their laptops forever more. Confront them with the victims of their "bit of fun" and I bet you any money 90% of them would react like the kid in the OP. Because they're cowards and can't deal with actual real live people and emotions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,016 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

the_syco wrote: »
    Sounds like it was dumbed down so that the public could understand. I'd say the tech person created a fake website and got the user to click it. When you click a link, you send a lot of info, IIRC.

I think this story is just some unimaginative justice porn, where he's fed up getting abuse and wanted to invent a story to scare the trolls away.

While it is possible to get the IP of someone if you can trick them into visiting your website or downloading a hot-linked image from it, it doesn't give any personally identifiable information, unless they're browsing it from a work address in which case you get where they work.

So when he says he tracked down his home address... I'm suspicious.
    Unless he got help from someone working in the ISP of the troll.

I'm calling bullshit on this one too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭Linoge

Its quite obvious that the same person who sent the flowers and ashes is the same person trolling in the tweets. When the death threat was made the gards would have had more than enough reason to request the IP etc. from Twitter. Wouldnt even take much work. It was a great story but I am calling BS on this now.

the_syco wrote: »

I know what you're saying syco but even if the troll had accessed the fake website from his mobile and the user was able to get his mobile number and IP address, get triangulation info from mast location, this still wasn't going to be enough to pin down his exact location or home address, and the blogger makes a point of saying "perfectly legal means".

The whole thing sounds like a film I saw on "True Movies" once about the teenager who was addicted to porn, and how that was a cautionary tale, the parents being so understanding, etc. I know if that was my child he'd have gotten some clatter from me, never mind being "gently restrained at the table", and not just for what he did either, but for getting caught!

Amateur! :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Unfortunately it seems the law are still frighteningly ill equipped in dealing with cyber bullying/stalking.
    I say if you can show the Gardai the screen shots/emails/posts and they concur that it constitutes bullying, then you should be given free reign to track the sniveling little psychopaths down.

The problem with these little keyboard warriors is that they think they can hide behind their laptops forever more. Confront them with the victims of their "bit of fun" and I bet you any money 90% of them would react like the kid in the OP. Because they're cowards and can't deal with actual real live people and emotions.

From personal experience, if the Gardai have a reason, (death threats are a clear reason) they can request all the available information from the phone provider/ISP/website etc. If it happened, here, right now on Boards, they would have to hand over every piece of information they had on the individual. You are NOT anonymous on the internet in Ireland.

In the case I'm speaking of, the one making the threats rang in the Garda station, so the phone was handed over to him on the spot. Must have given the dude a shock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭whitesands

I know what you're saying syco but even if the troll had accessed the fake website from his mobile and the user was able to get his mobile number and IP address, get triangulation info from mast location, this still wasn't going to be enough to pin down his exact location or home address, and the blogger makes a point of saying "perfectly legal means".
    If he has GPS enabled on his phone it could be possible with a html5 page.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,260 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Troll eh? :cool:

whitesands wrote: »
    If he has GPS enabled on his phone it could be possible with a html5 page.

OT but that reminds me, when my child left his phone behind him (I used be able to track his location on Google Latitude) in Superknacks, we went back for it five minutes later but it was gone, whoever took it didn't cop to pull the battery and couldn't get past the finger pattern PIN (I tried calling it a few times), so we went down to the Garda station, they'd no interest- "Ah sure phones get robbed every day", so when we got home, whoever took it still had it turned on, so I sent a remote wipe command to it and then called the network provider and had them blacklist the IMEI just in case.

If whoever took it wasn't clever enough to pull the battery, they certainly weren't clever enough to flash the phone, so they were left with a brick. Luckily it was only a Samsung europa and not an S2!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

The third location was a friends house.

The Troll was his son. His 17yr old son.

How'd he know it wasn't his friend himself or wife or whatever? I mean even if you buy the "tracked it down to his house" thing.

bluewolf wrote: »

How'd he know it wasn't his friend himself or wife or whatever? I mean even if you buy the "tracked it down to his house" thing.

Because when you're writing fiction these details don't matter so much?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

It does sound like fiction all right

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

bluewolf wrote: »

Jeez, it's someone's account of what happened, not a police report.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭Linoge

I think the whole thing would have been more realistic if in the end he hacked and took control of the troll's computer and kept writing "I love cock" on his FB page.