Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Occupy Galway, fresh start thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Yeah, the cops had the square cordoned off there. Suppose they didnt want that eyesore stuck there for the Volvo Ocean race and all the summer shenanigans.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,553 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

The Square has been liberated from the Occupiers. Drove by there just after 6:30am. About 8 Garda vee-hick-les and what looked like a Garda horsebox.

The fun and games seemed to be mainly over but there were Gardai on foot escorting two bellicose gents past Fallers. Naturally there was 2 chap with 800 quids worth of a Canon's finest documenting the whole affair. Not sure if I quite heard correctly, but "come and see the violence inherent in the system!" may have been uttered.

According to the Advertiser, the operation started after 4:30am and 7 were there.

Robbo wrote: »
    The Square has been liberated from the Occupiers. Drove by there just after 6:30am. About 8 Garda vee-hick-les and what looked like a Garda horsebox.

The fun and games seemed to be mainly over but there were Gardai on foot escorting two bellicose gents past Fallers. Naturally there was 2 chap with 800 quids worth of a Canon's finest documenting the whole affair. Not sure if I quite heard correctly, but "come and see the violence inherent in the system!" may have been uttered.

According to the Advertiser, the operation started after 4:30am and 7 were there.

Any cries of rape? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭crusher000

Are they a waste of tax payers money ? What great advances has Galway seen by their great fore sight and understanding of how a city is run ?

crusher000 wrote: »
    Are they a waste of tax payers money ? What great advances has Galway seen by their great fore sight and understanding of how a city is run ?

Yeah i know, i cant believe we had to fork out for forty gardai to turf those smelly feckers out. :mad:

User banned

So we had to go out and find 40 new Garda ? We're paying them already . They're doing their job. By the way I'm not for people going into a public area and taking it over for 7 months either but at least they showed commitment to their cause unlike our elected representatives in Fine Gael and Labour whom we can do witout. Ireland now is under European rule and has lost it's independance. Do as you are told or else. By the way vote Yes or else. Democracy sure is alive and well.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,553 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Any cries of rape? :pac:

Actually, in this video of "raping the country" is mentioned.

Also: "13 trillion of natural resources", the "McEvaddy(?) brothers from Mayo putting poisonous chemtrails in the sky", "the One World Order who have sold their souls to Satan" and this all being about the "****ing sociopaths" from the Volvo Ocean Race.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Darling banned, if anyone else wants to take this chance to get a dig in at the occupiers Please don't

I wonder what excuse they used so then can remove the OG. Only 2 months ago the Garda said there was no legal ground for removing them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

biko wrote: »
    I wonder what excuse they used so then can remove the OG. Only 2 months ago the Garda said there was no legal ground for removing them.

No what they said was it was up to the council to get them moved. The council must have asked for them to be moved.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭dinneenp

I visited the camp and chatted to a few of them yesterday and had a wander around the camp taking some photos.

They have a good setup; solar power, a meeting room, kitchen, living area, flowers & plants growing, storage room and camping/sleeping area.

My full set of photos can be found here

occupy-galway-2012.jpg

occupy-galway.jpg

dinneenp wrote: »
    I visited the camp and chatted to a few of them yesterday and had a wander around the camp taking some photos.

They have HAD a good setup; solar power, a meeting room, kitchen, living area, flowers & plants growing, storage room and camping/sleeping area.

Fixed that for you

They're still meeting today - don't give up easy.
    "General Assembly today at 1 p.m. at Eyre Square to discuss what's next. As usual all are welcome." www.facebook.com/OccupyGalway

• Registered Users Posts: 6,802 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Now if we could stop Salthill Devon occupying Terryland Park.......:D

Seven Worlds will Collide

On topic please.

Now if we could stop Salthill Devon occupying Terryland Park.......:D

There are a lot more people overnight in the og camp than in Terryland anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

boardzz wrote: »
    Gardai throwing em out right now-finally !!

The people of Galway finally reclaim what is rightfully theirs, Eyre Square.

Roll on the Summer sheanigans, Arts week, the Races, the Volvo Ocean Race, having a cool pint in a leafy beer garden, all night house parties, going for a dip in Blackrock, all is right and just once again in the City of Tribes.

It's gonna be a hot, hot Summer. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,802 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

While I wouldn't be a supporter of the Occupy group, I feel a bit uneasy that the 'excuse' for moving them now is the VOLVO ocean race - a millionaires and big corporate pastime

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭kevin65

It was reported there was only seven people staying there when the guards moved in this morning, were the rest going home to their mammy's at night?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭Irishgoatman

biko wrote: »
    They're still meeting today - don't give up easy.
    "General Assembly today at 1 p.m. at Eyre Square to discuss what's next. As usual all are welcome." www.facebook.com/OccupyGalway[/QUOTE]

Well done for posting this biko.

Some people will remember that I have a connection with the OG.
    I won't be able to be there but I hope they have a decent turn out.

It's the same all over the world. World cups, Olympics hide the embarassing poverty or eye sores and show the globe how wonderful life is in these places. Nothing saying galway can be compared to South Africa, Bejiing or Brazil but you know what I mean. Also it wouldn't look good for our city councilors when does big yobs in Dublin come down to show their face at the Volvo race.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭jkforde

I'm curious, have any the posters here who are rabidly rejoicing in their removal or who childishly resort to name calling or insults ever raised their voice or walked the walk in protest for the greater social good? it's so lazy being self-righteous when you don't put anything of yourself on the line. while their occupation didn't achieve any tangible results at least they have had the courage to try and catalyse some social change for a fairer society.

🌦️ 6.7kwp, 45°, SSW, mid-Galway 🌦️

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Fair play to those Occupy Galway people for staying as long as they did through the long cold winter. For all the snarky remarks, the reasons for the protest are sincere concerns shared by all true irish citizens. There will be hard times ahead for all of us, and in time those who snigger and sneer now, will privately regret not supporting you, as their children are born into virtual slavery to pay for the debts of dead banks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

I heard they didn't pay their household charge! That's why they were removed. Let that be a lesson to the rest of ye!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭DriverMad

Its a sad day for free speech and peaceful protest.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,259 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

I think it's had it's time.

Glad it's gone tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

crusher000 wrote: »
    It's the same all over the world. World cups, Olympics hide the embarassing poverty or eye sores and show the globe how wonderful life is in these places. Nothing saying galway can be compared to South Africa, Bejiing or Brazil but you know what I mean. Also it wouldn't look good for our city councilors when does big yobs in Dublin come down to show their face at the Volvo race.

They don't hide anything. That's not their job to pinpoint poverty or eyesores. It's sport and these events provide jobs and money for people.

The Volvo Ocean Race and those 'big yobs' as you refer to them will provide much needed revenue to many businesses in Galway this Summer, more than any Occupy Galway group managed to provide.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭dloob

Oh no! who now will save us from the chemtrails being sprayed in the air by the McVaddy brother that will stop all the plants growing except those from Monsanto :cool:

Unfortunately this will be the trend. Those in power want to crush any signs of dis obedience or voice of concerns towards their doomed policies. We are now entering the era where German policy is to be European policy. The growth of Germany must be protected and it is being sold as the European recovery program. Long live Adolf Merkel. Folks we're in dangerous times but some peolpe are in denial or don't won't to face up to what's happening.Occupy Galway is as much a mind set as it was a camp in Eyre Square.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Listening to the City manager on the radio and he said this was a serious health hazard, the were going to the toilet at the back of the camp and the stench when they moved in today was terrible, the smell is still there he says and they will need to hose and disinfect several times.

Glad its gone to be honest.