Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What's the Alternative?

• 02-06-2012 3:56am
    Registered Users Posts: 34

Seriously, what is the alternative?

We voted FF/Greens out? We got FG/Labor in -- there isn't enough in SF/Left Alliance to form a government (if that is your inclination)....What's next?

We are restricted by FF's agreement to bail out the banks, e.g. Anglo-Irish, etc, so what next?

In an ideal world, we don't pay for the bankers -- what about the real world?

Just curious

• Registered Users Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

Pamela13 wrote: »
    Seriously, what is the alternative?

We voted FF/Greens out? We got FG/Labor in -- there isn't enough in SF/Left Alliance to form a government (if that is your inclination)....What's next?

We are restricted by FF's agreement to bail out the banks, e.g. Anglo-Irish, etc, so what next?

In an ideal world, we don't pay for the bankers -- what about the real world?

Just curious
    This is unlikely to happen but I am not discounting the possibility that SF/ULA could eventually get into power.

If that happened it would really shake up politics in Ireland which I think is what we need.

My hope is that after one term with Gerry Adams as Taoiseach and the probable rise in government spending and taxation there would be a sharp swing back to the right with some new party filling the vacuum.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I don't see a coalition of SF / ULA ever getting into power. The vast majority of the middle class will not vote for them. They're populist parties preaching what people want to hear. What people want to hear generally doesn't work in the real world and most people realise this.

Look at labour, they used to be a populist party. Now that they're in power they've had to backtrack on many of their pre-election policies.

RMD wrote: »
    I don't see a coalition of SF / ULA ever getting into power. The vast majority of the middle class will not vote for them. They're populist parties preaching what people want to hear. What people want to hear generally doesn't work in the real world and most people realise this.

Look at labour, they used to be a populist party. Now that they're in power they've had to backtrack on many of their pre-election policies.
    So Labour is one example of populist party getting into power.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

We could debate the differences between parties for many hours but to me, it seems that elections here can be summed up by a quote from the late Bill Hicks.

"I think the puppet on the right shares my beliefs."
    "I think the puppet on the left is more to my liking."
    "Hey, wait a minute, there's one guy holding out both puppets!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Kinski

The ULA are basically revolutionary socialists; I wouldn't expect them to ever contemplate becoming a junior partner in a coalition govt, even one led by SF. They're dyed-in-the-wool reds; IMO nothing less than a govt dedicated to revolutionising Ireland's political, social, and economic landscape would be acceptable to them.

A future SF-led govt is a possibility, if recent trends in opinion polls continue. You can thank Labour for that - shot themselves in the foot by hooking up with FG.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

we have a good left alternative which is growing
    don't confuse socialism with populism

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Hopefully that's the reason they will never get into power. Can you imagine RBB as minister for finance?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,643 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Nobody's confusing it but every single party or group not in government, except for FF, was preaching populist views with very little basis in fact, they were telling people exactly what they wanted to hear which is how we got into this mess in the first place

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

RichardAnd wrote: »
    We could debate the differences between parties for many hours but to me, it seems that elections here can be summed up by a quote from the late Bill Hicks.

"I think the puppet on the right shares my beliefs."
    "I think the puppet on the left is more to my liking."
    "Hey, wait a minute, there's one guy holding out both puppets!"

Excellent quote and pretty much sums it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

flipping good question, i have no idea

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Excellent quote and pretty much sums it up.

Thank you. I would encourage anything with an interest in politics to look into Bill Hicks works. He was far more than a comedian, he was a man with a truly wonderful and refreshing view on the world. The same could be said of George Carlin.

The reality as I see it, is that that it doesn't matter who we vote for or how we choose to vote in a referendum. The real rulers of the world aren't politicians and if they are, they certainly aren't Irish politicians. Your local TD might be able to get the odd fence fixed or arrange for a school to have a new boiler installed but when it comes to the real items of power, the laws are made and signed at a far higher level.

Thus, when the venal little sock puppets in RTE taut out another convoluted piece of half truths or propaganda, don't bother getting worked up or shaking your fist at a picture of Enda Kenny because he doesn't matter. No, Enda and his coterie of fools and yes men exist for a very simple reason, they postulate the idea that the masses actually have a choice in the decisions that affect their lives and when the great unwashed become irate, they stand ready to soak up backlash, however mild it is.

When the next election rolls around, vote for FG, FF, the ULA, SF or whomever else decides to stand, it doesn't matter who wins. As for me, I think I'd like to see Jedward sitting in Enda's seat for a few years because if they were, people might start to wake up when they realise nothing will change.

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭fianna saor

a new nationalist party which puts our own country first instead of our lapdog status within europe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

The whip system needs to go, smaller government......

People need to cop the f on, do some research before voting

• Registered Users Posts: 13,078 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

This is unlikely to happen but I am not discounting the possibility that SF/ULA could eventually get into power.

If that happened it would really shake up politics in Ireland which I think is what we need.

Yeah right.
    Dream on.

The last few days have shown how much they would shake up politics.
    They can't bring themselves to demand that a tax defaulter and tax cheat should resign his seat.
    They have offered mealy mouthed excuses.
    They have claimed it is wrong, but they have also stated the person in question should not resign as it is a matter for the people who elected him.

Even the most self righteous of them all one, joe higgins, has slipped.

Not to mention the People Before Profit Taxes .

The funny thing is they did not adopt this stance when the moriarity report came out and they demanded the TD involved in that should resign immediately.

Oh and if you think SF are any different did anybody notice the excuses trotted out when one of their members was found out to have purchased at taxpayers expense enough printing cartridges to outdo Folens publishing. :rolleyes:

jmayo wrote: »
    Yeah right.
    Dream on.

They can't bring themselves to demand that a tax defaulter and tax cheat should resign his seat.
    They have claimed it is wrong, but they have also stated the person in question should not resign as it is a matter for the people who elected him.

The funny thing is they did not adopt this stance when the moriarity report came out and they demanded the TD involved in that should resign immediately.

Oh and if you think SF are any different did anybody notice the excuses trotted out when one of their members was found out to have purchased at taxpayers expense enough printing cartridges to outdo Folens publishing. :rolleyes:
    Just to clarify. I think the ULA would perform terribly in government. SF are slightly more sane but only slightly. (I do support the reunification of Ireland though)

I am dreaming, but my dream is not for a socialist utopia with the common "worker" on the dole and the super rich (any one with a job) paying all the tax.

My dream is that they would do such a terrible job that the nation would recoil in horror and swing sharply to the economic right.

Really what I am saying is that there is a political void in Ireland at the moment which needs to be filled by a new party and I'm just fantasizing about how we might get there :)

Just to clarify. I think the ULA would perform terribly in government. SF are slightly more sane but only slightly. (I do support the reunification of Ireland though)

I am dreaming, but my dream is not for a socialist utopia with the common "worker" on the dole and the super rich (any one with a job) paying all the tax.

My dream is that they would do such a terrible job that the nation would recoil in horror and swing sharply to the economic right.

Really what I am saying is that there is a political void in Ireland at the moment which needs to be filled by a new party and I'm just fantasizing about how we might get there :)

Other more likely path is that the Euro melts down, country goes into serious depression and we get a far right government that sterilises half the population so that we might have some semblance of responsibility and integrity in public life in another 90 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Personally I think our generation are a lost cause. Best thing to do is to try start an education policy to engage people in politics. Focus on getting peopl to ask more questions of their elected officials and more importantly demand a strong ethical/principled person.

It's a long term project but you can't change people's short minded beliefs unless you get an inspirational leader of a party that stands for these things. The quality of leaders throughout the world says it all about how impotent voters of western civilisation feel regarding their options at election.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭BFDCH.

jmayo wrote: »
    Yeah right.
    Dream on.

so what are you saying? there is no alternative- is that it?

we accept that everyone in there are clowns cut from the same cloth and that we are going to be ****ed the same way regardless of which clown we vote into power? we just roll our eyes and let them get on with it.

BFDCH. wrote: »
    so what are you saying? there is no alternative- is that it?

Well the gobsh**es of the left are exactly that.
    There policies have always been of the fairytale variety, but at least one could claim they were honourable and had some integrity.

The last week has shown they do not have the above, when they can't even demand the resignation of a politican that has engaged in tax evasion, because he would be closer to them than members of other parties.

If you can't see the issue with the likes of ULA, PBP, Ming, etc claiming on the one hand they want to shake things up whilst on the other backing a tax cheat then I think you are deluded somewhat.

The alternative is we start from scratch.
    For a start we need a new party to shake things up.
    A party not populated by eejits who just protest against everything (stand up richie boyd boy), a party not made up of ones that view our police force as legitimate targets (mr ferris), a party not made up of the ones who want the local gombeenism to continue (healy-raes, mattie mcgraths), a party not beholden to unions or some failed socialist ideology and a party not made up of the old tribalism of ff and FG.

But this party will not work as long as the people continue to support the existing status quo.
    In short we get the politicans we vote for and support.
    FFS I come from a county which has people who would still support bev flynn.
    People in Limerick still support o'dea.
    People in Tipp still support lowry.
    People in Kerry still support ferris.
    And as sure as God, there will be people in Wexford who will still support Wallace.
    For all the cr** about change, people are still doing the same thing.
    BFDCH. wrote: »
    we accept that everyone in there are clowns cut from the same cloth and that we are going to be ****ed the same way regardless of which clown we vote into power? we just roll our eyes and let them get on with it.

I dont' accept everyone in there is a clown.
    Some are cute hoors and these are far more dangerous.
    Some are smart hardworking and honest, but as a whole most of them could be described as clowns who are in it for their own good.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭john47

Well the alternative, if there can be one found, needs to be for the people.

jmayo makes some good comments there, about what it shouldn't be but we need to go further (and there is probably some cross over in the thread "new political party".

Rather than listing what a new party shouldnt be, we need to change the way we think about politics - and the way it works - so instead of a local TD looking after his roads (Healy Ray), that elected representative needs to work and represent the whole country not just their little corner - so then in turn we need a different way to elect TD because if the local people have to elect their reps and the only way that rep can get a vote is to fix the potholes or put a roof on the school well then there will be no change.

So to get an alternative a lot needs to change.

As to a new republican party - mmmmm - that would mostly consist of some people leaving FF and some people leaving SF so thats not a real change - same people, same ideals, different name on the headed paper and election poster.

But, we do need to both start educating ourselves on who to elect and start educating kids in school as to how the country runs. There will be a discussion later this year on lowering the voting age...that could be fun.

Am not a fan of Wallace but 14,500 people gave him a 1st preference vote. In a by-election people of wexford would still elect him!!!

John Ryan
    Wexford

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭thecommietommy

Well, FG/FF/Lab are sure as hell not going to change now, so what is needed is a new, left wing alternative and as far as I'm concerned the ULA fit that. Doubt that they will form a single party govt but they certainly will look after the poor and workers rights in any coalition.

what is the ula's policy on immigration?

john47 wrote: »
    There will be a discussion later this year on lowering the voting age...that could be fun.
    I am all for lowering the voting age but it needs to be replaced with an alternate method of ensuring the voter is competent. This would in fact be more effective than what we have now as half of Ireland seems incompetent.

What would this consist of? A brief questionnaire about the policies/impacts of the person/party/choice you are voting for submitted with your vote. You get it wrong and your vote is null. This would at least force people to make an informed decision.

Expect the drinking age to be lowered to 16 :)

the alternative has to be somebody new, these clowns that keep getting voted in are going to keep destroying this country year after year, we need to stand up and put our foot down and not have this sh1t thrown at us any longer. we're just puppets for a european master and any hope of ireland being ireland again is lost as long as the voting trends continue

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

I suppose there will probably be low voter turnout at the next election.

I guess a list system is badly needed at this stage, to get some kind of a technocratic government.

I'd prefer to just hand the reigns over to the EU tbh tho, bypass the gombeen Irish middleman.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Sinn Fein are pro choice for abortion.

Strangly hit the ground and disappeared as regards the Marie Stopes Clinic in Belfast.

Replies have gone very quiet, AWAITING SF RESPONSE FROM HQ.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

Representative democracy has taken us as far as it can go and it's limitations grow more obvious by the day. It's time to begin moving towards a more comprehensive direct democracy with a robust system of checks and balances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

K-9 wrote: »
    Sinn Fein are pro choice for abortion.

They aren't. They never have been. They're in favour of limited abortion in circumstances threatening the life of the mother, as is the case in the North and is (supposedly) the case down here. Its been this way for any number of years now, and - along with the position on drugs - is one where my views and the partys part ways.
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/pro-life-campaigners-threaten-to-shut-down-belfast-clinic-210621.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

The only real alternative that makes any political sense is a FF/FG coalition. Notwithstanding their historical differences, they are the most likeminded politically and may actually drive the country in a single direction .. rather than having fundamentally opposed coalition parties pulling against one another . .

By the next election, Labour will have imploded even further; the ULA can't even keep a non-political 'technical group' together and seem to abandon their principles when one of their comrades is in hot water; FG will never get an overall majority and the only party who seem to have any level of stability is Sinn Fein (Gerry Adams for Tanaiste ??)

Its time this country had a real choice between right and left . .

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

The system needs to change and people need to be more educated on how their vote can effect the running of the country (and ultimatley their pocket) . .

Vote for Councellors to fix your potholes and leave the running of the country to the TDs . . We need less politicians so people in power have a stronger mandate and are less likely to pander to certain institutions & vested interest groups . .

We also need a government with the stones to reform the public service and completely overhaul how they tender for business. Unfortunatley it would also involve cutting their own pay, pension and allowances which the current crowd wouldnt do if their families lives depended on it . .