Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Spooky eerie happenstance thingy.

• 04-03-2009 11:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭

So there I was, sporting my new dead mans jacket that I just bought from a charity shop over the weekend and feeling all smart and sharp as I strutted down the road. I tried to put my train ticket in the ticket pocket only to discover that there was already something in there. Strange, I thought to myself, strange indeed as charity shops always go through the pockets of garments before having them cleaned and putting on display. I took out a business card from the pocket, a bit shabby after going through the cleaning process but still readable.
    The previous owner has the SAME surname as me.:eek:

It's not like I have a very common surname, I'm not in the Smith or Murphy range of common-ness but to realise that my new jacket belonged to someone of the same name gave me the heebeejeebees. Standing there with the dead mans card in my hand and seeing that name embossed gave me the willies and I experienced that feeling of "Someone Walking over my Grave".
    Anyone else ever get that sensation?

Lovely jacket though, hounds-tooth wool/silk blend with mother of pearl buttons. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

The card might have been given to the previous owner..
    why would he have just one of his own cards in his pocket..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,182 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

That's pretty spooky alright. That jacket was definitely meant for you. You should change your username to OldCoat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

I baught a second hand furr coat at a festival one year. I found a disposble camera in the pocket with no pictures left on it.

Would love to get it developed to see whats on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,812 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Femmy wrote: »
    The card might have been given to the previous owner..
    why would he have just one of his own cards in his pocket..
    Maybe the person who killed him gave him the card.

I'd burn that jacket quick sharp

• Registered Users Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I baught a second hand furr coat at a festival one year. I found a disposble camera in the pocket with no pictures left on it.

Why dont you then?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

maybe you have a different first name in the future and travelled back in time to sell it to a clothing shop and "freak yourself right the feck out" :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,182 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

I'd burn that jacket quick sharp
    Rubbish advice. Burn the jacket and he'll be warm for an hour. Wear the jacket and he'll be warm for life. Pighead bets you're the type of guy who gives the poor people fish but won't teach them how to use a rod. Short term-ism at it's worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Now that is intresting .Wait till ya here this one from about 10 years ago .

I had asked my brother to book me and girlfriend (at time) into a Dublin hotel so we could attend our mothers surprise 60th birthday party .We were travelling from the isle of mann, were we were both working at the time and he went ahead and booked us into a southside hotel .We duly arrived on the day only for the receptionist to tell us '' yes sir, we are expecting a couple form the isle of mann but not under your name ,the people we are expecting are under name doyle . ? ( confusion )

I tried to get in touch with brother to find out if we were in right hotel but to no avail but receptionist assumed us it would be ok and they would give us a room,no problems .So all was well and then on the night of the party brother asked us was the hotel accomadation in --- --- ok ? But ,says I to bro ,we are not staying in that place ,we are staying in ---- ---- .:eek:

Apparently he had booked us into a hotel with same name as one we had arrived in ( dont ask) But .. ......and this is the best bit that confused us all Me, Bro , Hotel people . Who were the mr and mrs Doyle from isle of mann ,who had booked and paid by cheque for their weekend accomadation but hadn't shown up ?

Was it just coincidence that two people also from the isle of mann showed up ,on the same day but to the wrong hotel ,while the people who should have shown up didn't ? :eek:

What were the odds of that happening ?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,812 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Playing cards one night in a friends house there was a biggish pot in the middle, c. IR£50. Included in this were two IR£5 notes brought to the game by different people but as I was looking to them I was explaining to one of the others at the table how they had a date and serial number on them, only then did I discover that two fivers on the table, one looking ragged, one looking pretty new actually had consecutive serial number so were therefore printed one after another and had rejoined at that table.

The chances of that have to be up in the billions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Playing cards one night in a friends house there was a biggish pot in the middle, c. IR£50. Included in this were two IR£5 notes brought to the game by different people but as I was looking to them I was explaining to one of the others at the table how they had a date and serial number on them, only then did I discover that two fivers on the table, one looking ragged, one looking pretty new actually had consecutive serial number so were therefore printed one after another and had rejoined at that table.

The chances of that have to be up in the billions

The game, you lost it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

My parents bought a house years ago and the original owner of the house [hundred years ago like] had the same surname as my maternal grandmother

My current GP used to be my late Nana's (herself mentioned above) GP decades ago (she died when I was 8 or 9).

I used to have a hotmail account with my real surname and first initial, I got an email one day (pre the days of porn spam and whathaveyou) which was from someone chatting on about something. I have no idea who they were, so I emailed them back and said "I think you sent this to the wrong person" - apparently they had, the person they were aiming the email at was using their surname and first name initial - but also had their middle initial, which *scream* is the same middle initial as mine.

I went to Canada last year for a holiday and there was someone on the same floor [of the hotel] as me with the same surname. Aside from relations, I've never met anyone else with the same surname as us. I've heard of someone with the same surname - he's a theatre director or summat.

Many many years ago I volunteered to stay behind after a riding lesson to help with the following lesson (four kids having their first lesson) the riding school owner suggested I phone my mother to let her know I would be late, she asked what my phone number was and I recited it out, she dialled the phone and handed it to me - I spoke to what I thought was my brother, he'd no idea who I was and refused to put mam on the phone - I argued with him under the assumption that he was [once again] acting the maggot and pretending I didn't exist. Eventually the fella said "what number did you want?" I recited out our number - which ended in a 0 - the number the woman had dialled ended in a 1 (I'd pronounced the zero as "oh"). Imagine if you will my utter and total shock when I discovered many years later that the fella I'd been arguing with on the phone was now my brother's best friend.

How do you know the original owner of the jacket is dead? Don't living people give clothes to charity shops? I do. I saw someone wearing one of my old T-shirts once LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

How do you know the original owner of the jacket is dead?
    Oh hush up with your logical thinking, you'll ruin a great story. By the time I'm finished embellishing this one down the pub I'll have used the card to get intouch with the poor mans widow. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

OldGoat wrote: »
    Oh hush up with your logical thinking, you'll ruin a great story. By the time I'm finished embellishing this one down the pub I'll have used the card to get inside the poor mans widow. :D

FYP :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,633 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

GAAman wrote: »
    FYP I've turned your post into a crude innuendo that totally fails to see the subulty of the implied innuendo of the original post :pac:
    FYP :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

Oh hush up with your logical thinking, you'll ruin a great story. By the time I'm finished embellishing this one down the pub I'll have used the card to get intouch with the poor mans widow. :D

How do you know he was married?

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

So there I was, sporting my new dead mans jacket that I just bought from a charity shop over the weekend

Who says the previous owner is dead? :confused:

Plenty of living folk donate clothes to charity shops too ya know!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

This one time when I was waiting for the bus with this guy who I didnt know, he was just at my bus stop. And then when I got off the bus he got off at the same stop :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Last night, when I was brushing me teeth in my bathroom there was this guy standing opposite me, and I shit you not, he was brushing his teeth just as I was!! Looked the exact same as me too. Even bent down to spit out toothfoam at the same time I did. Only thing was he was brushing his teeth with his left hand, me with my right. Oh, and his t-shirt said nileppez del not led zeppelin...

Weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

... probably some pictures of the cute little animals that were slaughtered for your "fashion" sense. Pity there wasn't one left, you couldv'e done a self-portait and completed the set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭MoveOn

When the 'Wizard of Oz' movie was being made, the guy playing the cowardly lion bought himself a second hand coat one day. When he put it on, he noticed the previous owner's name was written on the name tag. Turned out the previous owner was L. Frank Baum, who wrote the 'Oz' books. True and even vaguely interesting story!

And while I'm on Oz, trivia fans may be interested to know that when he was originally writing the books, Baum didn't know what to call his new land. So he had a gander around his study, and saw his filing cabinet which was alphabetically divided; A-N and O-Z. Presumably, 'The Wizard of An' didn't quite hold the same appeal.

I'm only a newbie but this is probably the most boring post I've posted so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

consultech wrote: »
    ... probably some pictures of the cute little animals that were slaughtered for your "fashion" sense. Pity there wasn't one left, you couldv'e done a self-portait and completed the set.

If we weren't meant to wear animals why did god make them covered in fur?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

MoveOn wrote: »
    I'm only a newbie but this is probably the most boring post I've posted so far.

I agree. See your username there, I suggest you do it :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

In the 1970s, the British government sold off its stock of .303 Lee Enfield rifles to the public. Write in, enclose a cheque, get a rifle. Ah, times were simpler then.

Well, one WWII veteran wanted one for old time's sake, so he applied. He recognised the serial number as the one he had carried during the war. Random chance.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

6th wrote: »
    Why dont you then?

Would you really want to see the kind of pictures a bloke in a fur-coat would take? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 35,523 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

latchyco wrote: »
    Was it just coincidence that two people also from the isle of mann showed up ,on the same day but to the wrong hotel ,while the people who should have shown up didn't ? :eek:

What were the odds of that happening ?
    5-2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

stovelid wrote: »
    Would you really want to see the kind of pictures a bloke in a fur-coat would take? :)

haha, fair point!