Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

18-05-2013, 09:13   #6181
Slogger Jogger

A week to go. Wrap yourself in cotton wool time.
Thanks from:
18-05-2013, 11:29   #6182
Krusty_Clown

Send a message via AIM to Krusty_Clown
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgmcpq View Post
All hail King Krusty
I meant reign as in...... Never mind..

Quote:
1) When are you running the 400m?

2) What sort of specific training have you got in mind for the beer mile mid June? I assume you are building a base right now?
Hope to give it a shot at the next graded meets (meet 3). Of course I've done no specific training. Any thoughts on a few sessions? Think it would be worth hitting the track for some 200s at target pace? At least I'll have the spikes this time around.

I'm all about the Wicklow Way relay at the moment. Best race in the calendar! Dreading it already. Scariest race in the calendar too. As to the beer mile, I reckon I'm still in shape to run a sub 5 minute mile, but I haven't chugged a drink in 20 years. I envisage being a quivering heaving mess after 800m. I reckon it'll be the first race I ever DNF!
(2) thanks from:
18-05-2013, 18:17   #6183
BeepBeep67

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krusty_Clown View Post
Monday: 1 hour rock climbing
Legs were in bits (strangely far more sore than the day after running Donadea 50k, which was a good chunk faster), so I took another running rest day. I have now had more non-running days this year, than I did all of last year. I could barely manage the stairs,
Impact of running in the fat burning zone? Approx MP + 1min.
19-05-2013, 01:02   #6184
Pisco Sour

Quote:
I meant reign as in...... Never mind..

Hope to give it a shot at the next graded meets (meet 3). Of course I've done no specific training. Any thoughts on a few sessions? Think it would be worth hitting the track for some 200s at target pace? At least I'll have the spikes this time around.

I'm all about the Wicklow Way relay at the moment. Best race in the calendar! Dreading it already. Scariest race in the calendar too. As to the beer mile, I reckon I'm still in shape to run a sub 5 minute mile, but I haven't chugged a drink in 20 years. I envisage being a quivering heaving mess after 800m. I reckon it'll be the first race I ever DNF!
I'd recommend a couple of specific sessions but as you haven't been doing that sort of stuff you'd be better off easing into it rather than going gung-ho all out.

Maybe do 3x200m in 30-32 seconds with 4 minutes recovery to ease into it. Then the next session could be 3x300m in 45-46 seconds with 5 minute recoveries.

I wouldn't worry about the beer mile. As long as you pace yourself in both drinking and running (being a sub 5 miler is irrelevant for your first beer mile, you just want to finish), get a small bit of practice with the skulling beforehand, you will find that by beer 3 you will be catching those eejits who went out with a 65 second first lap. Think of the running part as a swift jog and you will get through it without spewing.

This is a race report I really want to read!
Thanks from:
19-05-2013, 14:19   #6185
Krusty_Clown

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeepBeep67 View Post
Impact of running in the fat burning zone? Approx MP + 1min.
6:50 is MP + 1 min? I wish! No, just because I've run two marathons in three weeks and fit in a good bit of hill running in between. I always promise myself that I'll take a week off after every marathon, but I only ever last two days. I really enjoy running (not just racing) so it creeps back in after 48 hours. Also I'm an addict.

Yesterday: 6 miles easy with strides
I really have not been feeling well the last few days. Haven't been getting any sleep and Thursday night's hangover isn't out of the bloodstream. Just a case of over-doing everything (running, drinking, being awake). So headed to the park with the idea of doing some strides, just in case I was in any fit state to run the 5 mile in Terenure on Sunday. I hadn't signed up for it, but was keeping an open mind, as I wanted to get some quality done this week. 2 miles very easy and then slotted in the strides, starting with 5 x 80 strides, 2 x 120 strides, and 1 x 160 strides.

Today: Terenure Sportsworld 5 mile
Another really crappy night's sleep (around 3-4 hours) and when the alarm went off, I felt very unwell; completely exhausted to the point of slight nausea. I had paid my €20 though (I registered around 30 minutes before reg closed yesterday) so figured that if Pronator (who was also very much in doubt about making the race) arrived at the door to give me a lift, I'd go. Otherwise I'd give it a miss and have an easy run in the hills. I was really, really hoping that Pronator would text me and cancel, but by 9am, I knew the game was up and packed up my stuff. I got a lift with Pre and Pronator (great to see Pre back on his feet again) and we went for an easy 2.5 mile run on the grass after picking up our numbers. I felt like I was struggling and when I looked at my watch and saw 7:51/mile, I knew I was not well, and I needed a different game plan for the race. No point in pressurizing yourself when you feel rotten, so I turned the Garmin to show miles only and twisted it around my wrist so I wouldn't be tempted to take a sneaky peek. I figured the best thing to do was run by feel, enjoy the race and just get a good tempo session out of it.

I started the watch with the starting horn, and that was my last interaction with the watch until I crossed the finish line. A bit of a slow start for me, as I had started back a good bit (the guy I chatted to before the race was aiming for sub 40), and within 1/3rd of a mile, I caught the sub-40 guy. A nice long straight and I was milling past loads of runners and just settling into my stride. Eventually I caught the back of the club runners section. Had no idea what pace I was running, but it felt like around 5:30 (actual 5:33). For the next few miles, I just cruised, passing runner after runner after runner (mile 2: 5:39, mile 3:5:41). Eventually I caught up with the leading women (well, except for Maria MacCambridge!) and pushed on. By mile 4, I finally started to feel comfortable (think it takes me 3-4 miles in a race until I warm-up properly) and was still picking of group after group (mile 4: 5:26).

By mile 5, there weren't many runners ahead as the gaps had really opened up, but I spotted on of the lads I had raced recently in Marlay Park run, who was running alongside another lad. I caught them with around .6 of a mile to go and settled in to catch my breath. The sun had broken through the clouds and with it, came thousands of flies. At 5:30'ish/mile, it's hard to avoid the feckers, and I swallowed three, spat out two, and got a couple in my eyes. Eugh... I pushed on past the lads and caught a Clonliffe runner, with 1/2 mile to go. After a short while, I pushed on passed him as well. I didn't want any of the three lads to pass me (they were getting a good bit of encouragement around the course) but at the same time, I just didn't feel fresh or strong enough for a really good finish, so I just picked up the pace a little (enough to hold the other runners off).

I passed the start line and one of the marshalls was good enough to let me know that it was another 200m to the finish line and I couldn't hear any of the lads behind me (no way I was looking back!). As I rounded the corner, I saw the clock for the first time, showing around 27:40 with around 100m to go. I picked up the pace, just to make sure that I got in under the 28 minute mark and crossed the line with an official time of 27:54 for 25th place.

Not my best race ever (and 20 seconds off of my PB from last year) but the way I was feeling before the race, it was as good a result as I could have hoped for. I felt pretty comfortable throughout and got the decent tempo session I was looking for and for the first time since I got my Garmin, ran entirely by feel (and lived to tell the tale!). Pronator ran a very solid low 27 min time, so seems all set to do some damage over the summer. For me, it's time to cut back on the drinking, get more sleep and start to feel healthy and fast again. The break is over.

Summary: 5 miles in 27:54, @5:35/mile

Last edited by Krusty_Clown; 19-05-2013 at 14:23.
Yesterday, 00:12   #6186
Krusty_Clown

Yesterday: rock climbing

Thankfully no residual affects from the race (proving that I was a lazy git). Rock-climbing on the other hand... Don't read this Slogger-Jogger:
Spoiler: Whacked my knee off of a protruding rock, and after a few minutes of effin and blinding, tried another climb and landed hard, feeling a jarring in my knee. Then realized I couldn't walk properly or bend my knee, and packed it in. Spent the evening alternating between ice, compression and anti-inflammatories.. Thankfully, woke thing morning and it was flexing fine.

Today: 5.5 + 5.5
Recovery lunch run - glad to see that the knee was working as normal, so was happy to stick with some loops around the local field. Recovery pace turned out to be 7:17/mile (HR=134), so on the mend. Followed up with an easy run home, with bag that weighed a half-stone on my back (weighed it when I got home). Coincidentally the same amount of weight that I shed in the last 6 weeks before the marathon. Really brings it home, just how much extra effort is required to carry the extra weight. 5.5 miles @7:25/mile.
Thanks from:
Yesterday, 11:40   #6187
RunningKing

Quote:

Recovery pace turned out to be 7:17/mile (HR=134).
KC - do you always do training runs with a HRM? How often do you check resting heart rate? Do you train by pace or HR - or does 1 dictate the other??

I'm interested in picking up little titbits of advice as I currently own, but dont use a HRM.
Yesterday, 11:50   #6188
pistol_75

Quote:
Originally Posted by RunningKing View Post
KC - do you always do training runs with a HRM? How often do you check resting heart rate? Do you train by pace or HR - or does 1 dictate the other??

I'm interested in picking up little titbits of advice as I currently own, but dont use a HRM.
And if I could tag on here just a query about calculating my Max HR. What is the best way of establishing it apart from a test. I have date from recent races as well as hill intervals in the last week. Would one of thes be relative as a % of max HR?

Races were over 5K, 10K & HM and hill intervals were a club session.
Yesterday, 12:29   #6189
Krusty_Clown

Quote:
Originally Posted by RunningKing View Post

No, I don't always train with a HRM. In fact I had to dust it off for my last marathon training cycle, and replace the battery. I haven't used it consistently since then either, but find it handy to wear during races or training sessions (rather than general aerobic runs) to see where my fitness levels are. I wore it yesterday, as I've been very tired over the last 4-5 days and wanted to make sure there weren't signs that I was doing some damage (e.g. if my HR had been very low or very high). I don't use it for looking at a specific run, but rather comparing one run to another, or looking at a general trend. I never look at it during training or racing. I don't train by HR and mostly (except for sessions) don't train by pace either. I wear my Garmin for most runs, but usually only have distance (or time; but not both!) showing on the watch. On easy/aerobic runs, I have found that looking at pace numbers is counter-productive.

As for resting HR: I was checking it regularly during marathon training, particularly with a view to looking for signs of over-training or ill-health. I'd check it in the morning or in the afternoon, every couple of days. I don't use a Garmin for this (because it's sh1te!), but rather the 'Instant Heart Rate' app (Android/iPhone) which I find gives very accurate results (sitting at my desk I'm currently 47bpm).

Quote:
Originally Posted by pistol_75
And if I could tag on here just a query about calculating my Max HR. What is the best way of establishing it apart from a test. I have date from recent races as well as hill intervals in the last week. Would one of thes be relative as a % of max HR?

Races were over 5K, 10K & HM and hill intervals were a club session.
I'll be honest, I don't even know what my max HR is. Looking at recent races, I have maxed out at 172bpm (Ballycotton), 170bpm (Marlay Parkrun), and 171bpm (London marathon) so I'd estimate that my max is around 3-4 bpms higher than these values (around 175bpm), as none of these races would have been ideal to reach my max heart rate. As for relevance, I just can't see anyone hitting near max HR in a club session, so it would really depend on how much you put into your 5k, 10k and half marathon races. I would guess that the idea race to get close to your max HR would be somewhere between 3k and 5k (or any relay race, where the weight of expectation will force you to push just that little bit harder!).
(3) thanks from:
Yesterday, 13:38   #6190
Beef

Send a message via MSN to Beef Send a message via Skype™ to Beef
Thanks for the tip as regards the heart rate monitor app - it's brilliant! I've been meaning to take my heart rate in the mornings but can't be arsed when it comes to it, and I'm hopping up late for work etc...
When the alarm goes off in the morning I'll have no excuse! These training logs are endlessly helpful.
Yesterday, 18:31   #6191
Slogger Jogger

I'll keep that spoiler to read after Saturday

Gentle run or nothing at all on Thurs and Fri. Theres a couple of spots I can meet your path on leg 7 so we can work out refueling etc.

You'll have serious competition on leg 7 from the adventure racers. I expect Tim ODonoghue to mark up the fastest time of the day. Seriously good time by him in Ballycotton earlier this year and he's a dervish on the hills. Nice chap too.
Yesterday, 20:53   #6192
Kurt Godel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slogger Jogger View Post
I'll keep that spoiler to read after Saturday
You're way to easy on him SJ. As his former captain, let me tell you he only understands the stick, and even then he's fairly useless. Plant a couple of beers at the top of the hills, that might work. Eat the head off him at the bottom of the hills, and point at your watch like its Fergie time, you might squeeze a few extra seconds for the team. I don't envy you though, every team has a weak link...

Go'wan de After 8's

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion