Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

So Where Will You Be? [survivor Map]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭SmileyPaul

fair play for puttin in beaumont hospital as a danger zone, maybe we could get a couple of them up as well? obviously prisons are gonna be a great place to hold, but the second an infectee gets in you've got another 400+ Z's on our hands.... and they'll already have there own higherarchy! may god help us all.... :P

• Registered Users Posts: 10 lexabel

well that me fooked on day zero, ill be the fastest runnering fecker in the place straight to Nolans get my stuff and head to Newgrange !

• Registered Users Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Added my place in, Central Mental Hospital, nice big walls, secure inner electrified fence, and at max only 80s patients if ever full but most seem to be there on days for rehab while at secure locations at night,

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭smegmar

over the next few days I'm editing everything, adding categories to everything, one of five

Fortress1: best places to set up camp, and hold till rescue or take back city

Fortress2: Also good places to camp. Generally less central and secure then fortress 1.

Primary Resource: places to raid for the goods but not safe to say in.
    Contains resources necessary for survival; guns, food, etc

Secondary Resource: A good place to raid but not to stay,
    Contains resources to retake city; vehicles, fuel, building materials, etc

Tertiary Resource: A good place to raid but not to stay,
    Contains resources for making like good again; porno, music, fun and games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Jackalxx

the 1st thing i would recomend is get out of dodge if your in a city, if it were an infection type causing a spread of a zombie virus you'd want to get out ASAP. think of the population of dublin
    - City 505,739
    - Urban 1,045,769
    - Metro 1,661,185
    basically it would be a bloodbath if you dont find a very very secure area. i personally would be gone as far into the countryside or mountains as far away from any major population.i'd then gather resources such as vehicles,vans for materials,even trucks and setup a stronghold,also petrol would be extremely valuable. look at mad max films etc,no petrol and your walking. i know where theres actually a nuclear shelter near where i live, its there for government ministers incase of sellafield incident etc but il be taking that over for my crew hehe,its 20min outside dublin :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Setheme

There is the place outside of the dublin, where I found some military base, that I've never heard about before. No houses within 5km radius from that place, so I don't think zombies would come near. But, I had to turn my car immediately and drive away, so I don't think they would wecome civilians during outbreak...

Setheme wrote: »
    There is the place outside of the dublin, where I found some military base, that I've never heard about before. No houses within 5km radius from that place, so I don't think zombies would come near. But, I had to turn my car immediately and drive away, so I don't think they would wecome civilians during outbreak...
    sounds like the curragh to me :)
    that'll be where Im heading to if I can get to my uniform and transport quick enough :)

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Fiona500

Lough Ree

The Love Shack

Fortress2: Family owned Beach Shack in secret location near the lake.

Resources:
    Generator.
    First aid equipment.
    Running water
    Weapons.
    Improv Weapons (Axe, Spades, other garden tools.)
    Immense amounts of food and drinks stored.
    Rowing boats, in case of evacuation.
    Lots of land for tents and rescue helicopters.

Safehouses:
    The house.

Advantages:
    Directly on water front.
    House surrounded by overgrown hedges with thorns, it is completely hidden with only one hidden entrance.

Disadvantages:
    Only one hidden entrance and no TV or internet.

Fiona500 wrote: »
    Lough Ree

The Love Shack

Fortress2: Family owned Beach Shack in secret location near the lake.

Resources:
    Generator.
    First aid equipment.
    Running water
    Weapons.
    Improv Weapons (Axe, Spades, other garden tools.)
    Immense amounts of food and drinks stored.
    Rowing boats, in case of evacuation.
    Lots of land for tents and rescue helicopters.

Safehouses:
    The house.

Advantages:
    Directly on water front.
    House surrounded by overgrown hedges with thorns, it is completely hidden with only one hidden entrance.

Disadvantages:
    Only one hidden entrance and no TV or internet.

by running water do you mean taps or the river?
    do us a favour and dont drink any flowing water.... basically instant zombie ship will be coming your way :P
    this your first time to post round here?

SmileyPaul wrote: »
    by running water do you mean taps or the river?
    do us a favour and dont drink any flowing water.... basically instant zombie ship will be coming your way :P
    this your first time to post round here?

By "running water" I mean taps and the water is sourced from a private well that is located within the grounds of the house. The water doesn't taste nice though so we have copious amounts of bottled water. Plus Lough Ree is a massive lake and our cabin is MILES from anywhere....literally.

Yes, I stumbled across the tread last night, but my friends and I have been planning for a while...so far it is the only suggestion near Galway, so if you can come up with any better ideas then please do so.:P

Valmont wrote: »
    I will be in the depths of the Alaskan interior. No zombies will ever be active up there as they will be frozen for 7 months of the year.

Great excuse to shoot Sarah Palin.

By "running water" I mean taps and the water is sourced from a private well that is located within the grounds of the house. The water doesn't taste nice though so we have copious amounts of bottled water. Plus Lough Ree is a massive lake and our cabin is MILES from anywhere....literally.

Yes, I stumbled across the tread last night, but my friends and I have been planning for a while...so far it is the only suggestion near Galway, so if you can come up with any better ideas then please do so.:P

ooh that could come in handy... long as you dont get a Z that likes swimming :P

galway.... theres a place no one ever considers... Im sure there's thousands of places to hide, I was thinking donegal, well if the z's can't swim or just walk under the water.... *shivers* not cool... theres an island called arrain moir... fantastic gaeltacht but more importantly very secure :)

*edit* oh and welcome :) hope you stay a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭nVid

Did you include this in the map?

Shutters, cctv, idivudual shops to fortify, food, water and toilets and camping shops for tents/utilitys incase we need to move on.

nVid wrote: »
    Did you include this in the map?

Shutters, cctv, idivudual shops to fortify, food, water and toilets and camping shops for tents/utilitys incase we need to move on.
    yeah maybe just a couple of camping shops around the city, and army bargains off caple street too :)

• Registered Users Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

yeah maybe just a couple of camping shops around the city, and army bargains off caple street too :)

one of the first ones i marked :pac:

ooh that could come in handy... long as you dont get a Z that likes swimming :P

galway.... theres a place no one ever considers... Im sure there's thousands of places to hide, I was thinking donegal, well if the z's can't swim or just walk under the water.... *shivers* not cool... theres an island called arrain moir... fantastic gaeltacht but more importantly very secure :)

*edit* oh and welcome :) hope you stay a while

:eek: ZOMG! I never considered that. Kind of like what the Black Pearl's crew did in Pirates of the Caribbean. If that is the case I think I would prefer to be on the zomb's side....they could take over the whole world if they can walk under water....and they could zombie-fy the fish....I am start to scare myself!

My little bro has pointed out that the Aran Islands are sparesly populated and have a small airport. Must research this idea but me thinks it could work.

Cheers! I should have joined the boards years ago.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭blog_blog_blog

They cant walk under water. A zombie has to adhere to certain requirements that normal humans do such as breathing, You heard them splurting and coughing away in search of another slim fast shake, Aint no fool zombie walking under no water fool.

You can quote me on that ,as they rise from the water mutated skin/flesh and chicken breasts hanging off them in an orgy of zomb break dancing blood brain hungry fest 2000!:eek:

They cant walk under water. A zombie has to adhere to certain requirements that normal humans do such as breathing, You heard them splurting and coughing away in search of another slim fast shake, Aint no fool zombie walking under no water fool.

You can quote me on that ,as they rise from the water mutated skin/flesh and chicken breasts hanging off them in an orgy of zomb break dancing blood brain hungry fest 2000!:eek:

I would like to say that that is reassuring, but I can't be bothered to lie.:D

I found the best Zomb Survival video EVER. (could live without the gender stereotyping though, we are not all useless!)

that rocked,

can we have eamonn dorans added to this map please?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Australia :cool:

screw you guys and your little island full of trees. I'm hiding in the desert, and protecting myself with an army of kangaroos...

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭flynnduism

logged into UD for the first time in months. suprise suprise i'm dead/infected and joined at the revive point by about 35 other z's

this may take awhile!

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

That was pure gold, pretty cool. When I grow up I want to be like Brigadier Johnney Barbra :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭flynnduism

flynnduism wrote: »
    logged into UD for the first time in months. suprise suprise i'm dead/infected and joined at the revive point by about 35 other z's

this may take awhile!

whoops wrong thread, can this get moved into here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭X AcT X EviL

I have been thinking about this, and can't really decide where I will go. So, bearing that in made I plan on blowing myself up and taking as many zombies with me as possible with a 10 megaton bomb. Problem solved.

Edit: I have decided that I would acctually go to the moon for the Zombpocalypse. Bring 3 years worth of oxygen tanks and food.

have fun, space suits are hard to come by :( dont want your head goin KABLAMO :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Olterior

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭X AcT X EviL

have fun, space suits are hard to come by :( dont want your head goin KABLAMO :)

I will try to get a job at Nasa before the Zombopocalypse:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Here are my two places to hold out in.

Bunratty Castle Co. Clare, loads of food and easily secured being a castle and all. Should also have a few tourists that will help diversify the new world population.
    BunrattyCastleFrostyMornSwan360x270.jpg&h=80&w=106&usg=__Xem-mH1iat_09aHV0ZvP4w1YeBk=bunratty-castle-ennis-irlbrt1.jpg&h=80&w=60&usg=__LVZ-cVgbaBHxu8IeHlDrUJ9NIkI=

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bunratty_Castle

And this little beut

http://www.loughcutra.com/tour/tour.html in Co Galway.

Here are my two places to hold out in.

Bunratty Castle Co. Clare, loads of food and easily secured being a castle and all. Should also have a few tourists that will help diversify the new world population.

Yup and you can use the Americans for a back-up food supply. One of them would feed ye for months!

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭smegmar

Yup and you can use the Americans for a back-up food supply. One of them would feed ye for months!

admit it now, you're a zombie!