Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Brian Murphy gone now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

Brian Murphy gone now?
    it has not been confirmed either way as of yet.
    Kieran kingston said that he has not trained with Cork and he's on a break,but Murphy has not said if he will play again.
    Kingston said in the paper that Cork would know in a week or so and they would hope to have him.
    He would be a massive loss .

That would be 7 players lost off last years panel if he does not play.

There is now only 2 lads that won all irelands left,kenny and cusack.
    No current player in the squad has even a minor or u21 medal.
    Nash would have an all ireland medal at intermediate level.

• Registered Users Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

Strange article from Bob Ryan.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/gaa/ryan-drink-not-a-major-issue-for-gaa-581509.html

The only reason I can think this is happening is because there about to announce the sponsor, being a local large multinational brewer!!

I'm just speculating...I have no inside knowledge!

The Cork team to play UCC Saturday in the Waterford Crystal Cup at the Mardyke is
    1.A.Nash
    2.S. O' Neill
    3.S.Mcdonnell
    4.C.Spillane (minor last year)
    5.T.Kenny
    6.C. Joyce
    7.S.White
    8.D.Kearney
    9.P.Cronin
    10.B. Corry
    11.C.Mccarthy
    12.S.Moylan
    13.P. O Sullivan
    14.M.Cussen
    15.P.Horgan

Connor Lehane,Willam Egan and Bud Hartnett and James Nagle ( who was on the Cork panel 2 Years ago)will most likely be on the UCC side.
    Also Seamus Harnedy who was called up to the Panel last May for a few challenge matches will be on the UCC Team.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Colm R wrote: »
    Strange article from Bob Ryan.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/gaa/ryan-drink-not-a-major-issue-for-gaa-581509.html

The only reason I can think this is happening is because there about to announce the sponsor, being a local large multinational brewer!!

I'm just speculating...I have no inside knowledge!

Hyundai was the rumour I had heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Hyundai mentioned in todays Examiner.

How can bringing back Cussen be considered progress?

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭mr bungle.

Hyundai mentioned in todays Examiner.

How can bringing back Cussen be considered progress?
    the future is looking bleak

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Just wondering do ye have any interest in duhallow gaa? If so what do ye make of millstreet falling from grace down to junior from senior? By all accounts they used to be a fairly good senior team in the 70,s/early 80,s. But a lot of lads i speak to from there think they still should be senior. Any comment on this? Last i heard they got lucky in the draw to make the duhallow final last year.
    I'm from the Duhallow division myself and while no doubt Millstreet were a fine senior team for many years their only good enough for junior now and they have been junior now since the mid 1990's. They are making progress though and were a bit unlucky to lose to eventual County champions Rockchapel in last year's Duhallow final. I would make them favorites to win this year's Duhallow title but maybe not good enough to win a county and step up another grade.

Hard luck to Kildorrey today who were defeated in the All Ireland junior hurling championship semi final by Kilkenny team Thomastown 3-14 to 1-13. It has been a great few months for Kildorrey and they can be proud of their achievements in winning the County and Munster titles.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Treble20 wrote: »
    Hard luck to Kildorrey today who were defeated in the All Ireland junior hurling championship semi final by Kilkenny team Thomastown 3-14 to 1-13. It has been a great few months for Kildorrey and they can be proud of their achievements in winning the County and Munster titles.

Ah. was really hoping they could go all the way to Croker after watching them play in that fine Munster final game against my 'fellow countymen' St. Kierans.
    but such is the game of junior hurling that it can turn on a sixpence. would find it hard to believe that Thomastown would be 7pts better than them. its all on the day i suppose. well done to them anyway on a great year.

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭earlytobed

washman3 wrote: »
    Ah. was really hoping they could go all the way to Croker after watching them play in that fine Munster final game against my 'fellow countymen' St. Kierans.
    but such is the game of junior hurling that it can turn on a sixpence. would find it hard to believe that Thomastown would be 7pts better than them. its all on the day i suppose. well done to them anyway on a great year.

thomastown were the better team and deserved the win. kildorrery never made use of the extra man in the second half

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

earlytobed wrote: »
    thomastown were the better team and deserved the win. kildorrery never made use of the extra man in the second half
    Thomastown had a player sent off??
    who are the main players for the Kilkenny champs? and present or past Cats.?

washman3 wrote: »
    Thomastown had a player sent off??
    who are the main players for the Kilkenny champs? and present or past Cats.?

sent off keeper dylan walsh kilkenny u 21 last year
    Thomas hanrahan kilkenny minor 2 years ago corner forward
    John joe farrell kilkenny u 21 2009 full forward
    dessie Walsh (dylan's uncle) midfield kilkenny intermediate
    Richard o hara (dick's son)

sent off keeper dylan walsh kilkenny u 21 last year
    Thomas hanrahan kilkenny minor 2 years ago corner forward
    John joe farrell kilkenny u 21 2009 full forward
    dessie Walsh (dylan's uncle) midfield kilkenny intermediate
    Richard o hara (dick's son)

and michael donnelly centre forward scored about 12 pts. kilkenny minor this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

and michael donnelly centre forward scored about 12 pts. kilkenny minor this year

He scored 9 points. Big difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

closeline wrote: »
    A significant contribution from a minor player nonetheless

closeline wrote: »

sorry, just off top of my head. I'm not really a statto

• Registered Users Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

Donal Og not included in Cork squad for the league games. Have a sneaky feeling there may be bit of a spat between himself and JBM. Will try post a source later.

The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Clare in the Waterford Crystal Cup Semi-Final tomorrow night (Friday) at 7.45pm in Sixmilebridge will line out as follows:

1.Anthony Nash  Kanturk
    2. Conor O'Sullivan Sarsfields
    3.Mark Ellis Milstreet
    4. Pat O'Sullivan Carrigtwohill
     5.Colm Spillane Castlelyons
    6. Christopher Joyce Na Piarsaigh
    7. Stephen White Ballygarvan
    8. Daniel Kearney Sarsfields
    9. Rob O'Shea Carrigaline
    10. Brian Corry Ballymartle
    11. Cian Mcarthy Sarsfields
    12. Cormac Murphy Mallow
    13. Adrian Mannix Kilworth
    14. Stephen Moylan Douglas
    15. Jamie Coughlan Newtownshandrum

Subs: 16. Willie McCarthy Carrigtwohill
    17. James O'Donovan Bandon
    18. Michael Walsh Kildorrery
    19. Stephen McDonnell Glen Rovers
    20. David Pyne Harbour Rovers
    21. Daire Lordan Courcey Rovers
    22. Fintan O'Leary Ballinhassig

Donal Og not included in Cork squad for the league games. Have a sneaky feeling there may be bit of a spat between himself and JBM. Will try post a source later.

If thats true its a big shock.
    Considering Cusack was a minor in 95 under JBM and he made he senior debut under JBM in 98 , I would of thought they would have a good relationship.
    And Ger Cunnigham would be a big fan of Cusack also.
    You coudnt argue against Nash starting but Cusack deserved a squad place at least as he would add much needed expierence to such a young squad.
    Cusack is still one of the top goalkeepers in the Country.

The Cork Senior Football team to play Dublin in Saturday night's Allianz League Division 1 game at 7pm in Croke Park will line out as follows:
    1. Ken O Halloran  Bishopstown
    2. Eoin Cadogan Douglas
    3. Michael Shields St Finbarrs
    4. Jamie O'Sullivan Bishopstown
    5. Paudie Kissane Clyda Rovers
    6. Graham Canty Bantry
    7. Damien Cahalane Castlehaven
    8. Alan O'Connor St Colum's
    9. Aidan Walsh Kanturk
    10. Fintan Goold Macroom
    11. Pearse O'Neill Aghada
    12. Ciarán Sheehan Eire Og
    13. Colm O'Neill Ballyclough
    14. Donncha O'Connor Ballydesmond
    15. Paul Kerrigan Nemo Rangers

Subs
    16. David Lordan Ballincollig
    17. John McLoughlin Kanturk
    18. Eoin O'Mahony Macroom
    19. Noel O'Leary Cill na Martra
    20. Thomas Clancy Clonakilty
    21. Denis O'Sullivan Ballinascarthy
    22. Thomas Clancy Fermoy
    23. Andrew O'Sullivan Castletownbere
    24. John O'Rourke Carbery Rangers
    25.Barry O'Driscoll Nemo Rangers 
    26. Mark Collins Castlehaven

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Cunningham and JBM were not talking to each other over the goalkeeping situation and Donal Og was stuck in the middle. Thats part of the reason why Cusack is not there. First time in years that there was only two keepers in the panel

yeah its a strange call. It would seem there is still politics involved in Cork hurling.

Im a fan of JBM but that is a wrong move.
    I thought he was he's own man but there has been some strange decisions with the old guard ,namely Gardiner and Cusack being dropped and Cussen now back.

Gardiner and Cusack have proved it in the past and even as squad players can add to the panel.
    Cussen never had the toughness for the hurlers in 2010 and has done nothing since then to prove otherwise.
    He was cleaned out against Thurles Sarsfields and even in the last 3 games against St Thomas, CIT and UCC he didnt exactly set the games on fire.
    When u take Adrian Mannix scoring 2-4 last week and hes a newcomer and Cussen for all he's height ,struggled to make an impact.
    Cussen had the chance to win the game against Waterford in the first game in 2010 in the closing minutes but missed an easy chance.He just has not the bite for Intercounty.
    It was the same when he was on the Football Panel, he could'nt deliver on the big stage.

He will be a main part of the team this year, going on what JBM said a week ago.

He praised him and said they made a mistake not having him last year.
    I cant see he was any loss last year.
    Cussen played well in the county Championship but i woudnt say he was special.
    He was far better for Sarsfields in the 2009 County Championship, scoring 4 points from play on a team that was well beaten in the end by Newtonshandrum in the final.
    But at he's peak then ,he coudn't carry that on to the Championship the following summer.

I cant see how he will be any better this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭zetecescort

now theres wrong on both sides and I dont want to go back over it, but politics will be involved as long as the current Co. board members remain.

players involved in the strikes have all retired bar Tom Kenny and Brian Murphy yet there is no sign of fresh blood in the Co. board. Sponsorship debacle just another mess they've gotten us into

Clare 0-20
    Cork 2-11
    Clare now play LIT or Tipperary in the Waterford crystal Final.
    Davy fitz also manages LIT.
    Adrian mannix scored 2 goals tonight.
    He could be a real find.
    It was great to Darren Sweetnam make hes debut for Ireland U20s in the rubgy against wales tonight.He came on a sub.
    A big loss to Cork but great to see him making fast progress in the sport he chose.
    I hope not many other talented hurlers are lost to other sports.

Glen Stokes is meant to be a promising cork hurler,but he is also involved with CBC in the Munster senior Cup in rugby.
    It will be intersting to see what path he chooses in the future.
    Its a shame cork lost tonight as it would of been ideal to have another game in preparation for the Tipperary on February 23rd.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,034 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

That was poor. Very poor.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Dublin 1.18, Cork 2.9. Only watched the end of the first half and the second half, couldn't kick a free or 45 to save us.

Also looked devoid of a gameplan.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,022 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

We've won the league for the past few years and I for one would like us to be a mid table team with little or no effort put in. Then come championship, full pelt ahead.
    It is time Sam came home and 'saving' the legs for when the ground is hard might be no bad thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭CZ 453

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    We've won the league for the past few years and I for one would like us to be a mid table team with little or no effort put in. Then come championship, full pelt ahead.
    It is time Sam came home and 'saving' the legs for when the ground is hard might be no bad thing.

I agree.There is no point in winning the league and peaking in june against Clare.Finish the league knowing your best squad and who you can fall back on.The league matches this year should be used to show what needs improving imo.

Let's hope Counihan bloods new players for this league campaign. I'd be just happy for the team to stay up and discover some new talent rather than going all out for 4 in a row which even if they did manage would hardly be mentioned by the championship mad media!