RTE Announce FTA Saorsat service - Page 198 - boards.ie
Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
01-01-2015, 13:21   #2956
coopershels
Registered User
 
coopershels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 41
saorsat on walker combo

Friendo,

That looks good . I'd like to try it myself. Can you tell me, do you need to set up the disecq switch? If so how do I do it.

I already Have humax freesat set up on disecq so all the cables and switch are in place.

Or is it a case of just tuning them in.

Thanks.
coopershels is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
01-01-2015, 14:44   #2957
FRIENDO
Registered User
 
FRIENDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wexford
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by coopershels View Post
Friendo,

That looks good . I'd like to try it myself. Can you tell me, do you need to set up the disecq switch? If so how do I do it.

I already Have humax freesat set up on disecq so all the cables and switch are in place.

Or is it a case of just tuning them in.

Thanks.
I did not use disecq,
I use a seperate dish for Saorsat (80cm) and a zone 1 dish for Freesat with humax hdr,

I used a direct line for saorsat, combining Saorsat with terestrial freeview from Wales on the Walker.

Boards user phelixoflaherty has set up saorsat on the humax hdr with freesat using disecq.
It has been reported that on the Humax hdr, saorsat had no epg information.

I have found the Walker combo (Saorsat approved) to be the best box with Saorsat, I suppose having RTE Digital aertel is the biggest advantage.

Both the Walker and the Humax are capable of disecq.

You may have to use a specific port for saorsat on a disecq switch, I think I read that somewhere.

Setting up Saorsat
I aligned the dish and universal Lnb to 9E, as I do not have a meter for the Ka Lnb
Swapped the lnb with the new Saorsat lnb.
I'm using an 80cm dish for Saorsat in Wexford.

You may have to fine tune the dish gently moving east/west and elevation, also moving the lnb in and out can give a better signal which can make a difference in rain.

Depending on receiver for example:
With the triax 114 combo - I did a blind scan on 9E and the Saorsat channels came in.
With the Ferguson arivaHD - I had to add a "fake" frequency 10.765 vertical on 9E to get Saorsat channels.
On the walker combo it had Eutelsat Ka-sat 9A(9.0E) on the satellite list for tuning.

If you are trying to have the Saorsat lnb off centre you may need a bigger dish than 80cm for rain fade depending on your location, in Cork or Kerry even bigger again.

Last edited by FRIENDO; 01-01-2015 at 15:02.
FRIENDO is offline  
Thanks from:
01-01-2015, 15:21   #2958
FRIENDO
Registered User
 
FRIENDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wexford
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by coopershels View Post
Friendo,



I already Have humax freesat set up on disecq so all the cables and switch are in place.

Thanks.
From Wiki
If the receiver does not have a setting for the Ka band LNBF Lo, then a "fake" frequency 10.765 vertical rather than the real 20.185 may be entered when using the Inverto LNB with local oscillator of 21.2.[13]

To receive Freesat/Sky or other services alongside Saorsat, a dual- or multi-feed type dish or two dishes are needed with either one or more DiSEqC switches or a multi-switch. On a multi-switch the Saorsat LNB needs to be connected to vertical 0 kHz port only. The other 3 input ports are left unused.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saorsat
FRIENDO is offline  
01-01-2015, 18:33   #2959
coopershels
Registered User
 
coopershels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 41
I tried doing it with a diseqc 2.0 switch but i read up a bit and it seems that the box is compatible with diseqc 1.0 and diseqc 1.2. I have ordered one from ebay for less than 5 euro delivered and i will report back after i try it with the new one.
coopershels is offline  
Thanks from:
02-01-2015, 12:07   #2960
Thurston?
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by coopershels View Post
I tried doing it with a diseqc 2.0 switch but i read up a bit and it seems that the box is compatible with diseqc 1.0 and diseqc 1.2.
DiSEqC 2.0 switch should work with DiSEqC 1.0 receiver. I think some 2-way switches are intended for use in cascade with a monoblock LNB, so if you had 1 of those, it might need to be set up a certain way. (A & C/1 & 3, rather than A & B/1 & 2.)
Thurston? is offline  
Advertisement
02-01-2015, 14:05   #2961
FRIENDO
Registered User
 
FRIENDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wexford
Posts: 511
Just comparing signal quality on the walker box, from today dry and clear and two days ago on a wet and windy day.
Fortunately since realigning the dish we have perfect Saorsat reception in all weather.
FRIENDO is offline  
04-01-2015, 11:25   #2962
coopershels
Registered User
 
coopershels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dublin
Posts: 41
Saorsat on walker combo

I got the diseqc switch set up on the box and tuned the saorsat channels in on the satellite portion of the box. I was able to split the feed coming from the dish so i have it on both stbs.

I dont really need this as the box has saorview but i just wanted to see if it worked.
coopershels is offline  
Thanks from:
07-01-2015, 22:54   #2963
irishgeo
Registered User
 
irishgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mayo
Posts: 4,964
i got mine sorted.
irishgeo is offline  
Thanks from:
15-02-2015, 14:19   #2964
FRIENDO
Registered User
 
FRIENDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wexford
Posts: 511
No RTÉ Junior today on Saorsat

RTÉ One plus 1 on the RTE Junior screen saver today.

A good excuse to watch the hurling on TG4
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0174.JPG (2.31 MB, 48 views)
FRIENDO is offline  
Advertisement
15-02-2015, 14:26   #2965
FRIENDO
Registered User
 
FRIENDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wexford
Posts: 511
I also returned the Walker Combo to Powercity as the combo was not working correctly with set recordings.

I got the Saorsat approved Walker Satellite reciever WP95sat-Hd
I also got a toshiba 500gb external hard drive

So far everything is working perfect, RTE digital aertel also working perfect on Saorsat.

Very easy to set up and tune in Saorsat service on the 95.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0173.JPG (1.63 MB, 63 views)

Last edited by FRIENDO; 15-02-2015 at 14:35.
FRIENDO is offline  
Thanks from:
27-02-2015, 19:57   #2966
FRIENDO
Registered User
 
FRIENDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wexford
Posts: 511
RTE on Saorsat epg

Looks like another mess up by RTE on Saorsat, this time the epg

RTE on the epg for Saturday, Sunday, Monday looks like its showing the wrong information, very annoying if you want to set recordings, or plan viewing.
Example "Home and away" for almost 14 hours!!!

TG4 looks to be working fine for these days on the epg
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0184.JPG (1.96 MB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_0185.JPG (2.03 MB, 33 views)

Last edited by FRIENDO; 27-02-2015 at 20:19.
FRIENDO is offline  
Thanks from:
01-03-2015, 20:47   #2967
FRIENDO
Registered User
 
FRIENDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Wexford
Posts: 511
RTE EPG fixed today
FRIENDO is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet