Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

BULBS!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

You're probably right.

I'm gonna stew in my indignant anger for a little while longer though:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    It might not be run by ULSU Services. Could be a seperate crowd running it.

This. The pubs on campus are not run by ULSU Services. As far as I know it's all run under the Stables Club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

I demand another Bulbs meeting be set up soon! I was sick last time and still haven't been to one :(

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

BULBS: The Charity Week Edition?

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

Oops :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Cawcheen wrote: »
    Last time i went to speed dating I spent most of the time shouting "WHAT? I CAN'T HEAR YOU! THE MUSIC IS TOO LOUD" Then spent the rest of the time nodding and smiling. Awkward. Im sure the sports bar won't be like that but one bad experience has turned me right off.. like one time i was when i was a kid and i was eating ready brek and then i got sick afterwards.. i've never eaten it since or porridge for that matter.
    ^^
    I knew ye all really wanted to know that.

Hope you get a good crowd regardless and i might pop in for a drink after :P
    = O
    OhMSGlive wrote: »
    I'm speechless. :pac:
    In a nutshell.
    BULBS: The Charity Week Edition?
    Sounds good,
    There's a first time for everything...
    Breaks up the 7 day college weeks too!

so lads monday nights we (the music soc) have an open mic in the stables. singer, mic and guitar, back to basics. if you get up and sing or even just play you earn a free pint. always a nice chilled atmosphere and if a few boardsies came it would be even better. omsglive and myself are usually there, running the desk and dazzling the crowd with raw animal magnetism respectively
    :pac:.

twould be like the BULBS factor if ye came and sang :D

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭Whisko

<snip>
    Whisko infracted.
    Attack the post, not the poster.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

f0ggy92 wrote: »
    OhMSGlive and myself are usually there, running the desk and dazzling the crowd with raw animal magnetism respectively
    :pac:.

FYP. ;)

Seriously lads, 'twould be great to see ye all there!

twould be like the BULBS factor if ye came and sang :D

Only done Karaoke properly once before and I was tricked into it,
    Was supposed to be doing it with someone but they stood away last second and I was stood there with the mic...
    My friends are a shower of b*stards... :P
    That was the longest version of "Journey's - Don't Stop Believin'" I've ever encountered.
    There's one very high note in that song,
    But it's a very long one too...
    Sounded like I was in pain...
    "Somewhere in the niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiighttt :'(
    I know the words of a lot of songs,
    I pride myself in that,
    Just lack the ability to sing in anything other than one note.
    One Hit Wonders FTW though & anything pre-21st Century :~)

you should come man i'll play journey and you can sing it :P

anyone else slightly curious as to what warranted a snip :D?

you should come man i'll play journey and you can sing it :P

And relive the traumatic experience all over again!
    As tempting as it sounds...

Oh God do I!
    Not as much at first glance,
    It was OhMSGlive that rekindled it though!

I saw it earlier and i can't remember what was said for the life of me.. All i know is my face was like this --> :eek:

my granny has a better memory than that and she has alzheimers :pac: :P

Putting :pac: and :P in that sentence does not take away from the fact that that sentence is deplorable. For shame!

I have a pain in my head from trying to remember what he wrote :(

if she knew i said it she'd forget it immediately. and then comment on how i'm getting tall even though i stopped growing 4 years ago :rolleyes:

and yes i know that was horrible but the family try to make jokes about it because it hides the fact of how horrible it is seeing her like that. so there now it is you who should feel bad :P

I know how it is, my gran had dementia and we used to do the same but she died recently.

Your turn to feel bad!

you do not understand the pain of having a one handed grandad!

At least you have a grandad!

*I do not like the path this conversation has taken!

ya this has gone so far off rail into some morbid shtick before too long the whitney houston jokes will start.

before too long the whitney houston jokes will start.

It's inevitable really, i might as well get the ball rolling..
    What do you call a...

JK

BULBS you say for Charity Week, you say!

Sounds like a great idea to me!!

BULBS you say for Charity Week, you say!

Sounds like a great idea to me!!

Yes, yes, yes! Jolly good!

Unsure if that's a genuine agreement to stray off the topic or a stab at my English accent or an amalgamation of the two!

I don't think I've used jolly in a sentence ever!
    Bar maybe Christmas :)

Unsure if that's a genuine agreement to stray off the topic or a stab at my English accent or an amalgamation of the two!

I don't think I've used jolly in a sentence ever!
    Bar maybe Christmas :)

Bit of both, mostly the former. Good work Christopher. Now please, continue! :D

You've thrown me off my stride now,
    Pointing out my, usually subtle, English accent,
    Now EVERYONE will notice it!

I think you slipped in the question mid-introduction,
    Where are you from?
    Living in Mallow now,
    Originally from England though..
    Knew it...

Only certain words I thought,
    I thought it was nearly gone,
    Picked up the lingo,
    Clearly traces left :P

Dunno if you know one of cashiers at the Spar shop,
    Lancashire-man also,
    His is a little more noticeable though,
    Good friends with him now actually :P

living in mallow?
    god help you when the cork accent and the blackburn ,was it you said?, merge fully to form a hybrid. :P

You've thrown me off my stride now,
    Pointing out my, usually subtle, English accent,
    Now EVERYONE will notice it!

I think you slipped in the question mid-introduction,
    Where are you from?
    Living in Mallow now,
    Originally from England though..
    Knew it...

Only certain words I thought,
    I thought it was nearly gone,
    Picked up the lingo,
    Clearly traces left :P

Dunno if you know one of cashiers at the Spar shop,
    Lancashire-man also,
    His is a little more noticeable though,
    Good friends with him now actually :P

Ah yes, i'm very subtle...Don't ever lose your accent, it's awesome! Can't say I'm familiar with this chap who works at Spar, haven't noticed anyone with an accent like that anyway but then again I don't use the shop all that often and when i do i seem to always get the ignorant blonde one :pac:

What has you up this late or should I say early. I hope you don't have any early lectures! I start at 12 :cool:

Body naturally repels the Cork accent,
    Unable to string the two together,
    Oil and water,
    Blackburn accent yes,
    Weak but present I always thought. :D

I'll be merging into no such thing!
    There is no medium ground in this! :P

Body naturally repels the Cork accent,
    Unable to string the two together,
    Oil and water,
    Blackburn accent yes,
    Weak but present I always thought. :D

I'll be merging into no such thing!
    There is no medium ground in this! :P

Good! Nothing worse than a Cork accent..
    *shudders*