Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Pregnant Womans Moan Thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭hacked

Fair play! How do you manage to walk a mile?? Walking for 15 minutes knackers me out!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

i'm lucky i'm not too big.. i've been small on them all thank god.. and i stand a lot at work.. i used to run 5k on the treadmill 2 or 3 times a week till i was about 3 months and my checkups were in navan hosp and theres feck all parking so i used to walk over ...it's about a mile and i could do it 10 mins.. :D my size 16 jacket still zips up and i've been told this one is bigger than the last 2.. although the last scan on new years eve the doc said its not as big as previously told... my nether region is joyous!!:D it was the 4 months puking, i'm lighter now than i was before i got pregnant when i was doing all the running to try to lose the weight.. i suppose there is something to the anorexic theory:eek::D if my hip was sorted now i'd be better than i've been in years..!! i can't wait to see how my clothes fit next week:D

I am so very jealous. I get tired getting to hospital appointments and all i have to do is walk to the train station and then train to hospital.

I want a giant hair dryer. I will melt every inch of this ice!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Aaaaaarrrrrgggghhhh!

Woke up with a frigging Coldsore!

Godammit!

Now I have to hope bubs stays where he is until it's totally gone! I wouldn't mind but I have Lysine downstairs to take to prevent this happening but that would be just too bright now wouldn't it?!

So annoyed with myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Swizzles

Dk does having a coldsore cause a problem :eek::eek::eek:
    Please say no coz i always get them :(:(:(

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Yeah unfortunately but not while you're pregnant only with a newborn. If you kiss a newborn when you have an active cold sore you can give them neo-natal herpes, when they're that little it can be fatal. :(

Obviously you can not kiss the baby and be very careful about touching your face but I really don't trust myself fully to be that conscious.

Looked it up and can't take Lysine when pregnant anyway so not as mad at myself anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I'm just after finding this thread and all I can say is yeaaa!

My sympathies to those who are suffering from severe cabin fever and those who are overdue. I send thaw and labour vibes your respective ways!!

My rant of the hour!!

We were planning our wedding for May 2010 and lo and behold baby is now due July 2010. Wedding has now been fast forwarded to March - 8 weeks away. Cue my darling mother turning into 'mother of the bride preparing to go into orbit'. Had a ten minute conversation this morning about some candles that were in the church last night and how they would be perfect for my wedding, followed by reminders and updates and 'did you do's....'

I am not longer caring about cakes, decorations, bridesmaids dresses, bands, church singers etc.... All I care about is whether I fit into my bloody wedding dress at 22 weeks pregnant!!!

I want normal sized boobs. Ones that my partner cannot describe as 'Porn Star Boobs' to his sister and partner. Ones that will fit into my normal tops.

I'm back to work tomorrow and am just waiting for my phone to start hopping at 8.50am when those with any sense of common decency or self preservation knows that even in my non-pregnancy state I am NOT A MORNING PERSON! (I know God help me when this baby arrives!). I force myself to be sociable at 9am.

I want to know why this baby is stealing all my body heat. I swear my partner thinks that he is cuddling up to an iceberg every night. Normal attire at this present time is tank top, vest, jumper and bodywarmer with the central heating on!!

Ok that is enough for now. I have no doubt that I will be back!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭CathyMoran

I'm just after finding this thread and all I can say is yeaaa!

My sympathies to those who are suffering from severe cabin fever and those who are overdue. I send thaw and labour vibes your respective ways!!

My rant of the hour!!

We were planning our wedding for May 2010 and lo and behold baby is now due July 2010. Wedding has now been fast forwarded to March - 8 weeks away. Cue my darling mother turning into 'mother of the bride preparing to go into orbit'. Had a ten minute conversation this morning about some candles that were in the church last night and how they would be perfect for my wedding, followed by reminders and updates and 'did you do's....'

I am not longer caring about cakes, decorations, bridesmaids dresses, bands, church singers etc.... All I care about is whether I fit into my bloody wedding dress at 22 weeks pregnant!!!

I want normal sized boobs. Ones that my partner cannot describe as 'Porn Star Boobs' to his sister and partner. Ones that will fit into my normal tops.

I'm back to work tomorrow and am just waiting for my phone to start hopping at 8.50am when those with any sense of common decency or self preservation knows that even in my non-pregnancy state I am NOT A MORNING PERSON! (I know God help me when this baby arrives!). I force myself to be sociable at 9am.

I want to know why this baby is stealing all my body heat. I swear my partner thinks that he is cuddling up to an iceberg every night. Normal attire at this present time is tank top, vest, jumper and bodywarmer with the central heating on!!

Ok that is enough for now. I have no doubt that I will be back!!
    I renewed my vows on the 29th of December last when I was 23.5 weeks and it was lovely, you will be fine...actually having baby there made it a lot nicer.

My pregnancy rant is all medical stuff, baby had too much fluid around him and I am pertrified that he will be ill or that I will go into premature labour, his poor dad is not allowed any drink not that he drank much, 2 glasses of wine a week) until after baby is born. Google is not my friend, ended up looking it up fpr hours last night.

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Yeah unfortunately but not while you're pregnant only with a newborn. If you kiss a newborn when you have an active cold sore you can give them neo-natal herpes, when they're that little it can be fatal. :(

Obviously you can not kiss the baby and be very careful about touching your face but I really don't trust myself fully to be that conscious.

Looked it up and can't take Lysine when pregnant anyway so not as mad at myself anymore.

Oh my god!!:eek:
    Not good at all ..I dont think it would be totally possible to not cuddle and kiss your newborn like :(

Now im off to google some more damaging information for my brain :rolleyes:

CathyMoran wrote: »
    I renewed my vows on the 29th of December last when I was 23.5 weeks and it was lovely, you will be fine...actually having baby there made it a lot nicer.

My pregnancy rant is all medical stuff, baby had too much fluid around him and I am pertrified that he will be ill or that I will go into premature labour, his poor dad is not allowed any drink not that he drank much, 2 glasses of wine a week) until after baby is born. Google is not my friend, ended up looking it up fpr hours last night.

Cathy Google is bad ...Very very bad ....We must however learn to stay away from it :rolleyes: easier said than done !

Hope everything goes ok ..Try and take it day by day.One little step at a time and youl be amazed at how fast it will go :)

i don't know where to start today... false labour is a fcuker that's all i'm saying getting my hopes up for 7 hours only to drop me in the middle of the night when i'd noboldy to rant at... bloody bloody 11 days :mad::mad: seriously what the hell is this baby at??? don't google medical conditions you'll wreck your head and end up madder than me:D

The only thing I use google for is pics of foetus week by week...thats IT.

I'm so pissed off. First day I'm able to leave the house, and where do I have to go?? Hospital appointments!!

On the plus side, I was wandering around the wards looking for an office and a midwife came out to help me holding the tiniest baby i have ever seen. It was scary!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Hey everyone. Just a quick note to say that as of 12:34 today crazy cat lady and i became the proud parents of megan, weighing 8 Ib 13 Oz. Sorry to ruin the moaning with good news :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Congratulations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January

Wohoo :D Congratulations to you and crazy cat lady, send her our love :D

Congrats :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Chet T16 wrote: »
    Hey everyone. Just a quick note to say that as of 12:34 today crazy cat lady and i became the proud parents of megan, weighing 8 Ib 13 Oz. Sorry to ruin the moaning with good news :)

Congratulations!!! that's a nice size baby, I hope mum is doing well :D

My moan for today is why the fcuk do the hospital give me an appointment for 9:30am then not see me til 11:30.
    Not just once off either, every time I go there! It is beyond frustrating seeing people that have arrived an hour or so after me being seen to first!
    Must say when I do get to see the midwife & doc they're both lovely but the hospitals 'system' for appointments is a serious pain in the ar$e!

*rant over* :)

Congratulations!!! that's a nice size baby, I hope mum is doing well :D

My moan for today is why the fcuk do the hospital give me an appointment for 9:30am then not see me til 11:30.
    Not just once off either, every time I go there! It is beyond frustrating seeing people that have arrived an hour or so after me being seen to first!
    Must say when I do get to see the midwife & doc they're both lovely but the hospitals 'system' for appointments is a serious pain in the ar$e!

*rant over* :)

Congrats CCL!! Good choice of name! :)

Cap...i totally feel your pain. I was so releived I was seen in an hour today. When I was there in November I Was there before most people and was still waiting 5 1/2 hours!! The system sucks.

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭TargetWidow

Yay CCL! Wohoo! Congratulations to you two! Pass our love onto her please! I will have to start a new thread for new mammies to have a little moan on the rare occasion they may need one!
    I thank God everyday that I don't have to watch those programs. Imagination Movers is good for some hot totty... Dave is pretty cute... don't tell himself I said that though :D

Sportacus from Lazytown does it for me, if he would only shave off that rediculous moustache! And rather than hide it from himself I am looking online for the outfit and telling him we are having a fancy dress party instead of a christening! ;):D

Over 100 posts! Looks like we really need to let a little steam off every now and again.

A little thought for the day though. We have entered the last month of Winter. We are over two weeks past the shortest day of the year and are rapidly speeding towards Spring and Summer now. Think cherry blossom buds, daffodils roses and lavender and hopefully no floods!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January

Haha, OH goes around complaining about having to watch Mickey Mouse and Special Agent Oso yet I caught him singing the song to Oso the other day. Made me laugh!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Thanks everyone. Mum and baby are doing great and getting well looked after!

Not wanting to derail the thread but heres a pic of the little bundle of lateness

http://i256.photobucket.com/albums/hh169/chet_t16/megan/DSC02756.jpg

Gorgeous!

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭fi1979

Congrats to CCL and Chet T16, baby is beautiful, worth the wait I'm sure!:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Awww.... What a cute baby!

I have too much to moan about lately and I'm sure the OH would agree that I am definately being very vocal about it too!

I have a niggling toothache.... Not enough to take anything for it but its just there always!!

Severe headaches.... Not all the time but about 3 times a week.

People are really starting to notice I am pregnant now and they either won't let me to anything for myself or they think I can still do everything! No happy medium!

But to top it all off because of a mix up on dates I actually have no clue when I am due. And people keep asking me! I think I might be half way through but I am really hoping I am not that far gone as I am due to be bridesmaid for my brothers wedding around the same time! I have my appointment this week so at least that will be one less thing to moan about.

Is it normal to be waiting so long for a first visit?? I remember on my DS I had my first appointment at 8 weeks in the same hospital 3 years ago!

Anyway... sorry for the rant!

Love2love wrote: »
    Awww.... What a cute baby!

I have too much to moan about lately and I'm sure the OH would agree that I am definately being very vocal about it too!

I have a niggling toothache.... Not enough to take anything for it but its just there always!!

Severe headaches.... Not all the time but about 3 times a week.

People are really starting to notice I am pregnant now and they either won't let me to anything for myself or they think I can still do everything! No happy medium!

But to top it all off because of a mix up on dates I actually have no clue when I am due. And people keep asking me! I think I might be half way through but I am really hoping I am not that far gone as I am due to be bridesmaid for my brothers wedding around the same time! I have my appointment this week so at least that will be one less thing to moan about.

Is it normal to be waiting so long for a first visit?? I remember on my DS I had my first appointment at 8 weeks in the same hospital 3 years ago!

Anyway... sorry for the rant!

Blehhh totally feel your pain there! My friends won't let me do anything for myself. But some people were awful to me half way through the pregnancy! I was staying at my parents house at the time, and my dad was away...my mother in full time college with 4 other kids in the house....2 still small children. The grandmother came to stay (dear JESUS!) and I actually almost killed her. I've been fairly sick with something th whole time and my pelvis had gone to hell at that point, and she kept barking orders expecting me to run around and do everything. Was not in a happy mood.

As for waiting for appointments...what hospital are you going to? Im in Holles Street and I know that they generally don't give you a proper hospital appointment till the 2nd trimester. Also, because of the massive massive amount of babies due this next year they are pretty backed up and it can take a while to get an appointment. They didn't see me till I was 18 weeks.

Crazy cat lady all i can say is you lucky lucky bitch:D:D what lovely baby here at last!!
    i am on day flipping 12.. at least i know that tomorrow i SHALL be going in to get the process started... that's if i can get to drogheda!! the road was impassable this morning at 7.30am between navan and slane... my dad had an appt and they had to go round by the m50 to the m1 :eek:it'll be just my luck!!
    i was in tesco at 9am this morning, how quiet it was with really slippy roads i guess the sane people were at home!! no trolley bashers out though it was great!!i was stocking up on easy to cook food and everything they'll need while i'm asleep on the couch;) and got loads of coal and briquettes for same sleeping on the couch.. so i'm sorted for the next 2 weeks!! our contracts are signed and hopefully we'll have our cheque in 2 -4 weeks..:D now all i need is a baby... :rolleyes:
    don't know what the hell happened to me the night i had the contractions the baby has moved i swear to god it must be just an inch away from being born!! i can't actually straighten up properly and the bottom of my tummy is so sore i can't sit properly.. the day after tomorrow at the latest.. and i promise to post a pic, s/he should be almost 2 weeks old now... HURRY UP !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Chet T16 she is absolutely beautiful!!

Cbyrd you poor thing you must be climbing the walls by now! at least the hospital is bringing you in soon, with any luck you'll be holding your own little bundle of joy by the weekend :)

Hacked fair play to you for not throttling your nan! I think in general the older generation have little sympathy for pregnant women.
    If I hear one more story about some old dear that was out working in the fields/had to be up feeding cattle at 5am right up til the morning of their delivery :mad:
    As for you having to wait 5 & 1/2 hours in Holles st., I definitely need to count myself and my usual 2 hour waits lucky :eek:

My moan for today is my paranoia. First scan is next monday when I will be two days shy of 15 weeks. They would've brought me in at 14 weeks but they were booked solid after christmas. I hate this last week of waiting before the scan. Every nightmarish scenario of birth defect is in my head this week. My doppler is on the blink and you can only see the heartbeat (sometimes) and not hear it. I really wanted to record it like I did last time. I'm not one bit worried about the rest of the pregnancy or giving birth or minding the child or anything, just afraid somethings not right. No reason. Just paranoia. Was like this but not as bad for the last week before the first scan with DD too. Hate this. I don't usually do fear. :(

hugs TargetWindow. Try and keep your mind occupied and don't think about it. You'll drive yourself crazy otherwise and get no sleep!

God, did anyone else turn into a total bitch when thye were pregnant?! I feel like one completely. My best friend is a complete asshole. We've always been so close, but since I got pregnant he's done nothing buthurt me. He kind of has had his ego pampered to think he's something, and he think's he's the most importnant thing in the world.
    Like, he was kind enough to give me a lift to the GP in an emergency once last minute. However, I didn't appreciate it in the end. He basically like bullied me into telling him everything i was going through and feeling, and all about my break up with my fiance and started lecturing me on how everything was. I got pissed at him and told him i didn't want to talk to him because there was no way in hell he could possibly understand how i was feeling, because im pregnant and a woman and he wasn't in my relationship situation and that I actually didn't want to talk to him at all and I shouldn't have to feel guilty for wanting to talk to other women. He ACTUALLY got upset and offended by this!! Not only that, but this was the same day I saw the baby move for the first time. He was the first person i told, and he just was like yeah.....i's way too too early for that. (it wasn't.) acted like a know it all and pissed all over the biggest moment of my life thus far. I won't tell you abotu the rest of the night. He then avoided me for a few weeks as he was hurt and offended and i had irritated him by what I said.

He constantly does that to me and acts like an ass about baby stuff.

Like, I told him when I found out the babies sex. And he just acted all oh yeah whatever, not excioted for me at all and just said if it were his baby he would have waited for a surprise.

He's made me feel like **** so much through out this. My 21st birthday he said he'd spend the day with me, and then decided to book lessons in for his students the whole day.....and got mad at ME when i was upset!! He then showed up to my house the morning of my birthday for breakfast and does what he always does, makinga big show of making things awkward and being hurt and offended. Said some things and seriously offended my sick sister, and then left suddenyl and hasn't talked to me since. That was 3 1/2 weeks ago.

Now his psycho dog has gone and bit one of the family members, and I was kinda voicing my opinions on that to his brother cause I want to hurt him back in some way.

I don't like this.

Sorry, long winded rant over. :(

Hi Hacked,

I think Judge Judy has the wisdom that could help you today...... her theory of men and women is this....... Women mature faster, so at 21 you probably have the maturity level of a 27 year old. Men however have a four to six year lag on maturity. So if he is 21 that gives him the maturity level of about 15 to 17. So if your BF is 21 and male you have a 10 to 12 year jump on maturity there. (I married a man 6 years older after getting sick to the teeth of dating guys my age and younger.) I totally agree with the venerable Judge Judy on this (but I always agree with her wisdom,,,, another gem "Beauty is only skin deep.....stupid goes to the bone!" hilarious!)

Your friend sounds like he is just a bit of an immature git. You have enough stuff in your life going on without your best friend not being supportive. You need a cheerleader. Give him a break for a while and he might come to his senses.

Meanwhile YAY HACKED! YOU GO GIRL!!! WOHOO!!!:D