Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a used car in Ireland guide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Hello10

Very good post. anyone have an opinion on vw passat. 08 passat with 50,000miles, 15500 euro. good price?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Hoping to get my first car and it will probably be a 04 1.4l golf. I have been a named driver on my mother's policy since August 2011 and have my full licence since last November. How much would i be expecting to pay on insurance?

About 3 grand, i reckon.
    Hello10 wrote: »
    Very good post. anyone have an opinion on vw passat. 08 passat with 50,000miles, 15500 euro. good price?

i've been looking into these lately for a friend, that same car should be achievable for €12,500 and under. Remeber though, 08's with that mileage are due a belt and due a test!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭galteeboy

Hi

Currently have a 06 petrol focus (lx) and has 135000 km's on the clock, just wondering how much i could expect to sell this on for as am on the look out for a new car and that will depend on how much i would get for the focus.

galteeboy wrote: »
    Hi

Currently have a 06 petrol focus (lx) and has 135000 km's on the clock, just wondering how much i could expect to sell this on for as am on the look out for a new car and that will depend on how much i would get for the focus.

Basic spec, any alloys or anything to write home about? What colour?

if it's basic basic, Ask, 4350 to take around 4k, if it has alloys/nice colour ask €4750 and see how the offers go.

Focus are plentyful, you will need a very good ad and well presented car to make it stand out from the crowd.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭galteeboy

ya it has alloys alright and is black.was thinking that is about as much as could get but will see what get offered anyway. Waste of time trading it in anyway.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,123 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I'm selling my car and I was wondering what is the best way for the customer to pay for it.

I'm hoping to get 4000 for the car.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I'm selling my car and I was wondering what is the best way for the customer to pay for it.

I'm hoping to get 4000 for the car.

Cash or draft.

Saftest way is to meet them outside your bank and lodge it there and then.

Or cheque if they want to wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Tomothon

Hi lads, dunno if its the done thing here but i'm clueless about cars so...

I'm looking to buy a second hand Qashqai in the next while. Most of the ones i have seen online are roughly 18 - 21 grand, ive a 2000 avensis with 80 km on the clock to trade in and am looking for something from 2010.

What kind of discount from the listed price would you be looking to achieve, estimates from mates vary wildly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Hello10

Thanks for the advice.
    Yea, NCT is done. This VW is the highline, and unless buying private or straight there does'nt seem to be much in price between several dealers.

Tomothon wrote: »
    Hi lads, dunno if its the done thing here but i'm clueless about cars so...

I'm looking to buy a second hand Qashqai in the next while. Most of the ones i have seen online are roughly 18 - 21 grand, ive a 2000 avensis with 80 km on the clock to trade in and am looking for something from 2010.

What kind of discount from the listed price would you be looking to achieve, estimates from mates vary wildly!

Don't trade it in, buy straight and sell privately, you'll do much better that way. Do a bit of price hunting on the Qashqai, i've seen alot of variances on prices with them!

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭jamboambo1

Hi Tomathan

Would love to hear how you get on with Qashqai as i am looking for a 2010/11 model myself. Maybe pm me and let me know

• Registered Users Posts: 8 stillwaitin

Great initial post for what to look for when buying a car.

Buying my 1st car and have found one in a Garage under the following name:
    Crystal Cars, Mill Lane, Clondalkin, Dublin used to be called BKmotorcompany at the same address.

Any advice or feedback on this particular garage would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a mil!

Thanks Limerick man, we had the AA out a while ago and he advised we should sell it privately as ,"some black guy might buy it as a taxi".

WTF??

jamboambo1 wrote: »
    Hi Tomathan

Would love to hear how you get on with Qashqai as i am looking for a 2010/11 model myself. Maybe pm me and let me know

Will do

Tomothon wrote: »
    Thanks Limerick man, we had the AA out a while ago and he advised we should sell it privately as ,"some black guy might buy it as a taxi".

WTF??

Too old for a taxi.

Throw it up on donedeal and it'll go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭looking4advice

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=2713285478087550

What do you think of this one? It ticks all the boxes for me spec wise. I'd like a slighter lesser mileage but it's not much for an 07.

I'm specifically looking at 07's as I feel that there is less demand because of the tax reduction in 08.

What price would you offer? Anyone have any experience of the dealer?

You realise that's petrol ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭looking4advice

You realise that's petrol ya?
    I do. I don't have a commute to work so mileage will be low.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Can you give me the good or bad news haha, just bought this for 4,600 http://www.carzone.ie/search/Opel/Astra/LIFE-1.7/713232469926050/advert?channel=CARS
    Car is in great condition with a new timing belt.

Boooourns wrote: »
    Can you give me the good or bad news haha, just bought this for 4,600 http://www.carzone.ie/search/Opel/Astra/LIFE-1.7/713232469926050/advert?channel=CARS
    Car is in great condition with a new timing belt.

Seems grand, did you get a warranty?

They seem to be doing their best to hide the towbar in the pictures.

Best of luck with it :)

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=2713285478087550

What do you think of this one? It ticks all the boxes for me spec wise. I'd like a slighter lesser mileage but it's not much for an 07.

I'm specifically looking at 07's as I feel that there is less demand because of the tax reduction in 08.

What price would you offer? Anyone have any experience of the dealer?

if it came for under 11,000 it wouldn't be bad i suppose, looks a nice, genuine well minded car. Just remember you would want to be keeping it for a number of years to balance out the the depriciation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Seems grand, did you get a warranty?

They seem to be doing their best to hide the towbar in the pictures.

Best of luck with it :)

Like an eejit i forgot to ask for one. I agreed a price so going in tomorrow to hand it over.

• Registered Users Posts: 321 ✭✭spitonmedickie

Would appreciate any views on how much I should be looking to pay for one of these http://www.carzone.ie/search/Renault/Megane/III-Iris/201145205495049/advert?channel=CARS (same car and spec just not this exact one) I'm looking to trade in (a 08 lancer with 110k km on the clock) so they've said the Megane can be mine for 13,250 with the trade in. Got the lancer by default more or less so this is my first time dealing with this sort of thing.

There are 90 bhp versions out there for around 2k less, how much heed will they take of this as a reason to reduce the asking price? How much is that extra 20bhp worth?

Also, there's a newer version of this GT line model coming later in 2012 with a slightly better spec and limited external changes, would this affect the price of a 2011 model?

Any feedback on what i should pay would be really welcome. 13,000 is my absolute limit. Is there anything like road tax/extended warranty whatever else that I could look for them to through in to sweeten the deal?

Cheers for any ideas.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭lauras91

Hi all,.
    Have read through most of this thread, and its extremely helpful! I'm looking to buy my first car in order to learn, and want it asap, just wondering what you think of this one
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3061757
    Any opinions appreciated, thanks, Laura.

Looks fine, i wouldn't personally touch it at €1,400 as it's a bit dear. if you got it for €1,100 or €1,200 maybe.

it's a vauxhall too, ie. an import.

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭lauras91

Thanks for the reply Limerick Man, i wouldn't have bought it at that price either.. its already gone though, wonder how much it went for?! Will be looking for something similar to that, fingers crossed..

lauras91 wrote: »
    Thanks for the reply Limerick Man, i wouldn't have bought it at that price either.. its already gone though, wonder how much it went for?! Will be looking for something similar to that, fingers crossed..

Jesus i'm shocked it sold that quick, normally Corsa's are a fairly bad seller!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

I'm selling my car at the moment, has anyone any comment to make on my ad - see sig - am I asking too much? Anything else I could do to help it sell?

Things are slow at the mo, looks a genuine car and the ad is flawless. You're just gonna have to hold out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭crisco10

Hey,

Looking at getting a medium sized car. Astra caught my eye because they are reasonably priced and not too boring to drive.

If i was looking at the car, what should I look out for (i know timing belt is one)?

Was looking at these:

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Opel/As...t?channel=CARS

These any use? I really won't be doing massive milage, commuting sometimes but mainly weekend driving. Do a bit of sports so need the space in the car.