Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What a waste of our money!!

• 13-04-2010 2:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭

I've just witnessed a bunch of clowns, two horses and some freaks dressed up in spiderman outfits march down the main street in Balbriggan trying to drum up business for Duffys Circus that's set up in the town for a few days.

The mad thing here is that they had a garda escort comprising of two motorcycle units and two garda cars with a total of six guards escorting this private enterprise as it tries to drum up business at the cost of the tax payer:mad::mad:

Anybody else think this is crazy?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Election time already?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I'd put money on it that the gardai are trying to stop any unfortunate "escapes" of animals...happened a few times last year and I say that cost more money to fix up than an escort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

maddog wrote: »
    I've just witnessed a bunch of clowns, two horses and some freaks dressed up in spiderman outfits march down the main street in Balbriggan trying to drum up business for Duffys Circus that's set up in the town for a few days.

The mad thing here is that they had a garda escort comprising of two motorcycle units and two garda cars with a total of six guards escorting this private enterprise as it tries to drum up business at the cost of the tax payer:mad::mad:

Gardaí were going to be working anyway...might as well do something useful.

You'd complain if they were standing around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,919 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Are you sure they didnt pay for it themselves?

At least the gardai got out for a bit of work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

They obviously don't want the spidermen running off and causing another incident like the llamas on the M50.
    Money well spent, I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭the_one_&_only

Was it Duffy's circus who had the llamas on the M50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,919 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Was it Duffy's circus who had the llamas on the M50

The llamas were teaching the humans to drive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭North_West_Art

maybe the Gardai are part of the circus and preform the motorbike wall of death stunt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

What makes you think it's your money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ............

maddog you are one fúcking tosspot, go fuk urself u son of a bitch..whóre, go do some heroin u lowlife!

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭maddog

SV wrote: »
    Gardaí were going to be working anyway...might as well do something useful.

You'd complain if they were standing around.

Yeah... but 6 bloody cops:(:( surely they didn't need the whole station out on this nice sunny day escorting the clowns:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

maddog you are one fúcking tosspot, go fuk urself u son of a bitch..whóre, go do some heroin u lowlife!

big time lol! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

At least you had the courage to re-reg to say that.

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭maddog

Why are you selling?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Adios amigo

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,435 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Coco??? is that you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

use your brain to think.
    there is probably some sort of procedure laid down and some sort of minimal numbers needed for any parade down a street or some jazz. its legislature thats probably there for a good reason

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

I can imagine the Crimelords and Meglomaniacs of Balbriggan looking on the escort thinking with the cops distracted we can take the bank, kidnap the mayors daughter, start a new drug ring...because today The circus is in town, MWAH HAH AHAHHAA!

Seriously what does it matter, cops would only be at checkpoints anyway looking for criminals with out of date tax or god forbid NCT on their car or at the station drinking tea.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Jazzy wrote: »
    use your brain to think.
    there is probably some sort of procedure laid down and some sort of minimal numbers needed for any parade down a street or some jazz. its legislature thats probably there for a good reason

What happened to this bullshít volunteer force, could they not be doing that crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Jazzy wrote: »
    use your brain to think.

Oh, didn't you get the memo?
    "WASTING OUR MONEY" is now a magic term that makes any and all blubbering about anything at all automatically valid.

Because anything the reason for which you can't comprehend is automatically a waste and RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE

• Registered Users Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

Lol, so when there is visible evidence of garda activity that doesn't comprise of chasing black and white striped robbers down the road, it's a waste of money? :D But all the internal and backend processes that leak money like a sieve, not to mention the invisible 24 hour guarding of bog-land nobody TD's, is all okey dokey!?

As for the escort, I suppose the road safety and traffic calming/diversion wasn't worth their work no? Not to mention the circus probably had the stunt cleared with the county council, who could well have alotted or designated garda resources to use at their discretion, meaning no extra cost was incurred...

But the really important question is; are you going to the circus?!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Was it a literal bunch of clowns or a metaphorical bunch of clowns?
    I mean, were the bunch of clowns, in this case, actually a bunch of clowns?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

That wasn't Duffy's circus, it was Fathers4Justice.

• Registered Users Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

Why are you selling?

There are lots of reasons why people turn to drugs...

Some people just want drugs.. ya thats pretty much the only reason i guess...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

orourkeda wrote: »
    Are you sure they didnt pay for it themselves?

At least the gardai got out for a bit of work

since they receive funding from the Arts Council, either way it's a waste.

............ should be hoping he used a proxy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I agree completely. Why should we have to pay so that a private enterprise can promote themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I have highlighted the reason for the garda escort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Garda escorts? What's the world coming to - I thought they were supposed to stop prostitution. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Jaysus and I thought what went on in FAS was bad.

Thanks for highlighting this OP - I for one will have my pitchfork and flaming torch at the ready for whenever our collective of concerned citizens decides to burn these bastards to the ground for all the damage they've caused to our fair nation.