Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pound stole my dogs

• Registered Users Posts: 19 139

To be fair he did say small dogs. it could be the case that they cant be pulled on a lead when he's jogging so and also would pose zero risk to children.

Why bring them then? Obviously let loose so he doesn't have to clean up after them.
    Zero risk to children? Of course there is a risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

littledog2.jpg
    Even something like this?
    Causes blindness

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭GHOST MGG2

littledog2.jpg
    Even something like this?
    there the worst of the lot..small yappy snappy vicious little monsters:-p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

.... it could be the case that they cant be pulled on a lead when he's jogging so and also would pose zero risk to children.
    Cudda, shudda, wudda - idle speculation, pointless. The key thing is what are the local bye-laws in relation to dogs and was OP in breach.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

IPAM wrote: »
    IMO no dog poses zero risk to children no matter how small/big/friendly etc.

IMO no child posses 0 threat to a dog

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Your story makes absolutely no sense and I don't believe it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 232 ✭✭LilyCricket

I feel sorry for the OP, hope you get your doggies back

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

GHOST MGG2 wrote: »
    its against the law in public parks to not have dogs on a leash.

No it most certainly isn't. It depends on the breed of dog and the particular park.

mathepac wrote: »
    Cudda, shudda, wudda - idle speculation, pointless. The key thing is what are the local bye-laws in relation to dogs and was OP in breach.

Actually the key thing is that there are set fines in place and the person the OP dealt with tried to charge him 250% of the legally set amount. Which if true is some public servant trying to steal €150 from the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Someone is having a laugh here

follow this link and it'll show the fees incurred for Ashtown Dogpound in Fingal

Even with 2 dogs the max fine should be about €140

"STRAY DOGS

Stray dogs will be taken by the dog warden to the dog pound where they must be kept for 5 days. Ashton Pound, River Road, Ashtown, Castleknock, Dublin 15 (near Halfway House Pub, Navan Road) provides Fingal's dog warden and the pound service is operated by them for Fingal County Council.

If you want to reclaim your dog, you will have to pay the Pound a reclaim fee of €12.70 plus a charge of €6.30 bed and board for each night your dog remains in the Pound. If you do not have a current dog licence you will have to buy one also for €20. If you don't keep your dog under effectual control you can get a €30 on-the-spot fine and if you don't pay the fine you can be prosecuted and receive a fine of up to €1,270 and / or 3 months imprisonment."

http://www.fingalcoco.ie/Environment/ControlofDogsandHorses/Dogs/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

If this isn't a piss take then I hope you get your dogs back. That's really not right that they should be able to do that and not have the decency to return them.
    I don't know what's going on with all this finger wagging stuff from people. I'm noticing a lot of heads up respective asses in AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

OP if you do care about your dogs, and really are that broke, you should try get them out as soon as possible, because it's not going to be nice for them there, plus every night they're there ads to the cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Daithi 1 wrote: »
    Was in jogging in the park today with my 2 small dogs. Whe I noticed they were not beside me I went back through the park but couldnt find them. I evetually called the Ashtown pound a sure eough they had them in the van ad had not even been to the pound yet.
    I have licenses for them but they refuse to return my dogs with withouth me paying 250 euro. So I refused to leave until they gave my dogs back ad I called the gards to see if they could help. Gardai came down as said it wasn't a polce matter and that I was trespassing and had to leave.
    I am on the social and have no way of paying this fee :mad:

I called several papers ad am waiting to hear back to see if they'll take this story. I cant believe the pound can get away with this.

F*cking dog napping scumbags have them locked up in tiny cages and are charging me 8 euro a night to keep them !!!

Sorry to hear about that, These people think they can get away with anything. My neighbour had similar happen to him years ago so he went down in the evening to the old pound in Cork by the bus station and just climbed in and took his dog back, Dead right too..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

charlemont wrote: »
    Sorry to hear about that, These people think they can get away with anything. My neighbour had similar happen to him years ago so he went down in the evening to the old pound in Cork by the bus station and just climbed in and took his dog back, Dead right too..
    I would consider it myself but since the guards already told him to leave for tresspassing i wouldn't chance it. You don't want to be done for breaking and entering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I would consider it myself but since the guards already told him to leave for tresspassing i wouldn't chance it. You don't want to be done for breaking and entering.

Very true. They more than likely have cameras and alarms there although I'm not familiar with the pound in question. The new one in Cork looks very secure too.
    Its pathetic how the OP couldn't even bring his dogs to the park without this happening, Shame on the dog warden, aka tax collector..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭ceegee

charlemont wrote: »

Very true. They more than likely have cameras and alarms there although I'm not familiar with the pound in question. The new one in Cork looks very secure too.
    Its pathetic how the OP couldn't even bring his dogs to the park without this happening, Shame on the dog warden, aka tax collector..

More pathetic that the OP couldnt bother keeping an eye on his dogs having let them loose in a public area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

Daithi 1 wrote: »
    Was in jogging in the park today with my 2 small dogs. Whe I noticed they were not beside me I went back through the park but couldnt find them. I evetually called the Ashtown pound a sure eough they had them in the van ad had not even been to the pound yet.
    I have licenses for them but they refuse to return my dogs with withouth me paying 250 euro. So I refused to leave until they gave my dogs back ad I called the gards to see if they could help. Gardai came down as said it wasn't a polce matter and that I was trespassing and had to leave.
    I am on the social and have no way of paying this fee :mad:

I called several papers ad am waiting to hear back to see if they'll take this story. I cant believe the pound can get away with this.

F*cking dog napping scumbags have them locked up in tiny cages and are charging me 8 euro a night to keep them !!!

Post on this forum daithi1..they might have some helpful tips for ye!!
    http://www.tirnasaor.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭stimpson

iguana wrote: »
    No it most certainly isn't. It depends on the breed of dog and the particular park.

Actually it depends in the time of day, but the person in charge must be in effectual control of the dog. If the OP can lose his dogs that easily it doesn't sound like he knew where they were.

Here are the Dublin City Council bye laws in relation to the control of dogs:
    http://www.dublincity.ie/Community/AnimalWelfare/Documents/Control_of_Dogs_Bye_Laws.DOC

From part of it :

A person in charge of a dog in an area specified in the First Schedule * to these Bye-Laws ... shall keep the dog on a sufficiently strong chain or leash, not exceeding two metres in length if a fixed leash, or ten metres if retractable, while in that area, except during the following times when the dog may be unleashed in such areas (but excluding the North Bull Island and any other such area for which a Special Amenity Area Order is made) provided that such dog must still be under the effectual control of the person-in-charge of the dog in accordance with the Control of Dogs Acts, 1986 and 1992:
    January & December: 8.00 a.m. - 11.00 a.m.
    4.00 p.m. - 5.00 p.m.

February & November: 8.00 a.m. - 11.00 a.m.
    4.30 p.m. - 5.30 p.m.

* The First Schedule includes
    Any - (a) park, ... which is under the control of the Corporation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

From that link...
    Ring the Gardaí and report the dog missing.

Is that some kind of joke? I'd like to think Gardai have more important things to deal with.

stimpson wrote: »
    Actually it depends in the time of day, but the person in charge must be in effectual control of the dog.

That's only in city parks. The OP appears to be in Fingal where no such restriction applies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Robbin' dogs no good. Stroke pussies in park better.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Alot of high horses in use tonight. As a person who likes to bring his dog to an area where she can roam, I hate to think she could be taken from under my nose.

I am fuming with rage for u op, I hope u get it sorted without being Ripped off like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭stimpson

iguana wrote: »
    That's only in city parks. The OP appears to be in Fingal where no such restriction applies.

Bzzzt. Wrong again.
    “Section 4.7 (d – h) of Fingal County Council’s Regional Parks and Open Spaces Bye-Laws 1999, as amended by the Fingal County Council (Prohibition of Consumption of Intoxicating Liquor on Roads and in Public Places) Bye-Laws 2002 deals with the control of dogs. The provisions are as follows:

(d)          No person shall take into or allow to remain in the Park any dog unless it is on a leash or under adequate control provided always that dogs are not permitted to be within the curtilage of a playground.

(e)   Every person in charge of a dog in the park shall prevent it from causing annoyance to any person using the park or worrying, chasing, injuring or disturbing any animals, birds or other creatures in the park.

(f)   Every person bringing a dog into the park shall be responsible for its conduct and shall be liable for any damage or injury which may be caused by it. Any person bringing a dog into the park must remove it from the park if so directed by an authorised employee of the Council.

(g) If a dog defecates in the park, the person in charge of the dog shall remove the faeces from the Park. Guide dogs for the blind are exempt from this bye-law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭LorraineMcFly

Your dogs should be leashed, but i do think the fine is extreme.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

This is just terrible. Something similar happened to me in Cork last week. I was out jogging with my pet elephant and I fancied a coffee from insomnia. Before I knew it I was on the front of every paper in the country. Why can't they stop persecuting us animal loving joggers?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I definitely think you should report this to the Gardaí. Please record the phonecall and post a link up here :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

This is just terrible. Something similar happened to me in Cork last week. I was out jogging with my pet elephant and I fancied a coffee from insomnia. Before I knew it I was on the front of every paper in the country. Why can't they stop persecuting us animal loving joggers?

A chimp jogging with an elephant in Cork, who are you trying to kid. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Really couldn't read past the first page. Some real dickheads on this forum.

Hope you get some justice OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

A chimp jogging with an elephant in Cork, who are you trying to kid. :)
    Kid= baby goat, good one. Do you think I'm a monkeys uncle?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,955 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Where To wrote: »
    Piranhas are small fish but you don't often find them in kids' paddling pools

You do if you buy the deluxe model.