Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Promotions Thread *Please read post 1* (*Mod Warning Post #3947)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

Great show last night by OTT, not a bad word can be said about the night!

• Registered Users Posts: 47 jd1594

OTT last night was my first non WWE show I've been to in Ireland, definitely going again. Fantastic fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pingi

Great night at OTT Saturday, thought the show was even better than the first.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Very good, thanks for the information.

Did you order tickets for it? I am working til 9 that night but might try go in afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Gave a review of Saturday's OTT show here from about 44:00 if anyone is interested! https://soundcloud.com/raginrick/low-blows-33-more-loaded-than-stephanies-bra

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Did you order tickets for it? I am working til 9 that night but might try go in afterwards.

Not yet, apparently the tickets have to be printed out but I am planning on getting them today. Ye bell time is at 8 but even if you don't make it down till a bit after 9 I'm sure you'll catch the Deise Deathmatch and at the end of the day isn't that all that matters 😜

• Registered Users Posts: 1 OTTRULEZ

Just set up this account to say that Saturdays OTT show was literally the best Irish. . . scratch that, it was the best wrestling show i have ever been to in my life. I have been to WWE, all the irish promotions and even seen Scotland's ICW shows and nothing compares to that show Saturday, and i only had three beers lol!

Every match was top notch with excellent character development throughout the night and the whole show just connected and fit together perfectly.

The Wards are on to something specifically Rocky Mac and The smaller lad. Rocky Mac was excellent on the stick nearly topping one of the best promos of the country IMO Paul Tracey.

Three way was excellent with Nicki getting in some entertaining character work before being eliminated, which left two lads Pete England and Jordan Devlin to have an amazing exchange.

Highlight of the night and literally the best spot I have ever seen in a wrestling match was 'the lads from the flats' hitting their amazing coked up comeback! Has to be seen to be believed!!

Wrestling is back guys. It was on life support in this country for the last few years, but its back and if more people support this kind of product then it will grow in popularity.

All i'm going to say is Roll on January, and to the lads on this thread seriously, get the word out about this amazing promotion and tell any wrestling fan you know that has gotten disenfranchised with WWE and perhaps the general indy scene pandering to kiddies.

Not yet, apparently the tickets have to be printed out but I am planning on getting them today. Ye bell time is at 8 but even if you don't make it down till a bit after 9 I'm sure you'll catch the Deise Deathmatch and at the end of the day isn't that all that matters 😜
    General rule of thumb when going to a WWE show, don't miss the women's match.
    General rule of thumb when at an indy show, don't miss the gimmick match!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 158 ✭✭CCWrestling

Check out Celtic Championship Wrestling's latest YouTube Full Live Event CCW 11: Against All Odd's

Matches Include:
    1. Mr KO Marion Armstrong v Karl Brien
    2. Mark Fitz v Roughshod
    3. D.O.C & Cork Kid v Omega & Xavier Burns
    4. The Executioner v Ricky Combat
    5. CCW Heavyweight Championship - Cork City Street Fight 2

Coming very soon our show from November 2nd CCW 12: Clash 4 Gold and also CCW Classics on demand Part 2 of last years annual over 18s event CCW Riot 2013.

Tickets are still available online at entertainment.ie for this years Riot Live in Crystal Club and Venue, Waterford City on Friday the 28th of November.

deise.jpg

Decent show you guys have there. It might be an idea to record the audio that comes through your P.A system, and then match it up with the video afterwards. Sometimes it is hard to hear what is being said when someone is on the microphone in the ring. That isn't a criticism, just advice. The action looks good so far. I like Mr. KO. I think that the rapport between the 2 announcers is pretty endearing as well, and they are a lot more successful at what they do when they keep their chat as Irish as possible, and avoid any of the terminology that is used on WWE. Then again, when we have all been watching something for as many years, as I'm sure your guys have, it can be hard not to be influenced by it all the time. Overall though, this gets the thumbs up from me. Good stuff lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭the flananator

Really fun show at the Tivoli on last week. Busy, boisterous atmosphere again, the wrestler’s had their working boots on and the characters introduced to us at the first show were developed.

Opening the show a suited man came to the ring with two chaps in Hi Vis jackets declaring that they were installing meters under the ring. They were however interrupted by drunkard and keen socialist the Ballymun Bruiser, who hit the ring and gave them a good kicking in what would be difficult to spin as a ‘peaceful’ protest.

What is Bruiser’s entrance music? Sounds like Eminem, its class anyway.

Meanwhile at the bar, the bargirls are no selling myself and another lad’s attempts to get a pint. We attempt to grab their attention with sustained eye contact and a bit of leaning on the bar, but nobody gets over.

The opening match is between Sean Brennan (is he calling himself Sean Guinness now?) and Tucker. This was a really good, hard-hitting match with tons of dives and strikes and what have you. Neither man was overtly playing the heel so this was ostensibly a battle between two lovely lads kicking each other in the face. Tucker won with a Swanton. After the match Maxer low blows Tucker and takes a payoff from heel owner Humperdink. He wasn’t a lovely lad after all! Humperdink announces the Extreme Rules man event and is wearing a blonde wig and woollen cap because he is a pure evil bastard. An “Anyhoosles” chant breaks out confirming that Humperdinks catchphrases are even getting over. Fun so far.

Bonesaw beat Paddy Ward next. The Wards are really over and Bonesaw’s ample frame is perfectly hairless.

Jordan Devlin beat Nicky and Pete Dunn is a solid threeway in match number three. Nicky portrays a sinister homosexual and Dunn being English is also heel because wrestling. The crowd questioned the legality of Nicky’s valet with some spirited chanting before an ‘Up the ‘RA” chant broke out briefly for Dunn’s benefit which isn’t even the most offensive thing on the show. Devlin eliminated Nicky with a nice package piledriver and Dunn pinned Devlin with a twisty facebuster thing which my brain didn’t really comprehend because I’m drunk at this stage. The talented Devlin gets a deserved ovation from the crowd afterwards.

Justin Shape comes out next with Sammy D and B Cool for a tag match. Sammy D has put aside his life of hash and Pringles since the last show apparently and is doing a fitness gimmick along with the two lads. Their opponents are the two vagrants from the main event of the debut show. They are absolutely brilliant, totally inhabiting their characters and delivering the goods in the ring too. Some good Love/Hate inspired chants from the crowd. They do a great spot with some talcum powder leading to them channelling the Ultimate Warrior, ultimately getting the win with a lovely reverse DDT/Moonsault combo. Post-match celebration is good craic.

After the interval, Lord Paul Tracey took on the Ballymun Bruiser. Tracey said he was going to win on behalf of the upper classes or whatever, but staunch Leninist Bruiser again was having none of this. Fun match which the crowd were into.

The main event is a hardcore match between Luther Ward and Damien Corvin for a belt which I presume is the NLW title. This is a wild brawl around the theatre with some really exciting action. Ward did a tope into the third row and then downed a can like a lad. Corvin chucked Ward off the top rope in the classic Ric Flair spot, but this being an extreme rules match Ward landed on an upright chair, smashing it to pieces. In the closing moments, the pair brawled up onto the stage before Ward hit a Michinoku driver on Corvin off the stage through a table. He then rolled him into the ring and sidewalk slammed him through a chair for the pin.

After the bell Maxer, Tracey, Humperdink and Corvin beat the ****e out of the Wards because they haven’t a decent bone in their bodies. Thankfully Paddy Ward grabs a hurl and gives chase to the heels, before announcing he’ll fight them like men in January…Bai. Everyone has cans to close the show.

I would really encourage people to go to their next card in January. This was a great night out. Between OTT and Lucha Underground, I’m vaguely interested in wrestling again which was unthinkable even 3 months ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

What is Bruiser’s entrance music? Sounds like Eminem, its class anyway.

'Survival' by Eminem. The bastard had it stuck in my head for weeks after the first show.

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Whiplash

Bonesaw beat Paddy Ward next. The Wards are really over and Bonesaw’s ample frame is perfectly hairless.

Paddy Ward beat Bonesaw using some classic Eddie Guerrero style cheat to win tactics.

To get you in the mood for this Fridays show, heres Part 2 of last years Riot Live from The Savoy in Cork City.

If you like Pro Wrestling aimed at an over 18's audience, then you won't wanna miss CCW Riot 2014 Live at Crystal Club & Venue, Waterford City. tickets available at entertainment.ie and at the door on the night.

deise.jpg

For more info check out our facebook event page here: https://www.facebook.com/events/493318977477848/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Very tempted to head to Waterford for this. Although the last deathmatch I saw live was Masada vs Jun Kasai so I'm not sure what to expect from this :pac:

I'm raging that I'm going to be in work until 9 and my car is now at the garage for 2 days. Ah.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Over The Top Wrestling

Over The Top Wrestling presents "The Walking Banjaxed'' live
    on Saturday January 17th at 8pm

Tickets are on sale now from WRESTLING MANIA (St Stephen's green shopping centre, Dublin) and from the Tivoli theatre box office.

Tickets are also available online from entertainment.ie

OTT return to the Tivoli Theatre, 135-138 Francis Street in Dublin's city centre for a 3rd installment of epic over 18's American Wrestling entertainment!

Over The Top Wrestling brings it all with an engaging mixture of hardcore pro-wrestling and comedy combined with non stop audience interaction in a 2.5 hour show of non stop action.

The venue will also have a full bar service on the night with the very best drinks promotions available.

A zombie outbreak is imminent. Your only chance of survival is to make it to the Tivoli Theatre on January 17th and witness Over The Top Wrestling: "The Walking Banjaxed" Grab Your mates, have a drink, and wait for all this to blow over!

Facebook / Over The Top Wrestling
    You tube / Over The Top Wrestling
    Twitter / (Over The Top) @ottsideshow
    ottwrestling.com

Why do ye describe it as American?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Ah i wont be her for this one since ill be in Amsterdam. Still need to get to one of these shows

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭*tripsi*

Hi, looking for some information on Irish wrestling promotions for a wrestler friend. I can't seem to find much contact information online, like email addresses and official websites. They mostly operate using Facebook which I don't use often. Would be very grateful if you guys could send me some contact info and possibly a list of good wrestling promotions in the country.

Much appreciated. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭*tripsi*

Thank you. x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Ageyev

Few updates here which may be of interest http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056294295

For sure, the Irish Promotions Thread is the best way of keeping up with what's happening locally.

Over the years there have been many documentaries made around Irish promotions and more often than not some miss the mark and can be quite cringe worthy. Over the past 6 months a group called Scented Cinema Productions have been recording footage and interviews at various Wrestling.ie shows all over the country for their documentary titled The Art of The Squared Circle. The lads in question have a great respect for the art of wrestling and I think the finished documentary will an awesome watch. Don't take my word for it, judge it yourself and have a look at the trailer.

Tickets go on sale tomorrow on entertainment.ie. Great stocking filler.

Champ_Choice.jpg

For more information LIKE Celtic Championship Wrestling on Facebook.

Check out CWR every Monday night 10-12pm on www.room101radio.eu New Years Special tonight!!

10799813_10152884945648464_472663531_n.jpg

LIKE CWR on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/cwrwrestling

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭montyrebel

If anyone is interested PWU have another supershow on the 1st Feb and the superstar they have this time is Al Snow

Whereabouts is that going to be taking place? Ah crap, I'm working a 66 hour shift that weekend.

10557222_330155620468642_2528084047325654182_n.jpg

For more info visit:
    CCW Pro Wrestling Academy Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/ccwproacademy

Alternatively you can email us at ccwrestlinginfo@gmail.com