Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

10-01-2013, 00:10   #286
dewsbury

...I know this thread is a bit dormant but...

Indulge me in my little pet (unreasonably) hate.

It may be my imagination but there seems to be a certain class of people who say "ye" for the plural of you.

"Ye" may well be correct but "you" is also the plural of "you".

I am convinced that certain people who did not grow up saying "ye" have somehow adopted the word i preference to "you".

There you go, I told you it was unreasonably! I feel better now!
Thanks from:
10-01-2013, 00:16   #287
Jellybaby1

I'm sure you feel much better now for that, dewsbury, but sorry to tell you that I am one of those people who uses the word 'ye'. It's not uncommon for me to use it as I was brought up to read ye Bible hence it's not unusual for us. I often hear my 20-something daughter using 'ye' in conversation too.
10-01-2013, 08:44   #288
OldGoat
Registered Goat

I'm a 'Ye' user too. Using 'you' as a plural never sounds right to me.
I love that I'm now in a class of people.
10-01-2013, 12:05   #289
Jellybaby1

A better class of people! Har! (Sorry, snob just slipped out)
Thanks from:
10-01-2013, 13:19   #290
looksee

Right on jb, I am one of that class too - I would use ye informally as a plural, and even yiz at times! even though I have an English accent and it isn't at all part of my background. Its a very useful word though.
10-01-2013, 14:52   #291
Jellybaby1

When my brother was a young lad, wayyyy back in the mists of time, he'd come in from playing outside (for hours) and instead of saying 'did you have your tea?' he'd say 'did youse have yisser tea? I still laugh at that.
10-01-2013, 23:22   #292
Esel
Not your ornery onager...

'Ye' is frequently used by us Hiberno-English speakers. Lots more instances of different usage and sentence construction too...
11-01-2013, 01:01   #293
Jellybaby1

What about that old Yorkshire thing of 'thee' and 'thy', as per Compo in LOTSW: "Have thee got any dripping, Sid?" None of the other characters used it. And it was always 'thee', but never 'thou'. Wonder if anyone uses it now in Yorkshire?
11-01-2013, 07:45   #294
looksee

Don't know, its a while since I lived there, but it wasn't so much thee and thou (like the Quakers) as thi and tha - 'give us thi coat' and 'whats tha doin''. I think it probably still goes on.

There's also that t' sound that is used instead of 'the'. People trying to copy it say 't' but in reality there was mostly no sound at all, just a kind of spoken hiccup 'put it on t' table' actually sounds like 'put it on table' but there is a kind of vocal hitch between on and table.
(2) thanks from:
11-01-2013, 10:18   #295
OldGoat
Registered Goat

Y and Th were reversed in medieval English so that You would have been Thou and The was written as Ye, as in Dost thou see ye castle/Do you see the castle

Ye as a plural for You is a dialect thing rather than a grammatical one I think.
11-01-2013, 10:25   #296
Rasmus

'FML'. It is so ridiculous.
13-01-2013, 10:11   #297
Jellybaby1

'Compliment' instead of 'complement'.
13-01-2013, 10:21   #298
Sam Kade

Quote:
Originally Posted by odds_on View Post
Some words that really bug me:
Spoken:
.... dude

Written:
.... would of (and all similar "of"s which should be "have").

And in general the poor state of spelling on so many forums, (there for their etc). I don't believe that these are typos but poor spelling by the posters.

I also hate all text message abbreviations.
No need to read too far into this thread to find a word that really annoys me
25-02-2013, 20:05   #299
Auld-Yin
Omnia Vincit Amor

Yous or youse. - Normally spoken but I've seen both versions used in print.

~

Massive as in 'massive 200GB hard disk' or 320GB or 500GB etc. and also in 'massive 4GB ram'. - Given all that, it would seemthat massive is meaningless.

~

I'd love to know what the spelling standard is in english exam papers.
26-02-2013, 00:41   #300
Jellybaby1

I've often seen job adverts for 'excellent English required' only to find a few misspellings within the advert. Daft or what?

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion