Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Litter SWAT Teams !

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Louche Lad wrote: »
    You will find bins in streets in the UK. I think the only places there aren't bins are Tube stations and a lot of mainline rail stations.

Walked through Manchester and there werent any! But they had plenty of street cleaners. Asked a mate why and he said its a security issue

• Registered Users Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭Brennans Row

Our second clean-up action focused on the river bank from the canal junction to the Groody river, and on the canal banks, going down to the Park Bridge on both sides of the canal... lots more to be done!

Link to photo album.

6827744210_92ebfc44a5_z.jpg

The toy car we fished out - had a battery and an engine on it, making it very heavy...

I thought it would be worth flagging this action group again as they were out on force again at the weekend.

The battery powered toy car that they pulled out of the canal could have been a small nasty piece of pollution, in that if had not been removed, it would have seeped a chemical substance into the canal for years to come.

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Red Neck Hughie

I'm not too good with the place names but.. in UL grounds beside the gravel path which runs past the boat club - it looks like a landfill. (Did 2 weeks ago anyway). If ye have any plans to tackle this please highlight it here and I will help out.
    You should all get medals, fair play to you.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,590 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I drove through Weston this morning. Litter everywhere. One of the more notorious families park kids petrol driven karts outside overnight.

Kudos to the SWAT Teams though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭angry kitten

I seem to be in a weird mood today, for a minute there I read SWAT teams and had visions of people chasing people down as they dropped litter. Now I would actually pay to see that. Well done to the people who get involved with the clean up, its nice to see people taking pride in their community.

Clean up of Limerick city ahead of Tidy Towns entry (Limerick Leader)

LIMERICK city’s first entry into the Tidy Towns competition took a huge step forward this weekend, as a group of business people and interested members of the public took to the streets to clean-up the city.

Sunday morning saw a large crowd of interested city stakeholders gather to clean-up of designated parts of the city centre, with a steady stream of volunteers arriving from 10am.

Helen O’Donnell, chair of the Limerick City Business Association, came up with the idea of entering the city centre into Tidy Towns’ new category for large urban spaces, and led yesterday’s clean-up operation.

“It is going very well, we are really excited. We have had a huge crew of people come in to help out today,” said Ms O’Donnell this Sunday afternoon.

Rugby star Jerry Flannery was on hand to help with the initiative, picking up cigarette butts on O’Connell Street, while property developer Michael Tiernan, his wife Maeve and their friends and family gathered around Arthur’s Quay to help clean the streets around the shopping centre and the park opposite it.

“The city is really going to take shape. It is a case of asking people to care for their place and if we could bring the passion that they had last night in Thomond Park onto the streets of the city, we would have an amazing place to be here,” explained Mrs O’Donnell.

“We have ten organisations on board and today we have had people ringing in and coming in offering us equipment and help and all of this is because people want to see the place cleaner and better and people have huge pride in the city,” she added.

The project to clean-up the city and enter the Tidy Towns competition is being supported by Limerick City Council, Limerick Chamber of Commerce, the Local Heroes group, Shannon Development and the JP McManus foundation.
    If the City Centre pulls this off by winning the Tidy Towns’ new category for large urban spaces it would be a great boost to help lift the gloom hanging over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

I wish someone would empty the doggie bins on the Condel Road new walkway. Phoned the environment section of city council loads of over last few weeks times and they haven't done anything yet and its now worse than it ever was before the bins were put in. I guess they'll use their lack of the 100e from everyone now as an excuse but in reality, the council has history of putting in bins and never emptying them.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

I wish someone would empty the doggie bins on the Condel Road new walkway. Phoned the environment section of city council loads of over last few weeks times and they haven't done anything yet and its now worse than it ever was before the bins were put in. I guess they'll use their lack of the 100e from everyone now as an excuse but in reality, the council has history of putting in bins and never emptying them.

Spotted that a few times as I use that walkway as part of one of my alternative running routes. The bin nearest the pier has been overflowing for a long time now and just seems to have been put there as some token effort to make it look like something was being done about litter/dog waste etc.

I guess photo ops are what many of these projects/schemes are all about rather than any long term commitment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

just after driving by there and it looks like they emptied the bins at last :)

IBAL has graded the UL campus to be clean to European norms :) but the Limerick College of Further Education on Mulgrave Street is littered :(.

No mention of Mary I or LIT in their report.

Limerick College Disputes Litter Findings (live95fm)

Limerick College of Further Education has clashed with the Irish Business Against Litter group over a survey of college campuses.

The latest IBAL survey found that the Mulgrave Street campus was littered and ranked second last out of the 21 colleges assessed.

The college is disputing the findings and says they've raised a number of issues with IBAL over their criteria but have yet to get a response.

Spokesperson Patrick Hogan says the litter problem near their campus is out of their control...

In the audio part he puts the blame on the litter bins outside the college for not been emptied or attended to on a regular basis.

In fairness Google Street-View reveals the Limerick College to be clean on the day of Google’s photo survey.

However it also reveals that there is only one litter bin outside the college (near the bus stop) which surely can’t be the reason that they ended up second-last. :confused:

May 14th - May 20th 2012

Following five successful years of Volunteer Ireland’s National Day of Volunteering, 2012 will see Ireland’s first annual National Volunteering Week take place between May 14th – May 20th. National Volunteering Week is the one week of the year when we encourage everyone in Ireland to give volunteering a try, so that everyone can learn that – even if it’s only for a minute, an hour, or a day – volunteering can make a big difference and be a lot of fun!

This year’s flagship project is a National Inland Waterways Clean Up. Clean up events will be held across the country, to find an event near you, browse the National Volunteering Week volunteering opportunities. Our Inland Waterways are a precious natural resource. With the help of Waterways Ireland and the Inland Waterways Association of Ireland, this May will see a host of litter pick ups and canal clean up projects all over Ireland, highlighting the natural beauty of our waterways - and the importance of keeping them clean!

Here are just a few examples on what you can do to get involved with National Volunteering Week.
    1. You can register to take part in a project that is already happen.
    2. Register your own project
    3. Participate in our flagship event- A National Inland Waterway Clean Up
    4. Commit a Random Act of Volunteering
    So go ahead, grab some friends, family and colleagues and give Ireland a helping hand during National Volunteering Week!

• Registered Users Posts: 3 coniecto

The lady who had the idea of entering Limerick in the Tidy Towns competition , Helen O'Donnell, the chair of the Limerick Business Association, is calling to action:

"A lot of preparatory work has been done over the last few weeks. Now it's time for action!
    With the "monsoon season" nearly over, we plan to meet:

- every Wednesday evening in May from 6.30pm to 8.30
    - on Sundays May 13, 20, and 27th from 10am to 12

The first meet-up is on WEDNESDAY MAY 2nd (today) outside Henry Street Garda station.
    Depending on how many are available, we will work in groups.
    Bring some gardening tools, as there are plenty of weeds.

If you have an area in mind needing work please let us know

Please tell anybody interested to come along!

Best wishes
    Helen"

Follow the Limerick Tidy Towns page on Facebook for more updates!

Businessman JP McManus is throwing his weight behind a new 50,000 euro challenge to get people to play their part in creating a brighter, better, cleaner Limerick.

The Going for Gold campaign, which is supported by Live95fm and backed by the JP McManus Charitable Foundation is encouraging businesses, community groups and individuals to improve their local areas and make them litter free.

The campaign begins now and judging will take place during the summer.

Limerick City remains 'moderately littered' (live95fm)

Limerick City remains 'moderately littered' according to the latest litter league table.

The city is in 35th position in the Irish Business Against Litter survey, an improvement on January's results.

An Taisce say dog fouling awareness signs and a noticeable improvement in the approach roads to Limerick have led to the city's rise in the ranks.

Upper Gerald Griffin Street and Clare Street are amongst the worst ranking sites due to heavy litter and graffiti in the area.

Newcastlewest, which was described as 'Clean to European Norms' in January has been axed from the An Taisce backed poll due to cost cutting.

It would be interesting to see all the survey details for the city, so that everybody can see what needs to be done.

According to the interview the city is very close to the status of being 'Clean to European Norms'.

IBAL Anti Litter League 1st Round Results 2012

Ranking Town / City Status
    1 Cavan Cleaner than European Norms
    2 Kilkenny Cleaner than European Norms
    3 Longford Cleaner than European Norms
    4 Castlebar Cleaner than European Norms
    5 Tramore Cleaner than European Norms
    6 Killarney Cleaner than European Norms
    7 Trim Cleaner than European Norms
    8 Fermoy Cleaner than European Norms
    9 Ballina Cleaner than European Norms
    10 Wexford Cleaner than European Norms