Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Arm the Gardai?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Anyone remember the time they got the new baton? 80% of them were just issued it when they turned up for work with no formal training or anything

Yes,don't make accusations like that without evidence to back them up.

80% sounds absolutely absurd,that is the equivalent of giving 80% of the DF weapons without any training.Also,the media would have been all over a story like that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Divers, making stuff up is not encouraged on this forum. Please either substantiate your claims, or withdraw them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

every guard had to hand in their old baton at the training site so as to recieve the new ones which were only issued to the gards at the end of about 9 hours training by the authorised trainer working for the baton company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Eroo wrote:
    ALL Gardai came out of Templemore with basic training on Revolvers in the past,due to the Troubles and massive amount of armed robbery's.

Sure about that?

Any Garda here confirm this? I thought it was done away with.

sunnyjim wrote: »
    Sure about that?

Any Garda here confirm this? I thought it was done away with.

Please read my post again...I said all Gardai CAME out of Templemore w/ firearms training in revolvers...i.e.in the past

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Calling what was done down in Templemore as 'basic firearms training' is stretching it a fair bit, familiarisation would be a more accurate term. The Phase 5 students used to get a brief introduction & safe handling lecture, then got to fire off a few rounds.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

if the gardai were armed wouldn't that lead to an increase in gangs armouries?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,458 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Mweelrea wrote: »

Ahh, that is what is really one of the underlying arguments behind arming the Gardai...

I myself think slightly perhaps, but public safety would still increase due to the arming of the Gardai. Basically, the positive effects would far outweigh the negative in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

the locust wrote: »
    "Anyone remember the time they got the new baton? 80% of them were just issued it when they turned up for work with no formal training or anything."

Thats not true they all did a baton course before being allowed to carry them

This is partly true. I think back in the 80's the gardai purchased night-sticks which were i think issued and redrawn due to lack of training.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭source

Mweelrea wrote: »

i don't see this as a valid argument for not arming the gardai, I mean look at the situation here in Limerick. Grenades, rpg's, assault rifles, handguns, these are but a few weapons the local gangs have available and that's without bringing the explosives into it. I don't see how giving every garda a sig or a glock is going to make the gangs think, "christ the gards have guns lads.....we better get a bloody tank" cos that's about the only type of weapon these people don't have.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

foinse wrote: »
    i don't see this as a valid argument for not arming the gardai, I mean look at the situation here in Limerick. Grenades, rpg's, assault rifles, handguns, these are but a few weapons the local gangs have available and that's without bringing the explosives into it. I don't see how giving every garda a sig or a glock is going to make the gangs think, "christ the gards have guns lads.....we better get a bloody tank" cos that's about the only type of weapon these people don't have.

How many gardai have been shot in Limerick in say the last decade? How many gardai have been shot in Ireland in the last 10 years?

How many gardai deaths would have been prevented due to them being armed? Serious question there. I cant think of even one.

Specialist units who face the armed criminals, gangland, drug, family fueds etc etc should be armed with the best equipment and extremely well trained.

Do the gardai even have their own shooting range?? As far as i am aware they dont.

It is insane to arm all rank and file gardai due to gangland crime or family/drug fueds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Let's be honest here, leaving the hardened armed criminals aside, to get away from the guards now you just have to out-number them at the time. A pair of un-armed Gardaí are no match for a gang of maybe 7 or 8 thugs now matter how well trained they are. They could take a serious hiding before backup arrived, if ever.

Would the thugs take on two armed Gardaí in the same circumstances?
    I don't think so.
    Would armed Gardaí be more feared by criminals than un-armed Gardaí?
    Damn right.

An un-armed law enforcement agency is an anachronism in the 21st century.
    It might look cute for the tourists like the "British Bobby" but the world has moved on from the days of shouting "Stop thief".

My 2c + vat.

There is no need for GS to be armed.We don't live in a society dominated by guns.It isn't a case of people being shot dead every week and I would imagine that uniformed Gardai aren't coming up against armed crims on a daily basis...so why arm the Gardai?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Hagar wrote: »
    Let's be honest here, leaving the hardened armed criminals aside, to get away from the guards now you just have to out-number them at the time. A pair of un-armed Gardaí are no match for a gang of maybe 7 or 8 thugs now matter how well trained they are. They could take a serious hiding before backup arrived, if ever.

Would the thugs take on two armed Gardaí in the same circumstances?
    I don't think so.
    Would armed Gardaí be more feared by criminals than un-armed Gardaí?
    Damn right.

An un-armed law enforcement agency is an anachronism in the 21st century.
    It might look cute for the tourists like the "British Bobby" but the world has moved on from the days of shouting "Stop thief".

My 2c + vat.

I agree completely with Hagar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Video article on Sky News site today that might be of interest. IMO this is the kind of high visibility stuff that the Guards could do with in places like Limerick and Dublin. Take a look here.

Tbh,thats what armed units are doing in trouble spots.It wouldn't be anywhere near as specialised as that unless ERU etc were on patrol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

I think thats the way things are going, and it doesnt have to be an ERU exclusive job. It just takes time to train an accountable ARV type unit...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

PS - heard the GS are getting MP7's to replace the UZI's at long last...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭Random

metman wrote: »
    Video article on Sky News site today that might be of interest. IMO this is the kind of high visibility stuff that the Guards could do with in places like Limerick and Dublin. Take a look here.
    More of this would be great, once they don't get too power happy and start harrassing people while doing the stops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

random wrote: »
    More of this would be great, once they don't get too power happy and start harrassing people while doing the stops.

The officers filmed are from CO20/TSG.

In the UK Police have powers under the Terrorism Act to stop any person or vehicle for the purposes of a search, without any grounds, provided the stop takes place within an authorised area. Despite this blanket power, complaints are, surprisingly, few. The officers portrayed in this film have no more powers than, and are as accountable as, any other police officer in the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

I have not read the entire thread so apologies if what I say has already been said.

I do not think the Gardai should be armed as a whole. The country does not need it and to be honest I would not trust the mentality of some officers.

What I would like to see is the ERU increased & dispatched around the country targeting areas where they are needed most & not just confined to Dublin as a base.

Also, I would like to see the introduction of of the retractable ASP or PR24 baton, CS spray & Kwick Cuffs for officers, for their improved safety.

I notice the vests are in so that is a step in the right direction. We would then be on a par with The UK's Police Service. Safety is paramount for law enforcers.

The Met is not armed and rightly so for the same reasons as above. They have Armed Response Units (ARV's) to back them up, and also the Diplomatic Protection Group (DPG) albeit they are not encouraged to intervene but are there never the less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

Slight amendment to the above. While the DPG are careful not to get involved in anything that will take them away fromtheir core responsability and more imporantly, prevent them from supporting the fixed post officers, some officers in the DPG are quite keen to get involved in whatever they come across. Also, in the last few weeks DPG ARV's instigated the arrest of two men in possession of a firearm in Trafalgar Square on New Years Eve. Back in July, they got this bloke http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/london/6294410.stm and there was another recent incident which I wont go into details about as I'm not sure how much has been made public.

There's many more that I won't go into

Sorry to go on, but not all of the DPG are lazy, moany old c***s... lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Sorry to go on, but not all of the DPG are lazy, moany old c***s... lol

Doors, Porches, Gates by any chance? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

Thats what they say...

What I would like to see is the ERU increased & dispatched around the country targeting areas where they are needed most & not just confined to Dublin as a base

That is already the case.Just because you don't hear about the ERU being around,doesn't mean they aren't there;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Faheywitane

fishdog wrote: »

I dont think so, but I may be wrong. The H&K USP is fantastic.

You are wrong, FN Hi-power has been replaced all across
    the DF by the H&K USP.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

eroo wrote: »
    There is no need for GS to be armed.We don't live in a society dominated by guns.It isn't a case of people being shot dead every week and I would imagine that uniformed Gardai aren't coming up against armed crims on a daily basis...so why arm the Gardai?

Sorry Eroo, just read your post there and I think you are incorrect.

It is usually uniformed gardai (and young gardai at that) that come face to face with these armed criminals and they are always first at scene. The armed response is always way off.

Not that I'm encouraging arming the Gardai but it is certainly an issue that needs to be addressed.

Mutz wrote: »
    Sorry Eroo, just read your post there and I think you are incorrect.

It is usually uniformed gardai (and young gardai at that) that come face to face with these armed criminals and they are always first at scene. The armed response is always way off.

Not that I'm encouraging arming the Gardai but it is certainly an issue that needs to be addressed.

Mate I never said that it wasn't uniformed Gardai who came up against armed criminals.I said uniformed Gardai weren't encountering armed crim's on a daily basis so there wouldn't be any need to arm every uniform Garda.After all,there are certain area's in the country that will only ever see gun crime on a rare occasion due to armed robberies,siege situ's(rare).Now,don't get me wrong,ANY Garda can encounter an armed crim at ANY time..but to arm an entire force on that basis would be wrong..as the need for the uniformed Gardai to use these weapons would not be very high.
    People would be better off in general addressing situations more critical to the Gardai such as a proper radio system(much more important than guns),proper cars,proper stations and more Govt investment.The Govt cant sort out current problems fast enough,so how would they handle something like this?After all,what would the point be in having armed uniform Gardai who can't keep in constant contact with station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

eroo wrote: »
    Now,don't get me wrong,ANY Garda can encounter an armed crim at ANY time..but to arm an entire force on that basis would be wrong.
    I would have thought that would be perfect justification to arm the Gardaí.

But how many times do uniformed Gardai actually encounter armed crim's each year on average?Is it enough to arm EVERY Garda?

Tbh,I believe being unarmed means that Gardai have to be more innovative and will gain more experience by resolving situations without using a firearm.