Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Pay for DC adaptors or POE

Options
  • 25-08-2014 9:50am
    Registered Users Posts: 3

Hi,

First off I am not very good at networking! Just trying to set up a small office and stumbling along trying to figure these things out.

Basically I have bought a PBX with phones that have the option of PoE or a 5V DC adaptor. I thought the 24 port switch I had was PoE but it doesnt. So I am trying to decide which is cheaper/cost effective to upgrade the switches or just pay for the adaptors (about €10 per phone). We will have 14 phones in the office. There are 2 six desk hubs which will have to connect to a 8 port switch each, a reception desk which goes directly into the 24 port switch and a conference room which has the VOIP phone directly connected to the main 24 port switch.

I have included a simple network diagram below.

First question is if I was to upgrade the switches would they all have to be PoE or can the main 24 port switch be PoE with the smaller 8 port switches just being standard non PoE?
    Or can you do it visa versa; 8 port switches are PoE with the main 24 port switch not being PoE.