Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Genital warts - help!

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Magenta wrote: »
    First of all "go to the Well Woman clinic and use condoms in future" is good advice.
    Secondly if you are prepared to have "sex while stupid" then you must be prepared to accept the risk of catching genital warts or any other sexually transmitted disease/infection.

Ok - you can catch HPV/Warts while using condoms. I am in my mid 30's and have had two long term relationships in my life. I have only ever used condoms and only ever slept with these two men. I broke up with my current partner for 6 months - he slept with someone and I ended up with warts. SWS might be a factor, but lets not tar everyone with the same brush.

HPV causes genital warts, they are a different strain of virus to those warts on your hands & face etc - not likely to transfer from hands to genital area. Once the virus is in your system some people throw it off and some people develop physical symptoms such as warts - important to know that the virus may be transmitted by someone who is asymptomatic - i.e. not showing warts, but still carrying the virus.

Op, I got mine done in the Well Woman centre. It took about 6 months to clear them and I have stayed clear so far. There is a chance that they will reoccur - the advice I got included keeping my immune system boosted with a general vitamin & mineral supplement to give my body a chance to fight off the virus itself

I apologise for my ignorance but can warts be transferred by having them on your hands and fingering/w**king someone? Will they contract genital warts from regular hand warts? I am led to believe that they are different type of viruses but its a question I've often wondered.

Mods, I know this is not a medical board, I am just curious, feel free to remove..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

ghghghgh wrote: »
    Ok - you can catch HPV/Warts while using condoms. I am in my mid 30's and have had two long term relationships in my life. I have only ever used condoms and only ever slept with these two men. I broke up with my current partner for 6 months - he slept with someone and I ended up with warts. SWS might be a factor, but lets not tar everyone with the same brush.

The OP could just just have easily caught something else (and should get tested in case she did) so using condoms is a good idea.

Magenta.

Lets apply a bit of realism to sexual relationships. While stds are always chasing us in the dark, if you consider that about 90% of the population probably has hpv (unfortunately) its not really fair to chastise the OP for it. People are safety aware but they still want and have to live their lives. Hpv is with us, this generation, whether we want it or not, hopefully we will get rid of it in the future, but someone called for help here, so it is our duty to help, not to state the obvious. Though I know from you previous posts that you are a very good and thoughtful person.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

Magenta.

Lets apply a bit of realism to sexual relationships. While stds are always chasing us in the dark, if you consider that about 90% of the population probably has hpv (unfortunately) its not really fair to chastise the OP for it. People are safety aware but they still want and have to live their lives. Hpv is with us, this generation, whether we want it or not, hopefully we will get rid of it in the future, but someone called for help here, so it is our duty to help, not to state the obvious. Though I know from you previous posts that you are a very good and thoughtful person.

Exactly. It's not an exaggeration to say that most people have HPV. It really is that common. That's why someone with even one sexual partner needs to get a smear test. It always does my head in when people judge others about having it or needing treatment for cervical lesions, when they most probably have it themselves and were lucky enough not to develop any complications. I've had trouble with abnormal smears and the only reason I have this problem and most women don't is that my body for whatever reason decided to cause hassle. That's it. Pure bad luck. Twenty years ago and even more recently, warts and abnormal smears were seen as things that just happened. There wasn't the stigma attached that there is today. The stigma is useless and pointless. HPV isn't really preventable the way most STD's are, so there's little point in making a big deal about it. The only way to prevent it is total abstinence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Shayman

and people get off your high horses, she asked for adivce on how to resolver her problem, not ridicule for having unprotected sex.

Stop giving out and start providing proper answers.

Yes but she, very helpfully, had a dig at the Irish Health Service, at the end. Is it their fault? The staff of our health service have enough sh1t to put up with without being slagged off for stuff that CERTAINLY is not their fault?

Magenta.

Point taken but she could just as easily have caught something else which is why she should use condoms.
    IzzyWizzy wrote: »
    Exactly. It's not an exaggeration to say that most people have HPV. It really is that common. That's why someone with even one sexual partner needs to get a smear test. It always does my head in when people judge others about having it or needing treatment for cervical lesions, when they most probably have it themselves and were lucky enough not to develop any complications.

But I don't have it myself, and I know because I have had the smear tests.
    Shayman wrote: »
    Yes but she, very helpfully, had a dig at the Irish Health Service, at the end. Is it their fault? The staff of our health service have enough sh1t to put up with without being slagged off for stuff that CERTAINLY is not their fault?

That annoyed me as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Posters, one more word about bringing this upon herself and i will ban with immediate effect.

Stick to the topic at hand.

OP, you really need to suck up the inconvenience and get yourself to a specialist clinic or doctor. Because you are female, the STD is internal, meaning that treatment is not as simple or as straightforward as it would be for a male.

I know that this is a stressful time for you right now, and you're lashing out in anger. But you need to get calm and get this sorted.

Good luck.

dudara

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Is it possible to eat genital warts?

This is supposed to cure them but I have my doubts.

But I don't have it myself, and I know because I have had the smear tests.

Sometimes I just feel like banging my head off the table. As I said, MOST people with HPV will not develop outward signs of it, and there is no test for HPV in Ireland. That means that the majority of people carrying HPV will not have visible warts or cervical abnormalities. Have you ever had sex in your life? If so, there is an extremely high possibility that you have or have had HPV. The fact you have not developed any cervical issues or warts is either here nor there. It means you're luckier than I am and than the OP is, it doesn't mean you haven't been exposed to HPV.

Once you are no longer a virgin, whether or not you develop any outward signs of having contracted HPV (either the high risk or low risk kind) is pure dumb luck. You might well be carrying it and passing it onto other people, who might themselves develop outward signs of having it. Less than 10% of women with high risk HPV have abnormal smears and only around 1% of people with low risk HPV have visible warts. That means a sizeable chunk of the rest of the population, including the people walking around looking down on other people for having it, are carrying it with no symptoms. And finally, those lucky people who are not virgins but do not have any form of HPV, are just that, lucky. It doesn't really have anything to do with their sexual behaviour or choices. Feeling proud of yourself or superior for not having HPV is like feeling proud of yourself for never having had the flu or the chicken pox - illogical and meaningless.

I think this thread is a good way to educate people about HPV and assure the OP that she is not alone, at fault or 'dirty', just unlucky. She said genital warts is not the same as a wart on the finger, but biologically, it is. It's just that finger warts don't have all the unnecessary stigma attached. It would be awful if OP or others put off getting the correct treatment because of embarrassment or fear of being judged.

Sometimes I just feel like banging my head off the table. As I said, MOST people with HPV will not develop outward signs of it, and there is no test for HPV in Ireland. That means that the majority of people carrying HPV will not have visible warts or cervical abnormalities. Have you ever had sex in your life? If so, there is an extremely high possibility that you have or have had HPV. The fact you have not developed any cervical issues or warts is either here nor there. It means you're luckier than I am and than the OP is, it doesn't mean you haven't been exposed to HPV.

Sweetheart, where did I say that I got the test done in Ireland? (a quote will do nicely).
    I have the test results here in front of me.
    Has it occurred to you that there are other countries that I may have lived in where they do pap smears? Do you think you know better than the clinic that tested me?

PS Mind your head.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

IzzyWizzy and Magenta Take it to PM. Please do not continue any further.

dudara

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

My last dog had canine genital warts. They were rather unsightly but the vet removed them with cryotherapy.
    I think they are also caused by the papillomavirus.

Sweetheart, where did I say that I got the test done in Ireland? (a quote will do nicely).
    I have the test results here in front of me.
    Has it occurred to you that there are other countries that I may have lived in where they do pap smears? Do you think you know better than the clinic that tested me?

PS Mind your head.

I know mods don't want this this disagreement continued, but for the sake of education (this is an important thread), it should be stated that if Magenta thinks having a clear pap smear (from any country) means she has never been exposed to HPV and is not a HPV carrier, then she's misunderstood the previous posts. A clear smear means only that she doesn't have HPV symptoms. Very few people who have HPV will ever be symptomatic (cervical lesions, warts) so Magenta still doesn't know if she is a HPV carrier or not. But statistically its likely that she is, as most of us are.

You can still have HPV and get a clear smear.

Please bear in mind that there are probably people reading this who have warts or lesions and are terrified so its important to put the correct info out and take the stigma away from something that largely comes down to bad luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

This is not a forum for medical advice. People should just agree to disagree. Thank you.

But surely you don't anyone to be mis-informed by this thread?

Its impossible to 'agree to disagree' about FACTS.

Indeed. Stating facts which help and support the OP isn't medical advice. I think this thread is really important and could go a long way in clearing up a lot of the misinformation about HPV.

One of the main issues OP has is she has is that she feels icky and dirty for having this 'taboo' STI, when in fact, it really is no more icky or uncommon than getting a verruca after going swimming. There is a lot of psychological trauma attached to things like GW for no good reason. If you got a verruca, you wouldn't think 'oh God, I'm such an idiot for going swimming, I feel so disgusted with myself.' You'd think 'that's really annoying and I was a bit unlucky, I'd better go to the chemist and get it sorted.'

There really is no need for anyone to feel smug about not having an STI if they're not a virgin. That's as silly as feeling smug about not having caught the flu and telling your mate its her own fault she got it because she went out in public instead of staying at home. You can take precautions and choose your partners carefully but the risk is always there. I guess it's human nature to blame the victim because that way you can convince yourself it won't happen to you. I think the Irish attitude towards STI's is something that needs to be sorted out ASAP. The reason infections like chlamydia spread so fast is because people don't get checked out because they think STI's are something that affects other people - slutty, stupid, careless people. They really don't discriminate.

Indeed. Stating facts which help and support the OP isn't medical advice. I think this thread is really important and could go a long way in clearing up a lot of the misinformation about HPV.

One of the main issues OP has is she has is that she feels icky and dirty for having this 'taboo' STI, when in fact, it really is no more icky or uncommon than getting a verruca after going swimming. There is a lot of psychological trauma attached to things like GW for no good reason. If you got a verruca, you wouldn't think 'oh God, I'm such an idiot for going swimming, I feel so disgusted with myself.' You'd think 'that's really annoying and I was a bit unlucky, I'd better go to the chemist and get it sorted.'

There really is no need for anyone to feel smug about not having an STI if they're not a virgin. That's as silly as feeling smug about not having caught the flu and telling your mate its her own fault she got it because she went out in public instead of staying at home. You can take precautions and choose your partners carefully but the risk is always there. I guess it's human nature to blame the victim because that way you can convince yourself it won't happen to you. I think the Irish attitude towards STI's is something that needs to be sorted out ASAP. The reason infections like chlamydia spread so fast is because people don't get checked out because they think STI's are something that affects other people - slutty, stupid, careless people. They really don't discriminate.
    So true. I had cervical lesions and went through hell over it in my mind. Nothing is as important as information when you have a diagnosis, but this was years ago when they would not yet conform the HPV connection. This is why information is so important. We were all relieved when we found out about HPV and could understand why this happened to us.

Five years later, my husband found a wart on his penis, and would not believe what I told him about HPV. This was at a particularly difficult time in our relationship. He assumed I had cheated on me and went nuts. The neighbours called the guards.

When we eventually went to the GUM clinic, we were told that there is no way of knowing whether he had contracted the virus as a 15 yr old teenager and given it to me or I picked it first; only that just about everyone else has it too.

I don't want to scare anyone. But you can understand why I think information is very important. Of course, wear a condom and get tested regularly. Ironically, I was a fanatic about testing for stds and got tested with him years before it was the done thing. In fact, I've been tested about five times and have never had anything. Currently, there is no test for HPV. You are either symptomatic or you're not. But chances are, you have it. And that, is part of the great gamble of what we call life! We could all stop shagging and reproducing tommorrow and HPV would die with us. But for most people, it will still never be a problem, which shows evolution is already dealing with HPV and future generations will have great immunity, in the same way we can deal with the common cold but it would kill pure blood eskimo's who haven't been primed to deal with it for generations.

But thats no reason to look down on anyone who's genes aren't yet primed to beat HPV!

Though neither mys husband or myself are symtomatic anymore, so we've (hopefully) beaten it already!

Anyway, great thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Zachariah

I think it's fair enough, she admitted the mistake. Plus she looking for help, I don't think anyone should point the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭lyndak082

this prob isnt helping but i blame the men!

i know of a load if fellas who are roaming about the place spreading this ****e and dont care!!

most men are too ashamed to get help with these things

fools:mad:

If you do happen to contract it how long does it take for warts to show? I have a bump that just came out of nowhere in the last couple of days, it's the same colour as my skin and doesn't look particularly wartish and I didn't even think that it might be a wart until I thought about the fact that I stupidly had unprotected sex two weeks ago. I've heard it's 3-12 months usually before anything shows up though? I'm not sure if I should leave it because it seems to be subsiding a little bit and I am prone to ingrown hairs and spots down there occasionally. I'm also a student and really don't have the money for treatment at the moment if it does turn out to be a wart. Is the GUM clinic free? Also if I did contract it from the person I had unprotected sex with would he get warts if we slept together again with or would he remain a 'symptomless' carrier? f***, the morning after pill was clearly the least of my worries. :(

Any advice would be appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Thaedydal wrote: »
    and both genital warts and gential herpes can be contracted even if a person practices safer sex and uses a condom. A person can only have 1 sexual partner and have used a condom and it is possible they could get both, they would have to be very unlucky but it is possible.

Thaedyndal, just curious about your post there. So if you're fully protected lets say with a condom and so on, you can still have the risk of contracting it. That's rather frightening really. So theres no real safe guard to it, unless you and your OH get checked out? That's something I was never aware off at all. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

This thread is awful, so many god damn ignorant and pious people.

OP: You have no choice but to either go to a private clinic (e.g. Dr. Friedman in Dublin) or use our inefficient and time consuming public health system. So you may as well stop complaining about this and just get on with it.

Regarding the warts, you may never get rid of them forever. Your immune system will decide. So the best thing to do is to try to get as healthy as possible and stay as healthy as possible.

So go to the doctor, get them removed, and try to build up your immune system. That's all you can do. Try to get some perspective and realise genital warts really aren't a big deal. It's not like you have AIDS or Hepatitis.

OP - you should go to WellWoman Clinic.

I found out I had genital warts a few years ago and majorly freaked out. I'd had 2 sexual partners and both were long term. I was really really upset (I didnt know much about HPV at the time) but the GP was rather dismissive of it. Said she'd refer me to Beaumont and said I would get a letter in the post for an appointment.

In the mean time, I made an appointment at the WellWoman Clinic and they sorted it out in one treatment for me. The nurse was very supportive and said 90% of people who have sex have HPV but that women and people with low immune systems are more likely to develop warts.

After about 2 months I got a letter in the post from Beaumont for an appointment in 6 months time!!!

My advice is pay the extra money and get it sorted privately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Muddledud

Question, I've had GW past month or 2 and they seem to be clearing, without much hassle, iv found apple cider vinegar very effective :), however my partner informs me that i must get my bloods done, that its just a routine procedure to check for any other STDS, I know its better safe then sorry, but I hate HATE needles and iv no other symptoms of anything else, do I have to get it done?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

Thaedyndal, just curious about your post there. So if you're fully protected lets say with a condom and so on, you can still have the risk of contracting it. That's rather frightening really. So theres no real safe guard to it, unless you and your OH get checked out? That's something I was never aware off at all. :eek:

Yup, herpes and warts are spread by skin-to-skin contact (as opposed to bodily fluids that condoms provide a barrier for) so you can indeed get herpes or genital warts even if you use condoms every single time.

Only way to prevent these STIs is total abstinence. Even if your partner has tested clear for both, there's no guarantee they're not carrying the virus(es) latently and they won't develop in future.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭gayguy2009

OP,

I really feel for you that you have gotten genital warts. I have had an awful experience with them.

However there maybe a physical difference when women get them, but the mental aspect is still the same in men and women. It was the mental aspect that was the worst about the whole situation.

Don't worry though OP, it is an extremely common STD. There is light at the end of the tunnel.

Magenta, I think you are being extremely harsh saying its her fault. 50% of people have HPV and can still pass without showing symptoms. Ya don't know who could have it.

Big tip for you OP, do not stress yourself! Do not read up on HPV on the internet. The net makes it 10 times worse than its made out to be. Just stick to the professionals and you will be treated in no time :)

PS Keep health and eat well :)

First of all stop blaming the health service. It's your own fault you are in this situation.
    Go to the Well Woman centre and use condoms in future.

You can get HPV while using condoms - it's transmitted from skin to skin contact. I always use condoms and contracted HPV from an ex who had had a relationship during a period after we broke up and before we started going out again.

Carriers do not have to be symptomatic - you don't have to have visible warts to be contagious. She wasn't, he wasn't (and had negative results from an STI screen) - I was the unfortunate one who developed warts.

Try the wellwoman clinics - I found them excellent. Good luck OP - they will go at some point!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

This thread is from 2010 - could posters check the dates on the threads they are answering and if anyone has a query, start their own thread rather than bumping someone else's.

Many thanks.