Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Cyclists - Junction of Dame St/South Great Georges St

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

No Pants wrote: »
    They are accountable.

If you can catch them, identify them, and they actually have a cent due to being uninsured. Couldn't get anything from the person who did a few hundred of damage to my bumper with a pushbike as they cycled off and have no plates.

It'd be a rare, rare day that I don't see more cases of obvious dangerous illegal behaviour by cyclists than cars along the quays despite there being many more cars. Must upload some dashcam footage sometime. Actually, it'd be a rare day I don't see more of both illegal and dangerous individually - seperating what might be legal but nuts and what's illegal but not risking your life.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭AngryLips

Daith wrote: »
    Right so the answer to stop cyclists breaking the law and going through red lights is to limit what cars and taxis can do.

Now you're just intentionally misunderstanding what I said :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

AngryLips wrote: »
    Have you not been following the discussion? The conversation started off about cyclists breaking red lights on this junction, I pointed out that the junction is generally unsafe for the amount of use it gets and that further traffic should be restricted to facilitate the large numbers of pedestrians using it ...which is something you can't control to the degree you can with vehicle traffic and how - since this is a city centre location - pedestrians should be prioritised anyway. What's so difficult to understand?

I guess the question is are we talking about this junction specifically or are we talking about cyclists generally breaking red lights.

I don't disagree with you that pedestrians should be prioritised but what has that got to do with cyclists running the red light at that junction. If you give pedestrians more priority, you have more red light time for cyclists to jump the lights.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,933 ✭✭✭Daith

AngryLips wrote: »
    Now you're just intentionally misunderstanding what I said :rolleyes:

Nope. Even if it was for pedestrians and cyclists you would still have traffic lights and you would still have cyclists going through red lights.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭AngryLips

Godge wrote: »
    I don't disagree with you that pedestrians should be prioritised but what has that got to do with cyclists running the red light at that junction. If you give pedestrians more priority, you have more red light time for cyclists to jump the lights.

I know, but you seem to think I'm defending cyclists jumping the lights which I don't. I cycle through that junction every day and I never do it. My point about giving pedestrians more priority is that it would improve the general safety of that junction. As I already mentioned, I often come into conflict with pedestrians at that intersection who are crossing the road when the man has already turned red - that's just another symptom of the dangers posed on that stretch of road. Of course, the more space you devote to pedestrians (and if properly demarcated) the more you encourage other road users to exercise caution when navigating shared space. It won't eliminate people breaking red lights but it will encourage people to be more mindful of each other. At the moment this particular junction looks like it was built for road traffic first and pedestrians second - that may be part of the reason why you see cars and cyclists flying through it at speeds which are probably unsafe given the extreme likelihood you'll encounter people veering off the footpath and into traffic in that area.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭John_C

MYOB wrote: »
    It'd be a rare, rare day that I don't see more cases of obvious dangerous illegal behaviour by cyclists than cars along the quays despite there being many more cars.
    It's very rare to see a car obey the 30kph speed limit on the quays unless traffic forces them to.

Come to think if it, it's rare to see any road user obey the laws on that stretch of road.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭bigar

I think I will start a thread each time I see cars or pedestrians breaking the law. Be prepared for a daily post which will include sentences in all caps, exclamation points and generalisations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

bigar wrote: »
    I think I will start a thread each time I see cars or pedestrians breaking the law. Be prepared for a daily post which will include sentences in all caps, exclamation points and generalisations.
    That sounds like a great idea. When posting, could you also generalise as much as possible, tarring great swathes of the population based upon their mode of transportation? Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,542 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Let's be honest about this - there is a substantial number of people who just do not observe the law when it comes to being on the road.

They are across the spectrum, pedestrians, cyclists, drivers, and anyone trying to suggest otherwise here is not in the real world.

It needs enforcement but we as a nation seem incapable of doing that.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

lxflyer wrote: »
    Let's be honest about this - there is a substantial number of people who just do not observe the law when it comes to being on the road.

They are across the spectrum, pedestrians, cyclists, drivers, and anyone trying to suggest otherwise here is not in the real world.

It needs enforcement but we as a nation seem incapable of doing that.

And where does it start? In too many cases, it starts in the schools, where the requirement to get a class of children to an event that's not happening in the school requires the children to be escorted en masse to the venue. If that journey requires a road crossing, you may be very sure that the teacher in charge of the group will stand in the middle of the road, preventing traffic from moving off after the green pedestrian phase, while screaming at the children to "hurry up and keep together", while conveniently forgetting completely about the little matter that they are encouraging inappropriate behaviour, thus emphasising the already rampant culture of "the rules don't apply to me".

There are 2 issues. First, a person in authority is encouraging children to disregard systems that are designed to ensure safety, and secondly, they are condoning breaking the law, It's no wonder that those children then go on to become cyclists that have a "red doesn't apply to me" mentality, and those cyclists then go on to become drivers who's attitude to red lights is that "shoire, twas only pink".

Maybe if the staff at schools were a little more responsible with their attitude to the encouraging of children to ignore the rules, we might see a more responsive attitude from them as they get older.

OK, that might mean that crocodiles of children being moved to or from a school will need extra supervision to ensure that if they can't all cross in one cycle, there's a responsible adult with both groups, but surely that has to be better than encouraging a wrong attitude in young impressionable minds.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

...and those cyclists then go on to become drivers who's attitude to red lights is that "shoire, twas only pink".

A good bulk of the commuter cycling population in Dublin at present were motorists for a long time before cycling as adults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,651 ✭✭✭✭beauf

ballooba wrote: »
    I've recently started cycling and find this junction dangerous to use on the vehicle light sequence. I prefer to take it slow and cross on the pedestrian lights. While having respect for other road users. I've been trying to think of a way to avoid this junction.

what's your general route.

you can always dismount cross with green light then get back on the other side.

There's no enforcement across the city for a lot multitude of offences. They have to at least do that before anything else is tried.

Garda should make cyclists speeding stop and tell them they are going too fast for that location.

beauf wrote: »
    Garda should make cyclists speeding stop and tell them they are going too fast for that location.
    Can cyclists speed? Non-motorised and all that.

No Pants wrote: »
    Can cyclists speed? Non-motorised and all that.

I'm taking about using a bit of cop on for the conditions.

If you want to nickpick over what precise charges could be applied go right ahead. For me that's really a minor detail.

beauf wrote: »
    I'm taking about using a bit of cop on for the conditions.

If you want to nickpick over what precise charges could be applied go right ahead. For me that's really a minor detail.
    Fair enough, it wasn't really clear what you were saying. What you're saying now makes more sense. It's not nitpicking when you use the words Gardai and speeding in the same sentence, it automatically springs to mind.

The concept of going too fast so that you cant stop or will do serious harm if you hit or clip someone should be obvious. Doing through a red light and with pedestrians crossing hits every branch on the stupid tree.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Attention drivers! I saw three drivers yesterday at one junction break the red light! What's up with that? Why are drivers so careless and dangerous?

To be clear: I don't support cyclists breaking red lights and 99% of the time the excuses for doing so are weak -- if people want street design or law changes, they should campaign for them.
    Daith wrote: »
    Nope. Even if it was for pedestrians and cyclists you would still have traffic lights and you would still have cyclists going through red lights.

Why exactly do you think that?

In the Netherlands and elsewhere, at junctions where there's only cyclists and pedestrians there's usually no traffic lights. The same goes for where there's low motor traffic flows.

Traffic lights were only needed to be used widely after moves towards mass motoring.

On Dame Street the current setup makes conditions poor for both pedestrians and cyclists, and often creates a buildup of both. The little time pedestrians are given makes it all that much worse that anybody infringes on that time.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Personally I think cyclists should be allowed to break lights but only if they let pedestrians cross first and then do it at a snails pace. If they are at the extreme left hand side of the road then they're a danger only to themselves really. I must admit to breaking the odd red light but I do it like above and never cycle towards pedestrians crossing, once it's clear then I go. I know I shouldn't do it but I cycle for exercise only so a three minute wait is a pain in the ass as my heart rate is dropping when I want it to continue pumping.

I know what the OP is on about though, I saw a courier bike career through that junction at some speed last week, he must have been doing close on 35kph and just went flying through it in a very dangerous manner, bang out of order IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭SilverLiningOK

monument wrote: »
    A good bulk of the commuter cycling population in Dublin at present were motorists for a long time before cycling as adults.

It looks like that from what I see too. Jumping ahead at junctions, rushing into any gap, crazy undertaking, lack of hand signals, rarely look over shoulder before changing lanes, breaking suddenly, pulling out without looking, somehow failing to see obstacles ahead........ Sounds familiar ? Some of us cycled long before we drove and still use a bicycle far more than a car. What I see out there are inexperienced cyclists that really would benefit from a little basic training that would help them to be far safer for themselves and everybody else.

While that is true. Theres a lot of experienced ones doing it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭HydeRoad

Let's look at the highlighted junction. Every traffic movement in this area is an ill thought out disaster. Try approaching it in a bus, from any of the three approaches. Turn left from Dame St to Georges St, and the bus has to swing into the path of northbound traffic, or else sit and wait for a line of taxis who most certainly will not give way to anyone or anything.

Come eastbound, and two lanes from the Olympia become a lane and a half passing through the junction, and no amount of wishing from the engineers can make a lane and a half become two safe lanes.

Come from Georges St itself, and everything is wedged into two very tight lanes, with no room for cyclists, and a wide swinging bus from Dame Street coming right across your path. Only the fact that bus drivers generally give way to each other, is what keeps the junction moving at all.

Then look at the footpaths, not a third big enough for the enormous volumes of pedestrians passing through here. Look how narrow the northmost path is, with hundreds of people crammed onto the kerb waiting for a green man, while buses pass within inches, and taxis barge through determined to be first past the post.

Then look at the sheer volume of poles, clutter and general obstruction on those footpaths, forcing people to step out onto the road just to keep moving. Who the hell decides to erect literally hundreds of ugly steel poles every couple of yards along a kerb, the man with the contract to sell them?

Twenty into three will not go, and somebody needs to make a decision to say so. Of course, then, the local retail interests kick up, and Mr.FFer, or whoever is flavour of the day, says leave everything well enough alone, it's grand.

My own opinion is that Georges Street is too narrow and busy, and should be one way, southbound. There are too many narrow arteries feeding traffic into the too-congested core. More outbound one ways and less inbound incursions would alleviate the central congestion. That would suck a bit of traffic out of Dame Street, and leave more scope for longer pedestrian greens.

Of course, I would be on the side of the complete pedestrianisation of College Green, in which case traffic volumes would be severely curtailed. I'd like to see costings for a free, multi door, single deck, flat floor, standee rapid and frequent bus service, in a colourless LUAS style livery, running two minute frequencies on a very short ten minute lap around the central core area of the city, on prioritised and often exclusive access, which would shove ungainly double deck buses out of the core area, feed into them, and carry large volumes of people free of charge into and out of the area, banning a lot of private car access in the process. It could be paid for by subscription of the inner city retailers.

It would never happen, not in a million years. But I'd like those kind of ideas to be the basis of some discussion of alternatives. The present mess is a complete joke. Well we know that decades of mostly FF-inspired planning doesn't see the world that way.

In the meantime, I'd like to see Dame Street single lane both ways, Georges Street outbound only, proper cycle lanes, wider footpaths, and less street clutter and junk. I dearly wish Lord Edward St was not a lane and a half wide each way, masquerading as two lanes each way when clearly it isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

HydeRoad wrote: »
    Of course, I would be on the side of the complete pedestrianisation of College Green, in which case traffic volumes would be severely curtailed. I'd like to see costings for a free, multi door, single deck, flat floor, standee rapid and frequent bus service, in a colourless LUAS style livery, running two minute frequencies on a very short ten minute lap around the central core area of the city, on prioritised and often exclusive access, which would shove ungainly double deck buses out of the core area, feed into them, and carry large volumes of people free of charge into and out of the area, banning a lot of private car access in the process. It could be paid for by subscription of the inner city retailers.

Interesting to see the conflict between the willingness of the City Centre Business Associations to fund Garda initiatives and the Higher Ranking Garda Management decisions on how to spend the funding....

http://www.independent.ie/regionals/argus/lifestyle/dundalk-leads-country-in-protest-at-unjust-differential-rent-system-26941986.html

Reading the article is enough to make one reach for one's whistle :eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Clonskeagh Road topic moved to a new thread:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057212404

• Registered Users Posts: 4,933 ✭✭✭Daith

monument wrote: »

Why exactly do you think that?

In the Netherlands and elsewhere, at junctions where there's only cyclists and pedestrians there's usually no traffic lights. The same goes for where there's low motor traffic flows.

Well yes if there's no traffic lights then yes you won't have cyclists breaking red lights.

The problem isn't the junction though. It's the cyclists and the simplest answer is for the cyclist to not break the red light. If it's not that junction then it's another junction.

It just seems that the answer to any cyclist breaking the law is to change the entire road infrastructure so as to remove any obstacle that may stand in their way.

I can only imagine this thread where cars were constantly seen to be breaking red lights and the answer was to stop pedestrian and cyclists access.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,542 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

The problem at this junction is NOT just cyclists.

The problem at this junction is:
    - Cyclists breaking the lights or travelling too fast for the prevailing conditions
    - Private cars illegally turning right off Georges Street onto Dame Street
    - Motorised traffic breaking the lights
    - Taxis parked on Dame Street at night causing mayhem
    - Pedestrians walking out across the road at will
    - Footpaths that are simply not wide enough for purpose
    - An impossibly designed left turn for buses from Dame Street onto Georges Street

Again, I think that anyone trying to just simply blame one group of road users is missing the point - the lack of respect for road traffic legislation is across the board and is certainly not restricted to just one group of road users.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

The footpath on the north side of Dame Street is incredibly narrow. It's a primary tourist route from Christchurch to Trinity, people build up waiting to cross the road, and it's a bit of a rat run depending on where you want to go in Temple Bar. All of this leads to people standing dangerously close to the edge of the path, rendering *any* cyclist (or indeed busses with their mirrors) a threat even when they're not breaking the lights.

Imo there's just too much space given over to cars through this junction. Complete redesign needed that respects all users through this space.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

HydeRoad wrote: »
    Let's look at the highlighted junction. Every traffic movement in this area is an ill thought out disaster. Try approaching it in a bus, from any of the three approaches. Turn left from Dame St to Georges St, and the bus has to swing into the path of northbound traffic, or else sit and wait for a line of taxis who most certainly will not give way to anyone or anything.

This image below should sum up the danger you're talking about here:

14222931272_01bd89d582.jpg