Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Many travelling to Cheltenham this year?

• 19-02-2012 5:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭

Just curious to see how many from the forum will be travelling over this year and what days they are going for?..from what I hear from some travel agencies and hotels there seems to be alot of Irish heading over to cheer on a record number of Irish winners this year!!!. I know a good few that are just going for the best two days, Tuesday and Wednesday....im going for the full week myself..running 6km a day at the moment training for it..:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

I'm heading over for the Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. Cant wait! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

its my 5th year going for the full week.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Teusday and Wednesday for me! Basing ourselves in Bristol really looking forward to it now!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,013 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Teusday and Wednesday for me! Basing ourselves in Bristol really looking forward to it now!

Did the same. Bristols a nice city but you do feel you're missing out when getting the train back in the evening and everyone else heading to the bars in Cheltenham.

Was all set to go until Ireland made the euros, so decided to head to that instead. Next year hopefully

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Did the same. Bristols a nice city but you do feel you're missing out when getting the train back in the evening and everyone else heading to the bars in Cheltenham.

Was all set to go until Ireland made the euros, so decided to head to that instead. Next year hopefully

Im doing both lol wont eat for the rest of the year :D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I'll be working in Bristol for a few months from the start of March so will definitely be heading for a few days. Can't wait!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

I'm going Thurs and Fri

Johner wrote: »
    I'll be working in Bristol for a few months from the start of March so will definitely be heading for a few days. Can't wait!

Have you been there much before Johner?? I was only in Bristol once, for the Heineken Cup and The Walkabout, was the only pub we were in as we spent most of the weekend in Cardiff :D would you recommend anywhere?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Have you been there much before Johner?? I was only in Bristol once, for the Heineken Cup and The Walkabout, was the only pub we were in as we spent most of the weekend in Cardiff :D would you recommend anywhere?

Will be my first time in Bristol! One of the lads is already working there so I'll ask him about places to go and let you know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Hoofer wrote: »
    running 6km a day at the moment training for it..:)

You sir are nuts, all the running will lower your tolerance and you could be in bed before the drop of the first flag or at the festival backing no hopers all day.

Heading over myself for the first time and only one of my mates is heading over with me.

We too are staying in Bristol and going Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. Cant fuppin wait, even bought a Denman scarf so he will be there inspirit and cause I plan smasing in to the bookies like a tank.

The only problem I have is my mate doesnt have a clue about racing and never listens to me but will drink my champaigne on Champaigne Friday!!

Johner wrote: »

Will be my first time in Bristol! One of the lads is already working there so I'll ask him about places to go and let you know!

A mate of mine is from Bristol I will let you know where he says are good spots.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭ste2010

Hoofer wrote: »
    running 6km a day at the moment training for it..:)
    Im jumping hedges and walls on my road in preparation sporting a fine pair of cheek pieces.

Heading over the Tues and coming home weds evening. I plan on living the life of a rockstar after and spending all my winnings on strippers and cognac :-)
    Just kidding :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,013 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

It was quiet enough when we were there, obviously because it's only a Tuesday and Wednesday night. There's a lovely marina with a nice few bars and a Casino. We got thrown out of both but that was more our fault than anyone else's!
    Drink is dirt cheap in Bristol but dearish in the racecourse

How much are tickets?

• Registered Users Posts: 5 limestone lad

4 days club enclosure 320 euro , expensive but worth every cent, cant wait to get over there again, is my 8th festival staying in prestbury beside track 50 pound a night bed and breakfast, lads bristol only an hour away but is well worth staying closer to the action.

How much is a ticket for 1 day?

Hulk Hands wrote: »

Ah jaysus Hulk and I was going to ask you for a few tips ;). The rest of us are going so we can win the money we need to buy houses and go on holidays:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

God I haven't been to the festival since 07

Go in November & Pillar day every year I can

Nipper on the way (wife's actually due the 14th) so that's me out for the foreseeable future :D

ft9 wrote: »
    How much is a ticket for 1 day?

Do you want to phone a friend ;)

320/4 = 80 for club.

Here are all the prices.

https://salesportal.jockeyclubracecourses.com/EventSeatBlockOption.aspx

wife's actually due the 14th

****ing hell are you on welfare:D

Congrats mate, hope all goes well for you.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Do you want to phone a friend ;)

320/4 = 80 for club.

Here are all the prices.

https://salesportal.jockeyclubracecourses.com/EventSeatBlockOption.aspx

Why would I want to phone a friend? Sounds like its supposed to be a joke or something?

If a 4 day ticket is available, it would usually be cheaper than 4 single tickets? Otherwise whats the point in having a 4 day ticket.

I feel sorry for you having to pay those ridiculous prices

Also I presume thats Sterling not Euro?

Are they not selling the Thursday/Friday 2 day ticket a bit cheaper any more?

GBP£270 + P&P from the Cheltenham website for tickets purchased for all 4 days in advance. Add GBP£20 to that if you go all 4 days & pay on the gate

Why would I want to phone a friend? Sounds like its supposed to be a joke or something?

If a 4 day ticket is available, it would usually be cheaper than 4 single tickets? Otherwise whats the point in having a 4 day ticket.

I feel sorry for you having to pay those ridiculous prices

Clearly a joke, I don't do " ;) " after everything I write.

I think it is just a ticket per day with a discount for advance purchase.

Why feel sorry, it's the best damn 4 days racing in the world.

Clearly a joke, I don't do " ;) " after everything I write.

I think it is just a ticket per day with a discount for advance purchase.

Why feel sorry, it's the best damn 4 days racing in the world.

Sorry you have to pay. I'll be getting in free

Grand for some, how did you swing that.

I will be in for free and then some after Zarkandar runs, the money is just resting in the bookies account!!:D

lads bristol only an hour away but is well worth staying closer to the action.

Agree but there is four of us heading and two have no real interest in racing so the plan is during daylight hours it will be all gg's but once nightfall comes its cheap booze and lucky ladies :D

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭mike.l

I will be in for free and then some after Zarkandar runs

Not worried about the cough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

God I haven't been to the festival since 07

Go in November & Pillar day every year I can

Nipper on the way (wife's actually due the 14th) so that's me out for the foreseeable future :D

If she goes in at 1pm on Tuesday the 13th whats your move.

Serious question btw

And is it the same answer if they are trapping down the hill in the Champion. Do you insta leave or watch the finish first