Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Funny Houses/Flats to rent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

i dont see a single thing wrong with that tbh.

me either tbh,bit dated of course but a 5 bed for that price is a bargain

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

softmee wrote: »
    The best are all "luxury" houses with mould and granny furniture and "gardens" which are usually 5 meters grass with wall around them and windows from near by houses overlooking. :rolleyes:
    Seriously -sorry to say that, but rental market in Ireland is disaster!
    It is so hard to find any normal property, because if its not old -it tacky and furnished with bad taste! :mad:

Like here:

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1120331 MODERN? :o

Look at those carpets and sofa covered with some rags! arghhhhhh!
    -tiles from 80's!

Seriously, prices and quality are ridiculous!

(double glaze pvc windows -wow!)

That house isn't even bad at all. I'd rent it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

-with what?

with the house obviously. its a grand house, especially for that price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭softmee

pmcmahon wrote: »
    me either tbh,bit dated of course but a 5 bed for that price is a bargain

I was only talking about somebody calling it "modern"...:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭carveone

It is so hard to find any normal property, because if its not old -it tacky and furnished with bad taste! :mad:

This is a great thread. I fell off my chair at some of the early ones - the "three bedroom" 3rd world tin shack was great.

Before the boom demand exceeded supply - landlords could do anything and did because there was no regulation (sound familiar?). Half the flats in Dublin were owned by Guards. My friend went home every weekend when he was in College - when the landlord found this out he actually sublet the flat on weekends to other people!

During the boom an awful lot of new building went up with much much higher standards. Because of the way prices went you could get way more in a sale if you put a modicum of effort in. So double glazing and insulation became standard (unlike England where single glazing is still the norm); regulations followed.... But slumlords became worse than before and noone stopped them.

After the crash, we have an interesting situation where there is a glut of houses but a lot of landlords who are refusing to believe it. I can't believe the amount of garbage still out there at horrifying rates. You'd think people would just laugh in their faces but.... It is so depressing really.

Karona wrote: »
    That house isn't even bad at all. I'd rent it.

No wonder this is the way it is here, with such a low expectations landlords don't even bother with any renovations.. :rolleyes:
    I am not saying 5 bedrooms for this price are bad, maybe not -but I wouldnt spend one night on one of those beds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Pinklady11

The selection of photos are a little odd!! I found them funny though!!! :D

http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=628314

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Pinklady11 wrote: »

They look like a bunch of feckin' medical students! Love that carpet...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Looking for room at moment, saw these two strange ads.

First one:
    http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=650821

A bed in the actual living/tv room these guys use! :eek:
    " however don't expect too much privacy"

Look at the pictures, it looks like they threw a single bed behind the couch!

Second one:
    http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=650551

A double bedroom with a single bed. Okay. Sounds normal. So for a single bed in the double room, you pay 299 a month, but if you start acting all selfish and ask for a double bed, your rent is upped to 359 a month, no once off pay for bed, the actual rent per month is upped by 60 euro! :confused:

WTF is wrong with some of these people? I am sometimes so tempted to ring or text these people to ask them if they are idiots.

Every hotel in the world does the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭carveone

Pinklady11 wrote: »

It's a commune! Come and be one of us!

Why do I feel that because they're Brazilian and Czech that it's somehow ok but if they were all Irish you'd run a mile. Must be that Irish College experience coming back and haunting me.

Better than the place I saw in 1996. £85 a week (about 170 euro a week now) and it was essentially a landing. Like the top of a stairs type thing. There was no door or anything!

No wonder this is the way it is here, with such a low expectations landlords don't even bother with any renovations.. :rolleyes:
    I am not saying 5 bedrooms for this price are bad, maybe not -but I wouldnt spend one night on one of those beds!

You're too bloody fussy then. What do you want, a bloody mansion?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

goose2005 wrote: »
    Every hotel in the world does the same.

Eh, yeah, but no-one ends up sleeping in someone else's living area. It's clearly ludicrous to lob a bed in your sitting room and try to charge someone 140 a month.

You're too bloody fussy then. What do you want, a bloody mansion?

-and you are too bloody simple...
    There is something between "mansion" and crap you know... just a normal, bright house, with furnitures from this century..

(and I can be fussy if I PAY!)

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭munster_mafia

The best are all "luxury" houses with mould and granny furniture and "gardens" which are usually 5 meters grass with wall around them and windows from near by houses overlooking. :rolleyes:

Like here:

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1120331 MODERN? :o

Look at those carpets and sofa covered with some rags! arghhhhhh!
    -tiles from 80's!

Seriously, prices and quality are ridiculous!

(double glaze pvc windows -wow!)

Completely agree, the quality of rental property in this country is terrible. Often look at a place on the outside in a nice area, go in the door and its like being transported to the 70/80's.

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Mark 00

There is something between "mansion" and crap you know... just a normal, bright house, with furnitures from this century..

Ah come on, 5 bedrooms 4 bathrooms @ 895 monthly. Thats less than 180 a month each! For that money you cant expect anything especially stylish. You get the basics. If I was on a tight budget I'd have no problem renting this.

I've rented a lot worse than this for more than double the price in the "good times". Like having your bathroom outside your apartment on the landing where you have to sit at an angle on the toilet because the washing machine is in the way and then meeting your neighbours on the landing in your towel as you're coming in from the shower. Now that was ridiculous!

Usually houses for rent don't have the best furniture, if you want nice furniture buy your own. I don't think anyone expects to walk into a house that's for rent and see brand new gorgeous furniture.

I seriously think there is nothing wrong with that house at all, I would gladly live there. I'd hate for you to see the house I'm renting now if you didn't like that one. Yet everyone we know loves our house and it's cheap too ;)

Usually houses for rent don't have the best furniture,

-there is something between "best" and total crap you know..
    - if you want nice furniture buy your own.

- I did!
    I seriously think there is nothing wrong with that house at all, I would gladly live there.

-good for you, you have plenty to choose from!

I'd hate for you to see the house I'm renting now if you didn't like that one. Yet everyone we know loves our house and it's cheap too ;)

- I used to live in a crap horrible houses and I know with few tricks you can always make them " tolerable", but thats not the point, ladlords here think they rule and their only job is to collect money, I am tired of this!

-and I never said, that house is too expensive, I said it shouldnt be called modern! -its a joke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

Holy Sh1t. This is a hallway with a bed in it! Most depressing part has to be the little flap of plywood you prop up to eat your dinner off. There's rabbits in animal testing facilities with nicer digs than this

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1093822

• Registered Users Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Holy Sh1t. This is a hallway with a bed in it! Most depressing part has to be the little flap of plywood you prop up to eat your dinner off. There's rabbits in animal testing facilities with nicer digs than this

That's one of the more depressing things I've seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

How depressing. The sort of place you'd go to die.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Ah, I see the crying chair comes as standard!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

You'd actually be better off sleeping in the garden. It's far nicer than the apartment itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Im not sure whats more depressing, that they consider that a place a human being could live or that they thought it deserved 15 pictures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

You'd actually be better off sleeping in the garden. It's far nicer than the apartment itself.

Garden has a couch in it & all. My new favourite bit is the toast rack beside the sink masquerading as somewhere to dry your dishes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Sweet jesus.

Surely that has to be illegal or a fire hazard?

Would the council do anything if it was reported?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,464 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Jaysus, go up the road to Mountjoy and you'd probably get better digs than that. More room anyway.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,517 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Studio apartment!??? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Is that place even legal???:eek:

4160 bucks a year to live in that. You'd be better off sleeping under a bridge or in the park than in there!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭IzzyWizzy

You're ridiculously fussy and unreasonable. I was expecting a kip, but it's a perfectly nice, bright, clean house. Lovely kitchen and FOUR bathrooms, one for almost every single tenant? The decor is a little old-fashioned, but that's about it. If you think that place is crap for 850 a month, you have issues tbh. I'm actually tempted to move to Galway and rent it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Jesus wept! How are these landlords allowed to get away with this crap? Im fairly sure there is some upcoming legislation coming in soon to put an end to this. Dont fret though, as most of the country's TD's are landlords (like ex-minister Frank "forty houses" Fahy, if the laws are indeed passed, theyy will either be watered down or not enforced or both. It would put a Central American Banana Republic to shame. :mad:

A little more dust and damp patches and it is like something from a Charles Dickens story.