Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Former Waterford Cllr denies corruption charges

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Ah well, at least when Fred gets out of prison his bit on the side will look even more like his ex wife :D
    and no danger of him sending texts to the wrong person in prison!

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭ComfyKnickers

Jesus if the ex-wife gets a new fella he'll be fecking terrified to open his mouth about anything lol ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Johnny Johnson

You play with fire and you will get burnt. Hopefully a few more get burnt too

• Registered Users Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Nypd

You play with fire and you will get burnt. Hopefully a few more get burnt too

It's a start !!!
    Hopefully the trend will continue, it will make future politicians think twice before they take a bung

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭waterford

Fred took the wrap for all the boys
    and the big man is still riding high free and easy

• Registered Users Posts: 49 MinisterJD

The big man is just back from watching his horse running at Royal Ascot.!!

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Smiley Burnett

Have ye any clue to what's ACTUALLY going on in this case??? The big man HAS ALREADY BEEN CHARGED in relation to this matter and his CASE IS DUE TO BE HEARD LATER THIS YEAR.

Some of the commentary that has been written on boards etc in relation to this case is nothing short of a joke!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭spankmemunkey

Im sure there were alot more who took bungs who are destroying their paper trails as we speak.

2 of your former Prime ministers were corrupt and took money and bungs all over the place, they were also in the same party

Bertie Ahern and Charles Haughey, they were the 2 that were caught,

If the leaders of a party were on the fiddle im sure that it disspated down the line, Ireland is a hugely corrupt country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Media999

"Earlier the court heard from Det Insp Shay Keevans, who arrested Forsey in July 2009, when he returned to Ireland after leaving the country for Australia in June 2007."

So this chap took 60k and fled to Australia to spend it.

Deserves every thing that happens to him inside. Hell be mentally and physically tortured for money daily.

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

What would Charlie Haughey make of all this.

So Fred was found guilty of receiving a corrupt payment but the developer who can afford to pay Senior Counsel Patrick Gagesby to represent him is found not guilty of paying it.The mighty Irish Judicial system.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭ziedth

MinisterJD wrote: »
    So Fred was found guilty of receiving a corrupt payment but the developer who can afford to pay Senior Counsel Patrick Gagesby to represent him is found not guilty of paying it.The mighty Irish Judicial system.

Is there a link? If it's as straight forward as that then surely yer man has grounds for appeal?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Was wondering this yesterday, how odd

There are other interesting aspects of this case that have never being highlighted by the media but I don't wish to reveal them on here(not hearsay there is documented evidence to back them up).

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

There are other interesting aspects of this case that have never being highlighted by the media but I don't wish to reveal them on here(not hearsay there is documented evidence to back them up).

Why not?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,666 ✭✭✭flutered

an irish answer to an irish problem is it not, one guy is convicted of recieving money from another guy, the other guy is found not guilty of giving the guilty guy money, if it was an episode from mrs browne it would be called ludicrous, with a thread running into a 1,000 posts.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Had Fred not been engaged as a witness for either the prosecution or the defence in the trial?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Separate trials with separate verdicts. While cause and effect would seem clear at a glance and that either both or neither are guilty, your average jury is dangerously ignorant and easily swayed while frequently bored.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Smiley Burnett

certain evidence was heard in the forsey case that wasn't heard in the ryan case, due to his legal team successfully arguing that it be disallowed...

That's it in a nutshell...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

certain evidence was heard in the forsey case that wasn't heard in the ryan case, due to his legal team successfully arguing that it be disallowed...

That's it in a nutshell...
    That would be the Gagesby effect,rich mans defence better than poor mans defence.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭waterford

Forsey case was heard in the June2012 and the Ryan case wasn't heard till
    July 2013 yet both were arrested and charged at the same time and was known as the Forsey /Ryan case originally.
    Ryan stated after been found not guilty that 16 others had received non- returnable loans from him. I guess "money talks" or maybe "silence is golden"