Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Post Pictures Of Your Catch. (Mod note in OP 14/05/2015)

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Contributor 2013

Hi all.

Been away from the old pike fishing for ages, roach etc too. Looking for some good spots, maybe on the grand canal I was thinking? Or possibly even the Liffey?

If anyone could PM me some that would be awesome, thanks in advance.

Cont.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

First time sea Fishing properly yesterday - -Got me 2 Dab!! Chuffed

10347226_10152813469083409_3479453804197047951_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Nice one Ardin.
    On a slightly weird note, you are the image of me. Herself even asked when did I catch that ... not sure how I feel about this.

Nice one Ardin.
    On a slightly weird note, you are the image of me. Herself even asked when did I catch that ... not sure how I feel about this.

Good lookin fella are you? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Nice looking dab there. Dunno what's holding it though :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Video of a couple of pike from the kayak yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭minktrapper

Traumadoc wrote: »
    Caught a 65kg tuna on Friday.

Fly or spinning.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Blake123

ardinn wrote: »
    Good lookin fella are you? ;)

Spillan is that you? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭.red.

Brought the kids collecting razors yesterday. Great craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Are they edible red?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭monty_python

Are they edible red?

They are sold in the Asian markets in town for human consumption
    They are used as bait aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

If you are going into eat Razor you need to ensure they are from a sources which is certified safe for Human consumption as they accumulate biotoxins naturally produced by phytoplankton in seawater, as a result of their filter feeding.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,312 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

If you are going into eat Razor you need to ensure they are from a sources which is certified safe for Human consumption as they accumulate biotoxins naturally produced by phytoplankton in seawater, as a result of their filter feeding.

Didn't know that, thanks! Where would you find out the sources?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The Marine Institute monitors it I believe. As I only use them for bait I never bothered to check the status of any I use.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭.red.

I dont eat much sea food so im not too bothered by whats in them.
    I did taste one from the last batch i got. Used the steamed in white wine recipee but used white lemonade instead as it was my 5 yo who wanted to taste them and i had no wine. Rank wasnt the word but like i said, im not into sea food.

I usually pop an elastic band around them, leave them in the fridge for a few days to let them go a little yellow and freeze them in bags of 4/5.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

https://www.fsai.ie//enforcement_audit/monitoring/shellfish.html

It's possible get razors at Seapoint Co Dublin , cooked them and eat them on the shore!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭db97

New personal best 15lb 2oz:D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

db97 wrote: »
    New personal best 15lb 2oz:D

Well done. Great specimen

thanks man got her on popped up dace.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Hunter456

Good fish man. I used to fish that spot years ago.

sound man

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Hunter456

caught on worms and barbless hooks all fish released.

[IMG][/img]365ad9258e995a9061e8819379a9dd75ee17139430217dc5.jpg

0443f4f02ae671678ef1bf13160b4f152ead4ba95ad3c656.jpg

538a1663b79d71b50f5b383b05a2fb671c86570a48271048.jpg

9471a0add122f2fa6b1effcd7afefd31b718e85d2c876c7e.jpg

Nice fish man

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭DVD-Lots

Couple of big 'uns today from Cloghan lake, great day with 8 in total. No scales with us so reckon 5/6 lb? :P

16775997601_c09a846166_c.jpg

16154838494_683c703d3b_c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭thefisherbuy

Some lovely trout DVd, I fished there about 2 years ago it was jumping with trout nice owner how's it going now worth a trip in summer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Two out of three from competition yesterday

11045424_10152936376028409_812799835894514885_n%201.jpg

Caught today after a fierce drought! Happy with that.

What's the sore does anyone know - I presume leeches as they tend to get them during the winter or something else??

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭jack01986

Looks like it could be a lamprey mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭thefisherbuy

It's kind of hard to tell from the picture, But i'd say its a lamprey mark...

• Registered Users Posts: 39,020 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Only a small fella but something different.
    Also caught a few wrasse worth keeping but no pics.

342853.JPG