Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

50 year olds making ejits if themselves in the pub

• Registered Users Posts: 45,262 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

I hear you're an ageist now Fr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's interesting to see that the old fashioned pissed up Paddy mentality is still alive and kicking in Ireland. Maybe if people got off the bar stool and tried new things and varied their social circle they'd actually experience life. Very sad to see so many posters that are so stereotypical. Still, it must be nice to be so easily pleased that all it takes to make you happy is getting drunk with the same people in the same bars every weekend for the rest of your life. Little things for little minds, I'll leave you to it.:P

Better to have a little mind than a belittling one, I always say. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Rory28

It's interesting to see that the old fashioned pissed up Paddy mentality is still alive and kicking in Ireland. Maybe if people got off the bar stool and tried new things and varied their social circle they'd actually experience life. Very sad to see so many posters that are so stereotypical. Still, it must be nice to be so easily pleased that all it takes to make you happy is getting drunk with the same people in the same bars every weekend for the rest of your life. Little things for little minds, I'll leave you to it.:P

That's a very high horse you're on there buddy.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I haven't been in a pub in about a year, but I've got to go out next weekend and I'm dreading it. No doubt I'll bump into people I was at school with 20 years ago who are still going to the same bar with the same people talking more or less the same s8ite they were talking about 20 years ago. The sad thing is that they'll still be doing the same thing in 20 years.

Maybe they enjoy it? Like each others company?

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Got a link to that, I needs amusement of this wet Tuesday?

Nope, links to PI threads are not allowed sitewide.
    There are also people in their 50's who go out have a few drinks enjoy themselves without having to make clowns of themselves in the process or trying to be the life and soul of the party. It's the latter I'm referring to nothing at all wrong with having a few drinks if you can act your age in the process.

By far, the behaviour you described by them is what you see from the vast majority of people in YOUR age group on a weekend night in any town in Ireland. Now you know how us 35+ people feel.
    Annoying, isnt it?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

What's wrong with it? Not everyone wants to travel or try something new every week and just because you know people who have the same group of friends for 20+ years - god the shame eh? - and still frequent the same pub doesn't mean they don't do new things in other areas of their lives. Get over yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

kfallon wrote: »
    Making friends for life.....real pitiful alright! :rolleyes:

Next you'll be telling us you take pity on people who get married to each other, imagine spending the rest of your life living with the same person

"People TEND to get divorced by the time they hit X age, those who don't seem rather pitiful..." :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm over 40 and a grown up, it really does look pathetic to see anyone over 50 making a tit of themselves in a pub.
    That depends on your perspective. Sure, someone falling over hammered at that age should probably have a bit of cop on, but "making a tit" of oneself depends on your perspective. Presumably you think that older people should just sit and chat, dancing or having other kinds of fun is "pathetic"?
    What makes you think that people who like to travel are unhappy?
    I didn't say they are. But just like you view someone who hasn't moved on from the same town and the same friends as being pitiful there are equally plenty of people who spend their whole lives "moving on", "experiencing the world", living what could be called pitiful, unhappy lives. Is it more pathetic to stay where you're happy, or constantly be searching for happiness which you can't find?
    There's nothing pathetic about staying where you are, if that's what makes you happy.

We all know the types; the people who seem to be followed by drama no matter what they're doing or where they are, but are oblivious to the fact that the common denominator in their dramas is themselves.
    Life is about maturing and experiencing new things, not still being down the pub drinking with your adult kids.
    In your opinion. What's wrong with a parent enjoying some social time with their kids? Janey, I love going out for dinner and a few drinks with my parents, which is sadly few and far between at the moment.

There is no ultimate, "This is what life is about". Life is what you make of it.
    Do I find it inexplicable that someone would want to do the same thing all the time and not have new experiences? Yep. Do I think it's sad that someone does what makes them happy and nothing else? Nope. Without happiness, you've basically got fnck all else to live for.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Just because they drink at the weekend means they do nothing else?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,400 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

They dressed up for Halloween in the most ridiculous outfits then when the drink kicks in they try their hand at dancing but are only jumping around the place like monkeys thinking that they are the life and soul of the party. Same every weekend really minus the costumes. The pub doesn't have a dance floor so it makes things even more awkward when people have to go to the toilet or move to another part if the pub.

As someone who worked in bars for the guts of 20 years i can attest that this behavior is not exclusive to over 50's.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭blue note

I haven't been in a pub in about a year, but I've got to go out next weekend and I'm dreading it. No doubt I'll bump into people I was at school with 20 years ago who are still going to the same bar with the same people talking more or less the same s8ite they were talking about 20 years ago. The sad thing is that they'll still be doing the same thing in 20 years.

This is a very sad post. I haven't been home in a few months, but I'm going home this weekend and I can't wait to see everyone again. It will be the same conversations I've been having for half my life, we're all aware of that and all look forward to it. Sure half of Christmas is the same conversations, jokes, arguments and stories that we've had all our lives. Except the year my sister got drunk and was on my dad's team for a game of trivial pursuit and kept trying to justify the most ridiculous answers. Of course, that story will be told every year for the next 20 years and after and I'll enjoy hearing it every time.

Anyway pumpkinseeds, I hope you still enjoy staying in and feeling smug in 20 years time and don't get jealous when you go to the pub and see those poor lads who you used to know still laughing together down in the pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

See ya and stay out of the pub will ya, would hate to bump into you and have you bore the hole off me for an evening 'regaling' me with tales about your travels, how your time Asia was 'positively liberating' :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Colossal Phallus

Sounds like you'll be doing the same thing in 20 years too, being overly concerned what other people do with their lives to enhance your ego.

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭lostboy75

eviltwin wrote: »
    What's wrong with it? Not everyone wants to travel or try something new every week and just because you know people who have the same group of friends for 20+ years - god the shame eh? - and still frequent the same pub doesn't mean they don't do new things in other areas of their lives. Get over yourself.
    exactly what i think, nice to see that quite a few posters here don't have ADD and don't need the latest greatest experience to justify their life, while still being free to actually try that experience if they chose. as mentioned i agree with Seamus's post, about some people who are actually in a rut, and are very unhappy about it, but cant change. the vast majority of people though are not that way, they just get on with enjoying life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

I'm over 40 and a grown up, it really does look pathetic to see anyone over 50 making a tit of themselves in a pub. What makes you think that people who like to travel are unhappy? It does seem pitiful to see people who haven't moved past the same bars and the same group of people that they were at school with still doing more or less the same thing 20 years later. Nobody has an issue with older people enjoying themselves but making an ass of yourself in a bar in your 50's really is a bit sad.

Life is about maturing and experiencing new things, not still being down the pub drinking with your adult kids.

Don't know bout you but if im out which is rarely at my age blowing off a bit of steam is grand. As long as you not disrupting everyone else.

It's interesting to see that the old fashioned pissed up Paddy mentality is still alive and kicking in Ireland. Maybe if people got off the bar stool and tried new things and varied their social circle they'd actually experience life. Very sad to see so many posters that are so stereotypical.

Who said one can't do both? There are a whopping 365 days in every year (and occasionally we get an extra one, how about that!) which is more than enough time to do new things and do old things, and to hang out with as many people as you like, well acquainted or entirely random.
    Still, it must be nice to be so easily pleased that all it takes to make you happy is getting drunk with the same people in the same bars every weekend for the rest of your life.

Bit of a jump from having the craic with your mates in a bar to doing the exact same thing every weekend for life. I went to the gym yesterday so clearly I do the same thing every day at the same time in the same gym... Anyone who knows what I look like can quickly dismiss such a ridiculous notion ;)
    Little things for little minds, I'll leave you to it.:P

How little a mind must one have to take their own concept of happiness and make the assumption that if all 7 billion people they share the planet with don't share it, they must be small minded?

I like boobs, clearly lads who are more into butts are small minded and pathetic. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

There are also people in their 50's who go out have a few drinks enjoy themselves without having to make clowns of themselves in the process or trying to be the life and soul of the party. It's the latter I'm referring to nothing at all wrong with having a few drinks if you can act your age in the process.

What give you the right to decide what is 'age appropriate' behaviour, drink or no drink?

If they were misbehaving and interfering with other customer's enjoyment of their night out, then it is the responsibility of the landlord to deal with it, not you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

To be honest I don't mind them I'm not a drinker anymore but I can only listen to them for so long, its when they start this s**t "why aren't you drinking are ya a man or what lark" that does my head in,If drinking's what it take to be accepted I'd rather stay aware and be rejected.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Better to have a little mind than a belittling one, I always say. :)

I posted before about a workmate of mine who kinda has the same attitude as Pumpkinseeds.
    I was out with a crowd of my friends last week and while discussing the weekend in work,he came out with the statement of "why does everybody need to stay out so late,can't they just stay home or at least go home early?".Killed the entire conversation as I had to say "some people actually enjoy going for a few drinks and socialise with their friends".
    As it stands,he's pretty much lost contact with all his friends and never socialises in any form.I'm not glorifying drink but it's nice to actually go out now & again,talk bollix & have a laugh.

Rory28 wrote: »
    This is a strange thread. Whats wrong with having a bit of fun down the pub? If it made you uncomfortable thats your problem not the other patrons.

At least it's more entertaining than the weekly "All Irish women are scum" [thinly veiled "I didn't get the ride last night and I'm extraordinarily bitter about it"] threads we get on Sunday afternoons ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

OP sounds like a bit of a puff

A 'puff'?
    A puff of what ?..... Air, smoke,magic dragon?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

OP sounds like a bit of a puff

A 'puff'?
    A puff of what ?..... Air, smoke,magic dragon?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,259 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Sad is your judging them from the side line, while there enjoying themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Well said, I know a few of these 50 year olds and they go on holiday to Spain every 2 years, guess where they spend most of their holiday? The pub.

How would you really know where they spend most of their time on holidays?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Drink is the world's greatest leveller.

My foreman didn't think so when myself and my drinking buddy were round his place putting in the foundation for an extension on a Sunday morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

OP You're failing to see the blinding logic here. Those people are the life and soul of their OWN party and don't need your approval (and more than likely couldn't give a flying fcuk about your disgust).

If I was to say "nothing wrong with having a few drinks if you can keep your condescension and shaming in check", that would be as judgemental as your own comment - who are you to say who is "right" to be in the bar? TBH, you're making more of a clown of yourself with this than the over 50's who have troubled you so much by looking so UNATTRACTIVE! :eek::eek:

I think you should go for PTSD counselling immediately.

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭blackvalley

Must be a quiet news day . SIX whole pages on a topic started by someone called
    sh1tstirrer

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Autonomous wrote: »
    50 year olds making ejits if themselves in the pub

How old are you op?

I'm guessing 50.

oops, are you one of the stuck in a rut with my school pals group then?:D

My group of friends from school will always be my best friends and I hope to be having the craic in the pubs with them when I'm 60 as when I was 18.

The term "stuck in a rut" is a term used when someone is unhappy in a situation, just because people like to live in the same place most of their lives and do similar things in their free time does not mean they are "stuck in a rut".

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Shrap wrote: »
    OP You're failing to see the blinding logic here. Those people are the life and soul of their OWN party and don't need your approval (and more than likely couldn't give a flying fcuk about your disgust)

I just had a strange moment there, Shrap. There I was scrolling down the page, a short scroll away from your post, when the thought to post occurred to me. What I wanted to say to the OP, was that those people probably were the life and soul of their own party, I even said it out loud at the same time I saw your post. Almost word for word what I'd just a split second earlier said out loud - to myself. It was like you'd read my mind or planted the words in there :eek: :p

I love a pub that will let you dance in it even though they don't have a dance floor. I don't get out for a bop as often as I did in my twenties and thirties (I'll be 46 in a few days time) but I'm still one of the first (often the first) up to dance in a pub that's playing good music and allows their patrons to do so. I was out on Sunday night, one of those impromptu evenings; a few of us went for a pint and that turned into a few more than we'd originally intended and I have to say we danced ourselves silly, as did loads of other people in the pub. One of the many things I love about dancing is how it can entice others up to join you, even if they hadn't planned to dance. I've lost count of the amount of times throughout my life someone has come up to me after a night out and thanked me for encouraging them to get up and dance, simply because I was dancing and clearly enjoying every moment (I smile a lot when I dance - my delight is almost palpable) and they felt inspired to do the same. Now, as it happens I am a good dancer, but it doesn't really matter where you are on the 'have rhythm' scale; it's the enjoying that matters (and not being so unaware you're leaping on top of people, bashing into them so they have to move away).

I'm delighted to see so many posters are of the same mind as me on this subject. I have no intentions of stopping dancing, as long as my little legs will let me.

Here's a little song from me to you all : :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1boeQ9zoF-s