Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

analfabets wrote: »
    I bought standard shells but crankshaft doesn't seem to be great. Besides few peole told me that re-shelling it would be total waste of time.

Can't' find replacement engine anywhere in the country. Not even a 2.3 LPT leave alone Aero.

086 6006602 - Dara.

If he cant help you then I'm out of ideas.

Another option but its in th UK ....

http://www.neobrothers.co.uk/index.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Guys, this genuine future classic and most likely what will be called the birthplace of the Audi S cars has been up on Donedeal now for weeks. A real deal Audi 100 S2 Avant Quattro. These will be cherished like the first 535Ms some day. Nobody has touched it. Yup I'm sure it needs 500 quid or so spent on it but its got to be worth spending after some of the price has been haggled off from the top. At the very least its got to be worth a look ....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3807091

View2-13804384.jpeg

I'm just about to make space in the garden and if this is still for sale come empty driveway time then I'll be paying this guy a vist :)

analfabets wrote: »
    Unfortunately, RJ, your diagnosis were spot on..............

Feck :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

Half thinking of going to take a look at this:

http://www.gumtree.ie/cp-cars-in-kilkenny/volvo-s70-2-0-1999-400093001#

Anyone know much about these old barges?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,971 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Looks like it's an import (high reg number). Advertised for 7 weeks... "first to see will buy". "Money back guarantee"!

No mention of engine size - did these come with engines over 2 litres?

You should be able to get it for (a lot?) less than the asking price.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

Esel wrote: »
    Looks like it's an import (high reg number). Advertised for 7 weeks... "first to see will buy". "Money back guarantee"!

You should be able to get it for (a lot?) less than the asking price.

Bit suspicious alright perhaps. I asked (cheekily I thought) if he'd take 500 and he said he would! Apparently it has 9 months tax too...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,158 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Esel wrote: »
    Advert title says its a 2.0 ;)

Top Dog wrote: »
    Advert title says its a 2.0 ;)
    Doh! :o

@)
    ( .o.)

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭analfabets

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Wouldn't 2k buy a better car?

Most likely would but I always wanted 9-5 Aero. This has everything I wanted. Well there is always a bright side - i could have bought this one for 2k as it was advertised for 1950€ at the beginning.
    Saab Ed wrote: »
    086 6006602 - Dara.

If he cant help you then I'm out of ideas.

Another option but its in th UK ....

http://www.neobrothers.co.uk/index.php

Thanks for your input Saab Ed.

I had contacted Jim, Dara's brother I believe and they think that only sulution is new engine.

I have sent an email to these lads. Just waiting for reply.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Feck :(

Yeah. My reaction was similar when I dropped the sump.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Really getting a liking for older mercs, despite not knowing the first thing about them

i dont know if either is really full force bangernomics, but imo both nice cars for not too much money.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3903180

doesn't that just look smashing for under €2k!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3904489

and this, a lot more basic admittedly but half the price, and a good solid car for under a grand, bit of NCT, one owner for a long time and the promise of a service history.

... The colour of the thing :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Looks like Papa Smurf's car!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

its a bit "out there" alright :P and that AMG bage is somewhat taking the piss too, but you cant see the colour when your sitting inside it and feck what anyone else thinks :pac:

just look at that interior, my living room at home doesn't have that much leather and walnut :)

and this, a lot more basic admittedly but half the price, and a good solid car for under a grand, bit of NCT, one owner for a long time and the promise of a service history.
    Rare, and nice, to see a land line phone number in an ad these days.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Really getting a liking for older mercs, despite not knowing the first thing about them

i dont know if either is really full force bangernomics, but imo both nice cars for not too much money.

My eyes.........

Much better option :

View2-14214156.jpeg
    3893340#

Merc CE

• Registered Users Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Looks like a bad paint job. Front bumper is over sprayed. It should have a black rubber strip afaik.
    Overpriced too imo. Looks like they are trying to re-coupe (:pac:) the price of the paint.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭eamonnq

homer90 wrote: »
    My eyes.........

Much better option :

View2-14214156.jpeg
    3893340#

Merc CE

Does that look like a strange place to take photos of your car ?

Looks like it is just past a bend with a solid white line in the middle of the road??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Jellicoe

Thats some pimp mobile you picked, happy motoring :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭ofcork

Pity about the respray,the colour just doesnt suit the car.The other coupe is parked outside a dealers yard so it may not be a private sale.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Guys do you ever come across lhd bargains? Cars in Europe seem much more expensive second hand! I would love some of the things I find here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

NCT till June, 1100

Such a clean looking car...
    Full-14280852.jpeg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

eamonnq wrote: »
    Does that look like a strange place to take photos of your car ?

Looks like it is just past a bend with a solid white line in the middle of the road??

this is the kind of bullsh1t spurious comment that grates me on this thread, like what the funk has that got to do with the actual car on offer? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭JustLen

Full-14280852.jpeg

I might go and look at that, what do I need to look out for.

Potential to possibly make a few pound on it even?

gave him a call there sounds like an alright chap.
    new suspension parts for the test along with a new timing belt.
    catch is when i asked him has he reciepts for the work done he said he hasnt, he took the car as a trade in against an 07 passat two days ago.
    Pressed hom further and he said he buys and sells the odd few cars which turns me off to be honest.
    What would a timing belt cost on one of these as id have to pressume it wasnt done...

Edit: Also its actually in limerick not clare

JustLen wrote: »
    gave him a call there sounds like an alright chap.
    new suspension parts for the test along with a new timing belt.
    catch is when i asked him has he reciepts for the work done he said he hasnt, he took the car as a trade in against an 07 passat two days ago.
    Pressed hom further and he said he buys and sells the odd few cars which turns me off to be honest.
    What would a timing belt cost on one of these as id have to pressume it wasnt done...

Edit: Also its actually in limerick not clare
    Don't be put off 'cause he is a small dealer. I would press him for a guarantee that the belt is done though.
    Watch out for clutch wear. Should be about finished at or around 130,000 miles or so. The air con. Make sure cold air comes out of the vents. The systems leak or need re-gassing after a while and can be expansive.
    There is an fuel lift pump in the fuel tank under the back seat that can go, but I think they made a modification in '02. Mine went at 135,000 miles.
    Also rear links and bushings wear out but you will hear banging over bumps. Don't be put off by that. They are very cheap fix. I paid ~ €30 for mine back in the day.
    Gear linkage can wear out too, (gear leaver has lots of play) but this is also a relatively cheap to put right.
    See what service history is there and best of luck. They are possibly the most underrated car on the road. Especially for their time. Very comfy economical and reliable.

Thats all very very helpfull thanks a lot.
    Would that be the same fuel pump that would have been in the 106 1.1 petrol hardly?
    I had a '99 that had problems with the fuel pump and it broke my heart.

Good chance Ill go for a look this evening he won't be around untill then.
    People on here have a great time for these cars alright, what king of MG could you expect?

Oh and I asked him for something in writing that the belt was done and he said he couldn't as it was the previous owner who did it. To be honest id be inclined to think it hasn't been done as he tried moving away from the subject twice.

If I go for a look i'll report back

JustLen wrote: »
    Thats all very very helpfull thanks a lot.
    Would that be the same fuel pump that would have been in the 106 1.1 petrol hardly?
    I had a '99 that had problems with the fuel pump and it broke my heart.

Good chance Ill go for a look this evening he won't be around untill then.
    People on here have a great time for these cars alright, what king of MG could you expect?

Oh and I asked him for something in writing that the belt was done and he said he couldn't as it was the previous owner who did it. To be honest id be inclined to think it hasn't been done as he tried moving away from the subject twice.

If I go for a look i'll report back
    Yeah, take it that you need to do the belt sometime soon yourself for your own piece of mind. Tell him that and ask him to reflect it in the price. The previous owners word is completely and utterly useless to you. If he can't proove it, it was not done.

MPG = 45 to 50 all day long and 55 if you mind it

.... Can't see him having any problem getting very close to the asking price tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,363 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Nice looking 04 Punto mk2.5 3 door with heaps of test

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3809432

04 5 door for a few quid more
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3897338

05 5 door for €1750
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3744027

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

cadaliac wrote: »
    Yeah, take it that you need to do the belt sometime soon yourself for your own piece of mind. Tell him that and ask him to reflect it in the price. The previous owners word is completely and utterly useless to you. If he can't proove it, it was not done.

MPG = 45 to 50 all day long and 55 if you mind it

If you asked me to reflect that into the 1100 EURO price tag on a 02 diesel I wouldn't be long telling you where to go!