Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

04-06-2012, 22:16   #256
axel7

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbam View Post
This has become a pointless thread.
Arguing points with people who know nothing about farming, have made their mind up and have no interest in hearing the truth.

If people want to believe farmers are coining it, fine. If ignorant idiots want to believe Farmers are either driving merc's, dodging the tax man, screwing the 3rd level grant system or taking advantage of young lads by paying them in pasetos then fine, leave them wallow in their ignorance.
Farming was ignored and sniggered at during the boom. But now when the country is on its knees it's farming that is being held up as a way to recover the country and generate revenue and jobs for the country. It's just a pity that the farmers aren't recognised as the hard working and honest people that they are.
Feck the begrudgers
Farmers are not driving around in mercs, this must be a troll at this stage.
They don't participate in Tax evasion but rather tax avoidance
They alter their accounts to decrease their tax bill in a legitimate manner. They are the highest recipients of third level assistance across any other sector.
04-06-2012, 22:27   #257
darragh_haven

Quote:
Originally Posted by axel7 View Post
Farmers are not driving around in mercs, this must be a troll at this stage.
They don't participate in Tax evasion but rather tax avoidance
They alter their accounts to decrease their tax bill in a legitimate manner. They are the highest recipients of third level assistance across any other sector.
I glad there is a bit of common sense returning to this thread. Could you proviode a link to the Third level grant for farmers sons and daughters tho, i'm not doubting the fact but would like see the figures
04-06-2012, 22:41   #258
Good loser

Quote:
Originally Posted by axel7 View Post
Agreed but I'm not looking for big wages €250 a week won't make anyone up. If a farmer doesn't have the money for minimum wage don't look to take them on. In my opinion big dairy farmers are the only ones with enough work to take on anyone (especially during the summer) and they're the only ones that are making enough to justify it financially too.
You're correct about the big dairy farmers - only they would have the steady work and ability to pay for regular employees.

I don't agree with your views on (the frankly ridiculous) minimum wage. If employer and employee agree on (any) terms then presumably both are happy with the bargain so why not go for it. The law can be catered for with creativity. The opportunity cost for most young lads looking for a Summer job is nil - most would be delighted with €30 per day. Most of them won't do a lot.
05-06-2012, 09:04   #259
Tora Bora
Closed Account

Perhaps this chart tells a story! Look where Ireland is in the youth unemployment league, at a time where we have the second highest min wage in Europe!!!!! We are living in dreamland, utter dreamland!
Attached Images
File Type: gif Europe's scariest chart.gif (13.9 KB, 53 views)
Thanks from:
05-06-2012, 09:38   #260
lakill Farm

[QUOTE=bbam;78961644]Feckin Accountants, always gettin the best deals
Wonder would he do much sums for a bottle of pop and an ice cream. ]

My nephew was 6 . Hardy little fecker thou, i saw him moving full bags of cement last week.

When i was 16 i use to work for a farmer for £80 a week. (12 years ago). I be at covering pits, cattle sheep and lawns, fencing topping etc.

Following year got a good bit more but more responsibility. I stayed for 5 summers with them when in secondary and 3rd level.
Thanks from:
05-06-2012, 11:27   #261
Muckit

'Trainees' don't have to be paid minimum wage AFAIK. It could be the same too for seasonal workers
05-06-2012, 11:32   #262
lakill Farm

most lads wount know how to work to keep themselves warm and still want top dollar.

As the saying goes , "fair pay for a far days work"

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion