Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would Katie Taylor beat an average man in a fight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Anyone who follows disciplines such as MMA knows that a well trained MMA fighter would destroy a boxer in a brawl. However, ignorance exists on both sides of the divide. Boxing is an extremely specialised and technical area. It is in no way an unskilled area and I would highly doubt it to be the least skilled combat sport. There's a massive amount of precision and discipline within the sport. Not that there isn't in other areas but given the narrow take up in other areas, the level of performance in boxing is very, very high.

No average bloke could take KT. You'd be near unconscious in 30 seconds. Most people with boxing training would be swaying on their feet within one round. No boxer would ever take on such a fight either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

efb wrote: »
    MMA is fairly boring alright...
    What sort of sick fecker fights with a baby food? Scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Peetrik wrote: »
    Not in the slightest, it just means she has stayed amateur so that she can compete in the olypmics.
    She would train just as hard as any professional

TBH I didn;t really mean it in a training harder way or athletic fitness level because obviously anyone with a gold from the Olympics is at the top of their game, was more talking about the fact that Pro boxers would trade a lot more 'damage' with each other i.e different scoring, longer rounds, head gear (I'm not a boxing fan anyway just curious about this point)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

MMA is fairly boring alright...

I walked into that one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

ScumLord wrote: »
    That's complete nonsense, a shoulder charge? He might as well send her a letter stating what he's going to do.

Unless she knocks him out coming in Scum, she is going down to the ground, and ending up with him on top of her, and from there the story is told.

Maybe I'm running further with the 'experience in fights' thing than you are but with that size and strength difference anyone getting in close enough for the weaker smaller person to land a shot is going to be able to wrestle, or just through the momentum behind their weight crashing forward, take them to the ground, and end up on top of them, then it's game over, it just is. It's ridiculous to argue otherwise.

Katie would mangle anyone the same size and weight and strength and fighting ability of an average man in a stand up trade of punches, she'd destroy them. But anyone with that strength and weight advantage, which is large, and a little bit of guile, would be able to take her off her feet and end up on top of her, and from there all her advantages (less fitness) are mute, it becomes almost entirely about who is the strongest.

Were Katie trained to deal with being dragged off her feet and fighting on her back, then maybe we could come to a different conclusion, but she's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

IrishAm wrote: »
    I walked into that one!

RSC (KO) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

strobe wrote: »
    Unless she knocks him out coming in Scum, she is going down to the ground, and ending up with him on top of her, and from there the story is told.

Maybe I'm running further with the 'experience in fights' thing than you are but with that size and strength difference anyone getting in close enough for the weaker smaller person to land a shot is going to be able to wrestle, or just through the momentum behind their weight crashing forward, take them to the ground, and end up on top of them, then it's game over, it just is. It's ridiculous to argue otherwise.
    Not if I grab you by the nads and twist it's not.

She could sidestep him and land a couple dozen shots herself. An MMA fighter would grab 'em and lock them in a submission hold.

Bread and butter to trained fighters.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Boxing is probably the lowest skilled of mainstream combat arts. Im confident that i would have a credible chance if a boxer came towards me throwing punches, that i could dip and take them down by their knees.

You would then fall out of bed and wake up to realise what a great dream you just had...;)
    P.S. while just thinking about taking the boxer down you would be knocked out, cold...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

The mma stuff is bollocks. Of course if she is restricted to Queensbury rules and the MMA guy can grab hold and bring her to the floor he will win. However if she trained in that sport she would probably win.

In other news I can beat Katie T if I fence and she boxes. Or I got a gun. And she boxes.

(well maybe)

Pottler wrote: »
    Not if ...I... grab you by the nads and twist it's not.

Katie? I didn't mean it babe... go easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Katie? I didn't mean it babe... go easy.

That's the sound of your nads glooping their way back up into your body.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 21,235 CMod ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I don't have too much knowledge about the whole street fighter vs boxer thing, but she looks incredibly quick - not just how she punches, but how she can move out of trouble. Even if the plan was to try and get her on the deck instead of box, I'd say most people would still struggle.

Like I said, I wouldn't have a clue about a trained MMA or whatever fighter against a boxer, but I think some people are still deluded into thinking that the fact she's female would give them more of a chance, despite what we've all seen over the last week.

Incidentally, Brian O'Driscoll is about 5'10 and I'd say he's over 14 stone, even after he seems to have gotten a lot leaner than he used to be. He might be an exception, but by going by height/weight alone seems a bit silly.

washman3 wrote: »
    You would then fall out of bed and wake up to realise what a great dream you just had...;)
    P.S. while just thinking about taking the boxer down you would be knocked out, cold...;)

Gotta laugh at chaps on the internet reckoning that they can take on trained boxers and MMA fighters. Its Friday night, so I hope it is just dutch courage.

I worked in a bar with a lad who was a purple belt in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and who trained in MMA too. The amount of drunken fools who used to challenge him to a fight for money, was ridiculous.

I done a bit of boxing as a kid and we used to always work the Sunday, Monday and Wednesday evening shifts together. During cash up one night we had a few vodkas and started mess fighting. He goes to me, "I betcha fifty dollars I could put you asleep in under two minutes." "Fine", says I.

I lasted twenty something seconds. And he went easy on me. And I had probably 10-15 kgs on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Not sure if it's been said but Lennox Lewis is on record as saying that katie would beat a lot of the guys in or around her own weight. That's coming from someone who knows what he's talking about*

*former world professional heavyweight champion, for those who aren't familiar

RSC (KO) :D

I tripped over his boot, ref. It wasn't a punch, it was a push!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

But anyone with that strength and weight advantage, which is large, and a little bit of guile, would be able to take her off her feet and end up on top of her, and from there all her advantages (less fitness) are mute, it becomes almost entirely about who is the strongest.

No they wouldn't. People are forgetting she is a world champion. A little bit of guile does not compensate for world champion level footwork. She would step that person and smash them without batting an eyelid. If they were a dedicated, talented trainer in combat sports, they could take her down. Otherwise, they'd be at the first encounter.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Her footwork is far to good for any untrained person to grab onto her. She'll simply side step him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

darced wrote: »

She barely beat the girls in her own division,thats a load of crap.[/Quote]

She seems to have beaten the best in her division. Or do you think the silver medal winner was an average boxer.

How to respond to this crap, I don't even know. Katie Taylor barely beating the girls in her own division. Lads fancying their chances against trained boxers. MMA being a load of crap.

Fucking nonsense of the highest degree from lads who have never set foot in a boxing or any sort of gym.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,656 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Seaneh wrote: »
    In a boxing match, she's hammer him.

In a brawl, he's just throw her around.

This I'd agree with.

Youtube kindly showed that a man took a full force whack of a hurley to the face and still stood. Who knows.

In a sparring situation, it's grossly in her favour..you'd have to be an idiot..

No, no I don't. But she is the best woman fighter in her division. And the only close fight she really fought during the Olympics was in the final. Against quality opposition whose game plan was flawless. She didn't panic, when most would have. Stuck at it and saw it through. Sign of a great fighter.

Which Katie Taylor is. She's probably Ireland's best ever sportsperson.

Good for you. When you too, scoop up Olympic gold, then you can slate Katie's performances in the ring.

Where do you train btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭ Koda Savory Motorbike

How many Olympic medals?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

phasers wrote: »
    Could Superman outrun The Flash?

****en yes. Obviously.

This is all a little silly and possibly a little distasteful, so I'm done, but I think some people who probably haven't seen all too many fights in real life, are being a little unrealistic and star struck and letting their hearts rule their head.

Congrats to Katie on the gold, she's a legend.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭False Prophet

As Katie is turning pro, lets sort this argument once and for all.

Lets get her to fight an "average joe":D
    429595_361378703902101_100000899237177_1149899_912295762_n.jpg