Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Football / Soccer Tips Thread v2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Anyone any thoughts on Sao Paulo giving this side a good doing? 1-0 down after the 1st leg but at home and Im thinking they should get the job done handily enough.

To win both halves Sao Paulo are 13/8, might be worth a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Headshot wrote: »
    Paid out early get in (never happened me before)

get in

Bet365 still haven't paid out on the Santos game (for me anyway) and it was realistically over about an hour ago :)

There should at least be goals in the game with U De Chile as they need to overturn a 4-1 deficit to qualify, going to put a bet on over 3 goals also @ 1.875

Either they will be scoring them (hopefully) or they will be getting caught on the break and conceding, either way there should be goals!

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭CriticEyes

kryogen wrote: »
    There should at least be goals in the game with U De Chile as they need to overturn a 4-1 deficit to qualify, going to put a bet on over 3 goals also @ 1.875

Either they will be scoring them (hopefully) or they will be getting caught on the break and conceding, either way there should be goals!

Lads i hav U de Chile to basically bring in a 20/1 Acc. Why are we so sure of U de Chile? By the looks of it the other crowd look like they will beat them? No? Am i missing something? Any opinions?

CriticEyes wrote: »
    Lads i hav U de Chile to basically bring in a 20/1 Acc. Why are we so sure of U de Chile? By the looks of it the other crowd look like they will beat them? No? Am i missing something? Any opinions?

Chile are a better team
    Playing at altitude has negative effects on most teams and visiting teams rarely do well. They will be much stronger at home, and Quito are poor away from home.

As seen in the Santos game earlier, Santos lost that first game 2-1, they won the second leg 8-0 and really it could have been any score they wanted and they were never really in any danger of not hammering the opposition, altitude is a huge factor in the South American games. Under estimate it at your peril.

Still, as it is a 20/1 accum you have got to cover the bet.

You can back Deportivo at 0 on the Asian line (DNB basically) @ 7.200 or +0.5 @ 3.350

kryogen wrote: »
    Chile are a better team
    Playing at altitude has negative effects on most teams and visiting teams rarely do well. They will be much stronger at home, and Quito are poor away from home.

As seen in the Santos game earlier, Santos lost that first game 2-1, they won the second leg 8-0 and really it could have been any score they wanted and they were never really in any danger of not hammering the opposition, altitude is a huge factor in the South American games. Under estimate it at your peril.

Still, as it is a 20/1 accum you have got to cover the bet.

You can back Deportivo at 0 on the Asian line (DNB basically) @ 7.200 or +0.5 @ 3.350

Cheers for your thoughts. I cant really lay at them moment because it depends on the basketball and thats a very volatile market. I have U de Chile -1 aswell. Should have mentioned that.

EDIT: Looks like the Bulls are going to **** me up anyway. Feckers!

• Registered Users Posts: 53,823 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Headshot wrote: »
    The Strongest v Guabira Santa Cruz

http://www.soccerway.com/matches/2012/05/11/bolivia/lfpb/club-the-strongest/club-deportivo-guabira/1276885/

One of the best teams in the league against the worse

I like the The Strongest Win By 4 Or More Goals @6/4

lovely bubbly

Cheers for your thoughts. I cant really lay at them moment because it depends on the basketball and thats a very volatile market. I have U de Chile -1 aswell. Should have mentioned that.

Its still alive!!!!!! Wow! Some ending in the bulls game! Just need Boston Celtics win and U de Chile -1 and i have the bet in the bag! If im aftertiming im sorry i will gladly post up a screeny im just really excited! C'MON!

Get the **** in!!!! Do i need to put up screen shots Ade?

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

-Ade- wrote: »
    Universidad de Chile -1 @ 5/6 and Santos -2 @ Evens

.. and that rounds off a good day.

I concur.

Get the **** in!!!! Do i need to put up screen shots Ade?

Could be wrong (I'am fairly shattered and have to look at bets for later now) but probably best to do that ^ yeah. Obviously no rush, you have till this time tomorrow anyway.

No bother. Will do it as soon as this money comes in. Which with PP might take til Christmas. Never done a screen shot before but il follow the link you posted up earlier. cheers

Just bets I like for tomorrow, will place by lunch time at the latest (oh and again, sticking with no write up policy) -

Esbjerg @ Evens

Las Palmas @ no idea

Cordoba win or Overs in the Cordoba game, yes I got burned by this lot not too long ago but circumstances were different :)

Drogheda United @ 7/4

Reims @ 7/10

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Formation

south american football, american basketbalk. You cover them all?:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Few interesting bets:

Iran
    Mes Kerman v Zob Ahan 13.30
    http://www.oddschecker.com/football/world-football/world-leagues/iran/iran-division-1/mes-kerman-v-zob-ahan/winner
    Basically Zob Ahan are draw specialists, drawn 11 of their 16 matches away from home. They've drawn their last 8:eek: in a row. Mes Kerman drawn 6 of their 16 home matches, 4 of their last 7 matches.
    At 12/5 when realistically it should be like the italian 7/5 draw matches definately worth a small stake.

Now an even more interesting one.
    Fajr Shahid v Saba Qom 15.30
    http://www.oddschecker.com/football/world-football/world-leagues/iran/iran-division-1/fajr-shahid-sepasi-v-saba-qom/winner
    Fajr, are absolutely fantastic at home in recent times, won 7 of the last 9 drawing one losing the other. Saba Qom on the other hand not been great, lost 4 of last 9 drew 3 won 2. Fajr are 3/1!!!! to beat Saba with 365. Crazy price that is relying on league position, Fajr 12th Saba 4th. I'll be having a small nibble at that. Now 8/11 for double chance seems to me to be insanely huge. Would have came in 8 of last 9 for Fajr, 7 of last 9 Saba. And looking at home and away form, bet would have come in 7 of Fajr's last 9 home and away and would have come in 8 out Saba's last 9 home and away.

Now here's where to be cautious, it's the last day of the season and none of the teams have any thing to play for. I'm still going to be having a bit though, Fajr have not had anything to play for for quite a while, on the other hand it's Saba's sh*te form that's stopped them from getting into Champions League positions.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,077 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

yesno1234 wrote: »
    Few interesting bets:

Iran
    Mes Kerman v Zob Ahan 13.30
    http://www.oddschecker.com/football/world-football/world-leagues/iran/iran-division-1/mes-kerman-v-zob-ahan/winner
    Basically Zob Ahan are draw specialists, drawn 11 of their 16 matches away from home. They've drawn their last 8:eek: in a row. Mes Kerman drawn 6 of their 16 home matches, 4 of their last 7 matches.
    At 12/5 when realistically it should be like the italian 7/5 draw matches definately worth a small stake.

Now an even more interesting one.
    Fajr Shahid v Saba Qom 15.30
    http://www.oddschecker.com/football/world-football/world-leagues/iran/iran-division-1/fajr-shahid-sepasi-v-saba-qom/winner
    Fajr, are absolutely fantastic at home in recent times, won 7 of the last 9 drawing one losing the other. Saba Qom on the other hand not been great, lost 4 of last 9 drew 3 won 2. Fajr are 3/1!!!! to beat Saba with 365. Crazy price that is relying on league position, Fajr 12th Saba 4th. I'll be having a small nibble at that. Now 8/11 for double chance seems to me to be insanely huge. Would have came in 8 of last 9 for Fajr, 7 of last 9 Saba. And looking at home and away form, bet would have come in 7 of Fajr's last 9 home and away and would have come in 8 out Saba's last 9 home and away.

Now here's where to be cautious, it's the last day of the season and none of the teams have any thing to play for. I'm still going to be having a bit though, Fajr have not had anything to play for for quite a while, on the other hand it's Saba's sh*te form that's stopped them from getting into Champions League positions.

Good write up and jumped on the double chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Good write up and jumped on the double chance.

Me too.

Now where's my Fajr jersey. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭BQQ

Fulham too big @7/1 to beat Spurs.

Wigan could be satisfied now they're safe. Wolves playing for pride @ 5/1

• Registered Users Posts: 25 budthewiser

What about 40-1 for newcastle to finish 3rd. Spurs and arsenal are well capable of fluffing it and Everton leak goals. For interest

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Esbjerg @ Evens

Thinking of going with a large bet on this, I see they have drawn the last couple times they met though. Finding it hard to see why a team 16 points ahead are priced at Evens :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭grohlisagod

What about 40-1 for newcastle to finish 3rd. Spurs and arsenal are well capable of fluffing it and Everton leak goals. For interest

Its worth a few quid I suppose, but Everton do not leak goals at Goodison, 6 clean sheets in 7.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Formation

I think ye are overestimating the effect of a team battling relegation playing against a safe mid table side. It is a consideration but I haven't seen any team just roll over except blackburn in the last game. There is a reason a team is fighting relegation...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

For any Facebook users, this lad is worth a look, good tips the odd time,

he's impressively completed 2 or 3, €50 - €1000 challenges in a week or so!

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Free-Football-Tipster/334168123274100

• Registered Users Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Formation wrote: »
    I think ye are overestimating the effect of a team battling relegation playing against a safe mid table side. It is a consideration but I haven't seen any team just roll over except blackburn in the last game. There is a reason a team is fighting relegation...

What game are you on about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭De Dannan

thats very true
    interesting bet

(I just put my last 40 cent in PP account on this very outcome)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

http://www.soccerway.com/matches/2012/05/11/bahrain/premier-league/almuharraq-sports-club/al-hidd/1260448/

Muharraq -1 at evns are worth a punt here imo. Know nothing about Bahrain football tho but in good form at home in league matches

• Registered Users Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

eh i dunno wrote: »
    http://www.soccerway.com/matches/2012/05/11/bahrain/premier-league/almuharraq-sports-club/al-hidd/1260448/

Muharraq -1 at evns are worth a punt here imo. Know nothing about Bahrain football tho but in good form at home in league matches

I've just gone with that too. Seems a big jump, giving 1/4 for them to win, to giving even money for -1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭De Dannan

For any Facebook users, this lad is worth a look, good tips the odd time,

he's impressively completed 2 or 3, €50 - €1000 challenges in a week or so!

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Free-Football-Tipster/334168123274100

anyone tried this challenge 50 - 1000 ?
    I assume its harder than it looks lol

Mark! wrote: »
    Thinking of going with a large bet on this, I see they have drawn the last couple times they met though. Finding it hard to see why a team 16 points ahead are priced at Evens :confused:

Yeah I'm just looking up any details for the reasoning behind the odds atm. Will post anything I find.