Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Drugs in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Lady_Macbeth

Anyone here ever take Heroin?

I've heard it's better than sex.
    A friend of mine has done it and she said it was like 25 orgasms at once

eh..'scuse me for being a bit of a spoilsport, perhaps, but surely heroin abuse (and yes, it is abuse) should not be discussed in a favourable light on a public forum such as this...? I don't care what anyone says, if someone personally decides to do a certain drug, then they can as far as i'm concerned, but really, telling the "benefits" of taking a drug as lethal as heroin is outrageous. Drugs are dangerous, harmful and potentially fatal and the 'feel-good' factor of taking them should not be advertised like this.

- Lady

• Registered Users Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

I'd agree with CM Tranny that coke is ruining irish night clubs. It's becoming really sleazy and boring with clubbers on coke instead of pills, the buzz is gone completely. Bring back the mitsubishi and roles royces, now thats old school baby!

Coke is the biggest heap of ****e ever. I'd prefer to spend money on jack daniels tbh, i'd get a better bang for my buck anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

eh..'scuse me for being a bit of a spoilsport, perhaps, but surely heroin abuse (and yes, it is abuse) should not be discussed in a favourable light on a public forum such as this...? I don't care what anyone says, if someone personally decides to do a certain drug, then they can as far as i'm concerned, but really, telling the "benefits" of taking a drug as lethal as heroin is outrageous. Drugs are dangerous, harmful and potentially fatal and the 'feel-good' factor of taking them should not be advertised like this.

- Lady

Someone asked me a question and i answered it in an objective manner i don't condone heroine use. Heroine isn't particularly leathal a lot of prescription drugs have lower ld50s then heroine. Its my personal belief that knowledge shouldn't be supressed no matter what that is. Sorry for having a different point of view then you but thats just life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

In the homeless shelters they don't give the homeless any metal spoons, as alot of the people end up on the streets due to drugs and are still addicted.

is hci cocaine crack?

Its hcl.

And no its not.

I shold have known that.Ido science.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Someone asked me a question and i answered it in an objective manner i don't condone heroine use. Heroine isn't particularly leathal a lot of prescription drugs have lower ld50s then heroine. Its my personal belief that knowledge shouldn't be supressed no matter what that is. Sorry for having a different point of view then you but thats just life
    Yeh but perscription drugs are regulated and you're certain it's going to be pure and (in the correct doses and assuming you're not going to have some allergic reaction) non-lethal.

A perscription drug also won't be available forever... you have your course on the medication and that's it (hopefully... depending on what medical condition you have)

I don't see the point of comparing the qualities of heroin and perscription drugs unless you mean perscription drugs you get illegally...

no, hci cocaine is not crack - it's the pharmaceutically pure cocaine hydrochloride.

the reason there's so much coke around is the fact that since the euro came in the profit margins on ecstasy plummeted - since nobody wanted to charge 12.70 for a pill and have to deal in change etc. it dropped almost overnight by about 20%

Yokes were hitting €3 a pill about a year ago.
    But you are wrong about the reason noone does them anymore.
    The first few times is "wow these are the best thing ever" they slowly get not as good and the hangover gets longer and worse. Tollerence increases quickly also. There comes a time when even the most seasoned pill popper decideds its not worth it.

Ive seen E really mess with peoples heads.

Yeh but perscription drugs are regulated and you're certain it's going to be pure and (in the correct doses and assuming you're not going to have some allergic reaction) non-lethal.

In theory your right but a conserviative estimate by the dept of health stated that 25% of prescription drugs are counterfits (as in not made by the companies that claim made them) kinda scary really.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,575 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

as a result club culture has gone and completely died [the smoking ban just finished it off] - nowadays you go to a nightclub and its full of smal bunches of people eyeing each other and bitching about each others haircuts.

cocaine is for losers.

Club M doesnt count man.......

Club culture will always be alive and kicking, now its just gone back underground, best place for it!

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

slipss wrote:
    as for the drugs in dublin being crap, it all depends who your getting them off
    pure (i.e the best their is) cocaine, mdma, heroin, lsd ect are all readily available if you know the right people.

The RIGHT people for some are the WRONG people for others.

Drug dealers, in my opinion, are the WRONG people to know.

Perhaps it is this attitude that has aided the rising acceptance of substance abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

Anyone here ever take Heroin?

I've heard it's better than sex.

People are always saying that, it's nothing like sex the first few times you take it, its a completely different sensation. But once your addicted the relief/satisfaction you feel after talking it is similar to an orgasm.

Just to add my opinion, no one should ever try heroin. Its the most cruel and distructive drug thats ever landed on our shores. I'd say nearly a third of the junkies I knew weren't the "northsider, inner city, nothing to live for anyways so I might aswell be a junkie cause I don't give a ****" stereotype that some people have. They did well in school, had jobs and decided to try it just once, and then after they know how it feels try it again because last time they didn't get addicted, then next time something bad happens to them and they get depressed or pissed off, it seems easy to just smoke a bit of smack and know that once you to all your troubles will disapear....and you all know how its going to end.

But I'm sure everyone has heard these kind of stories hundreds of times and in the end are going to to whatever you want to do anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

The RIGHT people for some are the WRONG people for others.

Drug dealers, in my opinion, are the WRONG people to know.
    Except maybe if you want to buy drugs. I think these friendly public servants are the most underappreciated demographic in our society today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

CiaranC wrote:
    Except maybe if you want to buy drugs. I think these friendly public servants are the most underappreciated demographic in our society today.

Here here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

- Lady

So i'm sure you also believe that people on this site shouldnt be advertising the feel-good factor of alcohol as well? after all alcohol is harmful and potentially fatal, it was judged to be the most harmful recreational drug known to man, more lethal and potentially fatal than this 'demon drug' heroin that you speak of.

Start with the allegation that heroin damages the minds and bodies of those who use it, and consider the biggest study of opiate use ever conducted, on 861 patients at Philadelphia General hospital in the 20s. It concluded that they suffered no physical harm of any kind. Their weight, skin condition and dental health were all unaffected. "There is no evidence of change in the circulatory, hepatic, renal or endocrine functions. When it is considered that some of these subjects had been addicted for at least five years, some of them for as long as 20 years, these negative observations are highly significant."

Check with Martindale, the standard medical reference book, which records that heroin is used for the control of severe pain in children and adults, including the frail, the elderly and women in labour. It is even injected into premature babies who are recovering from operations. Martindale records no sign of these patients being damaged or morally degraded or becoming criminally deviant or simply insane. It records instead that, so far as harm is concerned, there can be problems with nausea and constipation.

Or go back to the history of "therapeutic addicts" who became addicted to morphine after operations and who were given a clean supply for as long as their addiction lasted. Enid Bagnold, for example, who wrote the delightful children's novel, National Velvet, was what our politicians now would call "a junkie", who was prescribed morphine after a hip operation and then spent 12 years injecting up to 350mg a day. Enid never - as far as history records - mugged a single person or lost her "herd instinct", but died quietly in bed at the age of 91. Opiate addiction was once so common among soldiers in Europe and the United States who had undergone battlefield surgery that it was known as "the soldiers' disease". They spent years on a legal supply of the drug - and it did them no damage.

We cannot find any medical research from any source which will support the international governmental contention that heroin harms the body or mind of its users. Nor can we find any trace of our government or the American government or any other ever presenting or referring to any credible version of any such research. On the contrary, all of the available research agrees that, so far as harm is concerned, heroin is likely to cause some nausea and possibly severe constipation and that is all. In the words of a 1965 New York study by Dr Richard Brotman: "Medical knowledge has long since laid to rest the myth that opiates observably harm the body." Peanut butter, cream and sugar, for example, are all far more likely to damage the health of their users.

Now, move on to the allegation that heroin kills its users. The evidence is clear: you can fatally overdose on heroin. But the evidence is equally clear, that - contrary to the claims of politicians - it is not particularly easy to do so. Opiates tend to suppress breathing, and doctors who prescribe them for pain relief take advantage of this to help patients with lung problems. But the surprising truth is that, in order to use opiates to suppress breathing to the point of death, you have to exceed the normal dose to an extreme degree. Heroin is unusually safe, because - contrary to what those US congressmen were told in 1924 - the gap between a therapeutic dose and a fatal dose is unusually wide.
    Listen, for example, to Dr Teresa Tate, who has prescribed heroin and morphine for 25 years, first as a cancer doctor and now as medical adviser to Marie Curie Cancer Care. We asked her to compare heroin with paracetamol, legally available without prescription. She told us: "I think that most doctors would tell you that paracetamol is actually quite a dangerous drug when used in overdose; it has a fixed upper limit for its total dose in 24 hours and if you exceed that, perhaps doubling it, you can certainly put yourself at great risk of liver failure and of death, whereas with diamorphine (thats heroin folks), should you double the dose that you normally were taking, I think the consequence would be to be sleepy for a while and quite possibly not much more than that and certainly no permanent damage as a result." Contrary to the loudly expressed view of so many politicians, this specialist of 25 years' experience told us that when heroin is properly used by doctors, it is "a very safe drug".
    Until the American prohibitionists closed him down in the 20s, Dr Willis Butler ran a famous clinic in Shreveport, Louisiana, for old soldiers and others who had become addicted to morphine after operations. Among his patients, he included four doctors, two church ministers, two retired judges, an attorney, an architect, a newspaper editor, a musician from the symphony orchestra, a printer, two glass blowers and the mother of the commissioner of police. None of them showed any ill effect from the years which they spent on Dr Butler's morphine. None of them died as a result of his prescriptions. And, as Dr Butler later recalled: "I never found one we could give an overdose to, even if we had wanted to. I saw one man take 12 grains intravenously at one time. He stood up and said: 'There, that's just fine,' and went on about his business."

http://www.guardian.co.uk/drugs/Story/0,2763,506559,00.html

if you can get good quality heroin its actually quite safe despite what propaghanda has been drilled into our heads by the govt. the problem is the average heroin on the street, is harmful for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭s8n

Are you on drugs ?????

Where did that post come from ???

• Registered Users Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

really, telling the "benefits" of taking a drug as lethal as heroin is outrageous. Drugs are dangerous, harmful and potentially fatal and the 'feel-good' factor of taking them should not be advertised like this.

Yep, let's pretend drugs don't make you feel good. The only reason people take drugs is because they're criminals in the first place!

Then we'll all sing happy happy songs about kittens.

And then you can come and play with my unicorn on the moon!*

*quote nicked from someone or other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

SpacedOut wrote:
    if you can get good quality heroin its actually quite safe despite what propaghanda has been drilled into our heads by the govt. the problem is the average heroin on the street, is harmful for you.

The problem is the heroin on the street is illegal, is not regulated in any way, is of varying purities depending on the source/supplier/general availability and costs so damn much due to all of the above factors.
    Some cases of overdose happen when a glut of smack comes onto the streets after a "drought"...some addicts used to getting stuff that's cut to f*ck, may OD on the higher purity simply for the fact that their tolerance is low...but in most cases death due to heroin is likely to be in conjunction with alcohol consumption or a simple case of the user choking on their own vomit.
    Heroin cut with furniture polish and god knows what else, poisons the blood and can cause clots and all kinds of other complications for the injecting addict.
    The ironic thing is, that a dealer will make more profit from selling low purity smack because addicts need a lot more of it to keep them on the level.
    But the marketplace will move to fill that gap and someone will always offer better stuff or lower the price (assuming there's enough to go around)

While legalising may be a huge step to take, it would cut the danger to heroin addicts immensely, and would pull the rug out from beneath criminal suppliers (the real bastards here lest we forget)...but it seems that it's just easier to demonise the addicts and keep trying to stem the flow of supply; but we already have a methadone system (albeit a very poor one) in place...the leap from supplying meth to supplying hospital heroin isn't really that huge a leap is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭alantc

SpAcEd OuT wrote:

Yeah, poor people are the problem.

In theory your right but a conserviative estimate by the dept of health stated that 25% of prescription drugs are counterfits (as in not made by the companies that claim made them) kinda scary really.
    That is scary...

Amsterdam has the right attitude. I've been reading up on it a lot recently (going there on the 28th) and their attitude is that by legalising marijuana they take a big chunk of the market away from dealers. I'm not saying that dope is a large part of any dealers' dealings since it's not the most profitable substance but most people would "know" dealers from getting dope off them... That's how most people start with taking drugs...

By eliminating people meeting the dealers to buy dope they cut down on the amount of people that are going to ring them up asking for a gram of coke or a hit of smack...

They also have the belief that if someone is addicted to hard(er) drugs (depeding on your standpoint on the matter) they shouldn't be ostrisised (I can't spell that word... I just thought of an ostrich and adapted it...) or locked up. They know that these people need help and provide it.

There's a problem now (according to a few websites I've read regarding the subject) of people inadvertantly becoming addicted to opium through "Black Hash" which is a substance imported from Afghanistan that since the war began has seen the opium levels in hash upturn. Originally opium was added to cut with the hash because it was cheaper to process and pads out the actual dope.

Black hash is a kind of legal grey area as it's legal to sell (also a kind of grey area... they're allowed to sell up to 5 grams per person because it's an offence to have more than that at a time... still not totally legal but a very petty misdemenor in Amsterdam) as it comes through the back door and isn't regulated.

I know this is a little off topic but I think it relates somewhat to Dublin (and indeed other parts of the world) where drugs are a problem. If they decriminalise and regulate hash, the drug that most people who do drugs start off with, and take the business away from the dealers the likelyhood of someone going and finding a dealer is lessened...

I know it's not the ideal solution as it's inherently flawed if you believe in the whole "gateway drug" effect.

Hash was the first drug I tried and I have since tried harder drugs but I don't know how much I'd blame smoking a few spliffs for that... I'd call it more youthful experimentation than anything else...

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    Check with Martindale, the standard medical reference book, which records that heroin is used for the control of severe pain in children and adults, including the frail, the elderly and women in labour. It is even injected into premature babies who are recovering from operations. Martindale records no sign of these patients being damaged or morally degraded or becoming criminally deviant or simply insane. It records instead that, so far as harm is concerned, there can be problems with nausea and constipation.
    That's morphine though isn't it?

There's a big difference between getting an injection of morphine to help ease pain, during or after an operation or when in extreme pain, and heroin you go and buy off some dodgy guy down a lane in the city centre...

• Registered Users Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

steveland? wrote:
    That's morphine though isn't it?

There's a big difference between getting an injection of morphine to help ease pain, during or after an operation or when in extreme pain, and heroin you go and buy off some dodgy guy down a lane in the city centre...

As Wertz detailed above, its not Heroin itself which is dangerous - its **** that it's diluted with. Legilisation would allow regulation of quality and in one fell swoop eliminate the vast majority of heroin related deaths.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭turbot

My perspective is this:

1) Governments waste a huge amount of money attempting to fight drug use

2) Governments do the population an injustice by touting propaganda about drug use that promotes "just say no" as opposed to "be educated, be smart, be wise". Most teenagers learn about life through exploration. Due to the dissonance between government information and their life experiences, they figure out drugs for themselves, occassionaly to their detriment

3) Drugs are not all bad. It's possible to enhance your experience of music, life, people, dancing, art by purposefully changing your neurochemistry and altering your perceptions. Drugs are a convenient and easy way to achieve this, though not without risks. Many of the risks are due to a lack of decent education about drugs, brain chemistry, physical effects, quality of knowledge and a lack of information about "best practice" in taking drugs. If people are going to take them anyway, they may as well take them wisely.

4) It's possible to take some drugs, be enormously successful, live well, and for drugs to enhance your life, as opposed to harming it. To achieve this you need to be very educated, smart, and know exactly what you are doing. The disinformation about drugs often prevents this kind of intelligence from occuring.

5) Many issues associated with drugs are due to the appauling quality of drugs available on the street. The different between soap bar hashish and the purest of pure Nepalese pollen is huge, both in terms of the amount required to get high, and the after effects. The same is true of many things in life. Restrictions on the sale and trafficking of drugs tends to lead to poor quality drugs being generally available, and higher quality ones only available to people "in the know"

6) The use of psychotropics is often interwoven in different approaches to spirituality, and drugs arguably can help people develop appreciation for nature, etc.

7) If the government were smart in how they legalised and regulated all drugs, then:
    - It would be possible for more people who took drugs to only take drugs that are of an excellent quality
    - It would be possible to educate people about "best practice" in drug use and thus help mitigate many of the associated risks
    - The process of helping people who have experienced adverse side effects of drugs could become more self funding
    - Organised crime would find a major drop in its sources of income
    - The thrill factor of doing whats not allowed would be no longer associated with drugs
    - People who wanted to take drugs anyway, could do so more responsibly, and infrastructures could be created within society that encourage the safe usage of drugs, and the mitigation of side effects through nutrition, proper education, easy and simplified availability of nutrients and people trained in maintaining the safety of people who were taking drugs

Instead of blanket banning anything that pleasantly alters your neurochemistry, mankind could become wiser about exploring such things, and do so more intelligently. More better research could lead to safer approaches in these areas. Surely this is smart?

Perhaps this is too progressive an opinion for conservative society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Good post there turbot. If more people saw drugs in their non-sensationalist, cultural, historical context we wouldnt be in this mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I'd agree with CM Tranny that coke is ruining irish night clubs. It's becoming really sleazy and boring with clubbers on coke instead of pills, the buzz is gone completely. Bring back the mitsubishi and roles royces, now thats old school baby!

Coke is the biggest heap of ****e ever. I'd prefer to spend money on jack daniels tbh, i'd get a better bang for my buck anyway.

Agreed. If I had a time machine, Id make my parents meet way earlier in the 70s. That way Id be born in 1976 odd, and would have been a proper age for Dublins early/mid 90s club scene :( You get so jealous when you talk to taxi drivers and old men of rave at events/the dance forum here and they harp on about how great the old days were :(

Tbh for its price coke is a pretty boring drug. Dont do it often myself , several of my mates do it constantly, some verging on problem use, but I really cant see the attraction. Its alright, but its not all that. Maybe it just hits me less hard than most (dont know why, im average height/weight), but it dont compare to the good oul yip yip yips :) As someone said, the profits for ecstasy are simply too small these days. However there is still a demand- Id imagine the rise in ecstasy seizures near Christmas was a reaction to the huge demand- lack of supply that was seen at events such as Oxegen and Godskitchen lately. However, it is still primarily the main drug of choice for country folks and East Europeans these days (many of the Lithuanians etc are crazy into their club/dance culture, and its traditional drug). Ive been told in Dublin alot of the 14/15 year olds, jobless kids who cant afford coke, still do alot of e. I know one or two people who will refuse to take ecstasy because they are terrified of dropping dead 2 mins after they swallow it, yet these same people are well prepared to hoover line after line of coke up their nose:confused:

Theres a survey out saying 3% of Irish have taken it. In most of North Dublin I would say the figure of those who tried it must be well into the majority amongst young males (Id go as high as 80%), and probably the 40-60% mark for women, probably over 50%.

As for the jacks being given the anti sniff treatment, I know of certain clubs where, because so many of the punters are on coke, they seem to tolerate it/turn blind eye. People drink pretty much the same when taking coke as not in my view (unlike e, where the alcohol sales will suffer if the whole crowd is on it). If you go in all you can hear around you is the sound of snorting every 3 seconds from every cubicle. If they cared theyd post a bouncer in there (the black lads working as attendants will usually turn a blind eye, its rather a social etiquette by now that if you have been sounding like the Dyson test lab in the cubicle for 3 minutes you tip the guy handsomely to say nothing)

And is it just me or is the OP a journalist taking the lazy route of fishing for opinions? Off yer arse and on the street ya lazy git!

By the way kids I should add speed is a nasty nasty dirty drug :) Jaysus the day i went to work after that sh1te, it was horrendous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭BigArnie

i never would becuase i've the way people act when on it and its pathetic

I feel the same way about alcohol. I generally wouldn't say it though because it makes me look like a self-righteous pratt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭OsamaBinLaden

Tha Gopher wrote:
    Ive been told in Dublin alot of the 14/15 year olds, jobless kids who cant afford coke, still do alot of e.
    yeah, those kids who couldn't get jobs in the factories are real e heads.

Theres a survey out saying 3% of Irish have taken it. In most of North Dublin I would say the figure of those who tried it must be well into the majority amongst young males (Id go as high as 80%), and probably the 40-60% mark for women, probably over 50%.
    why would you say that?
    is it because people in north Dublin are stereotyped as being serial drug users?

SpAcEd OuT, why don't you go and try some of this good heroin and tell us what it's like. come back to us in a year and let us know of your orgasmic experiences.

listen, drugs are addictive and they alter your perceptions. that's why they are illegal. do you really want to meet someone on the street who is out of their head on coke/heroin/whatever every day of the week? you can legalise drugs, but you can't stop people from walking the streets while out of their heads. it's for your own safety that these things are illegal. we have enough problems with drunk people on the streets. do we really need to add heroin users to that list. there is also no breathalyser currently available to tell you if someone is driving while under the influence of drugs. cop the **** on, get your head out of your arse and s look at drugs in a sensible way.

yes, you can OD on paracetemol. you can also slit your wrists and bleed to death by falling out a window while off your head on heroin.

amsterdam isn't some paradise where everyone is all happy because weed is legal. it also has a seedy side that many of tyhe weekend hash tourists don't get to see.

just to reiterate: drugs are illegal for your own safety. it's not some government conspiracy to keep us from being happy. user beware.

on topic: cocaine is widespread here in Leixlip. go to any p[ub on any night of the week and people are doing it. someone mentioned something about having an outdoor area for coke users. i've seen people doing coke while i was out having a smoke and was offered some by those taking it. it's everywhere.

for the record, i have taken coke on ocasion and found it to be the most overrated drug ever. i smoked hash for years as a teenager. i've done speed twice. it was crap both times. i had my drink spiked with "E" and lost three hours. i've never enjoyed any drug more than i've enjoyed a few beers.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

yeah, those kids who couldn't get jobs in the factories are real e heads.
    Ah in fairness he could have been talking about schoolkids as well, he just said "jobless"

I agree with pretty much everything else youve said though

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

BigArnie wrote:
    I feel the same way about alcohol. I generally wouldn't say it though because it makes me look like a self-righteous pratt.

No it doesn't. If you don't like the way people behave under the influence of alcohol you have every right to let it be known.
    It doesn't make you a self- righteous pratt, it makes you a person with an opinion based on personal experience.

Coolsmielygirl has based her opinion on personal experience, as have I.

I am completely against the use of substances, such as cocaine, and, just because some people may feel differently, It doesn't make me a self-righteous pratt for saying so.