Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Trolling flies from a boat

• 10-03-2012 5:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 275 ✭✭

just wondering is this a common method in Ireland? As a total beginner to fly fishing I was surprised when I realised the main method was to cast in front of the moving boat continuously ... I imagined that the flies would be left behind the boat. This seemed appealing being easier for bad caster! and leisurely. Also surely with the flies being in the water more there's more chance of catching. There's obviuosly some very obvious reasons why people don't generally fish this way?? Can someone enlighten a bemused novice! Also, just wondering what method is generally used for dry fly on the lough?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭dvae

iv fished from a boat many, many times but have never thought of fishing this way. if I'm getting you right, i think the problem you may have is, the boat will be constantly drifting over the water your about to fish before the fly. when you fish straight out on a drift the first thing the fish should see is the fly and not the boat. the way you describe may work on stocked fishery's were the fish are not as easy spooked but, id have my doubts with wild fishery's such as corrib or mask.