Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derek Mooney Show *MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users Posts: 43,017 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Would love to hear the sound of a door getting broken down

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

"Caitriona has done a lot of research on human rights during her stint in Baku"

Right now she's telling us about the story on Panorama about the Azeri who voted for Armenia, followed by a story about the Azerbaijan donkey spoof - also from Panorama.

Catriona watches Panorama....in her spare time she works for RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,969 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Mooney is afraid to open his mouth about the regime:D

Well Azerbaijahn is a mostly homophobic country. If I was him I'd be keeping stum too.

syklops wrote: »
    Well Azerbaijahn is a mostly homophobic country. If I was him I'd be keeping stum too.

Dunno, he said he went out last night with a few local guys, who he later said are gay, and that there was no problem.

Although if the Azeris were going to clamp down on homosexual behaviour I doubt if this week would have been the most suitable :rolleyes:.

Unles they wanted shedloads of overtime.

edit: btw: report from France24 on Songfest related protests:

http://observers.france24.com/content/20120522-azerbaijan-eurovision-marred-crackdown-protest-opposition-baku-song-contest-freedom-assembly-journalists-jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I think we are just witnessing Paul Gee losing his job, live on air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Paul G has a beautiful voice

I think we are just witnessing Paul Gee losing his job, live on air.

Haven't heard singing like that since the last time I saw a Eurovision :D. His mastery of foreign languages is right up there with Healy-Rae's efforts in English.

Derek not far behind (if you'll pardon the obvious)..asking a Dutchman his height and getting the reply in metric asking "what's that in real measurement?" and then "did you come here on a bike?"....shades of his disastrous interview with the RTE Weatherman from Amsterdam when Derek got flummoxed after discovering that particular Dutchman was not gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Fail there derek

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Bobba Fett

He thanked the Sunday World for covering their costs and funding the trip out there so you irate licence fee payers can sleep easy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭telekon

Bobba Fett wrote: »
    Jaysus a lot venom here! Ye all need to step away from the radio if it's bothering you that much! By the way, hasn't Derek said that The Sunday World are their "Media Partners"? To me that implies sponsorship, so the usual "it's my money their spending" brigade might want to check that out before they wheel out the same tired argument.

I hope you include yourself in that 'brigade'...have you already forgotten your own venomous comments regarding John Murray's show coming from NY last year?
    The whole show is coming from New York for the week of St Patrick's Day. What a joke, in these tight times to be sending a team of people to America to present what is, in my opinion, a sub par show from some Irish bar in New York.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Bobba Fett

Haha I think it's pathetic that you went back through all of my posts there!

I've said that in one instance where the trip in question was *not* sponsored. I texted the show last year at 51551 and received a call from a producer saying that trips like that were budgeted for and it was quite normal for shows to go on one or two foreign OB's a year.

Also I have made no venomous remarks about John Murray's sexuality as many here have done on the Derek Mooney thread (this is where the adjective 'venomous' is appropriate, and not where you have quoted my previous post on the JMS thread). My comments on the JMS thread were not venomous as you have suggested.

For the record, I don't think it is appropriate for shows to be doing unsponsored foreign OB's in these tight times, although I will not regurgitate that opinion ad nauseum on the radio forum in a pathetic attempt to increase my post count like others here do.

*EDIT* Also I didn't mention licence fee paying in that JMS post either.

In fairness, you only have 18 posts. Not exactly a gargantuan effort to read them all and quote from them.

Plus your nick stands out.

Yea, all 18 posts. Took me all morning. :rolleyes:

By the way, I wasn't alluding to the sponsorship/non-sponsorship of RTE shows going abroad. I was just pointing out that you said pretty much the same thing about a different show.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Derek sounds like someone was 'up all night'

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

It's ironic that Derek appears stand-offish when it comes to the mature (26 is mature??) Jedward fans ("it's a bit wierd, but whatever you're into") when he fawns over them like a giggling schoolgirl.

"The party really started as mickey arrived"...

I'd say Derek is sorry he missed that night..

He sounds like a nice bloke, a bit of crack to be around. *runs off to become a MJH groupie*

His voice sounded really good, but that crowded house just didnt really work with just the guitar backing..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,633 ✭✭✭darkman2

Is Derek Mooney gay?

darkman2 wrote: »
    Is Derek Mooney gay?

Certainly not. What gave you that idea?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,633 ✭✭✭darkman2

I don't know. He just keeps going on about Jedward all the time and the tits in his garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Dirigent

Is Derek Mooney gay?

Who cares. Is Derek Mooney a very average broadcaster? Yes.

I don't know. He just keeps going on about Jedward all the time and the tits in his garden.

Maybe he is actually a pre-pubescent girl who likes nature,

First words out of Richard's mouth - more fcuking pedantry.
    (And Eánna seemed just to go along with Aengus and then was silent when the All-Knowing Richard corrected him in those dulcet (not patronising in the slightest, honest) tones of his).

• Registered Users Posts: 5 davidindublin

Oh God not Aengus again.......Life is too short to listen to him ...Bye

Oh ffs... Derek is so fkn petty...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Don't understand how the guy has an audience.

He has to pat himself on the back because no one else will. Pathetic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Derek reckons Jedward have 'huge career opportunities ahead of them' in Eastern Europe

He didnt say in what, I assume gay porn?

Off the Missus Grimes Boys bandwagon...onto the Missus Brr-owan's Boyas one.

And how brave of him to criticise the Azerbaijani regime, once he got off the plane from Baku.

Cretinous.