Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
20-02-2014, 13:40   #2806
radiowaves
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by Copyerselveson View Post
With the "lucky" effect that the Saorsat beam is completely blocked in Scotland and England. I would agree with Ronnie Raygun's view that overspill would need to be controlled for Saorsat to exist.
I'm really not sure why you have such difficulty understanding basics. Ronnie Raygun didn't express a viewpoint, he stated a fact. Irish TV channels do not have the rights to broadcast copyrighted material beyond this island.
radiowaves is offline  
Advertisement
20-02-2014, 14:24   #2807
Copyerselveson
Registered User
 
Copyerselveson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiowaves View Post
I'm really not sure why you have such difficulty understanding basics. Ronnie Raygun didn't express a viewpoint, he stated a fact. Irish TV channels do not have the rights to broadcast copyrighted material beyond this island.
Sorry but I actually know a lot more than "basics" about radio propagation and about the rights issues that RTE etc have regarding Saorsat so no need to get insulting thanks.
Copyerselveson is offline  
20-02-2014, 14:32   #2808
radiowaves
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by Copyerselveson View Post
Sorry but I actually know a lot more than "basics" about radio propagation and about the rights issues that RTE etc have regarding Saorsat so no need to get insulting thanks.
Where did I insult you thanks?
radiowaves is offline  
20-02-2014, 14:49   #2809
Copyerselveson
Registered User
 
Copyerselveson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiowaves View Post
Where did I insult you thanks?
Wink away.

So lets look at how 2RN manage to ensure that even 2m plus dishes outside the Irish footprint don't get a whiff of that Irish only signal.

Watty is as usual correct about the tighter footprints of Ka-Sat's spots but to be doubly sure that no signal escapes there has to be signals on the same frequency in the adjacent northern France and Scottish spots. Now Ka-Sat is not full and theory Tooway *could* have used other frequencies but luckily or otherwise for 2RN Tooway are using the same frequencies as Saorsat and Voila! No Saorsat signal outside the Irish footprint - in my humble opinion of course.

So there must be some sort of frequency co-ordination between 2RN and Ka-Sat to ensure that Saorsat stays within the Irish footprint. Maybe Ronnie Raygun or Radiowaves might or might not know any more about this.

I am reminded of the famous UHF link on the old RTE Museum building in Rathmines. Not sure of its real purpose but it did also happen to jam Radio Nova's UHF link to Nova Park from their Herbert Street studios.
Copyerselveson is offline  
20-02-2014, 14:58   #2810
John896
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Swansea, South Wales
Posts: 50
If that was the case that 2RN manage to ensure that even 2m plus dishes,outside the Irish footprint don't get a whiff of that Irish only signal.Then could you please tell me how am i, getting Saorsat on a 2.4m and 1.2m channel master satellite dish.Here in Swansea,South Wales.
John896 is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
20-02-2014, 14:59   #2811
Copyerselveson
Registered User
 
Copyerselveson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by John896 View Post
If that was the case that 2RN manage to ensure that even 2m plus dishes,outside the Irish footprint don't get a whiff of that Irish only signal.Then could you please tell me how am i, getting Saorsat on a 2.4m and 1.2m channel master satellite dish.Here in Swansea,South Wales.
You get them because you are outside of the French footprint. I suspect you would not get Saorsat much further east than Swansea. The footprints aren't a pure circle and as such Saorsat reception roughly corresponds to the extent of historic off air reception of RTE etc.
Copyerselveson is offline  
20-02-2014, 15:05   #2812
John896
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Swansea, South Wales
Posts: 50
One of my friends who lives in Cardiff can get Saorsat on a 1.8m Satellite dish.
John896 is offline  
20-02-2014, 15:23   #2813
Copyerselveson
Registered User
 
Copyerselveson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by John896 View Post
One of my friends who lives in Cardiff can get Saorsat on a 1.8m Satellite dish.
That's good, but that proves Watty's point about the tightness of the spots. To get a working signal in London for instance you would need an ever larger dish, say 2.5 m. However by the time you get to London the Northern France spot on the same frequency as Saorsat effectively blots it out.

I don't know the exact size of the French footprint but Cardiff must be the furthest east that the Saorsat signal can travel before the French spot blocks it. If there was no signal at all on the French spot it would be technically possible (but not that practical) to receive Saorsat and that would give 2RN and RTE kittens I would think.
Copyerselveson is offline  
20-02-2014, 15:41   #2814
Peter Rhea
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monaghan
Posts: 4,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Copyerselveson View Post
Now Ka-Sat is not full and theory Tooway *could* have used other frequencies but luckily or otherwise for 2RN Tooway are using the same frequencies as Saorsat and Voila! No Saorsat signal outside the Irish footprint - in my humble opinion of course.
Do you actually know what is or isn't on Ka-Sat? Never mind your theories or opinions.
Peter Rhea is offline  
Advertisement
20-02-2014, 15:57   #2815
MiCr0
Like a boss!
 
MiCr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: Dublin
Posts: 5,934
Stop bickering/personal comments - any more and i'm banning people for a month.
Discuss the topic ONLY
MiCr0 is offline  
Thanks from:
03-03-2014, 21:09   #2816
dmcdream
Registered User
 
dmcdream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belfast
Posts: 33
Hi folks,

Sorry to be here asking a Saorview question, as opposed to Saorsat question, but unfortunately I never received a reply in the dedicated Saorview forum.

I live in south Belfast, and since switchover have been receiving Saorview from Clermont Carn with no problems.

Unfortunately, since the launch of RTE 1 HD and RTE1 +1, I have begun encountering issues with momentary "freezing" of the picture. Luckily I'm still receiving RTE1's SD output on another channel, and it's coming through fine, along with the rest of the Saorview service.

I am using a Walker WP12DTB-R Receiver, connected to a 12 year old vertically polarised ‘Group C/D’ aerial erected on the roof of my family home, complete with mast-head amplifier.

Could anyone shed some light on what the problem might be? I'd be grateful for any advice anyone has.

Many Thanks!
dmcdream is offline  
03-03-2014, 21:24   #2817
Peter Rhea
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Monaghan
Posts: 4,181
The 'Television' forum is for discussion of TV programmes, not reception.

Saorview reception & technical issues are discussed in the Terrestrial section of Cable & Digital TV.

RTE1 HD is carried on the 2nd Saorview multiplex (mux 2), in a different 8 mHz UHF channel to mux 1 &, your reception of this channel must not be as good as the original mux 1 channel, which itself is more than likely borderline.
Peter Rhea is offline  
12-03-2014, 21:43   #2818
mickdw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10,725
Massive thread so hard to find info in it.
Im just wondering what size dish I would need for saorsat in north west mayo. Also, Ive fitted many a sky dish and have no issues aligning them.
Are the soarsat dishes difficult to align, Do the receivers have a sat meter similar to sky boxes?
mickdw is online now  
12-03-2014, 22:17   #2819
Gerry Wicklow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sth Wicklow
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickdw View Post
Massive thread so hard to find info in it.
Im just wondering what size dish I would need for saorsat in north west mayo. Also, Ive fitted many a sky dish and have no issues aligning them.
Are the soarsat dishes difficult to align, Do the receivers have a sat meter similar to sky boxes?
Not sure about size but the bigger the better. There is another satellite at the same 9° position which you could use to align onto first before switching to the Ka band LNB
Gerry Wicklow is offline  
12-03-2014, 22:27   #2820
zg3409
Registered User
 
zg3409's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickdw View Post
Massive thread so hard to find info in it.
Im just wondering what size dish I would need for saorsat in north west mayo. Also, Ive fitted many a sky dish and have no issues aligning them.
Are the soarsat dishes difficult to align, Do the receivers have a sat meter similar to sky boxes?
All of Mayo an 80cm SOLID dish is recommended. You need a special Saorsat LNB for the dish. The system does not carry TV3 and probably will not carry some future channels for financial reasons. The dishes are far more directional that a normal 80cm dish. They are as hard to align as a 1.5M dish. You should not be using the meter in the receiver to align the dish. Ideally you should use a proper meter. Even the cheapo inline meters are better than the meters that are built into receivers.

In theory you can use any satellite receiver that can decode HD satellite TV. The signal is a DVB-S2 signal so non HD boxes will not "see" it. It is recommended to use a satellite receiver with MHEG (not mpeg) for the digital TV guide. You may also be able to use a TV with inbuilt satellite receiver if needed.

The signal comes from 9East so the dish needs to point much further west than a Sky dish.

If you want the UK channels too you need a receiver with DiSEqC capability and either two dishes, or one dish with two LNBs. Mounting two LNBs on the one dish is tricky and hard to align, especially without a proper professional measurement tool.
zg3409 is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet