Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Post Pictures Of Your Catch. (Mod note in OP 14/05/2015)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭a148pro

jme2010 wrote: »
    Cheers man...very cold last night but managed to haul in 3 slabs.

Can anyone guess a weight for these bream? I have no scales but they are soooo heavy and 20-23 inches (50-50cm) long.

428174.jpeg

428175.jpeg

Do you mind me asking, did they go back?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Been a while since I last posted here - A few pics of some small bass I caught in September in rosslare. The 3 pictured were 3 of about 70 caught in a total of 8 hrs over 3 nights in manic fishing conditions. No fish over 2lbs but great scrapping fish.

21768187_171278790090053_8776350093499776150_n.jpg?oh=e336c5dc343115c41f26816d268144a0&oe=5AAA2B69

21768113_171278710090061_4358212072034408945_n.jpg?oh=94dd6429e35004d36f24ddc89cc31c53&oe=5A683D8F

22007840_171278643423401_9153986719409301332_n.jpg?oh=de61fe6ccb50e659fcb8988d40241100&oe=5A7727EE

A Cuckoo Ray - Also from rosslare

20664572_159053354645930_8319402645045138767_n.jpg?oh=09551fc58cdefa336cc77f7fe4b587c2&oe=5A662516

20664630_159053327979266_8553517695400715614_n.jpg?oh=5d76ff8d5ea033217870eb41479572f5&oe=5A7D4E97

A better Bass from Kilmuckridge - but still on the schoolie size scale

20376209_155050648379534_7440227377178046747_n.jpg?oh=df3755cfb5bb2bb02d3ec7260488ede3&oe=5A64E1EA

I thought this was a whiting while unhooking - Lucky me I copped it :D

19959277_150830332134899_1872397038094158359_n.jpg?oh=7ffac9abb1b79ee872eea601cd81b953&oe=5A6F56DF

A Stone Loach I picked up during the Summer

18765720_132734667277799_1400294300320934340_n.jpg?oh=a53737b7c0b26dd388654c191c520c18&oe=5AAA15ED

Nice Trout

19601539_147493069135292_5801042132164128174_n.jpg?oh=b5a95fb90da93cd88b598a67fdff8b1e&oe=5A64F10F

And my first Lake Bow

20294456_155050621712870_433100856076411235_n.jpg?oh=133cf8c3685b5fd73dac9171719ea879&oe=5A78E703

• Registered Users Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭.red.

Brave boy catching the weever like that lol.
    The cuckoo ray is a great catch, not a fish everybody will have on their species list.

.red. wrote: »
    Brave boy catching the weever like that lol.
    The cuckoo ray is a great catch, not a fish everybody will have on their species list.

I didnt even know it was a weaver for ages -when it came out of the water I just said whiting to myself and went into unhooking/rebaiting mode! How I didnt prick myself i'll never know.

Cuckoo was unusual all right - probably the only one i'll ever see - Stunning looking tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ Claudia Sticky Combat

pictures#n_5

https://srameenphoto.shutterfly.com/pictures#n_5

First day out and first time taking a photo with my phone. 5 others just like this in an hour on my local river. Nice start to the year

Hope this uploads as I haven't a clue how to do it.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Surprised anything on the take Srameen. Given the meltwater around the place, the water must have been Baltic.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

pictures#n_5

https://srameenphoto.shutterfly.com/pictures#n_5

First day out and first time taking a photo with my phone. 5 others just like this in an hour on my local river. Nice start to the year

Hope this uploads as I haven't a clue how to do it.:mad:

Link works perfectly, great brownie.
    I'm dying to get out myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,119 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Not a picture but a link to the new two part Irish programme (RTE1 tonight at 9.30) about marine life in our part of the Atlantic.
    https://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/955055-irelands-deep-atlantic/

• Registered Users Posts: 17 mechanical aid

Nice trout from my local river

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭jack01986

Nice trout from my local river

Nice catch! Not to sound too preachy but its better for the fish if you keep them off the dry ground like that as it can remove the protective slime from the fish. Unless you were keeping it then it doesn't really matter

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

I wanted to post up a pic of a half dozen flies given to me by an angler on the Dodder. I think he tied them himself. Never got his name, helluva gift. Fishing on the Nanny tomorrow, geared up like I’m invading Iraq. Is there a way to post a pic from ones phone without having to save it online? Anyone else fishing tomorrow?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Is there a way to post a pic from ones phone without having to save it online? Anyone else fishing tomorrow?

Yes, use 'Attach file' or 'manage attachments' and you should be able to put it up. It's a lot easier with a pc but you'll get it up with the phone too.

I think you can attach a photo directly without having to host it somewhere. Might try get out for an hour or two on the Dodder. A generous gift.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Upload Testing

• Registered Users Posts: 3,708 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Your aging well Eddie!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Your aging well Eddie!

Lol thats a picture of one of tge young lads with his first pike. His handling skills leave a lot to be desired, but they've improved a lot since that was taken.

Getting back into fly fishing I forgot how impossible it is without patience. Sweating like a horse from 2pm, fish started to rise about 5pm. A bite or two but I managed to scare every fish in the river. Also got charged by a herd of young cattle, scared the bejebus out of me. Learning curve still steep but not as tough as years ago. YouTube is a much more vast resource now. Hope that the picture of the gift of flies works, a couple of them are in the bushes on the other side of the river tonight... still, gorgeous weather all day.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

I wanted to post up a pic of a half dozen flies given to me by an angler on the Dodder. I think he tied them himself. Never got his name, helluva gift. Fishing on the Nanny tomorrow, geared up like I’m invading Iraq. Is there a way to post a pic from ones phone without having to save it online? Anyone else fishing tomorrow?

how did you get on down the nanny?been down a few times the last few weeks and not a thing.proably down to me as just starting out.

the bolt wrote: »
    how did you get on down the nanny?been down a few times the last few weeks and not a thing.proably down to me as just starting out.

No, a regular I was talking to today said that because the water was so cold this last month that everyone is finding it tough. Having said that I saw a dozen fish rise over a two mile stretch after 5pm and if I had have matched the hatch better and taken things quieter I would have done better. It’s just a small river and I don’t think there’s many large fish in there, mainly, I think, coz people eat them. I also heard that there’s 3 families of otters on the river and I definitely saw otter tracks today under the bridge that runs across the m1. I’m not sure how many otters there really are but I think they would have better luck with the sizable number of mullet in the estuary, rather than the tiddler trout further upstream.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Eddie B wrote: »
    Lol thats a picture of one of tge young lads with his first pike. His handling skills leave a lot to be desired, but they've improved a lot since that was taken.

In fairness to him. At that age last places kid wants his hands to be near is a pikes head.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

No, a regular I was talking to today said that because the water was so cold this last month that everyone is finding it tough. Having said that I saw a dozen fish rise over a two mile stretch after 5pm and if I had have matched the hatch better and taken things quieter I would have done better. It’s just a small river and I don’t think there’s many large fish in there, mainly, I think, coz people eat them. I also heard that there’s 3 families of otters on the river and I definitely saw otter tracks today under the bridge that runs across the m1. I’m not sure how many otters there really are but I think they would have better luck with the sizable number of mullet in the estuary, rather than the tiddler trout further upstream.

both otter and mink i hear

• Registered Users Posts: 17 mechanical aid

jack01986 wrote: »
    Nice catch! Not to sound too preachy but its better for the fish if you keep them off the dry ground like that as it can remove the protective slime from the fish. Unless you were keeping it then it doesn't really matter
    Hi this was the 1st pic I've posted of a fish so had do. Always fish bar less on the Rivers and they all go back. No harm on pointing out responsible fishing practises though, cheers

First attempt at the shad this morning for an hr and had wonderful craic - Learned alot about them and it was a bloody glorious day.

They take a bit of getting used to regards the play, I lost my 2 first hookups but managed the 3rd then had to leave for work :(

Anyway - I'll be back for them :D

32440362_459049821219790_9088631572680146944_n.jpg

32657530_459049871219785_5282921997280477184_n.jpg

32680606_459049901219782_8032158386248220672_n.jpg

32692561_459049921219780_8421979925954691072_n.jpg

32732034_459049954553110_8896466017073496064_n.jpg

Always interested in trying for them Ardinn do you think they'd take a fly or is it only Tasmanian devils they are interested in?

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭He Who Dares Wins

ardinn wrote: »
    First attempt at the shad this morning for an hr and had wonderful craic - Learned alot about them and it was a bloody glorious day.

They take a bit of getting used to regards the play, I lost my 2 first hookups but managed the 3rd then had to leave for work :(

Always would like to get down and try fish for these. Use to get some great bream down there.

jack01986 wrote: »
    Always interested in trying for them Ardinn do you think they'd take a fly or is it only Tasmanian devils they are interested in?

There is a better lure ;)

Pm me if your heading down!!

• Registered Users Posts: 421 ✭✭nokiatom

ipSo8Sy.jpg

ardinn wrote: »

32440362_459049821219790_9088631572680146944_n.jpg

32657530_459049871219785_5282921997280477184_n.jpg

32680606_459049901219782_8032158386248220672_n.jpg

32692561_459049921219780_8421979925954691072_n.jpg

32732034_459049954553110_8896466017073496064_n.jpg

Gorgeous day for it! I am thinking of heading down to st Mullins next weekend in search of my first shad too, what stage of the tides do you think is best,?

davycc wrote: »
    Gorgeous day for it! I am thinking of heading down to st Mullins next weekend in search of my first shad too, what stage of the tides do you think is best,?

I have started a thread on this as to not de-rail the picture thread!

Getting back into fly fishing I forgot how impossible it is without patience. Sweating like a horse from 2pm, fish started to rise about 5pm. A bite or two but I managed to scare every fish in the river. Also got charged by a herd of young cattle, scared the bejebus out of me. Learning curve still steep but not as tough as years ago. YouTube is a much more vast resource now. Hope that the picture of the gift of flies works, a couple of them are in the bushes on the other side of the river tonight... still, gorgeous weather all day.

I found 5 flies clearing out my tackle box and I don't fly fish anymore, in a tiny case you're more than welcome to them you like ?