Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

RHCP - 26th June 2012 Croke Park

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

From AH

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

About three fiddy

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Was it any good? I didn't go because last time I saw them in the o2 they weren't in my opinion worth 70 quid...

I wasn't impressed. Definitely not worth 75 quid....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Sound was terrible. I could either hear Bass, Vocals, or Drums. The odd time I could hear the Guitar his style seemed sub par and didn't mix well with the rest of the band.

You really could sense that they were missing John.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭TheStook

LeftBlank wrote: »
    Unlikely you'll get onto the pitch - they are very strict about it in Crok Park.

Well I tried and succeeded ;), we're lucky we jumped when we did because the stewards we're basically holding hands a while after, great gig

• Registered Users Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

It was an alright gig. Sound was very low. Having to go back to the entrance for a drink or wee was a nightmare

• Registered Users Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

TheStook wrote: »
    Well I tried and succeeded ;), we're lucky we jumped when we did because the stewards we're basically holding hands a while after, great gig

We just walked in onto the pitch. No one checked our tickets. Just got frisked.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭TheStook

We just walked in onto the pitch. No one checked our tickets. Just got frisked.

How did you walk on, there was barriers across the stadium? Or d'you mean you entered the stadium in the standing section?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Does anyone know how many people were at the Chillis gig in Croke Park last night?!...

Just over 45,000.

On the sound issue, I'm no expert, but would the sound issue be caused, in part by the fact the stadium was only half full? The sound at Westlife was perfect.

The reason they finished so early was not because of licences, they had to go to the airport. Westlife played past 11.

All in all, I'm glad I didnt pay to see them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

mmcn90 wrote: »
    Just over 45,000.

On the sound issue, I'm no expert, but would the sound issue be caused, in part by the fact the stadium was only half full? The sound at Westlife was perfect.

The reason they finished so early was not because of licences, they had to go to the airport. Westlife played past 11.

Nope, more bodies deaden the sound. The problem was with the mixing. For big acts like RHCP, this is usually done by their own production crew.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

hardCopy wrote: »
    Had a great night, we were in the Davin stand. Didn't notice any sound problems here apart from being out of sync with the visuals, which was annoying since all we could really see from that distance were the screens.

Same here. Sound was brilliant there. For a change you could clearly hear the vocals and instruments, which considering how loud the RHCP were, was some feat. There was terrible mistakes made as they played, though, almost all on the guitar, as far as I could make out. That is some way to play a bass guitar.....:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭FatRat

mmcn90 wrote: »
    Just over 45,000.

You're right, you're not an expert ;) The sound at westlife was perfect because of the lack of instruments. It's a few lads singing, no huge drum/bass and guitar noises to worry about. Chili's are all about the instrumental part aswell as the vocals so there had to be an extremely bassy and drum-filled vibe to the sound as there always does. One thing I noticed is the guitar was very low. Same with their lasts gig here too. It was a Flea-show when really there should be just as much emphasis on the lead guitar. Josh killed some of Frusciante's guitar pieces. I nearly cried for the Universally Speaking solo. It was awful. As for not playing past 12, what you just said is a load of cack. Westlife couldn't have played past 11 and if they did there was probably a lot of consequences, Croke Park are extremely strict about the 11 o' clock rule. No events can go on past 11 there because of the residential area they are in. Also, I think Westlife used the same speaker system as the chili's. Obviously the chili's had amps etc. but the speaker system on the side of the stage. It wasn't really up to scratch imo. Grand for Westlife but not for the Chili's. And the Chili's left before 11 because thye had to catch a flight???? hahahahaha :pac: What are you on about!!

I thought the concert was great. I was in a nice spot, I could see them in person and the sound was very good from where I was standing. (Guitar was still too low though). The crowd from where I was standing were mental and despite what previous posters have said, I think the atmosphere is about as important as how the chili's perform and some ares of the stadium were dead, in fairness. From what I can tell from others, it was only certain areas of the stadium had horrible sound, because the sound I was getting was good. I'm a bit of tech-head myself and something I noticed when wandering around before the gig was the sound-tent in the centre of the pitch. There was ONE PERSON working inside it with several sound-desks, he was working them on his own. I didn't really question it until after the gig when people were complaining about the sound. What can be expected of 1 person? A bit odd but a bit of a joke too.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Shreddy Krueger

Slightly off topic to the discussion at hand regarding the RHCP but ive been going to gigs for years and at every one of them ive bought a t-shirt(Even if it is a rip-off) except for last night because I had planned on buying it after the concert but I was unable to make my way to the merch stall. I was just wondering if theres anyone who bought a t-shirt at this last night, official or bootleg that would be willing to sell it at whatever price ? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭gagiteebo

I'm a huge RHCP fan and this was, imo, their worst gig. Nevermind about sound quality etc but they were totally disinterested and barely interacted with the crowd, I was so disappointed. Not worth 70 odd euro. I found myself getting a bit bored :(

On a side note, I was on the pitch near the stand where they were selling t-shirts. I have been to many concerts over the years and have to say the behaviour of some people shocked me. You weren't allowed alcohol on pitch yet everyone around me had some, smuggled in in 7up bottles etc. Some people were so badly drunk they had to be held up by friends or fell asleep, fell onto other people and I even saw one poor girl get puked on. I'm no fuddy duddy by any means but I was disgusted at the behaviour of what seemed like a lot of people. Did anyone else notice this?

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭RedmanDublin

FatRat wrote: »
    You're right, you're not an expert ;) The sound at westlife was perfect because of the lack of instruments. It's a few lads singing, no huge drum/bass and guitar noises to worry about. Chili's are all about the instrumental part aswell as the vocals so there had to be an extremely bassy and drum-filled vibe to the sound as there always does. One thing I noticed is the guitar was very low. Same with their lasts gig here too. It was a Flea-show when really there should be just as much emphasis on the lead guitar. Josh killed some of Frusciante's guitar pieces. I nearly cried for the Universally Speaking solo. It was awful. As for not playing past 12, what you just said is a load of cack. Westlife couldn't have played past 11 and if they did there was probably a lot of consequences, Croke Park are extremely strict about the 11 o' clock rule. No events can go on past 11 there because of the residential area they are in. Also, I think Westlife used the same speaker system as the chili's. Obviously the chili's had amps etc. but the speaker system on the side of the stage. It wasn't really up to scratch imo. Grand for Westlife but not for the Chili's. And the Chili's left before 11 because thye had to catch a flight???? hahahahaha :pac: What are you on about!!

I thought the concert was great. I was in a nice spot, I could see them in person and the sound was very good from where I was standing. (Guitar was still too low though). The crowd from where I was standing were mental and despite what previous posters have said, I think the atmosphere is about as important as how the chili's perform and some ares of the stadium were dead, in fairness. From what I can tell from others, it was only certain areas of the stadium had horrible sound, because the sound I was getting was good. I'm a bit of tech-head myself and something I noticed when wandering around before the gig was the sound-tent in the centre of the pitch. There was ONE PERSON working inside it with several sound-desks, he was working them on his own. I didn't really question it until after the gig when people were complaining about the sound. What can be expected of 1 person? A bit odd but a bit of a joke too.

From where I was (middle of the pitch to the right slightly) the sound was all over the place. Very disappointing. Guitar too low, snare - barely able to hear it. Vocals too low alot of the time too. What did you make of the sound for Noel Gallagher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

You're right, you're not an expert ;) The sound at westlife was perfect because of the lack of instruments.

I wasn't there but I'd be pretty confident in saying they had a full band backing them up. Possibly had a few string s and horns thrown in too so there could have been a lot more instruments to balance than what the Chillis had last night. As I said I wasn't there but you can take it that they at least had guitar, bass, drums, keys.

From where I was (middle of the pitch to the right slightly) the sound was all over the place. Very disappointing. Guitar too low, snare - barely able to hear it. Vocals too low alot of the time too. What did you make of the sound for Noel Gallagher?

His sound was fine. He even had an organ/piano thrown into the mix and it still sounded great. But that said, I was in pretty much the same position for him as I was for the Chili's, they both sounded fine from where I was but Noel sounded better.
    I wasn't there but I'd be pretty confident in saying they had a full band backing them up. Possibly had a few string s and horns thrown in too so there could have been a lot more instruments to balance than what the Chillis had last night. As I said I wasn't there but you can take it that they at least had guitar, bass, drums, keys.

I wasn't there either. But even though I wasn't there I still know that RHCP's sound would be miles more difficult to mix than Westlife's would've been. It's all about Vocals for Westlife, Vocals rarely distort and are easily controlled/mixed. While the Chili peppers are notorious for extremely loud drums and bass, which is a nightmare to control and mix but by right (with the right equipment and sound engineers) they should still have had a perfect sound. But they didn't according to most who were there so the sound techs didn't do their job right or the equipment wasn't up to scratch.

What I think happened (this is a wild guess based on what I could see last night) is that Westlife played at the weekend. The same stage was used for them as was used for RHCP (afaik) therefore, they probably used the same sound system. If they did than it was obviously suited for Westlife more-so than the Chili Peppers. Infact, from looking at pictures on FB, they did use the same equipment. Same speaker system on the side of the stage. Again, this is just a guess at why the sound wasn't great.

Eh, firstly its not all vocals for Westlife, they had a full band backing them up, plus support acts, ok not the same as RHCP but hardly just vocals.

Secondly, they finished at 22.35 even though they could play until 11. Don't dismiss something as cack just because you don't agree with it, my statement was made on the basis of being informed of this by the event controller and Gardai, an escort was arranged for them as their flight was scheduled to leave from Dublin Airport.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭whatever_

His sound was fine. He even had an organ/piano thrown into the mix and it still sounded great. But that said, I was in pretty much the same position for him as I was for the Chili's, they both sounded fine from where I was but Noel sounded better.

I wasn't there either. But even though I wasn't there I still know that RHCP's sound would be miles more difficult to mix than Westlife's would've been. It's all about Vocals for Westlife, Vocals rarely distort and are easily controlled/mixed. While the Chili peppers are notorious for extremely loud drums and bass, which is a nightmare to control and mix but by right (with the right equipment and sound engineers) they should still have had a perfect sound. But they didn't according to most who were there so the sound techs didn't do their job right or the equipment wasn't up to scratch.

What I think happened (this is a wild guess based on what I could see last night) is that Westlife played at the weekend. The same stage was used for them as was used for RHCP (afaik) therefore, they probably used the same sound system. If they did than it was obviously suited for Westlife more-so than the Chili Peppers. Infact, from looking at pictures on FB, they did use the same equipment. Same speaker system on the side of the stage. Again, this is just a guess at why the sound wasn't great.

I was up in the gods (Upper, Hogan) and from there the sound was fine (really fine). Someone commented that the bass was up and the lead guitar was down, and I agree with that, and also that it was probably a decision taken by the band. Noel sounded good too, although we did lose his vocals from time to time - I assumed he was resting his voice / too far from the mike on occasions.

In general, I think outdoor gigs can be problematic for sound engineers, and I would never expect the sound to be as good at somewhere like Croke Park as compared to a purpose built arena like the O2. I agree that it was probably down to inadequecies of the PA system used at Croke Park (inadequate frequency range ? ) I'm guessing.

I thought it was a really excellent gig. If the sound wasn't right on the pitch why not complain (to the promoter) ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6 fatgleeson

This was my first time in Croke park let alone my first gig there so i had no pre conceptions on what i should expect. The sound really bummed me out though, all i heard for Noel Gallagher was the super-loud kick drum doing that same beat for every single song, and for the chilis (the reason I was there) i couldnt hear the guitar. I could hear bass and vocals, but not clearly enough to hear exactly what they were playing, just knew they were making noise. Drums were fine for the chilis though.

I agree with what someone else said about the amount of scobes there. I couldnt get over it either, there were so many people that probably just got drunk and went to the gig because its 'a gig' and something for them to do. Then started being idiots to everyone else that wanted to hear the music. There was a few trying to rob peoples pockets too which ruined it for me, i had to keep looking around and trying to watch out for myself when i just wanted to hear the band play.

I was disappointed with the setlist, really just disappointed. They played all the hits but nothing else. The jams were great but there was nothing interesting about the gig. I suppose they know most of the rhcp fans in Ireland only really listen to the popular songs so they belted out what they knew would get a reaction but its nice to hear the unreleased tracks too. Suck My Kiss was great though and was my highlight, that and the bass part of By The Way with all the green and blue lights, the place went mental for that. As for Klinghoffer, I think he's great. Never listened to him before but knew he did stuff with Frusciante and RHCP for years. Hes basically John 2.0 with the way he plays, I think after a while he'll come into his own in the band, probably on their next album he'll trying making it more his style of playing than Frusciante's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Most bands, especially ones the size of RHCP have extensive specs on what they require for the gig. This goes from small things on their rider like bottles of beer all the way up to what sound system they require. There is no way the RHCP would have settled for sound equipment that wasn't suited to them.

There's an old story about how Van Halen specifically requested no brown M&Ms at their gigs. This was at the bottom of the rider. The reason they put it there was to check on the promoter. If there were brown M&Ms in the bowl, he didn't read their requests fully so it go them thinking abut what else he could have missed (i.e. more important stuff), like the sound equipment etc. So stuff like having the correct sound system is very important to bands and I doubt the Chilis are any different.

I wasn't at Croker yesterday either but when you have a 3/4 full stadium, a bit of humidity, a bit of a breeze and God knows what other atmosphere/stadium issues, the sound can be very hard to get right and I'd say it was a simple as that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,835 ✭✭✭RayCon

fatgleeson wrote: »
    I agree with what someone else said about the amount of scobes there. I couldnt get over it either, there were so many people that probably just got drunk and went to the gig because its 'a gig' and something for them to do. Then started being idiots to everyone else that wanted to hear the music. There was a few trying to rob peoples pockets too which ruined it for me, i had to keep looking around and trying to watch out for myself when i just wanted to hear the band play..

Welcome to outdoor gigs in Ireland ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Does anyone know if smoking was permitted in the Cusack stand last night, the amount of smokers really pished me off.

deisedave wrote: »
    Does anyone know if smoking was permitted in the Cusack stand last night, the amount of smokers really pished me off.

No it wasn't, did you report it to a steward? You can't expect them to see everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 teacake

Anyone know why Kiedis didn't say anything to the fans at the end? Overall it was a good gig, but it is not one in years to come that will pop in to your head and say to yourself 'that was insane' , there was something missing.

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭UserName 217

teacake wrote: »
    Anyone know why Kiedis didn't say anything to the fans at the end? Overall it was a good gig, but it is not one in years to come that will pop in to your head and say to yourself 'that was insane' , there was something missing.

I was just going to post about this. Was looking on youtube for a video, but as soon as he finished singing give it away he walked off and the rest did their outro. He didn't wave or do anything.

This was probably the only thing I didn't like about last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,712 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

this was my first RHCP gig and quite enjoyable. I think the setlist was quite good, really enjoyed Otherside, by the way, californation, look around and Under the Bridge, Universally speaking was a suprise. The only that was a bit boring was some of the jamming stuff but it shows how good musicans these guys are. I thought Antony keidis vocals were quite good but he didnt interact with the crowd a whole lot, i could not understand a word he was saying when he did speark and he didnt even say goodnight. I wish the chilis got longer but as croke park is a residential area the gig had to be over by a certain time.

Enjoyed Noel Gallaghers high flying birds especially the oasis covers but to be fair the solo stuff was quite good and has the oasis sound. Again could not understand much Noel was saying but he seemed to enjoy himself.

Didnt get in for the Vaccines so cant judge them.

I was sitting up in section 505 of the cusack premium and really enjoyed the atmosphere. The sound was very good and clear except for some of the speeches. Stewards were driven mad telling people to sit down but in fairness its a rock show and people cant sit down but there was no trouble caused.

Premium level is quite expensive its a bummer youre not allowed glass bottles out at the seats but theres good reasons for that. If you want comfort than premium level is for you but you really need to be there early to enjoy some of the facilties.

All in all enjoyed the show. Not too pushed to go and see RHCP or Noel Gallaghers HFB again because i believe they done the songs i wanted to hear and they cant do nothing new for me.

If John Frustaine came back to the chilis and maybe Oasis reformed than thats a totally different story.

Anyone else feel RHCP days are numbered ???

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭Getronicle

I was just going to post about this. Was looking on youtube for a video, but as soon as he finished singing give it away he walked off and the rest did their outro. He didn't wave or do anything.

This was probably the only thing I didn't like about last night.

I'm pretty sure he was saying his goodbyes while the others were jamming after Give it Away, but it was completely inaudible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

teacake wrote: »
    ....there was something missing.

John Frusciante

Most bands, especially ones the size of RHCP have extensive specs on what they require for the gig. This goes from small things on their rider like bottles of beer all the way up to what sound system they require. There is no way the RHCP would have settled for sound equipment that wasn't suited to them.

Very true. That's why I question the fact that they used the same speakers as Westlife, they hardly have the exact same needs in terms of speakers???? They had their own amps and on-stage equipment alright, of course, just like every other band would. But that comes to nothing if the speakers aren't up to spec. I was actually reading on a chili's forum about the gig and one poster pointed out the speakers at the venue and that they were nowhere near up to standard for a venue the size of croke park. He wasn't at the gig, he just noticed from a picture posted of croke park BEFORE the gig. I too noticed it. They had 16 speakers either side of the stage with another 16 odd stack of speakers in the middle of the pitch.

Anyway, it's all speculation from my point of view. Like you said, all bands require their own equipment to be perfectly set-up the way they like it. Unless Westlife and the Chili's have the exact same speaker set-up, there's no way of explaining why they used the same speaker set-up. Unless Croke Park wouldn't allow the speaker system to be modified. There could be a noise limit? ..... Nah, I'm probably going too far. I'll stop here.