Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Youths Rugby

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭munsterman96

The provincial set up is a joke they should either start the club games later or else play the inter pros earlier. 5 Of our club players who are key will not be available untill the end of October after the interpros.Crazy to me

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

The provincial set up is a joke they should either start the club games later or else play the inter pros earlier. 5 Of our club players who are key will not be available untill the end of October after the interpros.Crazy to me
    Set up is not a joke and reason Youths interpro's are later than the rest is the same Connacht 18s squad plays in both schools and youths interpro's but AFAIK this will change from next season on and Connacht will field separate squads in the u18 youths and clubs interpros which should mean Youths u18 interpro's can be played earlier in September with no games in October.

Yes a round of two of club competitive games will be played while interpros are on but that shouldn't affect too many clubs. Yes ye in Waterpark will be missing a few but they will benefit from it and ye will as others will get games and ye are still likely to win the games any way so it doesn't matter

Anyway not a real issue that clubs leagues are not starting til almost October as by October clubs have virtually all players back from GAA which helps with teams fielding etc

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Dropkick22

The provincial set up is a joke they should either start the club games later or else play the inter pros earlier. 5 Of our club players who are key will not be available untill the end of October after the interpros.

I agree with u totally , they will be released usually ( well in south munster )a week before the league starts , parachuted back into the starting lineup , with lads dropped back to the subs bench after training hard from the start of preseason , not to mention training once a week with munster after that with little or no information coming from munster
    Clubs become 2nd class citizens at youth level !

Dropkick22 wrote: »
    I agree with u totally , they will be released usually ( well in south munster )a week before the league starts , parachuted back into the starting lineup , with lads dropped back to the subs bench after training hard from the start of preseason , not to mention training once a week with munster after that with little or no information coming from munster
    Clubs become 2nd class citizens at youth level !
    Clubs are not 2nd class citizens at all. The players will be back to clubs more than a week before the competitive games and if theyre not then theyre not. Not as big a deal as you're making it out to be.
    If you feel there is little info coming from Munster. Contact them. You as a coach are wondering about the development of your players and your team and the coaches who are in the main professional development officers will know what you mean and be understanding to your plight.
    If those who are dropped to bench due to provincial players coming back is it not better that they got some games instead of no games at all and then they can work to get more games in the season even with the provincial player there.

Clubs are not 2nd class citizens at all. The players will be back to clubs more than a week before the competitive games and if theyre not then theyre not. Not as big a deal as you're making it out to be.
    If you feel there is little info coming from Munster. Contact them. You as a coach are wondering about the development of your players and your team and the coaches who are in the main professional development officers will know what you mean and be understanding to your plight.
    If those who are dropped to bench due to provincial players coming back is it not better that they got some games instead of no games at all and then they can work to get more games in the season even with the provincial player there.
    I beg to differ lost sheep , I've expecerienced it 1st hand , my interest is in my club , I want my club to excel and as a coach my goal for the year is what or how my team does for the year, to train coach cajol and create a sense that my club my family my home ( like every other coach in munster )I understand the lad from waterpark , they have brought lads to a standard that they can play for munster( and I'm sure every1 in the club is delighted for those lads and fair play to them) but ask the coach of the club team that they are in , how he feels about trying to ready a team missing third of his team - yes it's great that those lads playing friendliest for the past 6 weeks before the league starts get humped to the subs bench and those on the sub bench before that cannot play league with rules of numbers on the sub bench , I want my club to do well if there are munster players there well tally ho munster !!!!! We don't get paid we do it for the love of the game our clubs and our community

Yes it is difficult but you get on and do like any good coach will you plan you're time without your representative players, you organise your sessions etc to best utilise what is currently available and you manage how to best get out of what is currently available. As a ref and as a player in a club that has had 22/23+ at most age groups ive never seen a ref make any kind of ruling on numbers on a subs bench. Never once seen any official have I seen any kind of ruling that would stop players from togging and playing.

Anyway hopefully all leagues will see an increase in number of teams competing in Munster now that the age groups have gone back to what the majority desired

Yes it is difficult but you get on and do like any good coach will you plan you're time without your representative players, you organise your sessions etc to best utilise what is currently available and you manage how to best get out of what is currently available. As a ref and as a player in a club that has had 22/23+ at most age groups ive never seen a ref make any kind of ruling on numbers on a subs bench. Never once seen any official have I seen any kind of ruling that would stop players from togging and playing.

Anyway hopefully all leagues will see an increase in number of teams competing in Munster now that the age groups have gone back to what the majority desired

Hopefully west munster have a league if that happens , going to 18,s will have been a success ,
    there are rules for the amount of subs in league games 7 with a full front row subbing 5 with prop and hooker 3 with prop no props no hooker no. subs last 1 could be adult grade
    Oh and well done to the 19,s v Leinster last Saturday !!!!

Hopefully west munster have a league if that happens , going to 18s will have been a success ,
    there are rules for the amount of subs in league games 7 with a full front row subbing 5 with prop and hooker 3 with prop no props no hooker no. subs last 1 could be adult grade
    Oh and well done to the 19s v Leinster last Saturday !!!!
    May still be an issue. Think some sides have postponed games already but its very early days in the season
    There are rules about numbers of subs. But as a player/coach/referee I have rarely seen them implemented to situation where a coach isn't let give a kid some game-time either by referee or by the opposition

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭munsterman96

Set up is not a joke and reason Youths interpro's are later than the rest is the same Connacht 18s squad plays in both schools and youths interpro's but AFAIK this will change from next season on and Connacht will field separate squads in the u18 youths and clubs interpros which should mean Youths u18 interpro's can be played earlier in September with no games in October.

Yes a round of two of club competitive games will be played while interpros are on but that shouldn't affect too many clubs. Yes ye in Waterpark will be missing a few but they will benefit from it and ye will as others will get games and ye are still likely to win the games any way so it doesn't matter

Anyway not a real issue that clubs leagues are not starting til almost October as by October clubs have virtually all players back from GAA which helps with teams fielding etc

Relationship between club and province is not anywhere near what it should be, huge lack of communication.Another problem is the provincial set up making lads choose just one sport while playing for the u18 youths its crazy, In one case a fella was asked to play a gaa match because team was very stuck and the munster youth officer LOM told him he would be dropped if he did.?

Nothing is perfect but you can contact most if not all the coaches in the provincial set up if you need to. Nearly all the u18/19/20 coaches contact details either mobile no or an email are on Munster website or in the 13/14 red book which I think is available to download off Munster website.
    I agree and disagree with you on players playing one sport. By 17/18 especially if at a top level in a sport a player should be specialising in their position(and sport) and to do that they need to fully concentrate on that sport.
    The set up at u18/19/20 with the summer camp is almost professional in some aspects and the coaches expect the players to be acting like pros and concentrating on their rugby.
    Players have been "dropped" in past for things like that but I don't believe it happens anymore really and it will also depend on the sport as well. Some of the players who make it to the top and to places like the talent camp in Rockwell are also top sprinters, hurdlers, long jumpers etc and have been able to continue competing in those will also training in Munster set up

I know this might sound crazy ,has any1 heard of changes next year to move date of births out to July
    I,ve heard ulster are doing that this year and Leinster and Connacht are doing it next season
    Any dates for the munster youths intr pro games ?

I know this might sound crazy ,has any1 heard of changes next year to move date of births out to July
    I,ve heard ulster are doing that this year and Leinster and Connacht are doing it next season
    Any dates for the munster youths intr pro games ?
    No and this has happened every season since the first change of age groups in the 2008/2009 season.
    I don't think any of the other provinces will change back to July 1st as age cut off. Works better than July 1st
    Youth Interpro's start tomorrow with Leinster taking on Munster in Donnybrook and Ulster hosting Connacht in Banbridge RFC.
    Next weekend in round 2 Munster host Connacht in Waterpark RFC and Ulster host Leinster in Ravenhill.
    While the final round of games on October 12th games are between Munster and Ulster in Musgrave Park and Connacht and Leinster in the Sportsground Galway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭student1990

Leinster 18 clubs defeat munster 25-6

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭BigHeel

Leinster 18 clubs defeat munster 25-6

The Leinster backs made all the difference. O'Brien has really kicked on from last year and Wallace looked really good.
    The Munstet pack, front row in particular, look very very good.
    Should be s good year for Irish youths.

Munster TH is ginormous.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 aspin

BigHeel wrote: »
    The Leinster backs made all the difference. O'Brien has really kicked on from last year and Wallace looked really good.
    The Munstet pack, front row in particular, look very very good.
    Should be s good year for Irish youths.
    O'Brien had a super game and Hand carried well and won a few important turnovers. They stood out for Leinster. Cuddihy had a good second half and Wallace landed two great kicks. Munster should have used maul more particularly as the kicking off the tee was wayward. They must have been wondering how they were behind at half time.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭KJY

How'd the Waterpark lads do? I'll hopefully be able to give a report next week

Connacht beat Ulster 15-13

from what ive been told a sizable part of the leinster team are eligible again next year.

at least 5 of the starting pack and the 10 are definitely u17s

KJY wrote: »
    How'd the Waterpark lads do? I'll hopefully be able to give a report next week
    They did well in first half - Munster set pieces were very good and they had Leinster on back foot for most of first half. They didn't capitalise on their chances. Leinster improved at breakdown in second half and Munster seemed to tire. Third try was coming and Leinster unlucky not to have a fourth.

aspin wrote: »
    They did well in first half - Munster set pieces were very good and they had Leinster on back foot for most of first half. They didn't capitalise on their chances. Leinster improved at breakdown in second half and Munster seemed to tire. Third try was coming and Leinster unlucky not to have a fourth.
    I see you mention Munster's set piece was very good but let me guess what let them down was their ability to identify space and when and how best to attack?

yep

Munster beat Connacht 22-17 in Waterford and Leinster hammered Ulster 43-3 in Ravenhill in 2nd round of interpros yesterday
    Munster host Ulster in Cork and Leinster travel to the Sportsground next weekend to take on Connacht in the final round of matches

• Registered Users Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭nilhg

I was at the Ravenhill for the Ulster-Leinster match, Leinster improved from the Munster match, were slicker, used their backs better and things generally went well for them but they Ulsters inability to make tackles stick probably flattered the lads in blue.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 melpat54

have to agree the leinster pack have really gelled together and as a result are playing a much better game they are all a very talented and dedicated group

• Registered Users Posts: 7 melpat54

Yes that is half the Squad but lets not forget the subs bench they are quiet a talented bunch as well and have put in some very good work during both the munster and ulster matches I therefore really feel when you mention the under 18 club squad you include the subs as they have also earned their place on that team

melpat54 wrote: »
    Yes that is half the Squad but lets not forget the subs bench they are quiet a talented bunch as well and have put in some very good work during both the munster and ulster matches I therefore really feel when you mention the under 18 club squad you include the subs as they have also earned their place on that team
    Of course that goes without question that the squad as a whole is praised and that they all have earned their place.

Munster and Ulster teams have been named for final interpro in Musgrave Park saturday. See teams listed here

East Munster leagues kicked off last 2 weeks ago and the main 18/16/14 leagues are on a week off with u13/15 league and friendlies at 14s/16s/18s in the main this weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭nilhg

Leinster got the fright of their lives today in the Sportsgrounds and had to dig deep to get a 3 point win, the result was in doubt right up to the final whistle with both squads giving their all, a penalty from Ronan Wallace was the difference between the teams in the end.

Ronan Wallace kicks the winning penalty

275552.jpg

The victorious Leinster squad

275553.jpg

nilhg wrote: »
    Leinster got the fright of their lives today in the Sportsgrounds and had to dig deep to get a 3 point win, the result was in doubt right up to the final whistle with both squads giving their all, a penalty from Ronan Wallace was the difference between the teams in the end.

Ronan Wallace kicks the winning penalty

275552.jpg

The victorious Leinster squad

275553.jpg
    Great pics
    Connacht are a super side. Connacht have been producing fantastic sides at all underage levels the past few seasons and are moving closer and closer to the other provinces and ahead of them in some aspects.

Munster beat Ulster in Musgrave 24-6 today with some pics here from INPHO with pics of Connacht Leinster from Sportsfile here