Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What will you be wearing on the slopes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 warrtster

Bendihorse wrote: »
    We were in Bansko last year, nightlife is pants :( Skiing not great either but its a cheap alternative... Sorry to rain on your parade just before your holiday :-/

The snow is supposed to be ok at the moment apparently, 100cm (bottom)-180cm(top), I've never been there before.
    I'll post up when I get back with a quick report :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

Theres one good bar at the bottom of the ski slopes, cant remember the name but you wont miss it, its huge and all timber beams and stuff going on. Alas that was only open ONE night while we were there. We were there around March time last year too. Best of luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭5h4mr0(k

We went to Chamonix last week. When the flight landed from Dublin landed in Geneva (6+ hours late) there were about 150 bags not on the flight. No option but to go shopping the next morning.

We went to a shop called "Technique Extreme" in Chamonix. Excellent prices. Totally kitted out for about €125! I went a bit mad and spent €50 on a new jacket. They had decent jackets for less than €30. Sallapettes for €10!

If you're going there, check it out. We ended up going back at the end of the week for more gear. Prices on the web site seem to be the same as the shop - don't know about delivery.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭5h4mr0(k

5h4mr0(k wrote: »
    Prices on the web site seem to be the same as the shop - don't know about delivery.

€10 delivery and it's free if the order is over €50!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Grimlock

Board: Never Summer Revolver 156 and Sapient PNB2 163 (pow stick)
    Bindings: Ride SPI and Burton Mission
    Boots: Salomon Malmutes
    Jacket: Burton and a Salomon shell for spring
    Pants: Analog, West Beach and Tresspass
    Goggles: Oakley A-frame, Smith Spin and Smith Iridiums
    Bag: Dakine
    Protection: Dainese shorts / Pro-tec knee pads
    Lid: Giro Bad Lieutenant with audio built-in
    Music: usually NOFX :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Neilthefunkee1

Hope nobody minds this post.. if anyone lookin for some boots for your next trip im sellin 2 pairs on Adverts.ie!!

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=52401&cat=52

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=52398&cat=52

thanks..

While im here!!
    Board: Rome Solution
    Bindings: Burton Cartel
    Boots: 32 Lashed
    Goggles: Dragon DXS
    Bag: Dakine Heli-pro
    Pants: Ripcurl and Burton
    Jacket: Quicksilver Utility and Animal somethin or other.
    Protection: 661 soft knee pads and red trace lid!!
    Underwear: Optional!!!!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Update, just got my brand spanking new Burton King 162 and new Burton Custom Detox bindings. Now if only it'd snow enough for the mountains down here to open!!!

Edit: also picked up a Dakine Heli Pro 20l today.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭madbadger

Last seasons gear:

Board: Capita Outdoor Living 160

Bindings: Drake Mentors

Jacket: Analogue Woodcamo

Pants: Have a good few pairs, fav are prob my Alliance one, big nd baggy, nice.

Boots: Salomon Dialogues (Years old now, but have faired well)

Goggles: Bolle

Gloves: Burton 6 fingers love & hate.. Crazy, but cool

• Registered Users Posts: 398 ✭✭Tripp

Board: I don't own one, I rent one out at the resorts

Jacket: Bonfire Chroma (8,000gm/mm) - $104 in USA

Pants: Columbia (5,000gm/mm) - £100 in USA

Boots: Dont own a pair but will be buying some for next season

Goggles: Giro - $40 in USA

Gloves: Flexmeter (Gloves + Wrist Guards) - £52 in UK

Backpack: Dakine Heli Pack + Camelback - $60 in USA

Protection: Dainese Impact Shorts Plus - €100 Snow & Rock
    Smith Hustle Helmet - €125 Snow & Rock

snowboardinggear1wm2.th.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭paulharte

got myself a new DC hertz jacket (the pistemap one!)

11813_1.jpg

and a forum destroyer 154

pic04.jpg

Both of which have yet to see any action, got the board in may! roll on winter!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

Board: Lib Tech Skate Banana - €350
    LibTechSkateBananaAssorted.jpg

Bindings: Burton Cartels - €120
    1244090.jpg

Jacket: Bergans - €300
    Best you can get in my opinion, comes with a 15 year guarantee, and some cool little radar thingy if i ever get trapped in an avalanche they can find my body and dont have to wait for the snow to melt :)

Bergans_iPod_jacket_men.jpg
    This one but in brown not blue.

Pants: Kilmanock - €80

Boots: DC Graphix Lace - €200
    301320000e.jpg

Goggles: Giro - €30

Gloves: No.Oz - €50

Protection: Bern Baker Helmet - €110
    bern-baker.jpg

And i have'nt gotten to try any of it out yet except the Jacket and pants, come on Saalbach!

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jonnykitedude

Im bit of a whore when it comes to snowboarding gear,the misses is always giving out to me about buying new gear!!

Board
    Burton Seven

Bindings
    Burton Cartells

Jackets
    Bonfire radiant (Green/White)
    Oakley ultimate (Black)
    Burton Cargo (white)

Pants
    Billabong x 2 (black pin stripe,White/Black)
    Burton Cargo (crazy ass colours)
    Burton Shaun White (white)

Goggles
    Oakley Wisdoms
    Oakley A frame

Boots
    Burton Hail
    DC field

Helmet
    Burton Red

BackPack
    Dakine Heli Pro

Shovel,probes,daknie & Oakley gloves,loads of other crap.

Yes im a fashion whore and cant ride for sh1te:D:D:D:D

I think you need a couple more jackets and pairs o pants, new outfit everyday!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

I'm a skier, so don't have all the extra crap, just the following:

Jacket - Oakley $180 in NYC
    Pants - Rip Curl €100
    Goggles - Bollé

Various other items such as fleeces, thermals, training tops, hats, etc.
    Backup of cheap pants & old Columbia jacket in case I get soaked one day.

Renting gear so don't have my own yet - might consider getting boots, if I can get a good bargain while there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Rhymenocerous

Boards:

08 Burton Custom ICS 157W
    08 Burton x8 157
    08 Rome Artifact 156
    09 Burton Piranha 157
    09 Burton Hero 155

Bindings:

08 Ride Delta Movement
    08 Burton Cartel ESTs
    09 Burton Cartel ESTs

Boots:

08 Burton Ions
    07 32 Lashed

Gogggs:

2 x 08 Anon

Jackets:

08 Analog Boundary - Black
    08 Analog Boundary - Yellow
    08 Analog Additive - Kevlar
    08 L1 Legacy - White/Purple
    08 Billabong (can't remember the name) - Grey
    09 Burton Jussi Anorak - Totally pink
    09 Analog Strategy - Tetra

Pants:

08 Analog Boundary - Stratus
    08 Analog Boundary - Grey
    08 L1 Blackstar - White
    08 Burton Vent - Black
    08 686 cargo - Beige
    09 Analog Perimeter - Tygra Optic

Though in my gear whore defense, I did ride 90+ days last season, and will ride 100+ this.

Boards:

08 Burton Custom ICS 157W
    08 Burton x8 157
    08 Rome Artifact 156
    09 Burton Piranha 157
    09 Burton Hero 155

Bindings:

08 Ride Delta Movement
    08 Burton Cartel ESTs
    09 Burton Cartel ESTs

Boots:

08 Burton Ions
    07 32 Lashed

Gogggs:

2 x 08 Anon

Jackets:

08 Analog Boundary - Black
    08 Analog Boundary - Yellow
    08 Analog Additive - Kevlar
    08 L1 Legacy - White/Purple
    08 Billabong (can't remember the name) - Grey
    09 Burton Jussi Anorak - Totally pink
    09 Analog Strategy - Tetra

Pants:

08 Analog Boundary - Stratus
    08 Analog Boundary - Grey
    08 L1 Blackstar - White
    08 Burton Vent - Black
    08 686 cargo - Beige
    09 Analog Perimeter - Tygra Optic

Though in my gear whore defense, I did ride 90+ days last season, and will ride 100+ this.

Only 2 pairs of goggles........amature:D:D:D:D

Now i dont feel bad that i went out a bought a new pair of pants today:D

Are you a Snowboard instructor or something? Nice collection btw!

• Registered Users Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Mitch Buchannon

Right, here's my bits and bobs.

Board: 154 Rome Anthem (07/08)

Bindings: Rome 390's (07/08)

Boots: TBA - New pair on the way :)

Jacket: Bonfire Volt & Patagonia Slopestyle Hoody

Pants: The North Face Freedom Pant

Gloves: Dakine Scout Gloves

Goggles: Dragon DX

Helmet: Scott USA Biomex

BackPack: Deuter E20 & Dakine Heli Pro Pack

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭paddyb

thats a serious amount of kit!
    im pretty much the same as last year except i gotta get a new jacket - lost mine in geneva airport last april!

Board: Lib Tech Travis Rice
    Bindings: Salomon Relay XLT
    Boots: 32 Tm Two
    Pants: Section
    Goggles: Anon
    Helmet: Just got last years Red Mutiny
    Gloves: Level Fly Mitt
    Backcountry Kit: BCA Tracker transceiver, Black Diamond Avalung Backpack, Black Diamond Shovel and Probe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Rhymenocerous

Overflow wrote: »
    Are you a Snowboard instructor or something? Nice collection btw!

Nope, not an instructor, just a snow bum! Why work in the winter when you can just ride? [;

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭rio1

Skier

Boots:Salomon DIVINE RS 10
    Goggles: Bolle Nova Modulator
    Gloves: White Salomon Kokoon
    Jackets: North Face Baker Jacket and Burton White Jacket, no idea of name
    Trousers: Burton Hot Pink pants, Topshop Sno snowboard pants, navy & Animal Black pants
    Hats: Various; White, Pink and Black

Bring on the snow...Livigno IT, Engelberg CH and Jenbach A!

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Optimum

Board: Burton baron Es 164 2006

Bindings Burton P1's 2007

Boots: Burton Rulers

Pants: Bonfire cargo

Jacket: Will see in the new year have to go shopping...

Goggles Oakley wisdom

Beanies quicksilver/burton/bonfire...

Cant wait to get away....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭tech

Pants: Tog 24 nice and warm

Jacket: Quicksilver

Goggles Oakley O Frame Yellow

Beanies Helly Hansen

Gloves Dare2Be

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

dc_phase_boot_dec_08.jpg

Just got me a pair of these in the Kildare Outlet Village Quicksilver shop for €91 down from €186! Add in the voucher I had and the cost me €16 of my own money! Happy days!

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭La La

board: burton troop 152
    it's a bit short but is a lovely freestyle board with a bit of pop. a dream in powder too. have had it since 2004 and love it to pieces.

pants: burton poachers

t-shirt: volcom

hoody: volcom

hat: burton

goggles: oakley a frames

chucking away my horrible rossignol boots and bindings and gonna upgrade. dreaming of...............

boots: 32s

bindings: cartels

if i were to get a new board i'd seriously consider lib tech, maybe GNU - may sound nerdy but the burton 2009 graphics are NOT doing it for me at all. and as much as the specs are important, c'mon, admit it - you want a nice looking stick, no?

I can only recommend Lib Tech, i just got a Lib Tech Skate Banana 156, tried it out for the first time on saturday, man its a sweet board, great in the park and on the mountain. Nice pop, light and flexible. Got a pair of Burton Cartels on it aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭tywy

Being a student, I wear nothing too fancy.

I'm a skier so,

Boots: Tecnica Attiva Diablo Flame

Pants: Dare2b, cheap but they do the job, very comfy

Jacket: Extaasy Jacket. Haven't seen them anywhere but Livigno. Great jacket, great value for money

Goggles: Some sort of Scott goggles, I like them

Gloves: Well, mittens. Zanier gore-tex mittens.

Sunglasses: Bollé

Nothing else worth noting... cheap fleeces and a couple of base layers. I've never been cold really... other than my face!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I've only started collecting bits for a first trip so

Pants: 2 x Nike GoreTex

Jacket: 1 x Vans Double Jacket (Outerwear & fleece innerwear)
    1 x CAT Thermal jacket

Gloves: 2 pairs of thinsulate Aldi gloves :D

All the rest I'll rent.

If I really get into it I'll be looking to get a set of Flow bindings - they seems so easy to use!

Oh and instead of sticking it up in Bargain Alerts -

The Vans shop in Bambridge's Outlet Centre are doing a 3 for 2 deal on all products. Got 2 Double jackets and 1 pair pants for £120 (which equalled €130 on the day)

Good stuff too!

Regatta and Billabong store were having sales too, but the Vans shop really took my attention.

PHP]
    Overflow wrote: »
    I can only recommend Lib Tech, i just got a Lib Tech Skate Banana 156.

God i hate you!! Left it too late in the season to get one:( Let me know how you get on with it.

[IMG][/img]l[/PHP][/

• Registered Users Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

ShayK1 wrote: »
    Board: K2 (on loan from my mate)
    Bindings: K2 I think? (on loan from my mate)
    Boots: I dunno? (onloan from my mate)

Jacket: Quiksilver €186
    Pants: Dare2Be (bought from Don1) €50
    Gloves: Tinsulate (me Ma got them somewhere)
    Hat: Ah here... There's too many (usually between €20 & €25)
    BaseLayer: 1 H/H and 2 WhiteRock. All longsleeve (H/H €28, WhiteRock €20)
    Goggles: Sinnex €39
    Helmet: Tony Hawk sports Helmet.

I just realised how much I've bought.

Board: K2 (bought from my mate)
    Bindings: K2 (bought from my mate)
    Boots: Northwave Legends

Jacket: ...still the same
    Pants: 1x Tk Maxx pair & 1 Quiksilver pair purchased yesterday
    Gloves: Quiksilver
    Hat: ...and now there's even more
    BaseLayer: ...still the same
    Goggles: ...still the same