Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

I-YAN BAAAAAAAARRRR, I-YAN BAR.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Jesus.....

Mobility warm up or sorts.
    Barbell complex.

Squat

20x2x5, 70x5, 90x5, 105x3, 110x2, 115x2 Fail.
    110x3x5

****, slow weak as hell today.
    Could not get the bar moving on rep three of the 115 set, probably gave up really.
    110 sets were horrible and slow.

Kipping Pullup Practice

Is probably a waste of time when you can't do pullups.....
    Not sure any of these would count, I was using a y bar but I got close a couple of times. Will probably end up using bands at the invitational.

So I had to do a met-con.
    Not willing to do jumping pullups infront of people I opted to hide in the "abs room" with the y pullup bar and do:

Bodyweight Fran
    With Stupid Gay jumping pullups subbed for pullups.
    Bad sub but the smith machine and rack were being used so no body rows.

21-15-9
    Burpees
    Jumping pulls.

9:49

Need to toughen up.

Oh I have awful bastard DOMS in my calves, and I have a hankering for Organic Milk.

What have I gotten myself into?

Deadlift

20x2x5, 100x5, 110x5, 125x3, 135x2
    140x2,1,Fail
    130x3

Usual, back didn't want to know. Could feel the lumbar spine arch and let it go. Not the end of the world.

Inverted Rows

2x10, 1x9
    Done in the vain hope that they might assist sorting kipping pullups for the Invitational.

100 Burpees for Time
    (scaled from 150 on CFI)

12-13 min (****ed up the timer on my phone)

Done after a short car journey over to killiney hill park
    Rough. I'm in some bad shape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

d'Oracle wrote: »

100 Burpees for Time
    (scaled from 150 on CFI)

Rather you than me!!!!

My log book has gotten very messy.

Press
    20x2x5, 35x5, 45x5, 50x3, 55x2
    57.5x3x5 PR

Meant to be 57 but hey.
    Fairly flew up too bar the last two reps which were slow and a horrible grinder respectively.

CFI WOD.
    Scaled due to lack of room, lack of skill and lack of snatch experience.

5 Rounds
    7x Power Snatch 30kg (45 Rx'd)
    21x Tuck Jumps (Double Unders Rx'd)

9:49

I subbed the Tuck jumps in so I could keep the gas on. I will continue to do so till I can do double unders. Also due to pain in my lower back, I did Hang Power snatches from the 3rd round. Lowering the bar to mid shin was killing me.

Dissapointed as I reckon if my back wasn't fecked from doing Deads yesterday, I would have done better.

Was gonna skip and maybe do the CFI WOD tonight.

Horrible bastard shin splints.???

Probably needed to rest. Been doing a fair bit of ballistic lower leg stuff these last few days.

That said before it got too sore, my single unders were coming along.

Still there....:(

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 90x5, 100x3, 105x3,
    107.5x3x5

Forgot my notebook and got all flustered about it.
    As a result I ****ed up and worked way too low.

Rowing

3x500m

1:38.7, 1:41.5, 1:44.0

Resting a few min between.
    Not sure if they are good, certainly were hard work.

I will see how my shins are tomorrow.
    I am concerned about three major things now.

1. Having any hope at all of getting my conditioning up to any sort of level. Certainly doing a lot of slowing and stopping.

2. I can't do kipping pullups. Not sure if I will get them in time, but it won't be for want of trying.

3. These shin splints. I can't really clean.
    Also I am sure Dbl Unders & 400/800m run are coming up. Box jumps may also.

Will keep trying though.

Eastbound and Dooooowwwwwn.....

Cindy

Sub Inverted rows.

AMRAP 20

5 Inverted Rows
    10 Pushups
    15 Air squats.

11 ROunds.

Christ, I am actually weaker than I thought.
    Rows were grand, kept missing chest touch on the 5th rep, which meant I did the guts of 6 a round.

Pressups killed me.
    Might have lost 5 or so rounds.
    Another thing I will have to work on. **** the bench press.

Press

20x2x5, 32.5x5, 45x5, 50x3, 55x2
    58x5,3,4

Felt a bit tired, I should get it next time.

Pullup negatives (around a 15 count)
    2x3

Metcon:

21-15-9
    Thrusters 30kg
    DB Swings 17.5Kg

5:14

Them thrusters are a nightmare.
    I reckon I could have gone heavier on the swings though.

Squat:

20x2x5, 70x5, 90x5, 100x3, 105x2
    110x3x5,5,4,1

Failed or rather didn't attempt to land rep 5 in set 3.
    tipped forward on the 3rd rep and barely ground the 4th one.

Metcon

21-15-9
    20kg DB swings.
    18" Box Jumps.

4:52

Used 20kg cos the 25kg bells are ****ed from idiots throwing them around.
    18" was about as high as I could find, stack of aerobics steps.
    Could probably manage a 1.5 Pood bell and maybe a 20" box with a similar time. Didn't exactly kill myself either.

Shins are alright after it, just tight.

Metcon

Fran....But not.

Got interrupted, long story, but it was either sandbaggery or douchbaggery on my part.

21-15-9

Thrusters (40kg)
    Inverted Rows.

12:49

The 40kg was harder than I expected. Lot of bar dropping later on.
    Probably cheated the rows a bit.
    Bit pointless really. Not exactly what I wanted to set for such an elite barometer of elite fitness.
    Disappointed with myself.

Cleans

60kgx3
    65x5x3

Nuff said.

I'm really making a balls of this.

Ah now, you're starting to sound as moany as I've been the last while, sort it out!:D

Another day, a better metcon -chin up, you're doing great:)

G86 wrote: »
    Ah now, you're starting to sound as moany as I've been the last while, sort it out!:D

Another day, a better metcon -chin up, you're doing great:)

Thanks, I'm still weak and sandbagging though.

A.

95x3x5 BW!!!!!

Weak you say??? Well, you're stronger than you were when you posted this:)

I'm still only squatting around bodyweight.:D

Thanks G, I appreciate it.

Today.

Crossfit Ireland Mobility Workshop.

Another very bloody useful few hours spent with Will and Colm.
    I was the only outsider there for the early shift, and will readily admit that I was more than a little bit surprised at the atmosphere when I walked in.
    More like a sports club than a gym, I can kind of see where they come from with the whole community vibe. Gang of folks throwing a rugby ball around after a Workout and Transform pulling fat singles off the floor, made for an interesting panorama.

Anyhow got a run through a three basic tests which were eye openers to say the least. One for Overhead and shoulder mobility, one for glute and hamstrings and one for SQUAT!ting.

I had thought my hammers were ok, I thought wrong. Probably the worst hamstring flexibility there. Which is actually good cos it might explain some of my DL and Back Squat issues.

Anyhow we progressed to start learning how to do something about it. How to foam roll properly, which was unpleasantly pleasant followed by some exercises to improve shoulder mobility, front Rack position and hip mobility. Followed by a fly through static stretching. The lads were as helpful as ever, Will had a chat with me about some of by broken bits and what might help them.

I have taken a few things from this.
    1) A systematic approach to mobility work, I like systems I can apply them properly.

2) A proper calf stretch for the car crash between my knees and my feet. Invaluable.

3) A free foam roller:).

Money well spent. Terribly useful hour and a half.
    I would recommend anyone jump at the opportunity if it arises again.

On the way home I stopped into the gym to assault my ailing shins.

Todays Crossfit.ie WOD Arse over tit and scaled.

5 Rounds:
    5x Clean And jerk 50Kg
    400m Run

18:21

Meant to be Run first then clean but I was working from my screwed memory. Also meant to be 60kg, which I probably could have managed.
    Tough one this. I like it because there are Cleans AND Jerks.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭gavtron

What did they recommend for stretching the calves actually? Would love something different to the ol' GAA "right over left, arse in the air" stretch...

gavtron wrote: »
    What did they recommend for stretching the calves actually? Would love something different to the ol' GAA "right over left, arse in the air" stretch...

Tough one to describe.

1) Find a wall.
    2) Get real close to the wall
    3) Push the balls of the foot & toes into the wall & try to push your heel towards the wall with your knee locked out.
    4) With that locked in, try to push your hips towards the wall.

Should get a good stretch.

Also do the same but with bent knee instead of your knee locked out to get lower down in the calves.
    I hope that makes sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭gavtron

Tough one to describe.

1) Find a wall.
    2) Get real close to the wall
    3) Push the balls of the foot & toes into the wall & try to push your heel towards the wall with your knee locked out.
    4) With that locked in, try to push your hips towards the wall.

Should get a good stretch.

Also do the same but with bent knee instead of your knee locked out to get lower down in the calves.
    I hope that makes sense.

ah yeah, the ol' wall push, calf stretch thing...cheers!

Eh I hope so.

calf_stretch.jpg

Thats what I meant.
    PM sent too.

Metcon 1

AMRAP 10

7 x Pushups
    10x OHS 40kg

4 rounds and 3 pushups.

Wouldn't have even gotten that if I had done dips.
    Couldn't get near the dip station.
    Place was crawling with lads doin arms.

FMG

Metcon 2

500m Row
    30 Burpees
    15 Jumping pullups

7:28

I wish I knew about the Practical Programming for strength version of the STarting strength programme.
    If I had, I would probably still have pullups.
    As it stands I have basically 1 chin.

FMB

Eve

Power Clean 60kg
    Box Jumps 18"

18:23

Wish I had something 24" to jump onto.
    That thing is mentalsim

Amy
    Heavily scaled.

5x Push Jerk 50kg
    10x Inverted Rows
    15x Box Jumps

11:49

Cos I can't skip with my gay shins,
    I can't pull up with my gay weak back,
    I probably should have done 60kg Jerks but I was pretty ****ed.

WTF have I gotten myself into.

In your face.

Tabata Mashup

80kg Deadlift
    Green Band kipping pullups.

No score.

Dumbass picked a fat bar didn't he.
    Dumbass thought he was supposed to count his lowest round reps as a score didn't he. (Incidentally 4&4)

Karen

150 Wallballs

10:20.

I am actually pumped that I did it, that said I might have walked away from it at 100 reps if it wasn't for Jimminy who was like a voice in my head telling me to do crazy ****.
    Happy with my time and if I'm honest, I really could have pushed it more.

Also, I really enjoyed Working out at Crossfit Ireland.
    Atmosphere is awesome.
    Got some thinking to do

• Registered Users Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

Hey dude was in the 7.30 class while you were doing those miserable wallballs! Fair balls for chugging through- those jelly legs are all kinds of suckiness!!! Thankfully (or not) they opted for us to do 150 double unders for time to improve our skipping.

Make sure you hop down to the 10.30 class on saturday morning. It's brilliant craic!

Thanks bro.

They just don't end.
    I used to think wallballs were silly nonsense.
    I actually like them after last night.

WOD 1

7 rounds
    7xOHS 40kg
    7xInverted Rows (sub for pullups)
    7xDumbell trusters w 10kg (sub for wall balls, poor one at that)

17:28

Not great, probably would have missed the cutoff.
    The OHS's were killing me.
    Maybe they were too heavy, maybe with bumpers I would have saved some time putting the bar down.

C&J Bleep test 55kg

4 min + 4 reps.

Similar problem putting the bar down, but I am happy I could do better.
    Leave some in the tank and all.

Not delighted with that, not so much as last night, but it was hard work all the same, so its all good.

Are you training out in crossfit now?

No.
    I stopped by the other night to do the Tabata mashup and "Karen".

I'd like to but its still too awkward to get to on a regular basis, and if training for the Invitational has taught me anything, its that I still need to get a whole lot stronger. So after the invitational its back onto Linear progression with vengeance.

I have an idea of where I really want to get to regarding strength, and when I get there (or get close) I will start looking at my options a bit more.

I feel awful.

Mobility Warmup.
    Weightlifting complex

Clean

HP 20x2x5, 30x3, 40x3
    Power 50x3, 65x3
    70x5x3 PR

The crossfit folks were having a group WOD so I was left up to my own devices. Despite doing the C&J test yesterday I really felt that I was stronger at the clean than I was letting on, so I did the next workout in the Linear progression, and frickin nailed it. Reckon I could do 75.

The Snatch Drill

HP snatch, H S Snatch, P Snatch, Full Snatch
    30kg x4

Basically I was ****ing around.

Rowing

3x500m

1:38.0, 1:41.8, 1:46.6

Not great.

I did learn something.
    I tried to go real deep on one full snatch.
    Now I may have mentioned that my Hamstrings are very tight.
    When I went deep the usual butwink occured. The result was I lost the snatch forward literally the second my butt rounded.
    Two good things:
    1) I felt the rounding which is good.
    2) I understand a bit more about the snatch/OHS.

Had no Idea what to do today.
    Didn't want the WOD on CF.ie.

So I wandered into the Gym fairly late, bout 9:20pm.

Warm up.
    Crossfit ireland barbell complex.

Still no bright ideas, so I did a couple of 20kg Hang Split Snatches.
    Best lift ever.

20kgx5, 30kgx5
    42.6kgx5
    42.6kgx3x3

WOD

21-15-9
    42.6Kg Thrusters
    25kg Db KB Swings.

9:32

Thrusters were a bit heavy.
    Killer.