Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

I-YAN BAAAAAAAARRRR, I-YAN BAR.

• 25-06-2009 10:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭

Right so, I have lurked, I have posted stupid comments, asked noob questions and made dumb jokes.

Reckon the only thing left to do is start a log.....
    Specially as I am pumped with glee after tonights WO.

Starting Strength.
    Laughlinstown Leisure Centre.
    Some people think I do nothing but squat.

You join me on day 15, workout A.

Im 93kg,
    6'1" and
    27 years of age.
    No idea what my BF is but I have a mild belly & love handles which Im not overly concerned about.

Figures:
    Squat: 85kg
    Fail last rep, felt like there was no bounce. Im happy with my form, although my hips come a bit fast on some heavy work reps.

Bench 57.5kg
    Slow as. Not sure if its a good idea to push this next time.....
    I also got a hamstring cramp setting up for the 3rd set.

Deadlift 100kg.
    First time. Frickin Pumped over this. Could have done a few more too.

Press 40kg
    Power Clean 32.5

The clean is pretty small and my technique goes from good to not great.

Elsewhere, I do 1 hour of 5-a-side a week where I run the ass off myself for the pig iron of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Boom.

Number 16
    Workout B.

Squat: Press: Power Clean
    20x2x5 20x2x5 20x2x5
    45x1x5 25x1x5 22.5x1x5
    60x1x5 30x1x5 25x1x5
    70x1x3 35x1x3 30x1x3
    80x1x2 40x1x2 35x5x3
    85x3x5 45x2x5
    42.5x1x5

Squat better today.
    Didn't feel strong through the warmup, but flew once I put 85 on the bar.

Press wasn't great. Couldn't find the biscuits for the first two sets, then found them dumped in a corner. I always put my weights away, hate people who don't.

Power Clean is a bit messy at work sets. Need more weight though.

Number 17.
    Workout A.

Squat:
    20x2x5
    45x1x5
    65x1x5
    75x1x3
    85x1x2
    90x1x5
    90x1x2 (big fail)
    85x1x5
    85x1x3

Bench. Deadlift
    20x2x5 20x2x5
    30x1x5 60x1x5
    40x1x5 80x1x5
    50x1x3 90x1x3
    57.5x3x5 100x1x2
    110x1x2
    100x1x3

Dissapointing day.
    Felt strong as an ox at the start.
    Form got a little shaky at the start of the 1st squat set. Got lost in the hole on rep 3 of set 2. Backed off.

Bench was grand. Less slow than the last one. In order to alleviate my fear of killing myself with a bar, I moved into the power rack for the second two sets. Exceptional piece of equipment that.

Deadlift was a real kick in the whole-lotta-rosies. After feeling so strong last week at 100, I fell to **** on the work set. Backed off to 100.
    Give it another try on Friday.

If anyone is listening. My squats have gone 85 - 85 - 90(big fail).
    Failing in the second set says I'm not ready for 90, should I try 87.5?
    Or just try 90 again on wednesday?

1 hour of football.
    8 a side on a 5 a side pitch.
    Really had to try to get the sprints in.

I think my persistence with football says a lot.
    Every night I play I walk away wondering why I bother.....

The weather has damn near killed me.

B
    No 18.

Squat
    20x2x5
    45x1x5
    65x1x5
    75x1x3
    85x1x2
    87.5x3x5

Form was very messy.
    Couldnt get the grip right. The welts on my back are too wide, Dunno.
    Could be the heat, but it all felt wrong today. Got through it anyway.

Press
    20x2x5
    25x1x5
    30x1x5
    35x1x5
    42.5x1x3
    45x3x5
    Failed, oddly in the second set last rep.
    Said **** it, rested a bit more and god through the last, although I was popping into it a bit from the legs.

Power Clean
    20x2x5
    25x1x5
    30x1x5
    35x1x3
    37.5x5x3

Form shakey some times. but mostly good.

Hi Nobody.

No.19
    A

Squat.
    20x2x5
    45x1x5
    65x1x5
    75x1x3
    85x1x2
    90x3x5

Bit mucky at the end. Hard on the back. Think I will get a belt.

Bench
    20x2x5
    30x1x5
    45x1x5
    55x1x3
    60x3x5 pb

Good, bit slow, but felt more confident in the cage.
    Happy to get the 20kg plates on.

Deadlift
    20x2x5
    60x1x5
    80x1x5
    90x1x3
    100x1x2
    110x1x2 Fail
    100x1x3

Failing off the ground 3rd rep. I think my hip lockout can take it, so I have decided to augment my knee lockout.

Halted DeadLift.
    60x3x5

All in all happy.
    Will have to stick at 110 for another session.
    Must buy a belt and chalk.
    Is liquid chalk messy? Chalk aint allowed in my gym.

Day 20.
    B.

Squizzaht.
    20x2x5
    45x1x5
    65x1x5
    75x1x3
    85x1x2
    90x3x5

Just about got that one out.
    Having concerns about my form and I think its affecting my form at heavy weights. Did adjust the grip, put the bar lower and switched up my grip. Felt o.k. but I will have to re-rack more carefully now.

Press.

20x2x5
    25x1x5
    30x1x5
    35x1x5
    37.5x1x3 (doh)
    40x1x2
    45x1x5
    45x2x4

****ed up this today. Lost concentration in mid warm up. Stupid boy.
    Failed the last rep of my later sets across. Did a set of 3 push presses at 40 for a fun back off.

Power Clean
    20x2x5
    25x1x5
    30x1x3
    35x1x3
    40x5x3 (PB)

Form a bit ****ty in some sets at work weight. Otherwise good.

Halted Deads.
    60x3x5

Just to keep working on my dead issues.

Tonight I will play football.
    Probably not the best Idea, given how my legs feel after last night.

Here are a goal or two.

1) Squat: Short term BW. (Thats 93Kg) Should be in the nbext week or so.
    Med Term: Novice Strength Standard : 105kg
    LongTerm: 1.5BW

2) Deadlift. : 135kg (Novice Strength Standard)
    Onwards 200Kg

3) Press, Bench, Power Clean (Novice Strength Standard)

http://www.crossfit.com/cf-journal/WLSTANDARDS.pdf
    Based on SS/PP Stuff.

Chins.
    Do em.:D
    Seriously, Soon I am going to add chin/pull work.
    Cant do them now, but I will. Dips will probably come after.

Once I get the chins in, I might try Cindy.

A.

Squat
    20x2x5
    45x1x5
    65x1x5
    75x1x3
    90x1x2
    95x3x5 BW!!!!!

OH YEAH. Smiling like an idiot as I emptied the bar. Had originally said I'd do 92.5, but I had been reading about scapular contraction etc and made a big effort to tighten stuff up. Form much better. Very happy.

Bench.
    20x2x5
    30x1x5
    50x1x5
    60x1x5
    62.5x2x5 (1x3)

I actually messed this up through stupidity. Rushed into the second set, failed on rep 4. One of the resident monsters wanted to squat. Should trained in on the bench with some other guy. So I was a bit of a dick.
    Shy.

Deadlift.
    20x2x5
    60x1x5
    80x1x5
    90x1x3
    100x1x2
    110x1x3
    110x1x2

Silly. One appaling rep and I walked away from the bar.
    Should have dropped it and reset my self. But I quit like a goon.
    Went back and did 2 reps at working weight, but I can hardly call it a 5RM.

3x500m with 30sec rest on the rower.
    Something I wanted to introduce for cardio.

Roll on saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

congrats on bw squat, im currently 2.5kg away from it myself :)

Thanks Cardio.

Yesterday.
    No. 22.
    A

Squat
    20x2x5, 50x1x5
    70x1x5, 80x1x3
    95x1x2, 100x2x5
    100x1x3
    60x1x4

Mostly good, hard though. Failed miserably on rep 4 in the last workset.

Press.
    20x2x5, 25x1x5
    30x1x5, 35x1x3
    42.5x1x2
    45x2x5, 45x1x2
    Push press slow neg
    45x1x3

I think this is stuck:(
    Did the push to back off a bit.

Power Clean
    20x2x5, 25x1x5,
    30x1x5, 35x1x3
    40x1x3, 42.5x5x3

Technique was messy. Im worried about it.
    Also my elbow feels odd. It stings and feels stiff.
    Think I might be using the arms too much.
    Got my reps.

Halted deadlifts
    60x2x5.

Will stop assistance work if my deadlift sticks.

Went Hiking today.
    Incidentally, my diet since friday has been disgraceful.

A
    (as in pile of Ass)

Squat.
    20x2x5, 70x1x5
    30x1x5, 80x1x3
    90x1x2
    100x1x4
    100x1x3
    90x1x5
    95x1x3

Crap.
    Utter crap. Elbow started hurting as soon as I started.
    Nothing in my legs, absolutly ****ing nothing.
    Technique muck after rep 2 in the heavy sets.

Bench.
    20x1x5
    30x1x5
    50x1x3
    60x1x2
    62.5x2x5
    62.5x1x2
    60x1x3

Saving grace.
    Slow bar but feels like its going somewhere

Deadlift.
    20x2x5, 80x1x5
    60x1x5, 90x1x2
    110x1x2
    110x1x1
    110x1x2

I felt like kicking something.
    Totally ground to a halt. Technique could have been dangerous too.
    Totally stuck. Time for a reset. At 110kg. When my squat is pushing towards 100.

My elbow hurts, my shoulder feels odd. Could be an osteo thing.
    Also have a funny tight feeling in my right adductor when I squat.
    Im gonna take a few days off.

So disappointed with me....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

Loving the ska, thought of the song when I saw the title. Make sure you're stretching aswell, it helps. Get back on the horse !!!

Cheers.

I think my head needs a break too though.
    I might go on thurs.
    Depends on how I feel.

Still playing football tonight though.

B

Took an extra few days cos of my leg and shoulder being funny.

Squat
    20x2x5, 50x1x5
    70x1x5, 80x1x3
    90x1x2, 95x2x5
    95x1x2, 95x1x3

Failed cos I had the bar wrong in the last set. Went too deep and killed my bounce. Did the three to make up. My leg is sore, will have to get something done bout it.

Press
    20x2x5, 30x1x5
    35x1x3, 40x1x2,
    45x1x5, 45x1x1
    40x1x3, 40x2x5

These killed me, really tough.
    Went to the dogs on 45. Barely got through the last set.
    Probably should have gone for 40.

Power Clean.
    20x2x5, 25x1x5
    30x1x5, 35x1x3
    4x1x3, 45x5x3

Im really not sure how my form is.
    The weight is starting to feel heavy though.
    Find myself clearing the ground less when I jump. Elbow stung a bit.

Ultimatley Im glad I went, but Im gonna have to get checked out.
    I reckon I need an osteopath.

A ( as in alpha)

Squat
    20x2x5
    50x1x5
    70x1x5
    80x1x3
    90x1x2
    100x2x5
    100x1x3

Fail on rep three. Not sure if I killed myself or it was a grip thing.
    Probably grip. My shoulders felt they were too forward.
    Not a worry. Will probably try again before I reset, was tired today.

Bench
    20x1x5,
    30x1x5
    50x1x3
    60x1x2
    62.5x3x5

Good. Nice tight form. Bar slowed down in the second set. Focused on form and a solid drive in set three. Happy. Get to load up next time.

Deadlift. (Reset)
    20x2x5
    50x1x5
    70x1x4
    80x1x2
    90x1x5

Apart from a little loss of grip, this was grand. Did focus on form though.
    Dont wan't to stick again. I have taken that "heavy metal offer the goblet" thing that I saw "the minx" do to pull the scaps back. Seems to help.

Positive, but my elbow smarts.
    And my leg is will be sore.

Tuesday night was crippling.

Plus my elbow went bonkers in a tackle.
    More Later.

OK.

Now Im buggered.

Got in.
    Warmed up my squats.
    Got to the worksets, feeling a little weak in the thighs.

Started workset.
    Form wrong cos I was concentrating on keeping the bar up.
    Stopped after 100x3

Right arm weak.
    Stripped the bar to 60kg.
    Did 60x2x10 for the craic.

My elbow went bananas.
    Im in a lot of pain.
    Shoulder to finger tips.

If its still generally sore in the morn I will go physio.
    If its not but uncomfortable and low in motion I will go osteo.

As a side note I woke last night and I felt I was lying with my head wrong, so here is hoping.

I will let ye know.

Osteo booked for mondsy
    Feel odd today.

Kind of half limping.

Might go a cardio session or two over the weekend.
    The rower feels ok. Might post some 500 times.

Bogey.

He says I need a week off weights.
    Says football and cardio is ok.
    I might put in some mad rowing at the weekend.

Gutted.
    Really want to lift.
    Going to have to drop my figures.

He also suggested because of my postural problems I should lay off extension exercises.

Edit: Raaarrrrr.
    Not feeling sorry for myself.
    I Suffer from Lordosis.
    My form will be corrected and I will do reverse crunches and ab work.

I WILL FIX ME.

First hack at HIIT rowing.

30"/1'30" Intervals.
    Its hard keeping the power output up.
    Hard stuff.

Followed by
    3x15 Reverse Curls
    3x30 Supine bridges.

Various postural exercises.

Last night I played football.

We played 4 on 4 in a larger astroturf pitch which can fit 7 a side and still have a bit of room.

We played a special rule where you can't score outside the arc around the goal.
    It was Flat Murder.
    Loads of sprinting, not so much rest time.

I am a blouse.

First ever Calesthenic tabata.
    First ever tabata for that matter.

It started as pushups.
    Couldnt rep on the third interval so I jumped up and did air squats.

So it went.
    2 intervals pushups
    2 intervals air squats
    2 intervals pushups
    2 intervals air squats.

Then core and postural stuff.

OK.

Having not posted any information on my Personalised, Personal trainer supplied programme, I have been neglecting this.
    I won't bore anyone with the details, but I will be going back to it.

Currently, I'm a bit tight on cash.
    As a result, I will have to forgo my gym subs this week. (I pay monthly at a community gym)
    As I am coming off a period where I was working 10hr or more a day, I have missed a couple of weeks work.
    So not working out is not an option.

My soultion: Bodyweight month.
    All October, I will be working out with Bodyweight exercises.
    I intend picking up the Lidl Pull bar for bodyrows.
    And I have a fitball for some handy assistance.
    That is probably all the equipment I need.

I'm thinking of loosely following this form.

1) Skills work: Some type of skill practice.
    2) Bodyweight Metaconditioning session or bodyweight exercises in sets across for strength work.

That kind of structure is something I like about what I see now and again on Crossfit Ireland. So I will modify this approach.
    Hopefully.

I will also be doing some cardio stuff now and again.
    Also I will incorporate some 0 equipment metcons for when you are travelling that I found on Crossfit New Zealand while aimlessly surfing fitness stuff one night.

I think I will benefit from this approach for a month.
    Tonight:

L-sits progression

Followed by

4 rounds for time.
    10 Vertical Jumps
    10 Pressups
    10 Reverse crunches (supposed to be situps but I don't do them cos they are ghey)

Edit:
    Knee tuck on two chairs.
    3X 1.00

Well not really but I will get there soon.

6:58
    Push ups were tough.
    Last set was a horror show.
    Actually made solid snake death grunt as I made my 5 attempt at the last 2 reps.

Hopefully I keep this up.

Chair Dips:

5-3-3-2

Didn't see the point in testing to see if I could get another set of 2 so

10x Assisted Chair dips.
    (lower chair, heels on the ground, full stretch.)

My dips are weak.
    They will be made not weak.

Then

10 Air Squats every 1 min of a 1.5k run.

More of a canter than a jog.
    Funny one this. If you go fast, you won't get as many squats in.
    Also the logistics of timing with my phone werent great.
    About 80 squats I think. Could have been more.
    I ran a bit over too.

Todays ******ry.

Stretching and mobility.

Swissball Pistols. 6 r 6 l

OHS with broomstick.
    Not sure why. Just for the craic really.
    Good squat warmup.

5 Rounds

5 Body Rows
    10 Pushups
    15 Air Squats.

8:25

This was hard.
    I'm not happy about how hard it was.
    But through work comes improvement.

Dips.

5-5-4-4-3
    Better.

3x Slow negative Chins.
    20sec-24sec-30sec.

Loads of mobility stuff.

My backs a bit ****ed so I packed the negs in.

And hour of tearing around a football pitch.

Not great.
    Was doing the dips between cutting stuff to make the dinner.
    Probably should have done more.
    Not sure what I will do tonight.

3x15 Pressup legs on swiss ball
    Harder than they were....

3x10 body rows.
    Not sure Im doing these right.

2x Tabata Air Squats
    **** me that was tough.
    Score 12

Thats about 200 squats, given that I started with 17 then 15
    I expect to be sore tomorrow.
    If Im not I will be well chuffed.

3K Run.

Slow.
    With stopping.
    Its been a while since I was as drunk as I was last night, Definate hangover performance issue.

Bit more strength orientated.

Dips 5-5-4-4-3 :mad:

With

BW lunges 5x30 (15 each leg)

Relatively quickly, more to try and shake the feckin DOMS from the double tabata on Friday.

5 x 5 Body Rows (2-0-2)
    Feeble bastard.

3 Supersets
    20x Reverse crunches
    With
    5x 20sec Prone Cobras.

Slow Negative Chins.

Im increasing the amount of negatives everyday and throwing body rows in a few times a week.

Franley

Burpees are hard.