Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I-YAN BAAAAAAAARRRR, I-YAN BAR.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Not one working rep was anything like easy.

Squat.
    20x10, 65x5, 80x5, 90x3, 95x2
    100x3x5

Horribly slow through the last set.
    Slow through the rest.

Bench
    20x10, 40x5, 50x5, 70x3, 72.5x2
    75x3x5 PR

Well not quite, probably 74. American plates.:confused:
    Slow hard, satifying.

Deadlift
    60x10, 100x5, 110x3, 120x2
    130x2 FAIL.

120x3 Sumo.

Whatsmore, I have been worried that my back didn't feel right during sets.
    I was informed by a lad that my back was rounding. Obviously its all too heavy, because I doubt I could have held my back straight.

I am either gonna have to reset or else drop the weight.

Now I do have a long back which is apparently not the best for straight bar deadlifting. But it sounds too much like an excuse to me.

But I am worried that I am now 98kg, Squat 100kg and cant pull 130.

This is all a worry.

That was rubbish.

Worked up to 5x5 front squat at 65kg.

Then proceeded to muck up everything else.

Not worth a write up.
    Plus late home from work and just tired and pissed off.

500px-Ralph_Wiggum.png

A warmup

Deadlift

60x2x5, Hang to decompress
    90x5, hang to decompress
    100x3, "
    110x2
    120x3x5

Good, focused on form. Hung off the chin bar cos my back was screaming.

Squat

20x10, 65x5,80x5,90x3,95x2
    100x3x5

Good, probably held form and depth well.
    Bar moved faster than monday.
    Sat down after each set. Felt dizzy.
    I put it down to deadlifting before.

Standing Pulldown Abs.
    Plate 6x10
    Plate 7x10
    Plate 8x10

Not sure I'm doin it right.
    Didn't feel it in the abs much.

Dips

5-5-3-2(neg)

Logistics (Def: a load of people doing chest and back) meant that the bench was tied up and the rack had a constant line of shruggers and rackpullers . Hence the messed up order and having to do dips, thus depriving me of my only chance at a legitimate PB.:(

On the plus side, given that I'm 98-99kg thats some good Dips.

I pain.

Front Squat

20x10, 30x5, 40x5, 60x3 65x4x5
    Dropped a set cos I wanted to conserve energy and make sure I didn't loose form.

Press

20x10, 30x5, 40x5, 45x3
    50x3x5

Grand.

Clean

20x10, 40x3, hang
    50x3,
    67.5x2 fail
    67.5x2x3
    67.5x2 Fail (which was basically a raggy clean pull)
    67.5x3
    60x3

Shiiiiiiiiiiiiit.
    In hindsight, form was absolutely crap here.
    TBH I'm starting to question the wisdom of doing them uncoached.
    I can probably tell what I was doing wrong, (little to no rebend, flexing the hips too early) but there is so much I still have to actually try to do, which obviously suggests I do not have the tech down.

Pull down abs

Plate 7x10
    plate 8x10
    Plate 9x10

Meh.

I will probably contemplate dropping cleans for pullups till friday when I will do them anyway.
    But I might do them scaled as part of "the Chief."

Watch this space........

Weak and pathetic.

Didn't post my last two sessions.
    Only thing of note was a 77.5kg PR Bench.

Tonight.

Squat

Warm up and 20kg OHS.
    60x5
    80x5
    90x3
    100x2
    105x5
    105x3 Fail
    100x3 Fail

Strip the bar walk away.
    Pussy.

Bench

20x10
    40x5
    60x5
    75x3
    77.5x2
    80x5
    80x4....FAIL
    70x2x5

Idiot, went for a bench PR with no spotter.
    Got rescued on that Failed rep.
    Knew I wouldn't make it, but like a ****ing idiot went for it anyway.
    Pretty solid, if I had a spotter I would have made the full 3x5
    Im sure of that.

Deadlift
    60x2x5
    100x5
    110x3
    120x2
    130x5x1

After doing so badly in the squat I figured I would walk away after each rep. Got all five attempts with what I hope was better form than I have used in weeks.

Pull down abs.
    Plate 6 x6
    plate 9 3x6

Go Home.
    Gobsheen.

Fecking ****e workouts all over the gaff....

Wed: No Gym

Weighted Shrimps 15hg 5x5 each leg.
    Dips 5-5-3-2neg
    Complex

3x Kneeling jump to squat
    10DB swing 15kg.

Tonight.

Lat to Gym

Front squat

70x5x5

Press
    55x4
    55x4 push last repx3

Not able for the full 5 reps.

Pulldown Abs (nee hip flexors)
    Plate 9 x3x5
    Some chins.

****e, no time for cleans, weak.
    Possibly due to not eating enough + throwing loads of IKEA flat pack stuff round for the new office in work.

Still not happy.

Fatty does a metcon, Hilarity does not ensue.

The Cheifish

I say ish, because I don't accept that a swing is adquate replacement for a clean.

3min Rounds
    3x DB Swing (12.5kg)
    6x Pushup
    9x Air Squat

1min rest.

Repeat x5

Score: 18 rounds + Swings and Pushups.
    I was blowing hard after one round.

But I need more weight for my home DB's, to match up the intensity.
    They were clearly too easy by comparison to the PU and Squats.

Last night.
    At 3/4 lb of beef before hand.

Deadlift

60x10, 100x5, 110x3, 120x2,
    135x5 PR

Felt good, although it wasn't really as set more line 5 singles (as much as 30 sec between rep 3 & 4)

Bench

20x10, 40x5, 60x5, 70x3,
    77.5x4x2
    77.5x5

No spotter available for the first two so I didn't risk the 5th rep.
    Feckin flew up on the last set. Confidence eh?

Squat

20x10 OHS
    60x5, 80x5, 95x3
    100x5, 100x4, 100x5, 100x1

Forgot collars on the worksets and the plates started moving on the second set.
    Hence the short set.
    After doing the chief, and deadlifting first, this killed me.
    DOMS in my back and quads like a bastard today.

I am now at a portly 100kg

Shoulder, glute and hip flexor activation.

Frontys

20x10, 30x5 (wtf?) 40x5, 60x3
    72.5x3x5 PR

Life in them yet, I tells ya.
    Possibly a noise PR on the last rep.

Press

20x10, 30x10, 40x10, 50x3,
    55x2x5
    55x3 Fail.

Split Jerks
    55x3

Started breathing at the top and using the stretch at the bottom.
    Worked well, but I still crashed in the last set.
    Jerks felt good, no idea if I am doing them right, but they got the volume up.

Cleans
    20x10 Hang.
    50x3,60x4
    65x3,
    67.5x5x3

Form went from good to bad to good, missed one rep, I sort of forgot the third pull. Just not getting under, which is a problem.

I shall be getting some help real soon.....;)

Pulldown Abs.
    Plate 9 x3x5

Spent the day with Colm, Will and James at Crossfit Ireland.

Absolutely Quality day.
    You can read my glittering praise here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64907850&postcount=3

Don't think it was wise training today.
    I was kept up last night and I didn't really eat enough today.
    Consequentially I was ****.

Squat

Reset.
    3x5x20, 50x5, 70x5, 80x3,
    85x4x5.

Accidentally did an extra set.
    Probably not a bad thing as I was trying to apply a better stance and get my knees out. Basically doing what Colm and Will told me to.

Press

2x5x20, 30x5, 40x5, 50x3,
    55x5, 55x4, 55x3

Could have gotten the last rep on that second set if I had gotten under quicker. Trying to tighten and drive it up a bit better. Gonna need a reset now.

Deadlift.

60x2x5, 100x5, 110x3, 135x1.

And it all caught up on me.
    It was heavy, I could have pulled it, but I just couldn't keep my back under control. No point in wrecking myself.

The drill
    20kg bar 5 times.

That is
    1 x Hang power snatch, 1xOHS, 1 x Hang squat snatch, 1 x full snatch.
    5 times.

Almost so I had something else to do.
    Lots to work on I'm sure.

Bed now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Fatty does a metcon, Hilarity does not ensue.

The Cheifish

I say ish, because I don't accept that a swing is adquate replacement for a clean.

3min Rounds
    3x DB Swing (12.5kg)
    6x Pushup
    9x Air Squat

1min rest.

Repeat x5

Score: 18 rounds + Swings and Pushups.
    I was blowing hard after one round.

But I need more weight for my home DB's, to match up the intensity.
    They were clearly too easy by comparison to the PU and Squats.
    love that metcon and a good 20kg kettlebell would work wonders

Specially now I know how to do swings properly....

Enjoyable evening.
    Got chatting to this dude who competes at powerlifting.
    Small man, but very strong.
    Nice chap. Complimented my warmup.

Catalyst athletics warmup
    5 rep Oly bar complex (Snatch, OHS, Clean, Front squat, press, Jerk)

Front Squat
    20x5, 40x3, 50x3, 70x2,
    75x5x3 PR

Having reread the section in Starting Strength on Frontys, I decided to do sets of three. Used everything I learned about them last Sunday.

Press
    Reset
    20x2x5, 30x5, 40x5
    45x3x5

Done, mission accomplished.

Cleans

Hang power 20x5, 30x3, 30x3 lower to full.
    50x7x3

Did a couple of extra sets to nail in the cues I picked up off Colm last Sunday. Happy with it. Jerked the last rep of the last 3 sets.
    Actually rode the last rep down into a squat for S&G.

Handfull of 20kg Hang squat snatches, Done.

Resetting further....

Warmup stuff.

Squat.

20x5, 60x5, 70x5, 80x3, 85x2,
    87.5x3x5

Eh, yeah. Worked on Form. Not much to say.

Bench
    20x5, 40x5, 60x5, 70x3
    75x4,1 75x5, 75x3,1,1

Nobody around to spot.
    Stayed low, re racked a few times. Has actually been a week or so since I benched. Anxious to get it moving though.

Deadlift
    Reset

60x2x5, 90x5, 100x5,
    110x5

Yeah, Went fast enough. Its a reset so I dunno. I kept my back locked out well. I cant say much.

Fast session as I wanted to get away to watch the Liverpool v Utd with the lads. Did the minimum. Bit annoyed at the bench, I want progress, but I'm too anxious without a spotter to really push it.

Starting to get a bit frustrated.
    Not sure why.

Warmup, barbell complex.

Fronty
    20x5, 30x5, 60x3, 70x2, 75x1
    77.5x5x3 PR

Press

20x2x5, 30x5,40x5, 45x3
    47.5x3x5

Grand, done.

Clean

20x5 Hang Power.
    40x5 Hang power.
    50x7x3

Will resume progression next session.

I'm starting to feel that all these Front Squat PR's are fake.
    Thinking of doing starting strength properly instead of mucking around. Which would mean dropping them for a while, shame as I like them, but this is getting silly.
    So I ordered some Microloading plates. Hopefully I can get the Press moving again. Also I know there is movement coming in the clean when I work back up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Starting to get a bit frustrated.

Fronty
    20x5, 30x5, 60x3, 70x2, 75x1
    77.5x5x3 PR

I'm starting to feel that all these Front Squat PR's are fake.

Why? :confused:

G86 wrote: »
    Why? :confused:

Cos I haven't had any problem making all the reps yet.

Plus I havn't seen a Back squat PR in some time now.

Basically I'm being a miserable self-critical d!ck.

Cos I haven't had any problem making all the reps yet.

Plus I havn't seen a Back squat PR in some time now.

Basically I'm being a miserable self-critical d!ck.

Feck the back squats! You're doing class, and a PR is a PR, end of story:)

Monday

Warm up

Fronty:

20x2x5, 40x5, 60x3, 70x3, 75x2
    80x5x3

Press:

20x10, 30x5, 40x5, 45x3
    50x3x5

Power Clean

Hang: 20x2x5, 40x3,
    Full: 50x3
    55x5x3

All grand, Front squat was tough, but never much in doubt.
    Cleans were ok. still fluctuating form but Its coming together.

Holy **** the pubs are closed tomorrow Thursday.

Short Warm up

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 70x5, 85x3, 90x2
    95x3x5

Bench

20x10, 50x5, 60x5, 70x3, 75x2
    80x3x5

Deadlift

60x2x5, 100x5, 110x3, 115x2,
    120x5

I actually had some trouble with my squat warmups. Everything felt as tight as hell. Could be down to all the moving and running around due to our moving office.....Either way my groin and hip flexors didn't want to know. Also elbow is funny again.
    Left Adductor is still a bit funny today, so I will do some trigger point and rolling stuff today between eating like a madman.
    Put 2.5kg too much on my squat but apart from the usual lack of consistency it was grand. Think I'm getting better though.

Bench was great. Last two warm ups were awful, but with a spotter for the worksets I smoked most of it. Second last rep was slow, but focused on "Doug Youngs ribs" and the last one went up faster. :)

Deadlift was ok too. Kept my back right anyhow.

Getting back now....

Missed the other day:

Squat:

20x10, 60x5, 70x5, 85x3, 92.5x3
    95x3x5

Press

20x10, 30x5, 40x5, 45x3, 50x2
    52.5x3x5

Clean

20x5, 40x3, 50x3, 55x3,
    57.5x5x3

Today

Squat

20x2x5, 60x5, 75x5, 85x3, 95x2
    97.5x3x5

Bench

Pushups x2x5
    50x5, 60x5, 70x3, 77.5x2
    82.5x3x5 PR

Deadlift

60x2x5, 100x5, 110x3, 120x2
    125x5

Good day. Elbow was sore on Saturday after squatting, but I need to get this right, so I am back squatting every session again. The Frontys can wait, they will get better as my backsquat improves anyhow. Some pain today, but I adjusted my back a bit and it seemed to work.

Bench was great, felt strong as an ox on each rep.

I met that powerlifter gentleman again. I asked him if he had been at the nationals, he had. He got a World record in Squat, Deadlift and Total in the >53Kg (I may be wrong on the figure)
    Terribly nice fellow, very enthusiastic about PL'ing. Im not going to throw his name around, but I'm sure someone will know of him. Provided someone reads this.

Anyhow he helped me with my bench a bit with a handy tip about the bottom of the lift.

Deadlifts went up and came back down again. It was hard but thats why we do it. Isn't it?

Very little to say about Saturday. Hit everything. No PRs.

Bench

Pushups x2x5
    50x5, 60x5, 70x3, 77.5x2
    82.5x3x5 PR

Bench was great, felt strong as an ox on each rep.

:D Class!

Yawn.

Wednesday

Squat:

20x2x5, 65x5, 80x5, 90x3, 95x2
    100x3x5

Press:
    20x2x5, 30x5, 40x5, 50x3, 52.5x2
    55x2x5, 55x4 Fail

Power Clean:

20x5, 40x5, 50x3, 55x3
    60x3x5

Squats Grand.
    Press Gay, I ****ing hate 55kg, I want to move the hell on.
    Cleans Ok, up and down, Feel better than they did before.

Tonight:
    (in a mad rush in order to maximise match watching time)

Squat:

20x2x5, 60x5, 80x5, 95x3, 100x2
    102.5x3x5 PR

Bench:

20x2x5, 50x5, 65x5, 75x3, 80x2
    85x4, 85x5, 85x2

Deadlift:

60x2x5, 100x5, 110x3, 125x2
    130x5

Squats were a bit slow and inconsistant, but were made. Probably rushed them a bit, STILL A PR THOUGH!.
    Chuffed.

Bench was all over the place. Maybe its just a bit too much of a jump, but I could not for the life of me get my setup or groove right. Probably would have got third rep on set 3 but my spotter lifted the bar a bit. Probably should have eaten more today though.

Deadlift moved. End of. Actually It was tough, and I let go of the bar and got thick with myself between rep 4 and 5. I should probably let myself off with it, given how knackered I was, but Will Walshe said not to do that so I will try not to next time.
    I still hate the process of deadlifting.

I'm basically getting fat now, and I don't like having these small numbers at 100kg. Need to adjust the diet a bit.
    Too much frickin bread.

Squat

20x10, 65x5, 85x5, 95x3, 100x2
    105x3x5 PR

Press

20x10, 30x5, 40x5, 50x3, 52.5x2
    55x3x5

Power Clean

20x10, 40x5, 50x3,
    65x3x5

Wierd session.
    Was under heaps of pressure for time. Got a session in in an hour.
    Felt tired before I left, but still hit a PR and Matched two others.

Really need Pullum to pull the finger out and get my damn micro plates out.
    The Last press rep of the second two press sets was a grind and a half.

Accidentally cleaned 2.5 kg more than I meant to.

And I am up to 105kg.
    Which means the Squat is bodyweight, but not as impressive.

Last Night.

Squat

20x2x5, 65x5, 80x5, 100x3, 102.5x2
    107.5x3x5 PB

My elbow hardly hurts anymore.
    I mean I feel it a bit, but its not the headache like pain I used to get.
    My solution you ask? Accupuncture and wider grip. True story.

Press

20x10, 30x5, 40x5, 50x3, 52.5x2
    55x3x5

Asses and Names. Hopefully my micro plates will be here soon.
    Bench was too busy to be arsed.

Deadlift

60x2x5, 100x5, 110x5, 120x3, 130x2
    135x5

Match to my PB. Next step on Saturday probably.
    Feel good for it. Let the bar go between rep 4 and 5 but just to stand up and fill my lungs properly.

My frickin legs and ass are after getting huge.
    Ok I am carrying some fat, but the legs seem hard. I think I'm finally getting big. Bit of a belly. Having some serious clothes issues with the advent of me having actual hamstrings and glutes.

I am toying with the idea of switching to the Crossfit Wichita Falls Programme and going for the May Invitational. But I might just leave it till the September. Not sure yet.

Feck.

Got the Gym opening hours mixed up.
    Closes at 5 on Sat.
    I thought it was 7 but that, apparently, is sunday.

So.

Squat

20x3x5, 65x5, 85x5, 105x3
    110x3x5 PB

3x15 Push ups.

Might do some broomstick snatches.

I missed out on Bench and Power Clean.

Not technically training but I hiked Lugnaquilla for the first time today.

Tonight I saw hell.

Squat

20x2x5, 65x5, 90x5, 105x3, 110x2
    112.5x2x5
    112.5x3 Fail

Just lost everything in the hole.
    Totally forgot to bring the pins back up too so it was a bit hairy.
    Spotter tried to lift me but I just brought it down. Made lots of noise.

Bench Press

20x10, 50x5, 65x5, 70x3, 80x2
    82.5x4 Fail
    82.5x2x5

Hadn't really benched in the last week, so I pinned it back.
    Lost that first set rep. Just sort of tipped it forward. Spotter caught it.
    Wasn't overly stable.

Deadlift

60x2x5, 100x5, 110x5, 125x3, 130x2,
    135x5x1

Was absolutely shattered lifting the 110 set. Was supposed to pull 140.
    Tried it, couldn't convince my back to stay in. Then struggled to pull 135 for 5 singles. Left in a funk.

Basically I went hungryish, tired and still tight after the walk.
    I expect to hit the squats on Wed.

I have packed in GOMAD gonna try and loose a small bit of belly.
    Bodyweight 104kg or 16st and a bit.

Squat

20x3x5, 65x5, 85x5, 95x5, 105x3, 110x2
    112.5x3x5 PR

Still not sure what a bounce off the Adductors and Hams is.
    Couple of reps grunted and ground out.
    Oddly the last set was quicker than the second (during which I met Micheal Jackson). Extra warm up set as I could not for the life of me get the stiffness out of my legs.

Press

20x2x5, 30x5, 40x5, 50x3, 55x2
    56x3x5 PR

Its a PR, plus my first set with my nifty new microloading plates.

Cleans

Hang: 20x5, 40x5
    From the Floor: 50x3, 60x3, 65x3
    67.5x5x3

Woeful. Some reps were bordering on (were) reverse curls.
    But they still went to rack.
    Gonna stick there for the next session and see, I was shattered doing them, felt really heavy.

Good session considering how tired I was heading over.

CFI Invitational Prep has started.

Just a tonne of skipping.
    Once I started to string a few together I started alternating between 10 single unders and 1-2-3-Double under.

Got a few double unders, but am having trouble recovering from them.

Practice.