Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Bog defeats Shell drilling machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

dissed doc wrote: »
    What's the problem?

Public security policing is a mess as everyone knows, so it's private sector efficiency that we are now getting.

Can you think of a major private sector 'efficiency' debacle that occured recently?

Maybe one involving the largest private security company in the world?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,984 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

dissed doc wrote: »
    What's the problem?

Public security policing is a mess as everyone knows, so it's private sector efficiency that we are now getting.
    meh

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

that video makes the guards look badass

except they have no guns

ira would of been the better choice for escort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Anyway, sigh, is this yoke out yet, or is it on it's way down to aus?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭artyeva

not out yet!! they're now waiting for a bigger crane to come from belfast, a 250 tonne one. but... transporting that thing from belfast will mean getting permissions and permits from all the councils on the way... and i can't see it being able to get over the bridge to the lorry. they have loads of stone in trucks all loaded and ready and waiting within the terminal site in case they need to build a platform for the crane in the field beside the lorry... but they'd still need to get a CPO or something from that landowner. it's all a joke at this stage. anyway - some of the locals were told today not to expect it to be gone until at least tuesday of next week... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

we wouldnt be evicting anyone, we'd be renegotiating a fair deal.

And Chavez is doing pretty well fair play to him in Venezuela. The US won't use nukes on him, and the military he has built up means theyll think more than twice about f*cking with him.

As i said though,im just talking about our politicians growing some balls and doing what , internationally, will be only be viewed as reasonable, despite the public face some bought and sold politicians and media in other countries may put on it publicly.

Nobody, anywhere could realistically have a valid argument about us demanding a better deal.

But it wont happen, and im afraid the only reason I can think of that our current crop wont do anything about it, is because a) theyve been bought and sold and had a nice lump put in an offshore numbered account, or B) because they dont want to jeopardise the juicy consulting positions they might get after they help the rape of the country and the people- similar to what bertie got with the Swiss consortium after silencing the Coillte resources reports and taking them out of the Freedom of information act's remit.

We live in a disgusting fetid cesspool.

Absolutely, when you have corrupt, greedy and immoral politicians allowed to do as they please with our few native resources for God knows what rewards, lining their pockets with obscene salaries and pensions and their rotten deals being stupidly backed up by large numbers of the (screwed) general public, were not going to change.

Nobody is saying that we can explore for and extract our own gas and oil (if oil reserves exist). We can certainly cut a much better deal however with Shell and the likes.

We could (but we wont) look at well governed countries, like Norway, and see how they handle their resources and learn.

And this thing of you being told in the next post that if you dont agree with our government's policy of corruption that you dont have to stay here, that says it all.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Completely off topic

New penalty points tonight for
    Driver of car or goods vehicle not wearing safety belt

and

Using vehicle - (a) whose weight un-laden exceeds maximum permitted weight, (b) whose weight laden exceeds maximum permitted weight, or (c)any part of which transmits to ground greater weight than maximum permitted weight

• Registered Users Posts: 14,223 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

we wouldnt be evicting anyone, we'd be renegotiating a fair deal.
    I'm sure shell would agree to re-nenegotiate after they found oil. That makes sense, let them spend all the money looking for oil, when they find some tell them the piss off, they're not getting any!
    Doesn't work like that.
    CptSternn wrote: »
    What happened here in Ireland happened in Norway and Russia. Shell made deals for areas which they claimed had no viability. A few years later thanks to 'technological advanced' the areas Shell bought turned out to be fields of natural resources.

Both the governments of Norway and Russia then stepped in and told them they had to renegotiate, else they would be booted from the country. Neither Norway nor Russia have yet to be invaded.
    We're doing exactly what norway did. Encourage companys to explore, if it turns out we have lots of oil and gas, start charging a fortune or do it ourselves. Unfortunately, norway have far far more than us in far easier to get to places.
    In fact, would people stop comparing us to poxy norway! There's no comparison at all

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

Anyone else misread the title? I thought it said " Dog defeats Shell drilling machine"

Im a bit disappointed now:(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

I feel sorry for that community in Mayo - their little village and lives torn apart by some yahoo's in dublin. You have to feel for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Sharrow wrote: »
    Shipped into the country last night was a Shell drilling machine which weighs 160 ton. It arrived in Dublin had a Garda escort all the way to Mayo.

Where it jackknifed on the road and is now sinking into the Bog. And there's no cranes in the country which can lift it out. :pac:
    Happy days, OP was premature , truck is now moved and load on its way to do vitally important work!
    Fantastic news, congratulations to the Shell team, and their logistics and security staff.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/jack-knifed-corrib-gas-truck-moved-561786.html

SocSocPol wrote: »
    Happy days, OP was premature , truck is now moved and load on its way to do vitally important work!
    Fantastic news, congratulations to the Shell team, and their logistics and security staff.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/jack-knifed-corrib-gas-truck-moved-561786.html
    That's Great News! That is you Lucinda Creighton, isn't it? This^ reads a bit like a corporate Press release, btw, but all spins good spin eh.

"I'm spinning around, move outta my way, da de da de da da".. Gotta love a bit of Kylie. Bit Boring though, no pun intended, well, a bit intended.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

Is that a Garda 4x4 with a horse box involved in the escort? are they that short of vehicles that they are bringing the nag along aswell?
    I assume The Gardai are there primarily to sort out the traffic problems associated with moving an oversize load across the country and not to act as security.

Slig wrote: »
    Is that a Garda 4x4 with a horse box involved in the escort? are they that short of vehicles that they are bringing the nag along aswell?
    I assume The Gardai are there primarily to sort out the traffic problems associated with moving an oversize load across the country and not to act as security.
    Nope, the horse is dragged along in case a mounted baton charge is called for. Everyone knows crusties are terrified of horses. Just how impressive a 1 horse baton charge would be remains to be seen, but this is a bit of a one horse country tbf.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,400 ✭✭✭TheChizler

I feel sorry for that community in Mayo - their little village and lives torn apart by some yahoo's in dublin. You have to feel for them.

In fairness the construction crews and disruption would be out of the way a lot sooner if they weren't constantly blocked. Do the protesters consider the locals who don't support their cause? Their lives are made much worse by delays and disruptions caused by protesters. I appreciate the importance of protest in general, but at this stage it's clear that the project IS going to be completed, there's no point denying that. Any further protests are just driving up costs/reducing profits for the state and inconveniencing locals.

TheChizler wrote: »
    In fairness the construction crews and disruption would be out of the way a lot sooner if they weren't constantly blocked. Do the protesters consider the locals who don't support their cause? Their lives are made much worse by delays and disruptions caused by protesters. I appreciate the importance of protest in general, but at this stage it's clear that the project IS going to be completed, there's no point denying that. Any further protests are just driving up costs/reducing profits for the state and inconveniencing locals.
    Usually, I'd disagree, but I sort of agree. I drove down the N11 the other day, through the Glen of the Downs(?)where all the protests were when it was being modified etc. It looks very well at the moment, no tree shortages to be seen anyway, all looking green and leafy. Swampy mate, what were you shiteing on about again?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

seamus wrote: »
    If you didn't have a big camp of foreign crusties threatening to incite violence and vandalism, the Garda presence wouldn't be necessary.

Don't complain about the Gardai, complain about the scumbags - they're the reason the Gardai are there.

In any case, I actually can't see any Gardai in the main image on the site...

The Gardai are there to stop the thing from stripped and scrapped for money!! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭carlmwan

why dont they use more than one crane?????????????
    Also why the **** do they get all that security

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 262 ✭✭pcworldisajoke

carlmwan wrote: »
    why dont they use more than one crane?????????????
    Also why the **** do they get all that security

because big oil owns the decision makers in our government. They owned them back in the day this dal was struck, and they own them now. The method of ownership is one of three things.

1. A large large lump in a numbered account

2. The promise of a nice consulting position in one of their many satellite companies after they f*ck over the Irish people some more ( similar to what Bertie got after he quelled the freedom of information act on Coillte whwhile in government, made the resources privy to his eyes only, and then went and worked for a swiss consortium that tried to buy it at the end of last year). These people we elect are, in the majority, self interested bribeable scum - there's no other explanation for the rubbish we see in this country. scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

because big oil owns the decision makers in our government. They owned them back in the day this dal was struck, and they own them now. The method of ownership is one of three things.

1. A large large lump in a numbered account

2. The promise of a nice consulting position in one of their many satellite companies after they f*ck over the Irish people some more ( similar to what Bertie got after he quelled the freedom of information act on Coillte whwhile in government, made the resources privy to his eyes only, and then went and worked for a swiss consortium that tried to buy it at the end of last year). These people we elect are, in the majority, self interested bribeable scum - there's no other explanation for the rubbish we see in this country. scum

Is this true and if so has there been any serious journalistic pursuit into it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

My dad made a good point about this today. One nobody else has yet mentioned....

Why did the ship that carried all this heavy stuff dock in Dublin? Why wasn't it shipped as far as the west coast?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭afatbollix

No deep port on the west. Kilybegs has a deep sea port but Killybegs has worse roads to Mayo than Dublin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 262 ✭✭pcworldisajoke

Shryke wrote: »
    Is this true and if so has there been any serious journalistic pursuit into it?

look up woodland league

and some info here.
    http://fisnua.com/?p=442

You couldn't make it up.

And regarding our journos, i have little faith in most of them. Possibly because their bosses are all telling them exactly what to write depending on which politicians theyve bought.

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

I'm sure none of the local businesses/landlords etc are complaining. Sure as long as the crusties keep holding up the work the longer all of those workers will need to stay in b&b's/apartments/flats, buy groceries, go for pints, fill up with petrol, diesel etc in Co. Mayo rather than wherever they're from themselves.
    In a kind of fecked up way, the Crusties are actually HELPING the local economy by disrupting the work!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Be grand hey, just hook her up to the tractor and we'll pull her out....
    Anyone got a winch?
    Or a 'wench'. In Wexford anyway. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Daisy M

I'm sure none of the local businesses/landlords etc are complaining. Sure as long as the crusties keep holding up the work the longer all of those workers will need to stay in b&b's/apartments/flats, buy groceries, go for pints, fill up with petrol, diesel etc in Co. Mayo rather than wherever they're from themselves.
    In a kind of fecked up way, the Crusties are actually HELPING the local economy by disrupting the work!

They probably are not complaining because they are not going to be living right adjacent to the pipe line. Who here could hand on heart say they would be comfortable living as close to the pipeline as a number of houses are expected to. Just because it only effects a small number of people doesnt make it any the less unjust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Daisy M wrote: »
    They probably are not complaining because they are not going to be living right adjacent to the pipe line. Who here could hand on heart say they would be comfortable living as close to the pipeline as a number of houses are expected to. Just because it only effects a small number of people doesnt make it any the less unjust.
    Thousands of people already live beside gas piplines that run from Kinsale up to the border and from the gas interconnector which comes ashore at Gormonston in Co.Meath. It's never been an issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

SocSocPol wrote: »
    Thousands of people already live beside gas piplines that run from Kinsale up to the border and from the gas interconnector which comes ashore at Gormonston in Co.Meath. It's never been an issue.

That is a totally different situation, those gas lines carry processed/refined gas which is relatively stable.
    While the Corrib gas line is carrying unprocessed and very unstable gas to the refinery. something which has never been done anywhere in the world, the gas is normally refined at sea. This is the big issue that most residents have. A lot of people are in favor with bringing the gas into the area, but just not the method that is been used. Litterally a not in my back yard situation, but with genuine concern, think of all the times that hundreds of people have been killed by explosions on oil lines in Nigeria, that has been due to attacks on the pipelines, but is shows how dangerous things are when things go wrong. The Corrib pipeline was originally going through dozens of people's back yards. Could you sleep knowing that that timebomb was in your garden

• Registered Users Posts: 742 ✭✭✭mayotom

That's the biggest shame of all, Thanks to Ray Burke and Bertie Ahern, The Irish state will receive ZERO royalties on corrib gas and most of the other gas and oil finds that have been discovered off our coast in recent years. That along with favourable taxation for oil companies (berties legacy)on all international income these companies bring little or nothing to Ireland. Just millions in costs to police the whole thing.
    In most of the world the minimum that any state receives on natural resources is 20% but quiet often upto 50% this would have gone a long way to reducing our sovereign debt, but once again the people have been screwed

• Registered Users Posts: 28,984 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

mayotom wrote: »
    Thanks to Ray Burke and Bertie Ahern the people have been screwed
    just sayin

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.