Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

...one squat at a time

• 22-01-2013 1:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭

Warm Up x 2
    Goblet Squat 16kg 30sec hold
    Lunges+Rev Lunges x 5 alternating
    YTI w/2.5kg plates x 10 of each letter

Skills work
    Box Squats 30kg 8x3: legs far apart as poss, exaggerated push back and 2 sec pause at bottom
    SLDL to below knees x 10 w/20kg,30kg,40kg
    Top down SLDL 5x3 40kg
    SLDL to below knees x 10 20kg,30kg,40kg

Strength work

Front Squats 40kg 5x3
    Bulgarian Split Squats 10kg 5x5 e/s
    Push Ups on DBs 5x7reps
    Ring Rows Neutral 12,10,10
    Rings roll out 5×10

Conditioning
    150m Row x 10 w/45sec rests

Foam Rolling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭TheBellJar

I've been working my front squats back up over the past while and was at 35kg 8x3 before I had a 2 week break from training til now. Was my first session back yesterday and went on to 40kg 5x3 without realising I'd missed a session of 37kg 5x5. But they felt easy so I figured I'd just move onwards to the next session of 37 5x8 today...but it didn't quite go to plan and I ended up bringing the weight down to get through the set. First stickler I've had in the squat programme so far but I know it's just because of the 2 weeks out. Will do the 37 5x5 tomorrow and see how that goes!

Warm up x 2 followed by

Skills work
    Box Squats 32.5kg, 8×3 with 60 sec rests
    SLDL to below knees x10 w/20kg,30kg,40kg
    Top down DL 40kg 8×3 with 60sec rests

Strength work
    Front Squats:
    37.5kgx5
    37.5kgx3
    35kgx5
    35kgx3
    30kgx5
    -less said the better.
    KB Swings 24kg x20,20,20,20,20,16
    Single Arm DB Press 7.5kg x21,10,4 – matched my weak side
    Ring Rows 12,12,10
    Plank punches 5×8

Conditioning
    12mins of:
    8 Push ups
    15 Single Arm KB Rows e/s 16kg
    22 KB Swings 20kg
    6 rounds
    -the swings took forever, my arms were dead.

Crosstrainer
    : 10mins

Warm Up x 2
    Goblet Squat 16kg 30sec hold
    Lunges+Rev Lunges x 5 alternating
    YTI w/2.5kg plates x 10 of each letter

Skills work
    Box Squats 35kg 8x3: legs far apart as poss, exaggerated push back and 2 sec pause at bottom. Easy.
    SLDL to below knees x 10 w/20kg,30kg,40kg
    Top down SLDL 5x3 40kg
    SLDL to below knees x 10 20kg,30kg,40kg

Strength work

Front Squats 37.5kg 5x5 - happy with this after the last session, felt a lot stronger. Something just clicked on the 3rd set (i.e. I woke up my hamstrings) and the last 3 sets felt really solid, no re-setting or any of that **** and everything just seemed to 'lock in' from the 1st to the last rep of the set. Unusual for lil miss 'hit and miss tekkers' over here. Happy days.

Bulgarian Split Squats 10kg 5x5 e/s

Push Ups on DBs x11,x11,x11,x8,x5 - the aim of these is to stop the first set one rep from failure and do 5 sets of that. But I started failing on the 4th set. Pretty happy with it though because my last session was 5x7 and when I first moved from normal push ups to DB ones I was only getting 4/5 reps. Next step will be the rings, hopefully!

Ring Rows Underhand Grip

Rings roll out 5×10

Conditioning
    500m Row x 3 with 90 sec rests
    Total time including rests: 9.31
    Breakdown:
    500m: 1.59
    500m: 2.08
    500m: 2.12
    Total 1500: 6.19

-Rowing wasn't great today, but I was happy to just finish it out.

The plan at the moment is 3 sessions a week, so I've this week covered now but I'll probably get an extra one in tomorrow.

Had a great start to the prog and dropped weight/bf, but after the 2 weeks out I've gone a bit backwards. Went to the supermarket there now and got stocked up to prepare my meals for the week though, so it's full steam ahead again now.

It's nice now to be getting my confidence back a bit and getting the weights up again, it steers the focus away from just leaning up so that I still feel like I'm getting somewhere/progressing.

Foam Rolling

Skills work
    Box Squats 37.5kg, 8×3 with 60 sec rests - grand.
    Top down DL 40kg 8×3 with 60sec rests

Strength work
    Front Squats: 40kg 5x3 - grand
    KB Swings
    28kgx20
    28kgx14 - realised I'd been a tad overly optimistic and wasn't going to get through 5 sets of 20, so went back down to 24kg. But sure if you don't try you don't get!
    24kgx20
    24kgx20
    24kgx15
    Single Arm DB Press 7.5kg x22,10,4 – matched my weak side
    Ring Rows Netural Grip 12,12,10
    Plank punches 5×8

Had to finish up early so no conditioning work, but happy I got the strength session done. Be interesting to see how the front squats go next session.

I think things are starting to come together...

Had a coaching session tonight and worked on my squats and DLs, looks like both have improved which I'm really pleased about. I hadn't pulled anything heavy in over a year and I think that was actually my best deadlift ever tekkers wise tonight.

Chin ups weren't happening but I know I'll get them back with a bit of work. And other than that it's just a case of ploughing away at it.

It's nice to see a bit of progress. Was a good session.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Next goals - 100kg deadlift and bodyweight squat with solid tekkers

Hanley wrote: »
    Next goals - 100kg deadlift and bodyweight squat with solid tekkers

Noted :) But to be honest I don't want to chase anything for now and I'm going to count anything from here on in as a PR, I don't care if it's not reaallly because that 90kg felt like a completely different lift! If I managed to pull 130 againin the next 6 months but with decent tekkers I'd be over the moon, but if I start stressing over numbers now I'm just going to get frustrated with how weak I am:o Best to focus on the positives...i.e. there's probably going to be alot less breaking of myself now!:D

Warm up x 2

Skills
    Back Squat 30kg 8x3 60sec rests
    SLDL to below knees: 20kg/30kg/40kg x10
    Deadlift 45kg 8x3 60sec rests
    Green Band Assisted Chin Ups: 8x6 (missed the last rep of last 2 sets - fcuker)

Strength
    Front Squat 37.5kg x3,x5,x3,x5,x3
    DB Push Ups x7,x7,x7,x4,x3
    Neutral Grip Ring Rows x12,x10,x10

F.Squats didn't feel great, wrecked.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭doctorwhogirl

I find front squats really tough in general. Particularly on my hands/wrists. Even though I do make sure I rest the bar back on my fingers etc... but it's tough!

There's actually a good stretch Hanley showed me for that; you sit on a bench with your hands under your ass with wrists facing forward and lean backwards - it really works for me, you should try it! :)

Think I was just being a grumpy wuss tonight :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭doctorwhogirl

TheBellJar wrote: »
    There's actually a good stretch Hanley showed me for that; you sit on a bench with your hands under your ass with wrists facing forward and lean backwards - it really works for me, you should try it! :)

Think I was just being a grumpy wuss tonight :rolleyes:

That's a great tip! Thanks! I did gymnastics when I was younger and my wrists took a bit of a battering so they need a good bit of stretching!

.i.e. there's probably going to be alot less breaking of myself now!:D

Way to go jinxing myself.

Currently sitting on a bench in the changing rooms summoning the growth of a pair of balls so that I can actually attempt to move.

On the plus side...
    Dammit, I'll think of a plus side later.

Went in all set for a savage session til I went and broke myself.:rolleyes:

I think it's the same SI issue haunting me again, it's a sharp motherfcuking pain in the same spot and happened when deadlilfting same as before. I could be totally off, but the same thing left me out of action for a few weeks a few years ago.

What I don't understand is how the hell I did it. I've been really careful with my DLs; my tekkers felt fine today apart from dropping my hips too low which I clocked and corrected. The weight isn't heavy either, which was kind of the point of doing all this skills work...so how the hell did I manage to break myself?! I'm an eejit.:mad:

Anyways:

Warm up x2

Skills
    Back Squats 35 8x3 simples
    SLDL 10x 20kg,30kg,40kg
    Deadlift 47.5kg x3,x3,x3,x2 - ouchies incurred, couldn't finish it out.
    Chins ups green band x7,x7,x7,x4,x3,x6x3x3

Strength
    * (*title may be misleading)
    Front Squats were a no-go.
    Single Arm DB Press 7.5kg x22,x12,x9 matched weak side
    Wasn't a hope of doing rows so left it there and switched to cardio.

Crosstrainer (the antichrist)
    20mins

Lots of stretchy stuff.
    Lots of squealing like a girl.
    And repeat.

Out of action for a few days.

til then I'm living vicariously through all these awesome new blogs that have popped up :)

Bad news: Have a severe lower lung infection after I stupidly left it too long to go doc. So going to be at least a week before back doing anything and apparently going to be out of sorts for a while after.

Good news: my SI feels on the mend and a week in bed is bound to sort it out.

In other news, I'm now addicted to 'Hart of Dixie'. Rachel Bilson makes me want to be a lesbian.

Thank god for laptops and online streaming.

3 weeks out after fcuking up my SI followed by a nasty lung infection. Had my first coaching session back tonight....

..Just home 15 mins and I fell down the stairs.

this **** isn't funny. pretty sure i broke my hand. and nerly fcuking dislocated my shoulder in the process.

left hand. left handed.

FCUKING OWW.

:mad::mad:

This log is starting to feel like a script from Casualty:rolleyes:

Turns out hand is fractured; got a cast today, should be off in 6 weeks and back with specialist in 2 weeks. I'm also 250e poorer...I really need to get fcuking VHI.

Going to have to try get some adaptation done of my workouts, god forbid I get stuck on a bike for a month....:eek:

This is going to be funny looking back, keeeeep telling myself that:pac:

Wondering if anyone here can give me some other ideas here? :)

Looks like my hand will be in a cast least 4wks and then rehab, seeing specialist Thurs so will know better then.

Sooo.....was thinking about it last night, the below are all that seem feasible...

Leg Press
    Hamstring Curl
    Single leg squats
    Plank (one arm)
    Crunches

^^Going to have to work out cond blocks with them too.

Crosstrainer - just legs
    Bike - I hate cycling/spinning so this is last resort!

Sooooo annoying and I know people will say take a stay home etc. but I really want to get back into things, was off sick long enough and already getting more squishy than I'd like!

bits n' pieces...

Leg Press
    40kgx10
    60kgx10
    80kg 5x10

Ham Curls 5th pin
    5x10

Single Leg Squats unweighted (30sec rest pause)
    left: x30,x25,x22
    right: x22,x18,x15

DB Press 7.5kg (30 sec rest)
    right: x25,x16,x6

Abzz supersetty yoke
    Plank x60 sec
    crunchesx20
    Plankx30sec
    crunchesx20
    Plankx20sec
    crunchesx20
    - the crunches all uber strict and controlled - really felt these.

Crosstrainer (vom)
    5k: 31.10

Leg Press
    40kgx10
    80kg 5x10

Ham Curls 5th pin
    5x10

Single Leg Squats unweighted (30sec rest pause)
    left: x28,x22,x18
    right: x20,x18,x13

DB Press 7.5kg (30 sec rest)
    right: x29,x16,x7

Abzz supersetty yoke
    Plank x60 sec
    crunchesx20
    Plankx30sec
    crunchesx20
    Plankx20sec
    crunchesx20

Single arm KB swings 12kg
    x20,x20,x16
    -have never done these with one arm before-they looked well dodge:o

Crosstrainer 10min

I dropped a fair whack of bodyfat when I sorted my diet out back in Sept and got back training, but it went to **** a bit the past 2 months; so my focus has just been on getting in sessions when I can and trying not to dwell on the oul obesity levels. These pics are a welcome reminder that having a bad few weeks isn't the end of the world; it doesn't take much to get lean up again and it's really alot easier to have a more relaxed approach to training/diet when you realise that. It is for me anyway.

So - the below pics are two weeks apart. Haven't been training much in 4 weeks, first pic is return of jelly belly after over 2 weeks of eating wheat products and carbing it up again. Second pic is today after cutting out wheat and moderating carbs again for two weeks. No training just diet. Big eye opener right? Go figure....

48467010151336291796629.jpg

What I was meant to do: Remove half slab on Wednesday and switch to velcro cast for 1/2 weeks. Start easing into lifting in 2 weeks also.

What I actually did: Got impatient, took it off last night and tried to squat today. :rolleyes:

Worked up to 40kg on squats and it went from uncomfortable to bloody sore, no grip at all so wised up (eventually) and hit the leg press. Think I'll do what I'm told and hold out the 2 weeks before putting any pressure on it again.

Leg Press
    80kg 5x10
    - well done to the f.ucker who loaded it with a gazillion 20kg plates and ****ed off leaving them there for me to take off to use it.

Hams Curls 5th pin
    x10,x10,x10,x10,x9

Single leg squat 10kg
    3x10 e/s
    managed this by holding the plate against my chest with one hand, I probably got a bit of a bicep workout outta that too :pac:

Single arm press 7.5kg
    30 sec rest
    x27,x11,x10

Plank
    90sec
    40sec
    20sec

Crosstrainer

10mins - There are few things in this world I love more than the crosstrainer except, well - everything.

Hand is well mended now, just a bit achy but nothing restrictive. Decided to try squatting/DLing and it was all grand. Got a tiny clip on mp3 player too which is dead handy.

Skills work
    Back Squat: 37.5kg 8x3 w/30sec rests
    SLDL: 20kgx10, 30kgx10, 40kgx10
    Deadlift: 40kg 3x5 w/30 sec rests
    SLDL: 40kgx10, 30kgx10, 40kgx10

Strength work
    F.Squat
    42.5kgx3
    42.5kgx3
    42.5kgx2
    42.5kgx3
    42.5kgx1
    42.5kgx3
    42.5kgx3
    - this was meant to be a straight 5x3 but these were tough today so had a few re-racks in between. It was definitely a technique issue as they felt a bit unsteady, which is annoying as I had it nailed last month. Still got the 5 sets of 3 though, just took a bit of persistence - and stubborness.;)

DB Push Ups

x7
    x6
    x4
    x3
    x3
    - yeaaaa so these got sh1t.

Neutral Grip Ring Row (30sec rest)
    x12
    x10
    x10

Conditioning 1
    20-15-10-5 reps of:
    Burpees
    5kg DB Thrusters

followed by 6 rounds of:
    Ring Rows x 5
    Push ups x 10 (5 on last set, hand got ouchy)
    Squats x 15

Total time: 16.30

- I wanted to get it out of the way today because it's definitely my least favourite conditioning block. I only got 5 reps on the last set of push ups because my hand started to give up.

Conditioning 2

Rower 150m w/45sec breaks
    - bit disappointing as I like to keep these around 31-35sec.

Cardio
    Crosstrainer: 30mins

Core work
    Side bends 24kg 3x10 e/s
    - just because.

Longer session than usual but today was a good day for me so I wanted to make the most of it.

Update

Synopsis of past 2 months:
    Screwed up SI
    Lung Infection
    Fractured my hand
    Screwed up SI again

Motivation is the biggest struggle for me, so combined with the above it didn't lead to a very productive 2 months.

Had my SI popped today which should hopefully make some difference and got some help with flexibility work; hips are tight etc. so going to work on that daily and fingers crossed will improve on that score soon. I have a bit of a plan anyway which is the main thing, til I get get back to a strength prog. Without plans I tend to do fcuk all.

In the meantime, working late tomorrow so back in gym Wed to prob just do mobility work and upper body and see how things go.

Did a fcukload of stretching/mobility work yesterday but it's not loosening things up much to be honest. I've now also noticed that I can't lay my leg out flat when sitting on the ground without it shaking like a mofo. Oh and my knee turns inwards. Basically feels like my whole left side hip to ankle is an elastic band. So, I do know I need to see a proper physio, but unless someone wants to invent me a money making machine that's in the back burner for a few weeks.

So yesterday I eased into things to see how I'd fare today then. Squats were alright til I got to 40+ and then came the hurt train. Stuck with upper body after that.

Squats
    20kgx5
    30kgx5
    30kgx5
    40kgx3
    40kgx3
    45kgx3
    45kgx2 - ouchies

Press ups:
    x18
    x10
    x10
    x10

- there was a online fitness challenge to get more than 25 unbroken- some chick set that record and they posted it on twitter. So I tried... And failed. But 18 is alright and I really want to get over 25 now so was worth a shot.

Pull ups green band
    7x4

Single arm Press 7.5kg
    Matched weak side, max reps 30sec rest
    x27
    x16
    x7

Plank
    -ouchie

Cross trainer - 10mins

Attempt at foam rolling - fail, foam rollers in the gym have turned into soft toys.

More stretchy stuff.

Sore enough today but nothing savage, I'd fair feel it if I tried to squat though

My SI is still fcuked. And I'm at a loss as to whether that's even the main issue right now to be honest because my whole lower left side is a disaster zone.

Got a rec for a good physio so going to try get an apt for next Wednesday. This is going on over a month now and as it gets worse I get fatter...so something needs to be done.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,027 ✭✭✭COH

What have you done to your SI?

COH wrote: »
    What have you done to your SI?

Hurt it deadlifting over 2 years ago and every now and then it gets sore again - usually goes away in a day or two but this time it’s not getting any better.

I’ve tried some stretching etc. but it’s not improving and has gone from one specific painpoint to my left leg basically seizing up - might not be my SI at all for all I know, but that’s what it feels like.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,027 ✭✭✭COH

Hurt it deadlifting over 2 years ago and every now and then it gets sore again - usually goes away in a day or two but this time it’s not getting any better.

I’ve tried some stretching etc. but it’s not improving and has gone from one specific painpoint to my left leg basically seizing up - might not be my SI at all for all I know, but that’s what it feels like.

If the usual SI activation stuff doesn't help at all my SI usually calms down after I attack my glutes and hips with a hockey ball/foam roller then stretch and band-distract the bejaysus out of them a lá mobilitywod.

I've never had my leg seize up though, sounds like there could be more going on there? Teran Synge (1 Merrion Square) is an SI ninja jesus - talk to him.

COH wrote: »
    If the usual SI activation stuff doesn't help at all my SI usually calms down after I attack my glutes and hips with a hockey ball/foam roller then stretch and band-distract the bejaysus out of them a lá mobilitywod.

I've never had my leg seize up though, sounds like there could be more going on there? Teran Synge (1 Merrion Square) is an SI ninja jesus - talk to him.

Thanks a million for that. Karla actually recommended Aidan Wood so I’ve made an apt with him for Wed, but if it’s better to go to someone with more of a focus on SI I’ll do that. Any advice from anyone would be great as I don’t know much about physios.

As for what’s going on with it, this is the best description I have really:

Pain in my lower left hip when I bend down/sit down/get up/squat/deadlift..goes from bearable to sharp pain.
    Constant ache going from that point down my leg
    Weird pins and needles type feeling when I try to straighten out my leg
    Leg shakes when I try to straight it out fully and feels like I’m over stretching it (which I’m not)
    Constantly aware of it being stiff when I’m walking.