Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Netherlands

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

Was in Geldrop on Saturday, but for anyone who's interested Villagers are playing in Utrecht on the 9th of March. Anybody want to have a meetup at that?

Didn't make it to Utrecht in the end, but Villagers are playing again in Maastricht on the 30th of April. More info here: http://www.wearevillagers.com/live.html

Anyone interested in meeting up at this or at another time/ place? We could make a poll :)!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭CptSternn

Anyone know of a good place to find a babysitter in Tilburg or any websites or services in the Netherlands that might be of use?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

I have friends in Breda, I'll ask them.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭CountingClocks

http://www.oppassen.nl/

Some friends in Amsterdam use this one

What's everyone up to for Koninginnedag?

Being republicans. :P

My partner is pretty anti monarchy so he doesn't care much about it. My daughter is roughly the same age as the new crown princess, though, so she's super excited about it. I think we're going to a friend's house in Maarseen to watch the pomp and ceremony on the telly, and then if the weather allows we'll go to the local festivities. Then back home to catch up on some tv and sink some beers.

Being republicans. :P

Don't worry, it's not THAT Queen! ;)

Register anyway and tell the landlord to get stuffed. You signed a lease, I hope? That's all you need as proof of address. He cannot stop you from registering and in fact is breaking the law by preventing you from registering.

My partner is suggesting that your landlord may be registered to your address and claiming benefits there. That's his problem. Go and register. Otherwise demand your deposit back and get somewhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Register anyway and tell the landlord to get stuffed. You signed a lease, I hope? That's all you need as proof of address. He cannot stop you from registering and in fact is breaking the law by preventing you from registering.

My partner is suggesting that your landlord may be registered to your address and claiming benefits there. That's his problem. Go and register. Otherwise demand your deposit back and get somewhere else.

Probably not benefit... more likely the tax rebate on the mortgage interest.

Where'd the post go? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭shortys94

I'll most likely be moving to Amsterdam in August to pursue a masters in VU University in Amstelveen. The course is two years long.

I have booked accommodation in Uilenstede hopefully as it is more reasonable than renting in the city or elsewhere, it is student accommodation. I realise that the campus and accommodation are south of the city and are not on the same grounds.

Can anyone give me any advice which I should know right off the bat?

I have family from Valkenburg in the south of the Netherlands and a cousin in Amsterdam. Have visited the city of Amsterdam before.

I would just like some tips and things and any recommendations. I'm big into fitness and saw there is a university gym opposite the accommodation which is good. The accommodation is mostly masters students and erasmus students, so hopefully it isn't too noisy.

I plan on getting a bicycle for transport, would prefer not to use public to save money. Not bringing car over.

My partner lived near to where you will be living with his friend who attended VU.

Off the bat advice: register with the council on arrival, they will give you a burgerservisnummer which is pretty much your social security number. It will make almost everything else you have to do easier.

Whilst the bike is great for getting around short distances you will eventually need and want an OV chipkaart. This is a public transport card that can be used anywhere in the Netherlands. Just googling about there and if you're getting study finance you might get this cheap or free. http://studentify.nl/guides/student%20discounts%20and%20deals You'll be staying near a tramstop and the 5 and 51 tram stops outside of VU and will take about 5 minutes. About 15 minutes into the city centre.

Never take taxis, figure out the night buses from Centraal instead.

I believe there's great discounts and deals for students in a lot of places.

If you're cooking for yourself find a nice Turkish grocers, they are substantially cheaper than the AH (Albert Heijn, like a Dutch Tescos) for fruit, veg, pasta and rice. For the ubiquitous AH make sure get a bonus card to take advantage of their deals.

You'll be living near to Amsterdamse Bos, a forest park between your area and the Airport. It's lovely, take full advantage of it.

Whilst the bike is great for getting around short distances you will eventually need and want an OV chipkaart. This is a public transport card that can be used anywhere in the Netherlands. Just googling about there and if you're getting study finance you might get this cheap or free. http://studentify.nl/guides/student%20discounts%20and%20deals You'll be staying near a tramstop and the 5 and 51 tram stops outside of VU and will take about 5 minutes. About 15 minutes into the city centre.

That card isn't free.
    http://studenten.tudelft.nl/en/students/study-and-career/studying-or-doing-an-internship-abroad/step-1-orientation/studying-abroad/athens/athens-incoming-delft/athens-programme-incoming-march-2013/public-transportation/
    Free student travel card

During your stay in Delft you may encounter the "free" student OV-card that most Dutch students use. International students are NOT entitled to have one. Because actually the card is not "free" at all, but paid for by deducting money from the student loans that Dutch students receive from the government.

The above isn't completely correct either as it is possible to do this after 5 years of being resident in the Netherlands, or having direct family living in the Netherlands for over 5 years (Parents)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭elefant

That card isn't free.
    http://studenten.tudelft.nl/en/students/study-and-career/studying-or-doing-an-internship-abroad/step-1-orientation/studying-abroad/athens/athens-incoming-delft/athens-programme-incoming-march-2013/public-transportation/

The above isn't completely correct either as it is possible to do this after 5 years of being resident in the Netherlands, or having direct family living in the Netherlands for over 5 years (Parents)

Or if you work enough hours per month so you have equal rights as an EU worker. When I was studying it was 32 hours per month. Heard it was changing to more though, so not sure what the situation is now.

So I am now looking for insurance as we all know it's required by law. Any suggestions? What companies are good? Which ones are more reasonably priced? Which ones should be avoided? Any other things a person looking for insurance should know or look out for?

CptSternn wrote: »
    So I am now looking for insurance as we all know it's required by law. Any suggestions? What companies are good? Which ones are more reasonably priced? Which ones should be avoided? Any other things a person looking for insurance should know or look out for?

OHRA are about the best I hear.

Check out with your details and requirements on Independer.nl
    http://www.independer.nl/zorgverzekering/

For the basic coverage your looking at around 97.30 / month.

I'm afraid I've done the girly thing of letting himself take of that. But we're with OHRA and haven't had any problems.

• Site Banned Posts: 280 ✭✭Dr_Brian_Cocks

I have been offered an interview for ASML as system install engineer. I was told on the phone (as I said I wouldn't go for it) that I am more or less guaranteed a job if I go out?

Would ye recommend Eindhoven?

Tricky thing is I have an interview tomorrow for an internship which appeals to me more in Dublin and I won't know the answer to that until after Friday (latest time to change my mind)

I have been offered an interview for ASML as system install engineer. I was told on the phone (as I said I wouldn't go for it) that I am more or less guaranteed a job if I go out?

Would ye recommend Eindhoven?

Tricky thing is I have an interview tomorrow for an internship which appeals to me more in Dublin and I won't know the answer to that until after Friday (latest time to change my mind)

Have lived in Eindhoven (Strijp) for 4 years now and love it, wouldn't move back to Ireland.

Its a relatively small place (about the size of Cork) with good amenities, nice people and decent train connections to the rest of the Netherlands.

Depends what your into, there's a Rock Climbing Center, National Swim Center, Go Karting, Roller Disco, a few Museums, Strijp grounds where there's a feelgood festival every third Sunday of the month and also it also has a Music Venue (Klokgebouw) to name a few.

There's a good few nice bars (Although most of the Irish seem to go to the Irish pub)

Also a good (cheap) connection back to Ireland via Eindhoven Airport to Dublin.

I've lived in Dublin (Blackrock and worked in Dun Laoghaire) I wouldn't even consider Dublin an option.

Eindhoven is even getting a Penneys :pac::pac::pac:

Train to Amsterdam is around 1hr 45mins
    Train to Dusseldorf is 2hrs 6 minutes
    Train to Antwerp is 2hrs

You can get a card that gives 40% off Train travel for 50 or 60ish a year (Can't find the price now)

For getting around Eindhoven itself it has an extensive Bus Network with dedicated bus lanes, although best to get yourself a Bicycle, everyone cycles here with Cyclists pretty much taking priority over pedestrians and cycle lanes everywhere.

My partner is from Eindhoven, he grew up next to Genneper park. It's a lovely wee town, I'd recommend it to anyone that wasn't after a ton of nightlife or history (it was completely flattened during Operation Market Garden and rebuilt afterwards).

That ASML company is thriving, by the way, if they say they have a job for you then they do.

When is it getting the Penneys, Keith? Myself and a friend drove out to the one in Almere last Saturday.

My partner is from Eindhoven, he grew up next to Genneper park. It's a lovely wee town, I'd recommend it to anyone that wasn't after a ton of nightlife or history (it was completely flattened during Operation Market Garden and rebuilt afterwards).

That ASML company is thriving, by the way, if they say they have a job for you then they do.

When is it getting the Penneys, Keith? Myself and a friend drove out to the one in Almere last Saturday.

http://www.frizzling.nl/fashion/brands/opening-primark-eindhoven/

Look like some time between now and December ... they've had a sign up saying 'Binnenkort' for ages. Looks almost done though.

Cheap undies and socks ... woo hoo ! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭elefant

There's also a growing GAA club in Eindhoven now if you're into that.

elefant wrote: »
    There's also a growing GAA club in Eindhoven now if you're into that.

Really? Haven't played GAA in years but wouldn't mind joining a club and seeing some matches! Where and when do they meet?

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Indie.

Also in the Netherlands doing an internship . My advice would not to even consider doing the internship in Dublin!

Dont have much experience of Eindhoven but the country as a whole is a great place. There is literally no language barrier and is on the doorway of Europe. Have no negatives really from my time here so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Indie.

Really? Haven't played GAA in years but wouldn't mind joining a club and seeing some matches! Where and when do they meet?

https://www.facebook.com/groups/319613001474214/?fref=ts

Shoot them a message on that. Think they are meeting up this Sat as far as I know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

A question for people living in Holland who went there with no language.

From my experience of living in Italy, I picked up the language fairly quickly. The full immersion method. ;)

How long did it take you to build up a good conversational level of Dutch?

I'm not in Holland, but attempted to learn it myself once upon a time.

2 years here and I'm still useless. I started a course but the college I started with went bankrupt and I didn't get a refund. I can read Dutch quite well but I'm struggling hard with speaking it. I'm trying to pick it up by volunteering in a school and socialising, and following subtitles, and reading news articles but it's so flipping hard to learn to actually speak it because everyone speaks English! Every time I speak in Dutch, people respond in English. It's infuriating, to say the least. Dutch people will even speak to each other in English.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭CountingClocks

I was pretty fluent within a year but mainly because I already spoke German. I went to class for 6 hours a week and started to read books, watch telly, etc. so it didn't take too long to get my diploma. I live in Amsterdam and work for a US company so normally it would have been a bigger struggle and lots of people never get past the basics but having studied other languages including German was a big advantage.

I think it depends where you live, when we were living in the Hague and if you live anywhere in Noord/Zuid Holland you are banjaxed as everyone speaks English fluently.

Since living in Eindhoven I find now my conversational dutch is better but i'm still a bit crippled as I work in Germany and the language in the office is English.

Best thing to do I have found is pretend you don't speak English :)

With English you can get by but in the long run Dutch is much better, e.g. something as simple as reading the NS (Irish Rail Equivolent) website as theres deals etc that aren't communicated in English, or reading stuff on the City Hall/Government websites.

In some cases Google Translate can really get it wrong :)

About half of our Dutch Neighbours don't speak much English at all though.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,037 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Hi

Was offered a position in Netherlands, however I see that the tax is crazy high.
    Is it really this as per wikipedia for 2013, income tax for persons under 65 is as follows:

[For the part of income up to €19,645: 5,85% (plus mandatory Premium National Insurance 31.15%)
    between €19,645 and €33,363: 10.85% (plus mandatory Premium National Insurance 31.15%)
    between €33,363 and €55,991 : 42%
    On all income over €55,991 : 52%
    ]

So even the first euro you earn has to be taxed at over 37%?

Also, has anybody availed of The 30 Percent Rule?

[The 30 Percent Rule is a personal income tax reduction for select employees in the Netherlands. It applies to specialized foreign employees who are brought to the Netherlands because their skills are scarce in the Dutch marketplace. The scarcity of work force with particular skills is reviewed annually "The 30% rule".]

Is it easy to process this?

My company said that they can provide a letter stating that they couldn't find any suitable Dutch person, and also will pay for PwC to help me process it, will that be enough?

I'd like to be sure before I move.