Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Apollo bicycle stolen from Malahide Train station last thursday (along with a loads of others it seems)

Bit distictive as one of the spokes in the rear wheel sticks out a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 jmoore50

Fuji Road Bike stolen from work 'secure' caged area yesterday at some point.
    Black and White Fuji SL 3.0, distinctive as it was an SL 3.0 Frame built up with Ultegra SL 6600 groupset. Also had Mavic Ksyrium Equipe wheels, Ultegra pedals, Carbon Bottle cages.
    Fizik Arione Carbon Saddle.
    Bike was locked at the time, lock cut with bolt cutters. Anyone comes across it would be great. PIC to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

• Registered Users Posts: 2 coodon

Grey Specialised Sirrus bike taken from Canon Hall underground parking sometime between today and yesterday.

Thief had to know bike was there, get through first security gate (which was turned off today - landlady heard reports of people tampering with it this morning) and down into the parking. 1 lock cut off it. CCTV was also off this week.

Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭kaef

Few hours ago (between 3pm and 7pm) some fecking gob****e stole my bicycle from the fornt door of my apartment @ Maritana Gate, Canada St.

It's hybrid bike Avanti Blade II (unusual brand in Waterford), blue frame. Packed with usual cycling equipment - 0,5watt front light, two rear lights, two bottle cages, one of them with pressure horn bottle (AirZound). It has Michelin road tyres - front with blue rind, and rear with red rind.

Every exit is packed with CCTV, so I'll get records tomorrow.

if anyone spot it in the city please call Gardai Station Ballybricken (051) 305 300 and pass the information to officer T.J.

EDIT:
    Here's a footage with two lads with my bike:
    <snip>

Unfortunatelly Gardai doesn't look interested in that case at all. They supposed to get footage of security day after report (should get it straight away as security has acces to cctv 24/7). Three days after I begged and get my own copy then brought it to Gardai station... And.. And they refuse to take copy because officer who runs my case is off duty...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Sorry to hear.

I would take that footage down though if i were you.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Sorry but I have to remove the video, Dav the community manager explains why here

• Registered Users Posts: 2 homey07

Scott Scale MTB from 2009 White/Black/Yellow. Carbon Fiber Frame. Schwalbe Tires. It's a pretty obvious bike, not many Scott around.

Was stolen about 4 weeks ago at Sandyford Industrial Estate from inside the bike shed under Cubes 5, Dublin 18

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭Idunnowho

Hi All,

Nothing new Im sure but just a quick word of warning that there's a bike thief gang doing the rounds... its December after all.. They were around Delgany in a van last night, 4am, and they hit as many houses (ie. sheds) as possible in a short space of time :mad:

They are selective and are only after the better bikes as I know of a house where they took one and left the other. A resident ran out to them and they dropped the remaining bikes and fled, unfortunately with a number of bikes.

I will post a pic of a stolen bike shortly as it was a German make and not available here so may be obvious if it turns up.

Be vigilant and keep bikes locked inside!

Quick update on this:
    I understand that they have bolt cutters as they accessed bikes that were locked up.
    Also the targeted house had marked handprints on the window as if the house had been cased and marked beforehand.

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭whodafunk

Carrera Gryphon V Spec men's Hybrid bike stolen from Raheny, Dublin 5 tonight. Bike is approx 5 years old but in excellent condition.
    Specialized wireless computer mounted on front stem with approx 200km recorded. Frame size Large. Navy/blue in colour. Brackets fitted front and rear for lights. Rear wheel is Mach brand. Front is standard. Specialized armadillo tyres front and rear. New bottom bracket fitted in the past few months.

Would really appreciate if people could keep an eye out for this. Thanks from a well peeved off individual!

• Registered Users Posts: 8 hinfeyg2

Stolen from City Center.
    Had a Kyrptonite lock attached.
    Realagh badge at front.
    I cant post images because I'm a new user.
    Its a silver single speed bike. Red saddle and yellow handlebars. Paint job is brand new.
    Broken but functional pedals and an improvised drop bolt on the breaks (which is not a good idea I know).

Thanks a million

Copy and paste this url to view pic:
    imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/640x480q90/908/hjYKi5.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,666 ✭✭✭mondeo

hinfeyg2 wrote: »

Stolen from City Center.
    Realagh badge at front.
    Its a silver single speed bike. Red saddle and yellow handlebars. Paint job is brand new.
    Broken but functional pedals and an improvised drop bolt on the breaks (which is not a good idea I know).

Thanks a million

was it the silver coloured kryptonite U lock you used?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,666 ✭✭✭mondeo

Stolen from City Center.
    Realagh badge at front.

Thanks a million

was it the silver coloured kryptonite U lock you used?

• Registered Users Posts: 8 hinfeyg2

@mondeo,

Yes the lock in the photo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

@mondeo,

Yes the lock in the photo.

wow!

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭M.J.M.C

AFAIK aren't they the older locks that can be opened with a pen?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Stolen from City Center.
    Realagh badge at front.

Thanks a million

Here's the photo of the bike
    cfd1eadcbcc8d736ee5fdee3c1651903.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭leecurlywurly

Womens 15" Specialized Hardrock Sport MTB
    with Schwalbe city jet tyres & mudguards (not in photo)

Stolen this afternoon (10th Dec 2014) from Northwood Business Park (Santry)

It was stored unlocked on the balcony, the door of which is just behind my desk on the 1st floor of the building. The thief must have gained access to the building despite access being by door code and nicked it through windows of the balcony.

bike_zps31280f30.jpg

I know the chances of recovering this bike is pretty slim but please keep an eye out.. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Hunterbiker

Keep an eye on adverts and donedeal. It might turn up 'for sale' on there.

My bike was stolen nearly 2 weeks ago. I've been keeping an eye (twice daily) on donedeal, adverts and buyandsell but as yet no joy. Also checked the Garda Possession Flicker Account page.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/gardas...7625091734993/

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

The Garda Facebook page has just posted some pictures of stolen bikes recovered in the Dún Laoghaire area.

It might be worth a look for anyone who had a bike nicked in that area.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭glennbhoy

Always hoped wouldnt have to post here, after an failed attempt last month finally happened after 5 years the scumbags finally did it, 4-5.30pm in trinity gym bike area
    Forgot my U lock so used ABUS Millennion Phantom 895/185 Cable Lock-my backup:mad: i know i know
    Knew there was a chance and have always been careful, even checked on it twice while in the gym!

Bought it in 2010 s fairly distinctive, havent seen many about tbf

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

Had my bike stolen from Rochestown Lodge Hotel on Rochestown Avenue in Dublin 18. It was stolen some time between the evening of the 10th & the morning of the 18th December. I had it locked with an Abus coil lock beside the entrance to the leisure centre.

The attached picture is not my bike but this is the exact model, bar the clipless pedals. There's a slight buckle in the rear wheel, it's got a Conti Gatorskin on the rear wheel and a different tyre on the front (think it's a Schwalbe but not sure). Removable white mudguards on the front and rear of the bike and a saddle bag attached. There's a cateye mount on the front handlebars, well worn but no light attached (took that with me at least). Bottle cage & pump clip (no pump) attached to the frame. Shimano Sora gear set but with a black hanger bolt replacing the original.

I filed a report with Cabinteely Garda station so fingers crossed, hopefully it turns up.

I suspect my bike was advertised on a website recently. It was sold within a very short space of time and picture removed. I am very very suspicious. Website in question will not give any further information to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

whodafunk wrote: »
    I suspect my bike was advertised on a website recently. It was sold within a very short space of time and picture removed. I am very very suspicious. Website in question will not give any further information to me.

Could you get the boys in blue involved? They might be more forthcoming when officially requested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭sebcity

Google generally caches websites. It is possible to get phone numbers and such off them after the bikes have been sold.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,282 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

TonyStark wrote: »
    Could you get the boys in blue involved? They might be more forthcoming when officially requested.
    this is as it should be. i would not use any website which would hand out my information to just anyone who asked.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Found this out walking the dogs just now in the park beside Beaumont Hospital - The mrs says its been there a week

I took it home with me for now before any more damage is done to it, as its probably salvageable in its current state

Its a Decathlon Rockrider - Its a bit worse for wear - The front wheel & saddle are missing and a few other parts stroked but no damage to the frame .The U lock is still attached to the back wheel - PM me if you know the owner I'll probably stick a poster up in the hospital as I reckon it was stolen from there

Scum :mad: - Heres a picture in its current state:

332200.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 13 fdx

STOLEN BIKE - BLACK PEUGEOT on the 20th of December 2014 in OPERA LANE at around 5 pm. Please share this post.

BLACK PEUGEOT with black basket on front and black rack . The handle bar is straight.

No seat cover so its just a piece of plastic... extremally unconfortable...

As a new user I cant post picture... but if you can copy link below. bike looks like this:

scontent-b-fra.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/9483_828677090508685_2352787220561539698_n.jpg?oh=9f78ef1e4ee307401282b552b9b04647&oe=5540C727

Thanks for any info (its my sister bike)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

Call Gaurds, provide all the info you have, then the gaurds will do a request of information to the website, the company running the website must comply.