Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

NovaGSi wrote: »
    For me it has to be all the stories and talk about the mad nights out, they bring back great memories.

Music wise, I loved it all, I was never one to get to know the names of all the tracks or never even thought about buying any music on vynal (I never had the money). I only ever got the Warren K, Pressure or MW tapes.

There was one tune that stuck in my head and that I still listen to today. it took me ages to find out what it was called and I bought it on CD. The first and only time I heard it on a night out was in the Olympic and it was the last tune played, I really hated when the last tune was played and you'd have to leave but after hearing this one I was in great form, I didn't mind leaving, it just felt right. The tune is Kinetic by the Golden Girls, I just love it. Was it ever re-released?

Cheers,
    Mick

Very well put indeed Mick. Like you I never bought one single record, I wasn't going to pretend to be a dj, you are or you aren't. The extent I got to was taping music from Sunset and DLR and chopping bits together.
    I remember Smokebelch II - Sabres of Paradise being the last toone on many a night in the Olympic, prefect send off.
    I would love to have the honour of posting it up with this waffle but I did have this on a cd only very recently but some scumbag broke into my work van and took it along with other important stuff, but that cd was the most important to me. I'll never leave sounds in the car over night again.
    I do have other versions of it and the original version on tape but I'll try and get that cd again off ebay, it was called Horizons.
    Anyway here she is from Youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89qOZXHvT0w&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭NovaGSi

SEANYBOY1 wrote: »
    prefect send off

Thats exactly what Kinetic was to me that night in the Olymipc, I remember walking down town to get the nite link at a really slow pace with a big smile on my face. I had this feeling in my body and mind that everything made sense, like I had just solved the theory of life - wow, I talk some **** but it's so hard to describe feelings like that.

Cheers,
    Mick

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

AGGHH !! ok im with ya now !! sorry the brain is a little slow these days , yeah i must give Daisy a tap for them bits,i will send you whatever i have pics etc

You can post whatever pics you have here by using the attachments tool (little paper clip on very top of tool bar) when you making a post....just browse your PC for the pic when the attachment window opens up & there you go. Would love to see some more Pics from the auld place.;)
    Very well put indeed Mick. Like you I never bought one single record, I wasn't going to pretend to be a dj, you are or you aren't.

A come on now sean dont tell me you cant see the benefits of having vinyl & decks....I bought a lot of vinyl & a cheapo set of KAM decks years ago solely for the purpose of having partys in gaffs or for the carpark down in oxygen formerly witness or up the heller many moons ago Ect. & i am not a D.J.......i couldnt mix an egg for an omlette but sure who gives a S*IT when your all off your nut on Doves, Dots, Strawberrys & Pink Champagne:pac: & putting 3 skins together suddenly turns into the most complex achievment cause the skins look half the size & sure you might aswell be in a sauna your hands are sweating so much & every part of the skins are sticking to yer fingers:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Luke G

You can post whatever pics you have here by using the attachments tool (little paper clip on very top of tool bar) when you making a post....just browse your PC for the pic when the attachment window opens up & there you go. Would love to see some more Pics from the auld place.;)

A come on now sean dont tell me you cant see the benefits of having vinyl & decks....I bought a lot of vinyl & a cheapo set of KAM decks years ago solely for the purpose of having partys in gaffs or for the carpark down in oxygen formerly witness or up the heller many moons ago Ect. & i am not a D.J.......i couldnt mix an egg for an omlette but sure who gives a S*IT when your all off your nut on Doves, Dots, Strawberrys & Pink Champagne:pac: & putting 3 skins together suddenly turns into the most complex achievment cause the skins look half the size & sure you might aswell be in a sauna your hands are sweating so much & every part of the skins are sticking to yer fingers:D

Pink champagbne is f**king mad, haven't seen that in a long time....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

Excellent thread dudes! :D All this talk brings me back to the early nineties.
    I was going out with a girl who used to frequent the Asylum and sides before they closed down. She talked very fondly about those two places. Sadly i missed out on those clubs but there were many good places around the country in those days. For me it was Lucianos in Drogheda. Lots of hugging, handshaking, massaging ....Class spot!!!! :D

Didn't mean it like that, knew once I hit the RETURN button I'd rub someone up the wrong way, I just meant on a personal basis;) Would have loved to have the whole set up but I hadn't the spondulies at the time!
    Sweating, skins, oh dear. Remember one night in the Asylum sitting on top of the big speaker at the bottom of the stairs beside the cool pop bar, perched up like a bird sweatin like Cristy Moore trying to get it together with the skins and trying to wrestle a football jersey off me at the same time. Got the skaggiest yoke ever that night, wasn't my cup of tea:D:D
    But crushed up Mad Bastards mixed with Pink Champagne, wow, thats all I'll say about that one:pac::pac:
    Oh yeah I recognise a few of them names from the balcony, must have bumped into you in my last life:D
    Do you remember the fella who called himself Buzzer, there wre actually two blokes called that but one was the real deal, he used to play a round of golf in the Olympic, you would literally see him in the opposite part of the hall or balcony looking for his ball after driving it off the balcony,nuts:D

Thats exactly what Kinetic was to me that night in the Olymipc, I remember walking down town to get the nite link at a really slow pace with a big smile on my face. I had this feeling in my body and mind that everything made sense, like I had just solved the theory of life - wow, I talk some **** but it's so hard to describe feelings like that.

Cheers,
    Mick

The Night Link, you could start a tread on that alone. Remember the drunk fools all over Camden Street Mick on the way down to Jimmy Deans? It just seemed so right what we were doing compared to those fools, FOOLS I TELLS YA!

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭theasylumdublin

Lads can you go easy my stomach is doin back flips with the excitement,, the thoughts of a bag of smashed up yellow mad bastards mixed with half a gib of pink champagne !! im tryin to do wome work here ..!haha oh the good aul days , I have uploaded a couple more mixes lads today I will lash the links on now ..
    http://www.mediafire.com/?bxvmlmxznbl
    http://www.mediafire.com/?nx4bcm9nzfz
    now get your 4 skins together and your bag o yoks and get stuck in !!! HAHAHA P

Lads can you go easy my stomach is doin back flips with the excitement,, the thoughts of a bag of smashed up yellow mad bastards mixed with half a gib of pink champagne !! im tryin to do wome work here ..!haha oh the good aul days , I have uploaded a couple more mixes lads today I will lash the links on now ..
    http://www.mediafire.com/?bxvmlmxznbl
    http://www.mediafire.com/?nx4bcm9nzfz
    now get your 4 skins together and your bag o yoks and get stuck in !!! HAHAHA P

Wait till u start readin the tread from page 1, your head will be melted:D:D
    Remember one night in the girls toilet in the Asylum I was with either Daisy or big Bennet, think they both look the same, and I crushed up 1/2 Mad Bastard and made 2 small lines, one each. Some auld one, an old bitch was sittin up on the sink moaning at me 'If you were my son' and 'its terrible, look at that lovely young fella, what are you doing'. She melted my head to the point that I left the line for who ever the hell it was with me. I had an emergency yoke anyway in the sky rocket;)
    Get back to work Paul!

Wait till u start readin the tread from page 1, your head will be melted:D:D
    Remember one night in the girls toilet in the Asylum I was with either Daisy or big Bennet, think they both look the same, and I crushed up 1/2 Mad Bastard and made 2 small lines, one each. Some auld one, an old bitch was sittin up on the sink moaning at me 'If you were my son' and 'its terrible, look at that lovely young fella, what are you doing'. She melted my head to the point that I left the line for who ever the hell it was with me. I had an emergency yoke anyway in the sky rocket;)
    Get back to work Paul!

ffs hahaha, what was she doin in the asylum anyway??? mad aul bag...

Luke G wrote: »
    ffs hahaha, what was she doin in the asylum anyway??? mad aul bag...

The likes of that was par for the course in there Luke. I could start something here with stories of the odd balls I came across in there.
    There was always mad townie auld ones, men and women, skulkin in the jacks, the 2nd and 3rd floors. You'd never see them on the dance floors. They probably never heard of DJ Pressure:D

The likes of that was par for the course in there Luke. I could start something here with stories of the odd balls I came across in there.
    There was always mad townie auld ones, men and women, skulkin in the jacks, the 2nd and 3rd floors. You'd never see them on the dance floors. They probably never heard of DJ Pressure:D

Could also tell ya bout a hundred stories of mad aul folks doin all sorts in places like that..... some head bangers around isn't there??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Newmill

Didn't mean it like that, knew once I hit the RETURN button I'd rub someone up the wrong way, I just meant on a personal basis;) Would have loved to have the whole set up but I hadn't the spondulies at the time!
    Sweating, skins, oh dear. Remember one night in the Asylum sitting on top of the big speaker at the bottom of the stairs beside the cool pop bar, perched up like a bird sweatin like Cristy Moore trying to get it together with the skins and trying to wrestle a football jersey off me at the same time. Got the skaggiest yoke ever that night, wasn't my cup of tea:D:D
    But crushed up Mad Bastards mixed with Pink Champagne, wow, thats all I'll say about that one:pac::pac:
    Oh yeah I recognise a few of them names from the balcony, must have bumped into you in my last life:D
    Do you remember the fella who called himself Buzzer, there wre actually two blokes called that but one was the real deal, he used to play a round of golf in the Olympic, you would literally see him in the opposite part of the hall or balcony looking for his ball after driving it off the balcony,nuts:D

The Night Link, you could start a tread on that alone. Remember the drunk fools all over Camden Street Mick on the way down to Jimmy Deans? It just seemed so right what we were doing compared to those fools, FOOLS I TELLS YA!

Yes indeed lad, good ould buzzer, small lad with black hair,he was one of the first things i witnessed in the place, i thought he was off his chomp at first then i realised as time passed what exactly his buzz was all about. he after smacking his imaginary ball of the tee,everybody would follow its flight off into the distance......off the wall, i swore one night i would find it in aload of rough, buried in the alcove across from bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 mcc

Luke G wrote: »
    Alright man, the second one do for you ... is the shaker - just lick it, and the world waits one is inspiral carpets - saturn 5

will upload them for ya tomorrow man, just on the way out, dunno what time i'll be back at...

Cheers lads. Those having been doin my head in for ages. Heard the world awaits was inspiral carpets but was listening to wrong mix on youtube!! Since found the one i was looking for is the "gravity mix"

While iam writing just wondering if anyone remembers a DJ called "Bassbox"? Round in the 90s. Been trying to get hold of old mix i had but nowhere to be seen
    Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Dacoop

That mad lookin priest fella used to freak me out though. I remember doin them white lightenings and seeing him mad !
    Does anyone remember them white lightenings they were crazy, they brought you up really quickly to a totally mad buzz and then right back down again !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

I posted already on the first page but some of the maddest things I ever saw where in The Asylum. I remember one night a bride and groom in full gear, tux and wedding dress dancing away out of their heads. They had sneaked out of their own reception and gone to the Asylum. Also, the number of times I saw fellas on crutches dancing away was unreal. :)

Crazy times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Dacoop

Now my head is wrecked trying to identify a tune on the pressure wanted mix, it comes in at exactly 33 mins. I thinks it Luxor the big boom, now I have luxor the big bang and bionic boom, can anyone help ?

bohsboy wrote: »
    I posted already on the first page but some of the maddest things I ever saw where in The Asylum. I remember one night a bride and groom in full gear, tux and wedding dress dancing away out of their heads. They had sneaked out of their own reception and gone to the Asylum. Also, the number of times I saw fellas on crutches dancing away was unreal. :)

Crazy times.

Is this you, the one who got a resonse from The Gopher 1st post page 1 to start this whole tread. Look what you started. I had to come out of hibernation cause of you:D:D Well done man.
    One night my mate was so out of it he was going around the second floor looking for his 'mountain bike' and then another night his 'cans'. Think he asked at least half of the people there. That was nothing strange for this fella, he deffinitely done that more than the once, and he was deadly serious.
    We used to take the piss out of him big time for that one.
    Once he came up 'His Button Was Well And Truly Pushed':pac:

Cans: We used to bring in bags of cans, not a problem what so ever with the lads on the door, in fact they thought it was hilarious. We used to sit on the bench along the back wall of the main dance floor and have our scoups, then it was party time:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

ha ha nice one seany. I thought I was the only one left in Dublin who remembered the Asylum. Legendary thread at this stage. ;)

not a day goes by lads i dont think of the aul place !! my first gig was the 3rd flor of the asylum , the decks never turned up on the night and DJ Heve told me if i got my decks in i could spin the 3rd floor for the night !!! so off i went , I played with dilly pressure and DJ computer and in fairness the lads all gave me a few tunes to help me along , so respect to all !! and not to forget DJ Cliffy !! top man at the time too , oh bring me back !!! keep in mind any parties you fancy a Pablo set im there !!! over and out !! P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Yeah i was one of the first to reply as wel on the very first page.

Sides was always by far and away my favourite but the Asylum was also an amazing place.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭c_o_ck p_i_ss chillage

Thought I'd put this post in a thread where those who would be most interested would see it. Hope this hasn't been posted before!

Those familiar with Sunset Radio (Manchester) will remember or know of The Mix Factory DJs who sometimes stood in for 808 state when they were gigging etc

There's chat but its funny!

http://tinyurl.com/5kknf7 (right click and save as)

Tracklisting:
    1) N-Joi - Malfunction
    2) Kamera - Back In The Time
    3) MCP feat Sheila Abul - Over Me
    4) 7th Street – Love Is (RARE Records)
    EasternBloc Top 10:
    5) Code Red - In Your Dreams (Mental Radio) (10)
    6) Outlander - The Vamp (R&S Records) (9)
    7) The Watches - Mirror (Flying Records) 8
    8. PKA - Temperature Rising (7)
    9) T99 - Anasthasia (6)
    10) Axe Corner - Tortuga (Palmares Records) (5)
    11) Dino Lenny - Cocaine (4)
    12) S-Bam - Chica Boom (RA-RE Productions) (3)
    13) S.L.D. - Gettin' Out (2)
    14) Bizarre Inc. - Playing With Knives (Love 91) (1)

Also loads of old 808 State Radio Shows here:
    http://www.808state.com/sounds/808djs.htm#1990

Scroll up the page to get newer mixes.

Top one, nice one, sorted!

Dacoop wrote: »
    That mad lookin priest fella used to freak me out though. I remember doin them white lightenings and seeing him mad !

There was a young enough priest from Malahide that used to go into the Olympic a good bit, he was very fond of the buzz!

Cheers,
    Mick

yeah man the priest , Dave the priest , and Dave mullins Head door man , and then Joe o neal ! then ther was mick and gerry and all the door men were pretty sound.I ended up good mates with Dave mullins for a time after it all shut down.have not seen him in years.and the bird bouncer Joyce !! mmmm i would have given her a bit of ...... if id had the chance nice . oh and of course the friendly local store street gardai who Kindly escorted me home most saturdays until they finally stopped me and searched my car and realised i not ****ing Pablo escobar ! and just a skinny scobe from Dundrum!!! hahahha

Does anyone remember around haloween time in the Olympic people used to bring bangers in and throw them off the balcony, the noise was fukin load, the crowd used to go mad for it. If that happened in a club/pub nowadays people would be screaming and running for the nearest exit... In the Olympic everyone was just dying for the next explosion over head ...great craic altogether.

Cheers,
    Mick

F*CK me sean i would never have remembered going into jimmy deans after the OLYMPIC for a few j's down the back...the heads running the shop were sound used to let about 100 mad E heads in to skin up & drink tea:eek: before heading off for to the ASYLUM or wherever :pac:

I remember some bird that must have been in her late 30's(seemed old then) selling everything just outside the DJ box, Acid, E, Speed, Coke, Gear, Hash...i SH*T you not....but you would swear her day job was selling on moore street with the mad Townie accent on her shouting everything for sale:D
    Newmill wrote: »
    Yes indeed lad, good ould buzzer, small lad with black hair,he was one of the first things i witnessed in the place, i thought he was off his chomp at first then i realised as time passed what exactly his buzz was all about. he after smacking his imaginary ball of the tee,everybody would follow its flight off into the distance......off the wall, i swore one night i would find it in aload of rough, buried in the alcove across from bar.

Man i used to buzz with a bloke from milltown called Daisy that done the very same SH*T (playing golf, tennis) that used to buzz up at the back right hand corner of the balcony if you were facing it from the stage....there could hardly be two mad F*CKERS in there playing golf with an imaginary ball & club without them knowing each other:eek:
    First rave tape i ever got was off Daisy & still have it today....mad tune on it called 'The exorcist' with a sample of Malcolm X on it by a guy called the witchdoctor and a load more class old skool SH*T.
    yeah man the priest , Dave the priest , and Dave mullins Head door man , and then Joe o neal ! then ther was mick and gerry and all the door men were pretty sound.

Gerry the bouncer was the only one i knew by name cause he used to let a few of us in for less than the asking price if we all put our money together & stick it in his sky....as for the rest of the bouncers didnt really know them but they did F*CK a friend of ours from drimnagh that collapsed & hit his head bad out across the street & left him there away from the building & said F*CK all...which he was fortunate enough to lapse into a coma & have to learn to walk & talk agian when he did come out of it ages later.....Dead sound blokes:mad:
    Does anyone remember around haloween time in the Olympic people used to bring bangers in and throw them off the balcony, the noise was fukin load, the crowd used to go mad for it. If that happened in a club/pub nowadays people would be screaming and running for the nearest exit... In the Olympic everyone was just dying for the next explosion over head ...great craic altogether.

Forgot completley all about that SH*T with the bangers....yer right though no one gave a sh*t everyone got a buzz out of it. There would be mass panic if it happened in a club today....pussys:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 dayo41

alright folks, cant get enough of readin these story's f****n ace!!! must get round to postin some of my own, problem is i'm just too lazy hahaha, theasylumkey anychance you'd post that first rave tape i used to a have tape with that tune on it, would love if it was da same tape
    cheers

dayo

dayo41 wrote: »
    alright folks, cant get enough of readin these story's f****n ace!!! must get round to postin some of my own, problem is i'm just too lazy hahaha, theasylumkey anychance you'd post that first rave tape i used to a have tape with that tune on it, would love if it was da same tape
    cheers

dayo

Will do but just thinkin bout it im not sure if the tune was by the wishdokta ....he did another tune called Evil surrounds us & i just think he did that exorcist one.....sure i'll upload the whole tape soon but it wont be for a few days cause i'll be away but will post it up probably tuesday or wednesday next week:D

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

Cheers,
    Mick

I Remember that,
    The things used to go of right near your face ,

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

Does anyone remember ,THE HITMAN AND HER
    with Pete Waterman & Michaela Strachan
    it was a dance show that used to be on UTV ,
    around 1989-90 , late of a friday night,
    I think if was about 1am when it use to come till early morn,

I used to come in and watch it after a mad night out.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wAqCVGcahb0

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Does anyone remember ,THE HITMAN AND HER
    with Pete Waterman & Michaela Strachan
    it was a dance show that used to be on UTV ,
    around 1989-90 , late of a friday night,
    I think if was about 1am when it use to come till early morn,

I used to come in and watch it after a mad night out.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wAqCVGcahb0

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

remember that well meself.used to always watch it.it was pretty ****e really lol.used to always play kylie and the mixmasters and the love decade and stuff like that.