Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Stephen lee betting scadal?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭BQQ

yeah, I was really pleased to see him return to form last year.
    Hope he didn't do anything, but suspicion has been following him around for a good while.

Regardless, I find it grossly unfair that he's suspended before he's been found guilty of anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Hopefully none of this is true. Snooker seems to be in the spotlight the past few years for cheating allegations (some true some not) - It looks bad for the sport. The bookies have an obligation to run back to WSC when weird betting patterns arise.

£250k was bet on his match with Higgins before it started and by the end this was upto £650k...This is not normal for a PL snooker match

It's a pity S Lee is suspended as his play of late was really good to watch! Apartently Judd Trump has being mouthing off on his twitter account which has not pleased Lee.

We'll all have to wait and see. Fingers crossed WS do their investigation promptly otherwise Lee could have a civil case for loss of earnings...

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

Why would Lee be suspended and not Higgins also I wonder..?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭keysersoze0330

Sad to hear this also. Really was glad to see Stephen back to his best the last year or 2. Trump would do well to keep his mouth shut also.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,289 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Why would Lee be suspended and not Higgins also I wonder..?

In order to fix a game, you only need one player to throw it - the winning player doesn't even have to be aware that anything is afoot.

Heres the entire game if anyone is interested, I've only watched from 1:19:55 on, and a few key things happen.

Lee misses a straighforward pink with the rest, whilst playing the tracking quite strangely as well.
    Lee pots that pink a few shots later, but tracks the black almost the worst way possible.
    Plays a really weird safety shot on the black to leave it for Higgins.
    (In fairness he also plays a really good safety on the pink at one stage).
    Loses, shakes hands and starts complaining to Higgins, apparently about the cushions and cloth (for show?)

Theres no smoking gun by any means, but it sure looks weird.

snookerbackers analysis of it, and some more details of how the betting market was reacting to the events on the table, e.g., Higgins still favourite to win when he was 2-1 down and thus had to win the remaining 3 frames.
    Also includes link to information on some CCJs that Lee has against him, which was news to me.

http://www.snookerbacker.com/2012/10/15/stephen-lee-guilty-until-proven-innocent/

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

I'll take a look at both links this evening...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭zack01

Lee does'nt do himself any favours with his shot selection and in lieu of recent allegations against him he's going to draw more attention to himself each time a situation like that appears. Personally if i saw that happen down in the club i'd say hang on a minute this guy is trying to throw the frame here.
    Surely Lee knows that he's being watched and if he did throw that frame and is found out he could find himself banned. He's currently suspended so he'll miss the third European event in Belgium this weekend.
    Unless the WPBSA have concrete info on him gaining financial gain then i really dont think a lot more can be done and he'll be back playing soon enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

In order to fix a game, you only need one player to throw it - the winning player doesn't even have to be aware that anything is afoot.

Heres the entire game if anyone is interested, I've only watched from 1:19:55 on, and a few key things happen.

Lee misses a straighforward pink with the rest, whilst playing the tracking quite strangely as well.
    Lee pots that pink a few shots later, but tracks the black almost the worst way possible.
    Plays a really weird safety shot on the black to leave it for Higgins.
    (In fairness he also plays a really good safety on the pink at one stage).
    Loses, shakes hands and starts complaining to Higgins, apparently about the cushions and cloth (for show?)

Theres no smoking gun by any means, but it sure looks weird.

zack01 wrote: »
    Lee does'nt do himself any favours with his shot selection and in lieu of recent allegations against him he's going to draw more attention to himself each time a situation like that appears. Personally if i saw that happen down in the club i'd say hang on a minute this guy is trying to throw the frame here.
    Surely Lee knows that he's being watched and if he did throw that frame and is found out he could find himself banned. He's currently suspended so he'll miss the third European event in Belgium this weekend.
    Unless the WPBSA have concrete info on him gaining financial gain then i really dont think a lot more can be done and he'll be back playing soon enough.
    where to start:

Right - he has the perfect angle on the pink to do 2 things: either drop it in with a touch of left hand side or a gentle stun shot to create the same angle. The pink was a total snatch, hit way too hard too.

When Higgins leaves the pink over the left middle, the angle is more than there to drop it in and be plum on the black. Even if he wanted to stun it in off 2 cushions he got nowhere near enough stun on it to do it. Any professional snooker player or top amateur would be embarrassed to finish without a pot on the black from that pink.

On the final safety on the black, surely he's got a few options. he can drop the black on to the black cushion leaving the white anywhere. He can force a cocked hat double with a lot of top, he can even play super thin off the black bringing the white across the table. ANYTHING but what he did.

There may be a few mitigating factors - the shot clock for one. He can argue he snatched on the pink due to time ticking down. He can argue the cloth wasn't gripping or cushions sliding (to explain the tracking on the black).

All in all, he appears guilty as sin based on that frame alone.....my only doubt would be whether all the money was purely on Higgins to win or was it on 4-2. Because making it that obvious is silly. He could have easily played a few bad safeties and been down 4-0 if that's all he wanted to do. If the weight of money was on 4-2 then throw the book at him.

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Greenbaize

If Stephen Lee really did do this, and I am sure the bookies can spot this sort of thing a mile away then he should be banned plain and simple. A serious example has to be made in the game to let other players know that if you dare insult the game by doing something like that then you will face the toughest consequences there is and be banned from the game for a few years at least if not indefinitly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

Thought there were a few suprisingly wide misses during last fram by Lee but that pink at pace and then the black was laughable!

Winners prize fund - 50,000. Wonder how much Lee would receive, were it the case he threw it.

Giruilla wrote: »
    Thought there were a few suprisingly wide misses during last fram by Lee but that pink at pace and then the black was laughable!

Winners prize fund - 50,000. Wonder how much Lee would receive, were it the case he threw it.

Yes there was something a bit suss about the pink to black, Not much to do with the white, below centre cue ball and gently tap in and perfect on the black...I still want to believe that he is innocent. If it was anyone else i would say otherwise..

From watching snooker for many many years i have noticed with Lee that his shot selection is a bit diffrent at the best of times...He seems to always leave it til the last minute to go into the pack of reds.
    He let's himself run out of options far too early.. he's messes up position on the blue or get's too straight on the black resulting on him having to play a safety shot, With Hendry, Higgins, Ronnie them lads open the pack very early to create a winning chance for themselves.

He seems to time the cue ball sooo sweet and has plenty of cue power. If he could apply the same break building logic as any of the top 4 players he would probably be a world champion by now!

Hopefully this mess will be cleared up soon. VERY hard to prove that he is cheating..All this time he is banned he's not earning. It's hurting himm badly im sure!

Yes there was something a bit suss about the pink to black, Not much to do with the white, below centre cue ball and gently tap in and perfect on the black...I still want to believe that he is innocent. If it was anyone else i would say otherwise..

From watching snooker for many many years i have noticed with Lee that his shot selection is a bit diffrent at the best of times...He seems to always leave it til the last minute to go into the pack of reds.
    He let's himself run out of options far too early.. he's messes up position on the blue or get's too straight on the black resulting on him having to play a safety shot, With Hendry, Higgins, Ronnie them lads open the pack very early to create a winning chance for themselves.

He seems to time the cue ball sooo sweet and has plenty of cue power. If he could apply the same break building logic as any of the top 4 players he would probably be a world champion by now!

Hopefully this mess will be cleared up soon. VERY hard to prove that he is cheating..All this time he is banned he's not earning. It's hurting himm badly im sure!
    honestly it depends where the lump of this £650 grand traded on the match came from and if they could link any of it to him. At the end of the day all it would take is 1 person he's well connected with to have a lot of money on Higgins and Lee is toast. Betfair have name of account holders and can trace the I.P. addresses etc so if he is guilty there won't be much hiding place.

Mind you, Jamie Burnett committed the worst , most obvious "throw" of a match v Stephen Maguire and got off with it, so who knows.

Stephen Lees ban as from last night will continue and he will now miss the PTC Finals in Galway in March. It's a huge blow for Lee as from what I'm hearing he's struggling for funds and is basically selling himself for exhibitions anywhere that will take him.

I'm surprised it's taken World Snooker this long to either charge him or free him to play but my general feeling from talking to several people in the know is that Lee will be convicted and face a lengthy ban.

World Snooker today released a statement that confirms investigations into Stephen Lee now includes his particiapation into several other events including the World Championships and that Lee "has a case to answer".

• Registered Users Posts: 25,057 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He's been found guilty and faces a lifetime ban

Good enough for him!

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2013/sep/16/stephen-lee-ban-match-fixing

Stephen Lees ban as from last night will continue and he will now miss the PTC Finals in Galway in March. It's a huge blow for Lee as from what I'm hearing he's struggling for funds and is basically selling himself for exhibitions anywhere that will take him.

I'm surprised it's taken World Snooker this long to either charge him or free him to play but my general feeling from talking to several people in the know is that Lee will be convicted and face a lengthy ban.

I heard a whisper today that Lee will get a five year ban

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

he will be very lucky to get that zack, it could well be a life time ban for him, there were so many matches that were rigged etc.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Ronnie dragging the sport down further claiming he knows others who have done match fixing, Barry Hearn asks to name and shame.... I feel this could be dark days ahead for snooker :(

This is a really tough situation for Barry Hearn. The perception that the sport is clean is obviously crucial in terms of sponsorship.

In terms of Ronnie and Stephen Lee, it's also tough for Hearn. He knows both of them pretty well and it's never nice when someone you know puts you in a really difficult position. It's sort of like an ex-girlfriend turning up at your mams house at Xmas - we could all do without it!

Is it limited to Steven Lee? I'm certain it was wider than that circa 2007-2011 when even the top pros were playing for small prize money. I'm also certain plenty are getting through the net - even now.

Take a PTC tournament for example. Hundreds of entrants, very little in the way of tv coverage, lots of the early rounds watched by 1 man and a dog under little scrutiny. Then obviously it's best-of-7. £100 to enter a PTC event. And some of the pros ranked around say 96th-128th in the world might not make much more than 5-6 grand a year after expenses. That's if they get lucky and play well - many pros struggle to break even without help. So it's effectively worse than living on the dole.

Whether it's through secretly backing themselves to win (or lose) i feel certain that many pros further down the list are up to some shenanigans to try make it economically viable for them to remain professional and try further their dreams of making it big as a pro.

So, for example, a pro ranked around 110th enters a PTC in Rotterdam. £100 entry, flights, accomodation, food, drink etc etc really he's looking at £500 to enter the tournament. The realistic chances of him getting past the last-64 are slim. But to make the week profitable, he would need to reach the last-16 (and that would still only leave him £400 in profit). Even a huge run and getting to the 1/4 final may only see a player come out with £800 profit.

So, of course there is a temptation to get bets placed on his matches: whether that's to win the ones he thinks he will win or to lose the ones he thinks he will win.

For some, it's the difference between paying the rent or not. If done smartly, nobody will ever notice either. The likes of the WBSA and the betting sites, they all look for suspicious patterns. But it'd still be very easy to get away with it.

Player A 4/11 v Player B 2/1

Ladbrokes, Paddy Power, Boyles, William Hill, Betfair, Betfred etc.......some cities in the UK could have 10-15 different bookmakers in same city and countless betting shops in the city. Send 3 or 4 mates around on a bicycle and they each put £50 quid on Player B at 2/1 in 10-20 shops.

Nobody is going to bat an eyelid. In fact nobody would bat an eyelid at one single bet of 500 on Player B at 2/1.

So you have a situation where as a once-off, maybe to try pay the rent, Player A plays poorly and cashes in, and it's very difficult to crack down on unless it's done in a haphazard way like Steven Lee did. When you try rip bookies off more than £100,000 of course they'll come after you.

It's a sad and cynical view but i know for certain some pros bet on their own matches through other routes.

If World Snooker want to eradicate this problem, there is a simple solution: increase prize money for the earlier rounds in the likes of the PTC's. Right now you could win 4 matches and still not cover your expenses for the week so there's an obvious temptation there for shenanigans.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭bradolf pittler

Match betting in PTC a event isn't covered by bookies until the later stages ie from the q finals onwards,The event in kilarney a few years back had a ladbrokes on site and you still could only bet on outright winner.
    Too many unknowns and amateurs for a bookie to get involved and get stung

Match betting in PTC a event isn't covered by bookies until the later stages ie from the q finals onwards,The event in kilarney a few years back had a ladbrokes on site and you still could only bet on outright winner.
    Too many unknowns and amateurs for a bookie to get involved and get stung

You can bet online on all matches in PTC events, several online sites such as Apollobet are specialists in snooker betting and offer prices on all matches.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭bradolf pittler

You can bet online on all matches in PTC events, several online sites such as Apollobet are specialists in snooker betting and offer prices on all matches.

More fools them then,How can they acuratly price up a match between say a low ranking pro and half decent amateur?If both players were in on the fix they could easily make a killing.
    It happens in the amateur ranks aswell although not for big money but i have seen instances esp in round robin events where players throw games to knock rival players out and to keep friends in.pretty sickening if you ask me.

What do you think personally this will do for his career? Would you think it would be possible for Lee to make a return after five years, I dont think so considering the amount of decent asian players making qtrs/semi's now. I used to really enjoy watching him play, he hits the ball so sweet...

Regardless of the talent out there now It will finish him as a snooker player that competes on the pro circuit and will certainly end his professional career.The ban will not apply to amateur events not under the WPBSA but you can be sure the amateur body the IBSF will enforce a ban should he wish to enter any of their events.

He will still play exhibitions I'm sure but he's done them to death over the last year and last I heard he was offering his services at an exhibition of €400 per night.
    Add to the fact he's been auctioning of some his trophies and memorabilia he's collected over the years it all adds up to a sad end to a career of a very talented snooker player.

I remember watching him play just after he won the English amateur and Instantly became a fan of his game. It's a pity really but as the WPBSA and his fellow players have said they is simply no room for cheats in the game. The evidence against him was overwhelming right down to the cash lodgements in his wife's bank account.

Which brings me to say that I can't believe he would risk his career for that money. He was currently 8th in the world and enjoying some of his best results for several years.

The sentence should be announced any day soon, as I said I did hear a whisper of five years.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 TrevSmyth147

Quentin Hann's ban is up next year (2014). I wonder if he'll make a return. He had bags of talent and is still only 36. I'd like to see him back.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭realgolfgeek

Quentin Hann's ban is up next year (2014). I wonder if he'll make a return. He had bags of talent and is still only 36. I'd like to see him back.

I'd hate to see him back,
    I'd hate to see Lee back,
    I'm disgusted Higgins was allowed carry on.

It's becoming a joke of a game now. These people should be banned for life playing professional snooker ...

I'd hate to see him back,
    I'd hate to see Lee back,
    I'm disgusted Higgins was allowed carry on.

It's becoming a joke of a game now. These people should be banned for life playing professional snooker ...

To be fair, Quinten Hanns ban was outrageously unfair when viewed in recent context.

Lets recap: Hann was the victim of a sting by News International. Most of us would have zero time for the News of the World or The Sun in the light of whats gone on in recent years.

Anyway, his crime was admitting on video that he would lose to Ken (Doherty) in the China Open for cash.

He never actually threw any match, never took any money and it never got beyond the "would you do it for money" stage.

For all that he got 8 years.

Compare that to Higgins - he did the exact same thing (filmed by a sting from News International) agreeing in theory that he could throw or "fix" a match and ended up sitting out snooker for 6 months.

Can't help but feel World Snooker wanted shot of Hann. Two court cases over rape allegations probably not the type of fella they wanted on the circuit. But he was massively unlucky getting 8 years when the likes of Joe Jogia and John Higgins got off scot free in comparison.

To be fair, Quinten Hanns ban was outrageously unfair when viewed in recent context.

Lets recap: Hann was the victim of a sting by News International. Most of us would have zero time for the News of the World or The Sun in the light of whats gone on in recent years.

Anyway, his crime was admitting on video that he would lose to Ken (Doherty) in the China Open for cash.

He never actually threw any match, never took any money and it never got beyond the "would you do it for money" stage.

For all that he got 8 years.

Compare that to Higgins - he did the exact same thing (filmed by a sting from News International) agreeing in theory that he could throw or "fix" a match and ended up sitting out snooker for 6 months.

Can't help but feel World Snooker wanted shot of Hann. Two court cases over rape allegations probably not the type of fella they wanted on the circuit. But he was massively unlucky getting 8 years when the likes of Joe Jogia and John Higgins got off scot free in comparison.

Haan 'agreed to it' for an existing ranking tournament, for an imminent match.
    Higgins 'agreed to it' for a not yet in existence exhibition tournament.

I think theres a fairly big difference there, definitely not 'the exact same thing' to use your phrase.
    FWIW I think the NOTW played it badly with Higgins; they should have had an actual down payment of cash and left it with him and his manager for a few months, and should have been agreed for a ranking event to be the one fixed etc.
    However they rushed the story through to get it into print on the day of the worlds final, and the whole thing gave him too many escape clauses.