Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Sinn Fein- Never forget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Anything to back this up?

If you want to go down the counterfeiting road why not berate Labour over saving their pal Seán "Superdollar" Garland?

The above incident has been reported in The Phoenix, Independent as well as several websites.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭gaffer91

I wonder what the reaction would be if I started a thread along the lines of "Murderous Brits - never forget!" I'd be told to drop the "800 years" nonsense and "move on".

Don't you find too many normal Brits, never mind ones who condone the murder of Irish citizens running for election over here do you?
    Sinn Fein did more good than bad. They are doing all the right things as regards Economics. They are much more transparent and honest than FG and FF.

You must be joking. Particularly regarding the economics.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

kbannon wrote: »
    Outgoing? :confused:

The current government (FG) as opposed to FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

latenia wrote: »
    The above incident has been reported in The Phoenix, Independent as well as several websites.
    Then it should be no trouble for you to provide links which show that senior SF members are "still actively involved in criminality".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Einhard wrote: »
    Is this thread trying to set a record for daft analogies?

sorry I don't know big words or how to put a sentence together, but I just want young people to know you don't have to blow someone's head off to be in some way responsible for their deaths,

your a part of SF so you to are responsible for everything that went on in the past (to strong ok) you are tainted by it, this is what I read in a lot of SF bashing threads, just because your a member of the party you are responsible for or agree with their past,

what I was trying to say, FF have left the country in such a mess that a lot of people have been left with their backs to the wall and the only out they could see was suicide, are they in anyway responsible for their deaths or had they any part to play in the circumstances leading up to their deaths,

this was less than two years ago, but what the fook do I know, only what I see going on around me, who will remember these people,

but you are right it was stupid of me to point it out,

ill move to the back of the class and get me colouring book out. (or history book if will help me today)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

gaffer91 wrote: »
    Don't you find too many normal Brits, never mind ones who condone the murder of Irish citizens running for election over here do you?

Yea sure nobody could do economics better than FF/PD's.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,773 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

kbannon wrote: »
    Outgoing? :confused:

The current government (FG) as opposed to FF.
    Where are they going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

If you want to go down the counterfeiting road why not berate Labour over saving their pal Seán "Superdollar" Garland?

A more pertinent question to ask is why isn't the OP in a tizzy about our present government which has members within it who were intimately involved with an organisation with a proscribed paramilitary wing in years gone by?

15 years? Notice how you cut the time period for relevance of murders :rolleyes:

The Nazis killed more people than the IRA but I'm not using that as a reason to vote no to austerity treaty am I?

Two things:
    A. Godwinned.
    B. You are aware the IRA had links with the nazis? Google Sean Russell. And while you're at it look up about Mary Lou's commemoration of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,361 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Sinn Féin =/= IRA/Provos/RIRA/ whatever.

IMO it reflects quite well on Sinn Féin that small minded biggots like the OP have resorted to such foolishness and deception to try and scare people away from the Sinn Féin party.

It means they really are becoming a force in Irish politics, and people such as the OP are worried that they are overtaking the party that they themselves support, and turn to scaremongering.

TBH, FF, FG, Labour, PD's, Greens have all had their go at being in Government, and not one of them changed this country for the better.
    While Sinn Féins policies are certainly fanciful, it would be interesting to see how they would act if in power, and what direction the country would go. I say why not give them a chance, and if they like the rest of the parties before them fail to make any sort of impact, then back down with them. I'd be more then a little sceptical of Sinn Féin making any significant difference to Irish politics if they did enter Government, but would be happy to see them have a go at fixing this mess we are in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 159 ✭✭whitelines

charlemont wrote: »
    Men willing to fight for their communities..

Men willing to risk their freedom for their communities..

These sound like the very ideal candidates to vote for !!!!

Men who never wore uniforms and thus exposed 'their communities' to murderous Loyalist reprisals.

Sinn Fein had only a small level of involvement in the Easter Rising and had greater involvement in the political side after. Similarly with the troubles, SF were very small in the early days of the troubles. Their success was huge in the mid 90's onwards at a time when they were working to end the armed struggle and bring the brits to the negotiating table.

In terms of economics there have been some gaffs but the main points are exactly what I'm in favour of. Labour share a few points too but they will bend over for the Right.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,361 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

sorry I don't know big words or how to put a sentence together, but I just want young people to know you don't have to blow someone's head off to be in some way responsible for their deaths,

your a part of SF so you to are responsible for everything that went on in the past (to strong ok) you are tainted by it, but you are right it was stupid of me to point it out,

ill move to the back of the class and get me colouring book out.
    Fúck the colouring book, get a history book.

Two things:
    A. Godwinned.
    B. You are aware the IRA had links with the nazis? Google Sean Russell. And while you're at it look up about Mary Lou's commemoration of him.

Sean Russell was in the old IRA, you can't possibly blame Gerry Adams and co. for an alleged link between Nazis and someone from war of independance!

whitelines wrote: »
    Men who never wore uniforms and thus exposed 'their communities' to murderous Loyalist reprisals.

Actually it was loyalist attacks that brought PIRA support out in Belfast. In areas like the short strand people shunned the OIRA because they did nothing when loyalist attacks came.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Fúck the colouring book, get a history book.

your right so ill fix it

charlemont wrote: »
    Yea sure nobody could do economics better than FF/PD's.:rolleyes:

FF and the PD's were grossly incompetent when it came to economic management. I never said otherwise. This does not therefore mean that SF must be better. In fact they would almost definitely be worse, hard as that is to believe.
    dabestman1 wrote: »
    hich[/URL]
    As you may not know, Gerry Adams has published several books over the years which easily explains the house in Donegal and he also worked for several years as a barman. Knowledge is power.

Most be one of those socialists who enjoys champagne and smoked salmon I suppose then.
    A more pertinent question to ask is why isn't the OP in a tizzy about our present government which has members within it who were intimately involved with an organisation with a proscribed paramilitary wing in years gone by?

If you're referring to the likes of Eamon Gilmore being involved with the Worker's party, I agree it was wrong and I think it is actually glossed over too much by the media. However, the PIRA were far more destructive and harmful than the OIRA. Doesn't make it ok but there is a difference. Scale matters.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Sinn Féin =/= IRA/Provos/RIRA/ whatever.

IMO it reflects quite well on Sinn Féin that small minded biggots like the OP have resorted to such foolishness and deception to try and scare people away from the Sinn Féin party.

It means they really are becoming a force in Irish politics, and people such as the OP are worried that they are overtaking the party that they themselves support, and turn to scaremongering.

TBH, FF, FG, Labour, PD's, Greens have all had their go at being in Government, and not one of them changed this country for the better.
    While Sinn Féins policies are certainly fanciful, it would be interesting to see how they would act if in power, and what direction the country would go. I say why not give them a chance, and if they like the rest of the parties before them fail to make any sort of impact, then back down with them. I'd be more then a little sceptical of Sinn Féin making any significant difference to Irish politics if they did enter Government, but would be happy to see them have a go at fixing this mess we are in.

If they increase cross-border cooperation and job creation, get us a better deal regarding European debt and some unemployment decrease that's enough for me.

Most be one of those socialists who enjoys champagne and smoked salmon I suppose then.

€100k for a house is not champagne and smoked salmon!

Sean Russell was in the old IRA, you can't possibly blame Gerry Adams and co. for an alleged link between Nazis and someone from war of independance!

You were the one who godwinned the thread tbf. Just thought it was worth mentioning. Can't blame Gerry Adams and co. for Russell's actions, but you can blame them for continuing to celebrate the man.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭uch

your a part of SF so you to are responsible for everything that went on in the past (to strong ok) you are tainted by it, but you are right it was stupid of me to point it out,

ill move to the back of the class and get me colouring book out.

So by this logic every Fianna Fáil member is also tainted because of Charlie Haughey's Gun running ?

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

golfball37 wrote: »
    FF were in power less than 10 years after the senseless Altnavaigh massacre of innocents. What eventually became FG were in power the time of the Ballyseedy war crime. People have forgotten this so they will eventualy forget about the actions of the PIRA too. Its called the cycle of life.

So there you go gaffer91, its called the cycle of life (presumably for those with short memories) :mad:

Sadly the above pretty well sums up what we are up against. Either people just don't care about the SF past, or they're too young to remember the refusal of prominent Sinn Fein members to condemn bombings and murders on a weekly basis), others forget or dont care that some members of SF were actually in the PIRA!!! some young people possibly think that being in the IRA is/was a badge of honour, others use the blame Fianna Fail argument, and many cant be bothered to look into the SF manifesto closely enough to see what they are. SF are indeed on the rise (can't believe I said that), but what does that say about the electorate?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

As far as I'm concerned;

Fighting for independence (E'rebody) - Grand
    Fighting over the interpretation of Indopend. (FF + FG) - Grand
    "Fighting" (murdering) once a State has formed and matured (SF + IRA) - :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

If you're referring to the likes of Eamon Gilmore being involved with the Worker's party, I agree it was wrong and I think it is actually glossed over too much by the media. However, the PIRA were far more destructive and harmful than the OIRA. Doesn't make it ok but there is a difference. Scale matters.

That's some curious logic you've got going on there. In addition to you glossing over the violent histories of FF & FG on the basis of time, you're now downplaying the OIRA on the basis of 'scale', despite them being active during the same time period as the PIRA.

Interesting perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

uch wrote: »
    So by this logic every Fianna Fáil member is also tainted because of Charlie Haughey's Gun running ?
    That's the least of the things that taints them to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

On the internet recently(I think it was something to do with Egypt) I was reminded of the killing of Detective Garda Jerry McCabe by the IRA.

The 16th anniversary of his brutal slaying at the hands of IRA members occurs next week. As we see the seemingly unending rise in support for Sinn Fein, I think it is important to gently remind people, particularly young people who are seriously considering voting/giving a transfer to SF, that they are not at all as far removed from the yobs who terrorised people on both sides of the border (and both sides of the Irish Sea) as they'd have you believe. It is also important to remember that it was Martin Ferris who picked up the murderers (because this is what they are; they only received the manslaughter verdict because of witness intimidation as anyone familiar with the case knows) upon their unfairly premature release from prison in 2009. While SF would like to sweep these despicable actions under the rug, it is important that they are always kept fresh in people's minds.

When deciding whether or not to vote for SF, if you bear in mind their voodoo economics (it's amazing how far they think the pension reserve fund will stretch isn't it?), the bank robberies, the bombings, the murders of people like Robert McCartney (all of this not even 20 years ago), their questionable expenses and then still decide to vote for them, then I fear for you, and for this country.

While this thread serves to remind people of SF's disgraceful past, the question I want to ask is- when you bear all this in mind how does anyone vote for SF, never mind 1 in 5 voters?

Gosh, you really have a thing about Sinn Fein, don't you? And I assume you hold the hundreds of thousands of Irish people who vote for the party in the same contempt.

As for this sentence: "It is also important to remember that it was Martin Ferris who picked up the murderers (because this is what they are;" - it is easy to make such a libellous statement from behind the safety of mamma Internet's skirts, but I know you would never have the courage to make such a statement under your own name.

And isn't it time to let McCabe rest and stop using him as a political football? As sad as any death is, his was only one of thousands in a conflict with hundreds of causes, big and small. Unlike most of the other victims, he was armed with a deadly weapon, well trained in its use - and he was a killer himself, having shot a young man whose name I bet you forget. At least he had a chance to defend himself.:) Now let him rest in peace.

As for your question about why so many people vote for Sinn Fein, the answer is because not everyone is a member of the national cringe brigade and many of us have some sense of our nation's history and did not allow ourselves to be blindfolded and brainwashed during that dark period when Section 31 prevented one side of the arguments from being properly presented and the minds of many members of a whole generation were poisoned by the likes of Conor Cruise O´Brien, Hugh Leonard, Own Arse and so many others who would bring shame to the title "Judas sheep"..:rolleyes:

I have always voted Sinn Fein and supported their aims, and I always will and I will never apologise to anyone for it. Many other people think the same way and hopefully their numbers will swell.;)

It's called democracy. Live with it!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I wonder what the reaction would be if I started a thread along the lines of "Murderous Brits - never forget!" I'd be told to drop the "800 years" nonsense and "move on".

So you don't agree with celebrating 1916 in 4 years, or even doing it every year?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

15 years? Notice how you cut the time period for relevance of murders :rolleyes:

The Nazis killed more people than the IRA but I'm not using that as a reason to vote no to austerity treaty am I?

I cut the the time period because I don't make present decisions based on the historical past. In a decade or so, should SF have shown that they have completely put that aspect of their past behind them, I'll consider voting for them. Not now though- only a few years after Sf members greeted the killers of gardai, and IRA members murdered people in their communities, north and south.

Your analogy is therefore daft, but that seems a common theme with SF supporters in thsi thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭Paddy De Plasterer

On the internet recently(I think it was something to do with Egypt) I was reminded of the killing of Detective Garda Jerry McCabe by the IRA.

The 16th anniversary of his brutal slaying at the hands of IRA members occurs next week. As we see the seemingly unending rise in support for Sinn Fein, I think it is important to gently remind people, particularly young people who are seriously considering voting/giving a transfer to SF, that they are not at all as far removed from the yobs who terrorised people on both sides of the border (and both sides of the Irish Sea) as they'd have you believe. It is also important to remember that it was Martin Ferris who picked up the murderers (because this is what they are; they only received the manslaughter verdict because of witness intimidation as anyone familiar with the case knows) upon their unfairly premature release from prison in 2009. While SF would like to sweep these despicable actions under the rug, it is important that they are always kept fresh in people's minds.

When deciding whether or not to vote for SF, if you bear in mind their voodoo economics (it's amazing how far they think the pension reserve fund will stretch isn't it?), the bank robberies, the bombings, the murders of people like Robert McCartney (all of this not even 20 years ago), their questionable expenses and then still decide to vote for them, then I fear for you, and for this country.

While this thread serves to remind people of SF's disgraceful past, the question I want to ask is- when you bear all this in mind how does anyone vote for SF, never mind 1 in 5 voters?

How very true, and also their vodoo economics. I see they ran to the High Court today to get an injunction against the Referendum Commission and Judge Feeney. Not so long ago they were killing judges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

That's some curious logic you've got going on there. In addition to you glossing over the violent histories of FF & FG on the basis of time, you're now downplaying the OIRA on the basis of 'scale', despite them being active during the same time period as the PIRA.
    How many current members of FF/FG took an active role in civil war atrocities?